Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie At His Politically Incorrect Best
This remastered and unabridged version of the Willie and Waylon classic has been long overdue. I still haven't figured out why RCA released an edited version of this ten plus years ago and choose to omit "Don't Cuss That Fiddle" and the politically incorrect "The Year 2003 minus 25." Perhaps Willie got a little too controvesial for the music execs with...
Published on February 19, 2001 by marleyscott

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Havent recieved
I have'nt Recieved this item yet. Im very disappointed its been long enough to have got it. so i'm not happy at all with this buy, Thank You
Published on September 14, 2011 by lil jo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie At His Politically Incorrect Best, February 19, 2001
By 
"marleyscott" (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (Audio CD)
This remastered and unabridged version of the Willie and Waylon classic has been long overdue. I still haven't figured out why RCA released an edited version of this ten plus years ago and choose to omit "Don't Cuss That Fiddle" and the politically incorrect "The Year 2003 minus 25." Perhaps Willie got a little too controvesial for the music execs with the line "Who would have thought those Arabs would have bought The USA only to give it to the Jews". All in all this is an outstanding follow-up to their smash recording of Outlaws released 2 years earlier on RCA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ten-star classic, January 31, 2003
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (Audio CD)
A super-groovy collection of good-natured, good ole boy-ish tunes from the poster children of the "outlaw" scene. This disc is so packed with goodies, it's hard to know where to begin heaping on the praise. Waylon's soul-drenched sound is a great match for Willie's jazzy sensibilities, and both guys sound like they had a blast recording this album. With songs like "Mammas, Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys," "Wurlitzer Prize," "Pick Up The Tempo" and "I Can Get Off On You," this is an absolute must-have album. Sure, you can get a lot of these tracks on best-of packages, but it's worth it to hear this collaboration in its glorious full context. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you wanna talk classics..., April 23, 2005
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (Audio CD)
Yep, this album is a classic. What makes an album a classic? Pure and simple greatness. That, and it sold quite a few copies--but sales aside, this album's greatest gem is the pairing of two musical geniuses. Waylon Jennings, the guy who established the outlaw movement and made it what it was; and Willie Nelson, the guy who took songwriting to a whole new level, and showed us that less is more. Waymore and the Red-Headed Stranger...two musical icons.

Enough praise aside--you know how great and important these two men were to music. Let's look at the songs. If you've never heard "Mamma's Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys" (in any of its incantations, though this is the best), then you need to turn your radio on every once in a while. And you just haven't lived until you've heard these two lamenting on Kris Kristofferson's witty "Don't Cuss the Fiddle." And "The Wurlitzer Prize," a Waylon solo effort, stands as one of the defining songs of country music.

Oh, there is much more to this album--but I'm gonna leave you with a few surprises. Whether they're dueting or going it alone, Waylon and Willie have crafted one of the single best albums ever made. WAYLON & WILLIE has withstood the test of time, and will continue to do so for generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Waylon and Willie, August 2, 2002
By 
Theodore Illenberg (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (Audio CD)
This is the ultimate Waylon and Willie Album. The album includes their signature tune "Mommas don't let you babies grow up to be cowboys. They each sing three solos including Waylon's Wurlitzer Prize.Plus they sing five duets. This album show cases the best of these two singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waylon&Willie, July 4, 2007
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (Audio CD)
I had this on 8-Track many years ago and it is every bit as good now as it was then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old country, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (MP3 Music)
Waylon and Willie are old country. This is such an excellent album. Heard it in a c had to download it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Both of my favorites together! How much better can it get!, July 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (Audio CD)
Love both of them and I love this recording! It's my favorite album to play while driving so that I can sing along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good ol boys, June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (MP3 Music)
Together their voices are amazing, Individual as well , WAYLON bass, WILLIE as tenor, unstoppable. Just wish they would have sung more together before Waylons passing. Rip... your voice and music will be enjoyed for years. Willie, please sing more , your voice gets better with age. Thanks for the wonderful album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outlaw Country, March 7, 2007
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (Audio CD)
If I had to pick 10 albums to take on that island way out in the wild blue yonder this would be one of the ten without question. Just a fantastic album! One the the best ever! Enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music!, February 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waylon & Willie (Audio CD)
I used to listen to this on an 8-track that my dad had. It's good to see it released in it's entirety.
The songs are great! This really captures the Willie/Waylon sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Waylon & Willie
Waylon & Willie by Waylon Jennings (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.