Customer Reviews


869 Reviews
5 star:
 (594)
4 star:
 (145)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you should buy!
After reading the reviews for this product and the equivalent Aqua-Pure product, I decided to buy one of each and do a side by side comparison. The first thing I noticed was that the Water Sentinel is made in USA, while the Aqua-Pure is made in Mexico. The Water Sentinel appears to be better constructed and heftier. It also includes 0-ring lubricant, which makes...
Published on June 9, 2011 by C. Peterson

versus
106 of 138 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT filter harmful contaminants! (Not equivalent product.)
The WSS-1 is not equivalent to the manufacturer's recommended filter. I noticed that the description didn't mention removal of harmful contaminants (ANSI 53), so I emailed Water Sentinel. Getting no reply to my email, I phoned their customer service and they confirmed that the filter DOES NOT meet ANSI 53 for removal of harmful contaminants.

My refrigerator...
Published on August 24, 2012 by K.S.


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you should buy!, June 9, 2011
By 
C. Peterson "nuke it" (Los Alamos, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After reading the reviews for this product and the equivalent Aqua-Pure product, I decided to buy one of each and do a side by side comparison. The first thing I noticed was that the Water Sentinel is made in USA, while the Aqua-Pure is made in Mexico. The Water Sentinel appears to be better constructed and heftier. It also includes 0-ring lubricant, which makes installation MUCH easier. After flushing a gallon of water through each, the taste test was pretty much the same, the Water Sentinel maybe a bit better. Considering that the Water Sentinel is about half the price (and did I mention MADE in USA), it certainly seems like a no-brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd taste, February 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased these to replace the OEM filters that I have been spending $45 a piece on at Lowes. Everything I read about these filters indicated longer life and obviously a MUCH better value from a cost perspective. They were well packaged and fit perfectly. The only thing is a slightly 'off' plastic taste. As I do with OEM filters I flushed several gallons through the filter before using any of the water. Still, there was this persistent bitter plastic taste. After running several more gallons through it the taste began to diminish and has become less noticeable over time. I have used dozens of filter / softener technologies over the last 20 years and this is the first time I have had this taste perception issue. I willl have to see what the next filter is like in several months to determine if I will purchase again.

+++++ 7/14 update: The first of the three filters is about due for a replacement. This really isn't any longer than the OEM Samsung filter. However, we did have an extra person in our household for many months of it's life so it may have given an extra 10-20%. Other than that there is nothing else to report, the water was fine after cycling an extra couple of gallons out of it at start-up with no other taste perception issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tastes great, less filling, March 13, 2010
This review is from: Water Sentinel WSS-1 Replacement Fridge Filter (Tools & Home Improvement)
Samsung is rated at 500 gallons or 6 months; this one is rated at 300 gallons or 6 months. Go figure.
Price is about 40% less than Samsung (200 gallons less = 40% less so you get what you pay for).
I typically use this product for up to a year and taste is still pure, not even chlorine taste.
Previous reviewer who said it tastes like pee must have his water hooked up to his toilet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those with leaks...., July 20, 2011
This review is from: Water Sentinel WSS-1 Replacement Fridge Filter (Tools & Home Improvement)
If you're water dispenser is leaking at the door, it is usually because you have air in the water line. Make sure you soak the filter to remove any loose charcoal before installing a new filter. Keep the filter upright and full of water when installing and then run a gallon or so of water through the dispenser to remove any air from the lines. If you still have a leak at the dispenser, make sure the water line on the back of the fridge is tight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same as Samsung Filter, March 31, 2011
By 
K. Arnold (Arvada, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just purchased my second 3 pack. This filter has the same capacity as the Samsung brand (300 Gallons check it out online) I have now used 4 of these and they work perfectly. No leaks no problems, water tastes great etc. You get them for just over $20 when you buy the 3 pack at Amazon and you can get free shipping. I don't know why anyone has had a problem with these, but for me they have worked perfectly. I get longer life in the winter months as our two person family uses less water and ice. I used three filters in 24 months replacing them each time the indicator light on my refrigerator door turned red. Water Sentinel WSS-1 Replacement Fridge Filter, 3 PACK, Fits Samsung DA29-00003B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 138 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT filter harmful contaminants! (Not equivalent product.), August 24, 2012
The WSS-1 is not equivalent to the manufacturer's recommended filter. I noticed that the description didn't mention removal of harmful contaminants (ANSI 53), so I emailed Water Sentinel. Getting no reply to my email, I phoned their customer service and they confirmed that the filter DOES NOT meet ANSI 53 for removal of harmful contaminants.

