Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X To Tha Z Is Back...Weapons Of Mass Destruction!
Xzibit has had a fairly successful career. From his all out classic "Speed Of Life" to his last impressive album "Man Vs. Machine", Xzibit rarely fails to impress, but always has that certain thing boosting it into classic after classic record. The same can be said for X's latest: Weapons Of Mass Destruction. Among X's trademark flow and intelligence, there are a few very...
Published on February 5, 2005 by J-Jizzo

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars X, Bring Back Restless
I've been a fan of Xzibit for awhile, since I first heard him on Sway & Tech's album back in '99, but this is the first XZ album I bought, and for any fans wantin' to get into Xzibit right now, this is NOT the album to start off with. Overall, this is just a decent album, plain and simple. I was expectin' some Dre production, some Snoop, Knoc-turn'al, Warren G ghest...
Published on July 5, 2005 by MW


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X To Tha Z Is Back...Weapons Of Mass Destruction!, February 5, 2005
Xzibit has had a fairly successful career. From his all out classic "Speed Of Life" to his last impressive album "Man Vs. Machine", Xzibit rarely fails to impress, but always has that certain thing boosting it into classic after classic record. The same can be said for X's latest: Weapons Of Mass Destruction. Among X's trademark flow and intelligence, there are a few very whack moments, but the good outweighs the bad on this one...

Tracks and Ratings

___________________

1. State of the Union (Not Rated)

2. Lax (3 1/2 Stars)

3. Cold World (5 Stars)

4. Saturday Night Live (3 1/2 Stars)

5. Mutha***** (3 Stars)

6. Beware of Us (3 Stars)

7. Judgement Day (5 Stars)

8. Criminal Set (4 Stars)

9. Hey Now (2 Stars)

10. Ride or Die (4 1/2 Stars)

11. Crazy Ho (2 1/2 Stars)

12. Big Barking (Skit) (N/A)

13. Tough Guy (3 Stars)

14. Scent of a Woman (3 1/2 Stars)

15. Klack (5 Stars)

16. Back 2 the Way It Was (5+++++++ Stars)

The album kicks off with "State of The Union" which is a very well edited President Bush speech, and a good intro to X's latest album. Some songs on this album have very weak and annoying hook coupled with weak beats. A few that immediately come to mind are "Lax" and "Motherf*cker" but X is hardly whack on either of these.

We also have the vastly overrated "Hey Now" which is just about the worst song X has come out in the past few years. Keri's hook is very uninspired and X's lyrics are whack to say the least.

On a positive note, we have a very hot beat on "Ride Or Die" in which X really shows why he is a lyrical monster that can bite the mic in half. "Criminal Set" follows similar subject matter and content etc over a very old school funk inspired beat...This is very pleasing to the ears.

Another highlight is "Judgement Day" in which Xzibit shares his intelligence well, over a feel good beat and a great chorus. This is X at his most potent, and instead later on he resorts to songs like "Crazy Ho" and "Hey Now"

To me, the two best songs are the last two. "Klack" is a loud and angry joint with a catchy "klack klack klack" hook and a menacing delivery from Xzibit.

"Back 2 The Way It Was" is my personal favourite on the album, is basically THE best song on a mainstream album for 2004. I love it so much. From the untouchable production to Xzibit's great lyrics and remembrance of the good old days, this song is pure classic.

In conclusion, Xzibit's album is very enjoyable to even the most pure hip-hop listener. Undoubtedly, a few songs are definitely not needed, but songs like "Klack", "Judgement Day", and "Back 2 The Way It Was" definitely make this a must have in a music lovers collection. Cop It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars X, Bring Back Restless, July 5, 2005
I've been a fan of Xzibit for awhile, since I first heard him on Sway & Tech's album back in '99, but this is the first XZ album I bought, and for any fans wantin' to get into Xzibit right now, this is NOT the album to start off with. Overall, this is just a decent album, plain and simple. I was expectin' some Dre production, some Snoop, Knoc-turn'al, Warren G ghest vocals, but I ghess I missed somethin' from mid-2003 all the way up to this album's release. Was there some kind of fallout between Xzibit and EVERY westcoast producer and rapper? Somebody please tell me. Anyway, this is an album that will get a FEW listens, and not much more. Even good songs like "Cold World", "Beware of Us", and "Ride or Die" can't cut it against Xzibit's hits from his `Restless' album ("X", "Front 2 Back", "Get Your Walk On"). Jelly Roll, Khalil, and Mr. Porter laced those beats respectfully. "Tough Guy" w/ Busta Rhymes is a nice track, but nothin' you'll keep comin' back to. "Back 2 The Way it Was" stands out the most cause it seems like it could fit on `Restless' or even `Man vs Machine'. All in All, this is mildly recommended for hardcore Xzibit fans, cause lyrically, Xzibit is still at his best-the questionable beats can't even rob him of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD..read to understand, November 9, 2005
This is a good Xzibit CD not the best but a good one. This is for the true rap fans though, not for people who are into mainstream rap, because Xzibit has always been known for his lyrics. If you are looking for a "club" CD with catchy beats than this is not the CD for you because this is a type of CD you listen to not the type you bump at parties. Lyrically Xzibit is still runnin with the best. However without production from Dr. Dre the same catchy beats are not there, but the beats hardly make the song it is the lyrics that do. As for the subject of guest appearances let me say this: This CD is great because you can listen to his OLD CD's then pick up Weapons Of Mass Destruction and the end result regardless of guest appearances is STILL XZIBIT, but when you pick up an old Snoop Dogg or Dr. Dre CD the things they say conflict with their actions today such as working with an EASTCOAST gangster rapper after you proclaimed that you were STRICTLY WESTCOAST. Xzibit has never proclaimed to be anything he wasn't and in the song Criminal Set he says "...and I'm the only one left from the west you can't f*ck with" interpret that however you want but I think its clear what he means and maybe that's why you don't see the DOC or Snoop appearing on this CD. As Cliché as it maybe, I am bringing 2Pac into this, because when he died a large portion of the rap game died with him, specifically the piece that had originality and integrity on it. Very few rappers that came up with 2Pac and lived by the same morals he did have continued to do so after his death. In short this CD is good because Xzibit continues to put it down years into his career and titles himself rapper and rightfully so, however the same can not be said for 90 percent of the industry's big names who say they are rap but in reality are hip hop ENTERTAINERS. By the way if you listen to only one song on this whole album let it be "Back 2 The Way It Was"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, February 27, 2005
Of the many, many rap CDs I own this is unuquestionably the best. The production work are incredible, every track gets your adrenaline pumping. The beats respect hip-hop's history, with old school tracks like "Criminal Set". The album, particularly "Tough Guy" and "Scent of a Woman" feature honestly creative production work - not something you see on a lot of mainstream rap these days. More modern sentiments are represented as well, particularly on "Klack Klack Klack". There's a lot of good production going on on each of these tracks.

