Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarion Call to Sanity
Prior to reading Mr. Delingpole's new book, I believed that the anthropogenic climate change industry was a multi-billion dollar scam. Watermelons proved me wrong. It's a multi-trillion dollar scam.

With only a couple of semi-passionate assertions, Mr. Delingpole is extremely respectful of the reader - "warmists" and skeptics alike.

The reader will...
Published on July 22, 2011 by Trendyphobe

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly a disappointment
I was encouraged to buy this after enjoying one of Mr. Delingpole's blog articles in The Telegraph; I looked forward to the book. However, his wit, of which he seems very proud, soon dulled into tedium, his arguements went on, and on and on, such that after struggling through 20% of the book I gave up. Sorry Mr. Delingpole, perhaps you could try harder, or, in fact less...
Published 23 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarion Call to Sanity, July 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors (Paperback)
Prior to reading Mr. Delingpole's new book, I believed that the anthropogenic climate change industry was a multi-billion dollar scam. Watermelons proved me wrong. It's a multi-trillion dollar scam.

With only a couple of semi-passionate assertions, Mr. Delingpole is extremely respectful of the reader - "warmists" and skeptics alike.

The reader will be able to decide if Michael Crichton was right when, in 2003 he wrote, "There is no such thing as consensus science. If it's consensus, it isn't science. If it's science, it isn't consensus. Period."

Do you know what Agenda 21 is? Are you aware of the significance of what Paul Ehrlich predicted in his 1968 bestseller, The Population Bomb? Are you familiar with what's happened in Denmark as a consequence of Climatism? Why did Climategate not enlighten people?

Such questions and a multitude of similarly thought-provoking issues are explored in this stimulating and eye-opening book.

Watermelons is a clarion call to sanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening launchpad for those who question global warming, August 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors (Paperback)
While I think the author tries a little too hard to be 'entertaining' with the insertion of numerous clever analogies/metaphors, the basic premise of the book; that the current narrative propagated by the media establishment and government bureaucracy has far more to do with control(money) and protecting the ivory towers of powerful policy makers, BIG-eco-business, and self-serving academia.

I like that the author recounts actual events as they happened, points fingers, and names the actual players involved - this has served as an invaluable resource for me in continuing my own research on the internet and in reading other authors' works. I encourage any and all to read this book if you question the media's blind acceptance of 'climate change', the scare tactics of leftist BIG-eco, and how the promise of power and money have corrupted the science behind it.

Needless to say, man's influence on the natural flux of our climate has been GROSSLY overstated in our media and serves as a perfect example of how leftist ideology controls much of the media/academia we've been told(programmed) to believe is neutral and unbiased.

Again, I encourage you to read this book as it will serve as a launch-pad for further study of the issue, after which your only conclusion can be a that we, the world, have been duped and continue to be on so many issues - climate change, academia, media bias, scientific study, government, power, monetary policy, liberty, freedom,...etc.

I won't be surprised that in 20 years we'll look back at the issue of "Climate Change" and "Global Warming" as the beginning-of-the-end for leftist control of our media and academia as there is no dearth of evidence of the control exerted by leftist special interests, the power they seek, and the lengths they are willing to go; a total corruption of scientific process to promote their agenda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A critically important book, August 12, 2011
By 
Geoff Puterbaugh (Chiang Mai, T. Suthep, A. Muang Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors (Paperback)
James Delingpole, a popular conservative writer in the UK, has written one of the most important books of our time. I surmise that he was always something of an AGW skeptic, but when Climategate came around, he selflessly abandoned himself to the cause of rooting out AGW and its hacks.

AGW = "Anthropogenic Global Warming." Don't be intimidated. It just means "Man-Made Global Warming," which could be abbreviated as MMGW. And it's a crock, folks. It's an absolute crock. It has been defended and promoted by a group of seedy men, including a large crowd at the UN --- and, if you haven't noticed that the UN has been trying to get a lot bigger than its britches, transforming itself from a forum for discussion into a Global Legislator (a la EU), then I don't think you're very observant. AGW was a big push by the UN bureaucrats (and their wannabes) to put the UN on top of the world, dictating to the lowly peasants what they should and should not do --- all of this without being elected, just like the (ho ho) "President of Europe."

Where do we go to vote these creeps out of office? Nowhere! Welcome to 21st century democracy, "a la Europe."

