Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
As a Manchester United fan, I really enjoyed this and could barely put it down. He comes across very well overall. He covers quite a few topics from his transfer request to his hair transplant. He gives a lot of insight into the day to day life at MUFC, what the training is like, how injured players get treated, the build up to a match, the attitude of SAF and the kind of...
Published on September 16, 2012 by Rich

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good.
Just good. You won't find it that interesting, as there's no real great revelation.
It's just that it's not as insightful as Alex Ferguson biography.
Published 16 months ago by Mario Eigi Tominaga


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a Manchester United fan, I really enjoyed this and could barely put it down. He comes across very well overall. He covers quite a few topics from his transfer request to his hair transplant. He gives a lot of insight into the day to day life at MUFC, what the training is like, how injured players get treated, the build up to a match, the attitude of SAF and the kind of things he says to motivate the players and how he felt in certain situations (and his reasoning for feeling that way) etc, etc.

The language used is very conversational as you'd probably expect, he says a lot of stuff like something "does my head in", or something else is "dead good". That isn't really a bad thing, but may not be to everyone's liking. I prefer that it is written as is, rather than the message being lost.

He just comes across as an ordinary lad, who just happens to be insanely talented and passionate about football. If you are a Premiership fan or in particular a United fan, I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Winning, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Must read book if you watch premier league football. Lots of inside stories shared through the eyes of someone who has been arguably the best footballer in the premier league over the last 10 years.
Also a great book to learn secrets of team management & culture from, as Wayne Rooney shares stories of how Sir Alex Ferguson manages manchester united and how he has built a culture of " Always Winning" at the club.
Great read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Rooney and United fans, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Autobiography of one of the top strikers in the Premier League. In Wayne's own words, read about his formative years as a young lad in Croxteth, Liverpool, and his meteoric rise to the EPL, becoming the youngest player ever to score in the Premier League. He glosses over his Everton years, with most of the book concentrating on his service with Manchester United. Some interesting facts and anecdotes regarding his teammates, manager, and his family, but the majority of the narrative is focused on individual matches throughout the course of these ten seasons. The book becomes a tad repetitious when relating match summaries, and there isn't near as much behind-the-scenes insider revelations as I was expecting. I was hoping to read more inside information about what goes on in their lives off the pitch, but there were few examples to be seen here. FWIW, I'm generally neutral regarding Rooney and ManU...neither a diehard fan nor do I dislike him (or the team). Overall, I'd recommend it for Rooney fans or ManU fanatics, and it's not a bad read for the casual football follower, either. But I felt it could have gone a little deeper in some areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rooneyyy...Rooooneyyyy, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Interesting read by one of the best premier league players ever. Cool insight to life as a professional footballer. Got a great deal on this book on my kindle for only $1.99!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an amazing book.As someone who lives and breaths football,(soccer) this is the perfect book.The bicycle kick, the injury, this book has it all from Wazza's stand point( Rooney) A must have for soccer fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've always been a big fan of Rooney, and this book just made me that much more of a fan. I like all the different topics he touches base on and all of the details he goes in to. It is written very conversationally, but I think that makes it that much better. A first person account and real thoughts of his time in the Premier League.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I chose this rating because this book gave me a better understanding of who Wayne is and what he feels when he is preparing for a game as well as the emotions of what he is feeling during the game. I could not put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nicely done, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read. Love the wazza. I wish I could be him and we could beat only city, gooners and chelskie every time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wayne Rooney isn't the most articulate, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's an okay book, not a blow by blow of each game of each season. It contains some stupid phrases in italics too like "I never played the game for money and I never will." ...okay Roon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it was an incredible book this a good book to read for soccer fans all over the world.

the end.
five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wayne Rooney: My Decade in the Premier League
Wayne Rooney: My Decade in the Premier League by Wayne Rooney (Hardcover - September 13, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.