Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally moving and wonderfully written.
This book took me back to when I was sorting sorting out who I was as a teenager. The characters are deep and believable. The book is paced well and very thought provoking and drew out a good deal of introspection. I highly recommend this as a read for anyone curious about the challenges faced by young people coming to grips with love and the meaning of social acceptance...
Published on April 3, 2009 by Brian Jacobs

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fail
This is nothing but porn, just flat out dirty fanfiction and nothing else. And it can't even pass for good fanfiction because of all of the grammatical mistakes.
Published 4 months ago by Jessyk


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally moving and wonderfully written., April 3, 2009
By 
Brian Jacobs (Fremont, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
This book took me back to when I was sorting sorting out who I was as a teenager. The characters are deep and believable. The book is paced well and very thought provoking and drew out a good deal of introspection. I highly recommend this as a read for anyone curious about the challenges faced by young people coming to grips with love and the meaning of social acceptance. I sincerely hope to see more of Kyell's work available for the Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gay furry romance: (much) better then you expect., April 18, 2010
By 
Innocenzo (Mountain View, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
I found this book pretty randomly, after reading the first section on another website.

I love the characters. Kory's unwillingness to accept his sexuality is played very well by Kyell Gold; the movement of internal conflict to external conflict gives Kory justification for his reluctance to accept himself.

Samaki is great; his realistic wants from Kory set up the third act wonderfully. The other supporting characters are good as well, Malaya's cynicalism is a good balance for Samaki.

There is a bit of gay sex, but it's in my opinion very tasteful and brief. It might not be something you'd want to present for a high-school English class, but I wouldn't worry about giving this to a young teenager.

Can non-gay non-furries read this and have the same enjoyment level as me, I think yes. If you are "open" non-heterosexual non-human-humanoids, you are into a great story.

(Note: There are a few sections of some badly formatted text, they last for maybe a dozen "pages". Unreadable, no, but annoying. This may have been fixed (I haven't tried to redownload the book lately), but it wasn't bad enough to effect my enjoyment of the book)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, April 1, 2009
By 
Ian (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful book, that has been a complete pleasure to read from front to back. It was a complete emotional roller coaster and I cant recommend it highly enough. Im definitely looking forward to the possibility of seeing more works by Kyell available for the kindle store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterways by Kyell Gold, April 1, 2010
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
How I like when I find a book, a real long and complex book, which takes me tied up from the first page to the last with the eagerness to read faster to know what happens and the hope to slow down to make it lasts a bit more. And when I finish the book, I wish to start it again to convince me that, yes, I just read a very very good book and that yes, I found another author that will gift me many beautiful stories in the future...

Kory is a seventeen years old guy. Middle-class family, private school, every gadgets a guy his age could want. But Kory is not happy, he was dumped by his girlfriend cause he wrote a beautiful poem for school paper and he didn't dedicate it to her. Worst, lately he prefers to spend his spare time at home, on line or reading, rather than with her. Probably he would finish dumping her, but still it hurts that she takes the decision from him.

So Kory decides to spend sometime in the municipal pool, and not in the usual private pool where all his friends gather and where he has to suffer the sympathetic smiles... And he meets Samaki. Samaki, same age like him, but from the poor side of the city, is a very nice guy, someone he could talk to. Kory is happy to find a new friend but still, when they part, he has the feeling to have missed something, to have not answered some untold questions by Samaki. And when he recalls all the time spent together he finally understands... Samaki was hitting on him, Samaki is gay...

How can he tells to Samaki that he is not gay? cause he is not gay... but if he is not gay why he has these dreams on Samaki? dreams that he has never had of his former girlfriend? And maybe he is so happy with Samaki cause he feels for him... But what he felt is wrong, Kory is from a strictly catholic family and he knows that God will not love him if he is gay. But when he cofesses his sin to Father Joe, he is surprised to not find a condemned glare in the priest eyes, but instead Father Joe tells him to see inside himself and to ask help if he needs. Not image of hell in front of him, not eternal damnation. And more he opens himself, more people he finds who accept him.

Waterways is the coming age journey of Kory. It's a three part story: Aquifers where Kory discovers what he feels, Streams where he has to take some decisions, and Oceans where he strengthens that decisions and starts his adult life. All along he will have Samaki and along the path he will loose some people and he will find new friends.

Waterways is a pretty intense, very romantic and utterly beautiful novel... so, does it matter if Kory is a otter and Samaki is a fox? Does it matter if this is an anthropomorphic book where all the characters are of different animal species? Someone said to me that people freak out when they are put in front of a book about love between "animals"... I replied that maybe this is a book where it's more problematic the "furry" thing than the gay theme, but that I would read it anyway cause I have no problem at all. And I'm very happy to have done so, cause Waterways is an huge discovery. I find really interesting how Kyell Gold deals with the furry theme, converting all the human world in a melting pot of breeds: usual expressions like "on the other hand" become "on the other paw", the different animal scents can be a problem, but also an arousing thing when Kory dreams of the musky fox scent of his boyfriend, the patch of white fur on Samaki's groin could be arousing like no other else for Kory's young body...

