Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Double Dose Of Zach
I do not watch online films as I cannot get the subtitles to work and I am deaf. So excuse this cross post from the DVD.

Waxwork and the sequel are interesting movies. The first movie is the best. It is a unique film in which several college students enter a mysterious Waxwork and find themselves victims of the displays. Personal conflict riddle through out...
Published 3 months ago by Endora Aphrattos

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A horror fan's homage
Quick, what movie features a murderous disembodied hand, zombies, buckets of blood, possession, projectile organs, time travel, and Bruce Campbell getting tortured? No, not Evil Dead II...Waxwork II: Lost in Time!

Picking up immediately where the first Waxwork left off, Mark Loftmore (still Zach Galligan) and Sarah Brightman (replaced by the considerably...
Published on January 8, 2010 by Michael J. Tresca


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A horror fan's homage, January 8, 2010
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
Quick, what movie features a murderous disembodied hand, zombies, buckets of blood, possession, projectile organs, time travel, and Bruce Campbell getting tortured? No, not Evil Dead II...Waxwork II: Lost in Time!

Picking up immediately where the first Waxwork left off, Mark Loftmore (still Zach Galligan) and Sarah Brightman (replaced by the considerably hotter Monika Schnarre) attempt to return to their normal lives. Sarah creeps back to her abusive stepfather's home where he berates her for ruining her dress. After she goes to bed, the zombie hand (also from the first film) murders the abusive stepfather because...let's face it, he had it coming.

In the typical Waxwork aside into "that makes perfect sense" territory, Sarah is blamed for her stepfather's murder, claims about murderous zombie hands not withstanding. She will likely be condemned to death unless she can prove her innocence. And that's where any semblance of realism ends, because Sarah and Mark concoct a scheme to find ANOTHER zombie hand by traveling backwards in time through a magic mirror. Because of course, that's where zombie hands hang out, right?

Waxwork II is of course not about time travel at all. It's about whatever the director (Anthony Hickox) feels like parodying, beginning with Frankenstein, alternating between Alien and The Haunting, and then throwing in Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Godzilla, Jack the Ripper, Nosferatu, and Dawn of the Dead for good measure. And oh yes, a long fantasy sequence that has nothing to do with anything.

Waxwork II establishes a couple of things: They are NOT time traveling, but more dimension traveling, or perhaps film hopping. Mark and Sarah have stumbled into the world of Cartagra, "God's video game," as Sir Wilfred explains - in the form of a crow (it's complicated). Cartagra is a universe where good and evil duke it out for supremacy, apparently in the form of movie plots. Mark and Sarah are now Time Warriors, inhabiting the protagonist roles of each movie and ensuring the good guys win. Or something like that.

It is also a different form of dimension hopping than the pocket dimensions seen in the first movie. When Mark, facing down Igor the hunchback, attempts to disbelieve, he gets socked in the face for his trouble.

It's clear that Hickox a real fondness for all things Evil Dead and for swashbuckling romance. He has his cake and eats it too here (like he did in the first film) by including a long fantasy sequence involving what must be the first sword fight across movie genres. But I'm getting ahead of myself.

FRANKENSTEIN: Mark manifests as the butler, while Sarah is Frankenstein's wife. They are caught in the moment when villagers are about to set the place on fire. It takes awhile for Sarah to remember her true nature, during which time Mark battles it out with Dr. Frankenstein, Frankenstein's Monster, Igor, and angry villagers. Using a weird compass he found amongst his uncle's belongings, Mark can usually find the exit out of each movie by running in that direction, regardless of all apparent obstacles. Once he figures this out, Mark and Sarah are split up as they escape...

THE HAUNTING: Filmed in black and white, it's clear Hickox is a fan of The Haunting. And so is Marina Sirtis, collecting a paycheck. But the biggest winner here is Bruce Campbell in a hilarious series of slapstick. This is the funniest part of the movie. It's also the most overt homage to Evil Dead.

ALIEN: Sarah has taken on the role of Ripley. She faces down a giant Alien-rip-off - literally, the Aliens look terrible, with huge, lumbering heads. The Facehugger-equivalents are much more disturbing, with tentacles probing orifices. This scene drags on far too long, seeking to emulate the terrible silences and long pauses in Alien. Fortunately, Mark shows up and ends the madness just in time.