My refrigerator is a Samsung RFG298AARS. The owner's manual specifies a Samsung model DA29-00003G filter, which is certified to meet both ANSI 42 (aesthetic effects, such as chlorine taste), and ANSI 53 (health effects, such as cysts, lead, benzene, asbestos, mercury). If you buy the WSS-1 you are buying a cartridge that is certified only to make water taste better, not to make it safer.

Water Sentinels own product literature states: "This filter (WSS-1) should not be used with water that is microbiologically unsafe or of unknown quality, without adequate disinfection before and or after the filter. This filter has been tested by the manufacturer against ANSI/NSF Standard 42 for the reduction of Chlorine, Tastes and Odors."

--
NSF/ANSI Standard 42: Drinking Water Treatment Units - Aesthetic Effects. Designed to reduce specific aesthetic or non-health-related contaminants (chlorine, taste and odor, and particulates) that may be present in public or private drinking water.

NSF/ANSI Standard 53: Drinking Water Treatment Units - Health Effects. Designed to reduce specific health-related contaminants, such as Cryptosporidium, Giardia, lead, volatile organic chemicals (VOCs), MTBE (methyl tertiary-butyl ether), that may be present in public or private drinking water.

[Source: the National Sanitation Foundation (NSF)]
--

Conclusion: I strongly recommend buying a filter that meets both ANSI 42 and ANSI 53 certifications and the manufacturer's specs, such as the DA29-00003G or an equivalent product. The Water Sentinel WSS-1 does NOT meet both standards. Water Sentinel's own literature warns against using the filter if your water is "microbiologically unsafe," putting the onus of safety assurance on the consumer. If you knew it was always safe, you wouldn't need a filter. I bought the DA29-0003G, I have owned several now with no problems. It costs a bit more, but does what I expect a filter to do--make the water safer while also making it taste good. (If a comparable product comes along with a lower cost, and the same certifications, I will consider it.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars smells and tastes odd..., September 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is the second time we got this product, no problems or anything w/ the 1st set of filters. this one however, we have had the funny taste and smell of the water linger. i threw out extra water from the beginning hoping that would help--it didn't! i am considering just chucking this 1st filter early & hoping the next one in the 3pk is better!! i would possibly not order this again...but will make that decision based on the other 2 remaining filters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I only knew then what I know now..., July 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was irritated that I had to pay $40+ for a water filter at Lowes. Decided to search the Internet and was pleased to find the WSS-1 offer, so I took a chance and purchased 6 for the savings. Per instructions I ran about a gallon of water through it first. I hit the jackpot - Excellent value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, May 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Water Sentinel WSS-1 Replacement Fridge Filter (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought this filter thinking I had saved some money from the OEM Samsung filters. I was disappointed right from the start. These filters are physically larger than than the one they claim to replace. They DO fit. After replacing an OEM Samsung filter with the Water Sentinel I noted that the fridge water nozzle would drip for several minutes after using it. I tried with no success to refit the filter but it continued to drip. I also noted that when removing the filter it seemed over pressureized as water would explode from the filter housing when removing the Water Sentinel. I went back to the over priced OEM Samsung filter because they work with no water nozzle drips and we like the taste of the water (got rid of bottled water in fact).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Samsung Refrigerator water filters, February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Water Sentinel WSS-1 Replacement Fridge Filter (Tools & Home Improvement)
I was a bit concerned about the filter working in my refrigerator, so I bought only one. Next time I'll buy 3 and get a discount.
Price was better than most, and it works just fine. Still in the refer, so I'll review again after we find out if it lasts as long as others.
So far, so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Water Sentinel WSS-1 Replacement Fridge Filter
$23.95 $19.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.