I will treasure Waterways among one of the best book I have ever read and for sure this will be not the last book by Kyell Gold that I will read.

Beautiful cover and interior illustrations by John Nunnemacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Easy to Identify With., August 2, 2011
By 
Xzygy (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
This is a Furry book. Its also a book about two (or more) gay characters. This puts it as a group within a group and narrows the demographic which will read it, and truly, this is a sad thing.

It's sad because this is an author with an incredible talent for world building and only a very small portion of readers will get to experience it. Perhaps that makes it more special. The worlds Kyell creates are vividly imagined and contain a shocking depth that I would never have expected from this genre or the furry fandom at all.

If you're gay, and your parents didn't like it, you'll likely enjoy this book, whether you're a part of the fandom or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly a beautiful story that makes simple things in life a rollercoaster of emotions, September 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
Waterways is for my surprise one of the most beautiful books I've ever read in gay literature that explores a very common subject in gay relationships with a new approach that takes the reader into the mind and heart of the main character and succeds on it marvelously. Filled with the toughts every teen had about gay life and some others not so common, however the flow and the content is so natural that makes of this book a wonderful experience from begining to end.

It doesn't have the pretention of being a best-seller and by being so honest in expression it makes it an instant hit.

Even when it is considered an erotic novel, it has a great story telling and a beautiful story, and the only thing that actually feels out of place are the erotic scenes themselves that sometimes break the feel of innocence and sweetness the story has (Something Mr. Gold later mastered in his 'Out of Position' book.

A must have not just for furries, but for every reader of gay literature (the furry jokes about famous characters will steal you more than one chuckle)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A love story even straight guys could appreciate., June 25, 2010
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
Waterways is unique not only because of its anthropomorphic characters, but also because of connections it makes with a teenage audience.

Cory, the main character, not only has to deal with things ranging from his not-so-supportive girlfriend breaking up with him to practically leaving his family for the new love of his life - a boy named Samaki. There are good times and there are hard times, but everything works out eventually (I love a happy ending).

It is an interesting read to the very end. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone remotely interested in reading about a "unique" young couple in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, April 3, 2014
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
Kyell Gold is an honest writer and does NOT use shills to sell his own books! That's such a whacky idea! This book was amazing from beginning to end and I couldn't put it down! The story was not bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic and heart-wrenching, this story has quickly become one of my favorites. It's touching and emotional and almost every part of it makes me feel whatever emotion it is trying to evoke very strongly. It's not particularly original to say I identify with Kory, but it's true. Five stars all the way, and an especially potent read for anyone who's struggled with their sexuality, in any fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This may change your opinion on things..., February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waterways (Kindle Edition)
This book in short, is a wonderful story. I give it four stars in the grand scheme of books, whether furry, traditional fiction (like 'The Great Gatsby') or young adult fiction (like 'The Fault in Our Stars'). The only reason this would be sci-fi is because the setting is anthropomorphized -- instead of humans, everyone is an animal standing upright, walking and talking and acting just like a human -- so take that as a grain of salt; it only makes a difference in the way physical attraction is displayed in various scenes throughout the book. (Hence strange sexual imagery, depending on your stance on furry)
The plot is very well thought out, and the characters are down to earth and as real as you or me. The 'issue' of homosexuality as portrayed through this book is also tied in significantly with American religious views or responses on the matter, and I was very intrigued by how that part of the story was handled. This book will pretty much get you hooked from the start, and you'll be flipping pages all weekend until you've finished it off completely, with no regard to your homework due on Monday... or at least that was my experience with it.
I personally am at odds with homosexuality, but this book, of all things, has been battering down some very opinionated walls of mine. I don't know if I'll be rebuilding them anytime soon, or even if I care to, but this book might help make (or break) your own views on the matter. Maybe you'll be rejoicing throughout the entire story as if you were viewing it from Samaki's position: finding a new love and bringing a new sheep into the fold (figure of speech, i know). Or perhaps you'll question why you even bothered to pick this book up in the first place, knowing you were going to hate the very guts of the main character for falling out of line with his mother's views (which would probably lead to a one star review on the reader's part). Or maybe you'll be Kory, closeted, at odds with your own views and feelings (physical or mental otherwise) on the matter, but slowly and surely changing (for the better is up to you) into a whole new person; one who can accept -- maybe even love -- gays. And what a helluva gay love story it is! (in a good way, of course)
On a final note, four stars. Because even though it was an amazingly compelling read, it was not as much of an emotional roller coaster as other more prominent pieces of fiction I have read. Again, I am comparing this novel to the grand scheme of things, not just other 'furry' fictional works, and I have read other books that I would rate higher by a certain margin. In any case, you most certainly are NOT wasting your money if you buy this book by Kyell Gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Waterways
Waterways by Kyell Gold
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.