Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting reading
Earl Weaver reveals some of the reasons he was such a successful manager. Baseball fans can use this book to get a better understanding of the strategy behind the managerial decisions. Some of Earl Weaver's advice is admittedly questionable for the current game, so he added a 2002 epilogue to comment on his past advice. Earl Weaver was not as hot headed as was the...
Published on January 24, 2003 by Ray Kidder

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly what I thought.
This book is filled with basic strategy baseball. It is an OK book as a refresher course. I thought I would learn something from Weaver...unfortunately this was not the case.
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting reading, January 24, 2003
By 
Ray Kidder (Woodbridge, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
Earl Weaver reveals some of the reasons he was such a successful manager. Baseball fans can use this book to get a better understanding of the strategy behind the managerial decisions. Some of Earl Weaver's advice is admittedly questionable for the current game, so he added a 2002 epilogue to comment on his past advice. Earl Weaver was not as hot headed as was the impression from his arguments with umpires. His additude is that it was better for the manager to be thrown out of a game than to have one of his valuable players thrown out. He explains how he looked upon each decision as a type of gamble, basing the odds of success largely on past performace when a player was in a similar situation. That is why he kept and used lots of player statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice for a fan, coach or manager, February 1, 2008
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
Years of statistical research and number-crunching have proven one thing: Earl Weaver was a pretty smart guy. Weaver, who didn't frown on using numbers himself, was a living hybrid of old-fashioned baseball wisdom and a forward-thinking organizational mind that helped turn the Baltimore Orioles into a dynasty.
For the fan, you can read about how Weaver achieved such great success in the majors with methods not out of line with modern, or "sabermetric" analysis.
For a manager or coach, Weaver offers a lot of practical advice about managing a ballclub. This won't teach you how to hit a curveball, but it will tell you what lineup to use against a curveball pitcher, how to handle players both young and old, and how to run an effective spring training regimen.
Weaver's advice is pertinent and insightful even now, 20 years after he managed his last game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baseball's Greatest Manager, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
I've owned this book for several years but felt compelled to write a review after Weaver passed away on January 19, 2013. Weaver was one of, if not the first, managers to embrace what came to be known as Sabermetrics in how he shaped and utilized his team. This book explains his philosophies on hitting, fielding and pitching and contains insight that remains as valuable to winning baseball in the 21st century as it was when he managed the great Orioles teams of the 70's. Weaver's humor and irascibility run throughout the narrative. The man loved baseball and his contributions to the game will never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Natural at Managing, August 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
This is a great, quick read on the basics of managing a Major League Baseball Team. Weaver preaches many principles of sabermetrics, before they had come into vogue. Instead, he had come to espouse many sabermetric principles (i.e. high OBP guys at the top of the lineup, eschewing stealing/the hit and run/sacrifice bunting) not by reading Bill James, but simply from watching thousands of baseball games. His book lays out his simple yet innovative approaches to the game, and also, indirectly proves how intelligent of a manager he had been.

Admittedly, this book is a little dated, but his main points still hold true in today's game. For anyone who wants to talk intelligently about managers in the Majors. This is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Earl is Dead, Long Live the Earl!, March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
With Baseball season almost here, I needed a baseball book to tide more over till then. Weaver, the former Skipper of my Beloved Baltimore Orioles, gives in this short readable book funny, insightful explanations ias to how the game should be managed and played. The advice is still good today. Earl you'll be missed. Try to keep the language clean when you're talking around all those angels in Heaven...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the thinking baseball fan, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
I think this is one piece of literature that every baseball fan should have. Weaver was ahead of his time, and pretty much everything he mentions in this books are valuable lessons that still can be applied. The writing makes it really easy to follow; it only took me a couple of days to read the entire book and after I finished I was let wishing I had read it before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manager extraordinaire!, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
It is easy to see why Weaver was one of the most successful coaches in Baseball. His approach to the game is analogous to many different things we do in life. His perception and the processes he applied were what set him apart from many. These are similar to the TQM processes applied in business today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gem from Earl, October 30, 2009
By 
Gene Owens (York County, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
Earl Weaver has a win-loss record in professional baseball that sets him a notch above the rest of the world. Spend a little time with this book and you can get a feel for what goes on inside the head of a the guy in the dugout that guides a team to world championships. It offers great insights into Earl's approaach to winning baseball games. He tells you how the Orioles won all those championship games and how he used the incredible talent he had on those rosters. Earl wont win all the games with 25 guys that can't play good, fundamental baseball. And 25 star players may not always end up in the world series. But, if you put Earl and the talent together, there's a good chance he win again and again. This is excellent reading for a baseball fan that wants to learn about how games are won.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for an average fan looking for a deeper understanding, April 5, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
This book was exactly what I was looking for. I read this at the beginning of last season because I wanted to get a better understanding of the game. Of course I already knew all the rules, a lot of the history and the fundamentals; but I never played the game and I was looking to go much further and get into the subtleties. I wanted the kind of understanding a seasoned player has. I wanted to understand more of the strategy of the game. This was well written, easy to understand, and amusing. The tone is conversational, and there are a lot of funny and interesting anecdotes. I plan on reading it again this year. Even though it was a fairly short book, I know I didn't absorb everything. If you're a casual fan and you're looking for a good book on baseball strategy, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent baseball book, January 14, 2007
This review is from: Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team (Paperback)
Weaver on Strategy is a mindful look into managing a baseball game. Weaver's opinions on getting on base and preserving outs (by not giving them away via the sacrifice bunt, for example) have been brought back into vogue by the current generation of baseball sabermetricians. I recommend this book to all thoughtful baseball coaches and managers looking for a different look at negotiating your team through a baseball game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Weaver on Strategy: The Classic Work on the Art of Managing a Baseball Team
$19.95 $13.87
In stock on December 26, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.