Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read on internet communication of the Gospel
Mark Stephenson has written a good book on internet ministry, as it relates to the average church website. Mark is on staff with Ginghamsburg Church in Tipp City, OH. They have an active, community oriented website built using Typo, an open source content management system that they have customized into the Web Empowered Church (WEC). The only fault I can find for this...
Published on March 8, 2007 by L. SIMONALLE

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless
This book was worthless. The CD did not work which is where the tutorials were for the actual programming instruction that was needed to have a web site. Total waste of money.
Published on June 16, 2009 by Private Sounds


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read on internet communication of the Gospel, March 8, 2007
By 
L. SIMONALLE (Dayton, Ohio, USA, Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry (Paperback)
Mark Stephenson has written a good book on internet ministry, as it relates to the average church website. Mark is on staff with Ginghamsburg Church in Tipp City, OH. They have an active, community oriented website built using Typo, an open source content management system that they have customized into the Web Empowered Church (WEC). The only fault I can find for this book is that it is very narrow in solutions, with the WEC pushed as the best solution to churches communicating their message on the internet. After reading the book, the slant makes sense but I hoped it would be a broader scope. Nevertheless, Mark does a good job of covering why a church should have an rocking website and has many suggestions for what should go on there. It's a very non-technical read and is approachable from any experience level. I will use it in acquainting members of our church and ministry teams to web ministry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, January 17, 2007
By 
Websquad "Bob" (Lexington KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry (Paperback)
I've been doing church websites for over 10 years, and wish I had the benefit of the teachings and tools presented in this book when I started. Many of the things the book talks about are lessons I learned through trial and error over this period. Many other issues, such as use of a Content Management System, were technical challenges that I thought were unobtainable, but now seem very possible. I found this to be a easy read and a worthwhile use of my time. Outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, practical content at a reasonable price, April 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry (Paperback)
I found Web-Empower Your Church while researching the general topic of online services for churches. This is a great book, and provides demonstration software and training material to help jump-start the creation of a powerful web presence.

Stephenson writes from the perspective of someone creating Web content because he is passionate about being in ministry, and using the Web as a route to reach people. In that sense, it's a very genuine expression of his personal experience.

Key points:
- This is a practical, from the trenches guide to how to use the Internet to further your church's ministries.
- This is not a reference text nor a step-by-step guide - it gives guidelines and directions, but not enormous amounts of detail (there's no room in its 187 pages). For instance, the text suggests implementing policies to manage contributions to and comments on blogs and other user-generated feedback, and does give some guidance. However, it does not give explicit, detailed guidance for exactly what policies should be implemented - the details of this are things that each church will need to work out given their own circumstances.
- Both successes and failures are offered - it's very often instructive to learn what went wrong, so you don't inadvertently follow that path!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, April 28, 2008
This review is from: Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry (Paperback)
I have read and truly appreciated this book. Showed it to some church leaders who are set to get themselves a copy! It is great the way you are walked through the process of setting up the web ministry and what worked and did not. In a nutshell, they say, we made these mistakes, don't make them! Must read for anyone considering a minitry website! Especially if you are in touch with the current century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Web-Empower Your Church is worth reading, May 31, 2008
By 
This review is from: Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry (Paperback)
Wow! This book equips Christians to build and enhance a web ministry. It is easy to ready and is filled with practical encouragement.

I'm involved with our church's website and I found this book a hugh blessing. I'm recommending it to leaders in our church.

If you are interested in using today's technology to minister to members and the wider community, this book has much to offer you in your efforts.

It is worth the time to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent real-world knowledge, June 1, 2007
This review is from: Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry (Paperback)
This book provides a rare, behind-the-curtains look into a very successful church website ministry. It describes how they did it, what didn't work, what went well, what became too successful and died, and how you can learn from them to avoid mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry (Paperback)
Web- empower Your Church by Mark M. Stephenson was a great book. This book was very helpful in knowing how to create a website for your church. Not only did the book provide me with information on how to build a website for a church, it also showed me what my own church's website was lacking and what more could be done in order to enhance it. I plan to use this book as a guide as I create websites for ministries of my church in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless, June 16, 2009
By 
This review is from: Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry (Paperback)
This book was worthless. The CD did not work which is where the tutorials were for the actual programming instruction that was needed to have a web site. Total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry
Web-Empower Your Church: Unleashing the Power of Internet Ministry by Mark Morgan Stephenson (Paperback - November 28, 2006)
$24.99 $22.49
Usually ships in 2 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.