As for AGW (or MMGW), that continues to be one of the most embarrassing theories ever put forward by scientists. There is no evidence at all to support it, although bloviating politicians such as Al Gore think it's the gospel truth (and are expecting to make billions once they have suckered you and me into believing them). The main idea is "carbon credits," by which companies which actually make stuff have to buy "carbon credits" from people who don't do anything but gaze at the South American jungles. It's a really crazy-weird attempt to make megabucks off the fact that humans breathe in oxygen and breathe out carbon dioxide, while plants breathe in carbon dioxide and breathe out oxygen. Therefore, MORE carbon dioxide makes for MORE plants and jungles, which make MORE oxygen for us and other animals.

The tiny helpless "environmental" group known as the World Wildlife Foundation recently tried to scoop up SIXTY BILLION DOLLARS from its claims on Brazilian jungles. When you see figures like 60 billion, you should be aware that WWF and Greenpeace are not "helpless tiny" movements. They are competing in the same space as Big Oil and all their "enemies," and they need to be called out as "Big Green" and asked just what they are doing for the cause of conservation.

James Delingpole deserves many literary prizes for detailing all of the crimes committed by the AGW folks: suppressing evidence they don't like, assassinating the reputations of scientists they don't like, censoring the "scientific literature" --- really, the list goes on and on, and...

YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!

"Nazi Germany took a stronger approach to pushing eco-ideology. It was the first nation to ban smoking on public transport (Hitler thought it a filthy habit: tobacco, he believed, was "the wrath of the Red Man against the White man, vengeance for having been given hard liquor"). It was also the first to take the concept of "animal rights" seriously (in 1933 Goering--ah, the big cuddly softie--said that anyone found guilty of animal cruelty or experimentation would be sent to the concentration camps)."

"Our teeming population is the strongest evidence our numbers are burdensome to the world, which can hardly support us from its natural elements. Our wants grow more and more keen and our complaints more bitter in all mouths, while nature fails in affording us our usual sustenance. In every deed, pestilence and famine and wars have to be regarded as a remedy for nations as the means of pruning the luxuriance of the human race."

No, not Paul Ehrlich 1968. Nor the Prince of Wales 2010. This was the utterance of Carthaginian priest Tertullian in his "Treatise of the Soul" in 210 AD, when the world's population was a mere 250 million. Since then it has grown to over 6.5 billion. Frankly, which planet would you rather inhabit? Tertullian's blissfully uncrowded car-free zone? Or our current congested hell of long life-expectancies, modern dental care, paid holidays, iPods, contraception, literacy and penicillin?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Explanation of the Recalcitrance, November 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Admittedly the AGW "alarmists" (at all skill levels of intellect and education), are having some bad times. For one thing, any warming at all was never unprecedented (and it has recently slowed and probably reversed). Then there was "climategate". In recent years, the public at large has lost nearly all interest in the AGW claims, and places it last among their listing of personal concerns. Endless problems in the AGW camp.

And clearly the scientific evidence for dangerous, CO2-caused, AGW has declined (not even a correlation for one thing). This fact would cause most honest observers to revise their conclusions. But clearly a core of the official (paid) "climate scientists" - i.e., the co-called consensus - and their less esteemed myrmidons remain recalcitrant, in specter if no longer in numbers, out of all proportion. Why?

In opposition to the AGW agenda we have those persons who may be called "climate rationalists" ("deniers" by their detractors), who have come to wonder about the thinking processes (or lack thereof) of the alarmists. Why are some of the alarmists NOT modifying their views - ever, for any reason? Why is there not at least some measure of joy in the news that the disaster they were fervently anticipating is apparently not going to happen? From whence comes their apparent disappointment?

Sure, there will always be hard-core hangers-on to lost causes such as "911 truth" and "cold fusion". And clearly many professionals have a vested interest in, or at least a subsurface attraction to, AGW for reasons of employment or financial opportunity - regardless of realities and practicalities. And there are some people with no expertise who are merely incorrigible, and have no capability for independent thoughts anyway. But - does anyone WANT a climate disaster? I bet not many. So likewise, are we willing to bet that few if any people would want a political agenda that would bankrupt and starve the people and nations of the world?

* * * * * * * * *

Here James Delingpole has written what is really two books, or so it seems to me. The first, Chapters 1-6 seems to be the Delingpole of the Telegraph Blog. It is all excellent stuff and well presented and documented. Perhaps he wanted to establish his bona fides for those who have not already been reading him.