Xzibit's rhymes are good, but they can't measure up to the beats. He's at his best when he just cuts loose and has some fun, as on "Back 2 the Way it Was" or "Tough Guy". When he tries to make political points, as on "Cold World", he comes off as pretentious. His politics are nothing you couldn't have guessed or havn't heard before.

If you like rap at all, I heavily reccomend this CD. I've listened to it ten times and I'm still not tired about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xzibit trying to bring it back, December 18, 2004
This review is from: Weapons of Mass Destruction (Audio CD)
I thought this was a decent album. In a year of horrible hip hop this album stands out more than it normally would. I think this was his third best album. People on here who keep saying Restless and 40 Dayz 40 Nightz are his best albums are just running their mouth because for one some people only got on to Xzibit when he released Restless and if you liked 40 Dayz 40 Nightz you will easily like at the Speed of Life, his first album. One of the best hip hop albums ever. As for this one I thought it was a solid album but I do agree something was missing and I think it was a big guest appearance. I thought Busta Rhymes appearance was okay but I thought he needed one or two more. I guess the purpose of this album is to introduce strong arm steady and to me they seem like they may be real good. If you don't believe me check out Phil Da Agony the Aromatic Album and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3+half stars) not X's most dangerous weapons!!!, April 1, 2005
In my opinion this isnt X's best work by a long shot. However its still better than alotta albums out at the moment which shows how weak hiphop is these days. The beats aren't as hard as you usually get from X and some of the lyrics are monotonous+sound like stuff from older albums. Its like he's not raising his game that much any more. Too many tracks here are like fillers rather than thrillers such as "sat.nite live",(awful) "ride or die",(weak) "crazy ho",(X's not on it) "scent of a woman" and "klack". The remaining tracks are more of what we expect from the X man. "LAX", "muhf**ka", "beware of us", "tough guy" and the amazing "hey now" are the true highlights. Add them to "cold world", "judgement day" and "back to the way it was" (3 different BUT tight tracks from X) and you've a worthwhile addition to any rap collection. As i said not his best work but its still hot for those 8 tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xzibit's new cd is one of the better album's this year., December 20, 2004
By 
"ric q" (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Weapons of Mass Destruction (Audio CD)
I was impressed with this whole album. I can actually listen to this whole cd without skipping tracks. To me that deserves a five star rating. The production of this album is solid even with Dre not involved. I have to say each beat is unique from what you might expect in a westcoast album. Xzibit has definitely stepped his game up and I look forward to his future releases. I strongly recommend this album. It proves to be one of the better albums coming from the west this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Xzibit's Best, January 26, 2005
Not a huge fan of Xzibit, but with this one he kills it. In regard to the simple review from that other person, just a typical "sub-urban wansta" that doesnt listen to music for the skill and can't relate, Buddy, Xzibit didnt start the war, Bush did, I respect all the soldiers out there, I have a brother out there, I support the troops, but I support more that they bring them back. Back to the CD, buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xzibit's Exhibit, December 15, 2004
This one and "Restless" in my opinion are the best two. To me, Xzibit sounds better with a Dr. Dre beat but don't sleep on the producers on this CD. There are some real nice beats on this one. My favorite songs are LAX, Hey Now, Mutha*****, and Tough Guy(feat. Busta Rhymes). The CD is definitely worth the money. Play this CD in your vehicle and it'll definitely "Pimp Your Ride." So go get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All X fans must get this, December 14, 2004
This album is no effing joke. Its different from all the rest but rap is taking a new course it seems. Everyone wants to change style. That doesnt change the fact that this album is pure 100% off the chains with the beats and lyrics.

If you are an Xzibit fan, this is a must.

Favorite Tracks:
Cold World
Judgement Day
Hey Now (Mean Muggin)
Tough Guy f/ Busta Rhymes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Weapons of Mass Destruction
Weapons of Mass Destruction by Xzibit (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.