RANDOM FANTASY SETTING: Hickox may be a fan of horror movies, but what he really wants to do is write a swashbuckling romance. So stuck in the middle of the rest of the horror homage is this sloppy collection of Monty Python jokes, subpar special effects, and confusing elements. The best part is George (Michael Des Barres), a powdered, effeminate dandy who isn't afraid to murder people with a garrote. There are some laugh-out-loud jokes here, but they don't save the piece. Oh and David Carradine (?). There's also the aforementioned appearance of the talking crow, which is in fact Sir Wilfred reincarnated. His appearance presages a huge exposition dump explaining Cartagra. No matter, all is forgiven as Mark engages in a no-holds-barred sword fight with the villain, Scarabis (Alexander Godunoy) across the universe. In no particular order, their cross-dimensional brawl leads them to...

GODZILLA: A giant, poorly made puppet. The most hilarious part being that Mark is badly dubbed in English.

JACK THE RIPPER: Okay, not really a movie per se. Poor Jack gets kicked into...

NOSFERATU: Silent and with intertitles, Hickox nails the entire feel of a silent movie. And we get to see Nosferatu gnash his teeth after The Ripper.

INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS: Sarah takes a sneak peak at people running from a train. And alien pods.

DAWN OF THE DEAD: 1970s style attire, a funky beat, and a bunch of people bristling with guns shooting at zombies in a mall. It also conveniently provides a disembodied zombie hand, that flimsy "evidence" our heroes were looking for.

The swordfight ends back in Fantasy-land, but only one person can go back through the portal. Mark pushes Sarah through.

Sarah, with evidence of a zombie hand CLEARLY confirming her innocence, receives a note from Mark in the "past", attempting to establish that he was indeed time traveling. Yeah, right.

And the lovers are reunited. Eventually. The End.

Cue a gonzo song about the film, complete with rap lyrics that narrate the entire ridiculous story and 1980s style dancers.

Less horror and more a tribute to films Hickox happens to like, Waxwork II never seems to make up its mind as to what film it wants to be when it grows up. But that's part of its charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Double Dose Of Zach, August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
I do not watch online films as I cannot get the subtitles to work and I am deaf. So excuse this cross post from the DVD.

Waxwork and the sequel are interesting movies. The first movie is the best. It is a unique film in which several college students enter a mysterious Waxwork and find themselves victims of the displays. Personal conflict riddle through out. The sequel is on the same disc. This film is twice as worse as it could be. It took the ludicrousness of the battle scene at the end of the first to new heights. It has plenty of noted talent. It has nothing to do with the first movie really apart from some characters. It is a difficult watch at times. The movies have no special features whatsoever. It has no trailers. It has no subtitles. It is captioned for the deaf, however, my DVD rom had trouble during the second movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
Sometimes the second movie just is not as good as first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Waxwork II: Lost Some Wax, June 19, 2014
By 
J.HOT (Glen Alpine, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
Waxwork II was disappointing because I expected a sequel to Waxwork I. I expected Waxwork II to use the same eerie format of a museum with curious people walking through and viewing different scenes portrayed in wax and being compelled to "have a closer look." That is what made Waxwork I awesome. Imagining that you, in real life, could lose your life in a museum and be stuck in another time encased in wax. I think some of the magic was lost in Waxwork II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Campbell is a great actor !!!, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
I gave this a 5 star cause to me Bruce Campbell is a Great actor. I met him at a Fangoria "weekend of horrors" convention. And he is a down to earth good person, he will talk with you as a person. It was in Dearborn Mich. where I met him. I like every movie that I saw with him in it, And Waxwork was one of them. Im trying to buy all I can on dvd, to build my collection. And to all of you out there... I recomend "the adventures of brico county jr." it was an excellent tv series. But it was ahead of its time i guess..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars waxworks is killer, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
I love old horror movies waxworks warlock Halloween dawn of the dead night of the living dead and day of the dead and many many more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a really fun movie that pays homage to horror greats!, January 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
Lots of fun giggles in this horror comedy and even a scene with Deanna Troi (Marina Sirtis from Star Trek: TNG) and Bruce Campbell! It doesn't get any better than this for campy horror fun!

The opening fight with the severed hand is straight out of Evil Dead II and made me laugh maniacally.

Homages to several other great horror classics including Aliens!

Leave your Reality Meter far, far away when you watch this and enjoy this goofy horror comedy that pays tribute to the greats before it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Comedic horror film doesn't work with this movie!, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
Loved the first one, but couldn't even finish watching this one! I thought this movie was just plain stupid. My entire family hated this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
It is a good film for a sequel. Not bad but it could have been a lot better. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Waxworks, June 17, 2013
This review is from: Waxwork II: Lost In Time (Amazon Instant Video)
I enjoy both movies,but i really like waxworks.waxworks 2 is good, but part 1 is better, they should make a part 3 of waxworks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Waxwork II: Lost In Time
Waxwork II: Lost In Time by Anthony Hickox
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.