The second book, Chapters 7-11, which begins with the "watermelons" chapter, is disquieting, as it presents the case (as others have done before, but perhaps not as declaratively) that the answer to my question just above the line of stars is: DON'T MAKE THAT BET. There is a green agenda that supersedes all other issues, particularly scientific truths. Among the proponents of AGW, Climate Change, Extreme Weather Events, or other OSTENSIBLY environmental issues are those for whom these issues are merely tools to a leftist program. And these are not just preferences, but desires felt to the bone. Regardless of truth or consequences, the issues are either useful tools to be brandished, or inconvenient distractions to be ignored. The agenda is anti-industrial, even misanthropic to an extreme. Delingpole makes a strong and convincing case. And he says it outright as he does everything he writes. Warning taken.

Those persons in the AGW and related camps, who are of a more benevolent persuasion with regard to the human race as a whole, would be wise to look around and see with whom they are in bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orwell could only dream..., September 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors (Paperback)
It's all here - Climategate, the junk "climate science," the dirty politics, all delivered with intelligence and wit. It was Delingpole's blog that sent the Climategate scandal viral, so he's able to give a blow-by-blow account. He's also got the science down. I've followed the science closely since the late 80's (I've got a PhD. in Earth Science and make my living modeling the lithosphere). Delingpole does an excellent job of cutting through he jargon and presenting the essentials. But where the book really shines is exposing the politics behind this manufactured crisis.

Delingpole has done a great job of peeling back the eye-watering layers of alphabet bureaucracies, mostly connected to the UN, and showing how they are subverting/co-opting our democratic institutions in the name of "sustainable development," "smart growth," and "biodiversity."

What doublespeak. Orwell could only dream. They're not talking about sustaining anything you'd recognize, and they sure don't want to see development. "smart growth"? hint: it ain't smart and it ain't growth.

I hesitate to call it a conspiracy. It's more a confluence of mutual interests among international bureaucrats, megalomaniacal politicians, wealthy dilettantes, and feel-good celebrities. Read Watermelons and find out what a serious threat the "green movement" has become.

P.S. It's hard to believe that J. Rice (see one negative review) has even read the book when he says, "The author doesn't seem to have any conception of the complexities and layers of the modern environmental movement." The complexities and layers of the modern environmentalism is precisely what most of the book is about. The author is very much for protecting natural beauty and spends most of his free time wild-water swimming and enjoying the Welch countryside with his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars watermelons, August 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors (Paperback)
James Delingpole in his entertaining style has done the research and exposes the environmental movement's efforts to destroy modern civilization. To readers interested in the truth about climate research, this is a great book, as this world-wide effort to establish UN authority over everyone's personal lives is threatening the Western countries with de-industrialization and world-wide wealth re-distribution. The climate science behind this mass hysteria is smoke and mirrors, more of a political exercise than real science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most important book of our times, August 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors (Paperback)
With all the talk of manmade climate change, whether you are a believer or not, this is the time to read this book. We know that our climate is changing, but who is actually going to gain financially if they can drive their agenda - that it's manmade, and for their New World Order. The author is not a scientist, but with about 40 pages of references, he has backed up his research. I don't believe the information coming from the scientific community because there are too many scientists that have a financial interest in manmade global warming; and more importantly, because any scientific research that presents opposing facts is defunded. You can read about that fact in the book. The book also documents a loss of jobs in Spain due to the green initiative. This is a must read for anyone who wants to know the other side of the story and doesn't want to be led around. My philosophy is this "design and build for energy conservation, pocket the savings, and protect AMERICA."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many Thanks, August 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors (Paperback)
Many thanks to James Delingpole for his book. I'd recently concluded that the whole global warming thing must be a cover for something (no scientific proof but still going strong) and decided I should research the green movement - particularly since they are now at the forefront of Australian politics. He has done all the work for me. I've got a lot of information out of the book but it isn't so much what James Delingpole says as it is the quotes from those involved in infiltrating our societies! I find what they believe and what they say and what they are doing quite shocking. And they are quite open about it for those who care to look up the information. I'm shocked. I'm worried. But one thing I'm not - I'm in no doubt that it is true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Hurts, July 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought this book was outstanding! I believe Mr. Delingpole states his arguments clearly and backs it up with research. I never realized that these climate alarmists, when challenged, never back up their arguments with proof, but resort to name calling and complete extremism, which by all accounts that I know of is very un-scientific. I highly recommend this book for anyone that wants to know the actual facts about this completely manufactured "crisis"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warmist Tactical Expose, September 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am greatly indebted to the author for tacking an issue that I hadn't yet seen delved into with any amount of detail. The history & origins of the environmental movement, and the propaganda tactics of radical environmentalists. Rock on Mr. Delingpole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors
Watermelons: The Green Movement's True Colors by James Delingpole (Paperback - 2011)
Used & New from: $4.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.