Customer Reviews


485 Reviews
5 star:
 (377)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing better
I do a lot of smoking and have tried quite a few products. Kingsford Match Light is very easy to start, however it adds a terrible taste to meat and quite honestly makes me wonder about health repercussions. I have tried lighting charcoal with light fluid, which works ok and just has the same problems as Kingsford Match Light. I have spent time lighting charcoal with...
Published on October 11, 2010 by Lucanus

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for charcoal, be forewarned about other uses. Packaging a pain.
I bought these as a cheaper alternative to fuel tabs. They make good fire starter, but you still need small kindling to get a fire going. As for survival uses, don't try to heat water with these! The amount of soot these puppies give off is crazy. You'll be washing your pot for a week. The packaging is very unfortunate. Although these don't reek like the esbit solid fuel...
Published 10 months ago by Quickdraw


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing better, October 11, 2010
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
I do a lot of smoking and have tried quite a few products. Kingsford Match Light is very easy to start, however it adds a terrible taste to meat and quite honestly makes me wonder about health repercussions. I have tried lighting charcoal with light fluid, which works ok and just has the same problems as Kingsford Match Light. I have spent time lighting charcoal with newspaper and a chimney, which works very well, except for all the burnt paper that goes all over the place. I started using Weber's Light Cubes a few weeks ago and couldn't be happier. For starters they light charcoal faster than any product I have ever used. They burn very clean and do not ash like paper does. I do not see myself ever lighting charcoal again without these cubes. These cubes are perfect for light charcoal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fire Starters, September 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
These can be used for starting camp fires and kept in emergency kits for fire starting . They will burn while floating on water and light with a flint fire starter or match . (Just scrape a small amount of flakes or dust on top and strike the sparks into it and instant flame) I use about 1/4 cube and wood to start a fire in my Kelly Kettle and one cube by its self will heat a 2.5 pint kettle to the point of steaming . No doubt two would cause it to boil . Cubes are large enough that they can be cut in sections and used to stretch them further . My point is this is more than a charcoal starter and is the best you can buy at a great price . This is one great product .
Thought I would add I do use them in my Weber Chimney for charcoal and they work great . I also noticed one reviewer said they melted. I have never had one melt or run, and I've used many of them . I'm not sure they are using the same product .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT START, April 29, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
These are my favorite way to start coals. Just need one (or two if lighting the whole kettle) under a pile of coals. Light with long wooden match from underneath. 20 minutes later your coals are ready to spread out, and they don't smell like chemicals or gases! RECOMMEND HIGHLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome, July 12, 2010
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
I just got a Chimney Starter, and these Cube. Being new, I used 3 cubes in a triangle under the chimney. I used lump charcoal, and Wow! the charcoal were ready in 10 mins. Yes 10 mins. Next time I will use 2 or maybe just 1 cube.
The combination of the Chimney starter, and the lighter cubes is just superby. My charcoal lighting problems are over. I can focus on the Marinade!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never look back...., June 14, 2010
By 
G. Mayes (Leesburg, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
I use these Weber Start Cubes to light my charcoal chimney whenever I'm using my charcoal grill or smoker. The alternative is using newspaper that results in a lot of ash blowing around and it is a mess.

Just light one of these under your charcoal chimney and it does the trick. No need to use 2.

I haven't used these in any other way, but I can imagine these would work good in any situation where you need a flame to stay lit for 10 minutes regardless of weather conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Fantastic!, February 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
Typically, I simply use newspaper to start my fires with my Weber 7416 Rapidfire Chimney Starter. The problem is, on windy days, the burnt newspaper flies all over the place getting all over my patio and patio furniture. After reading the reviews for this, I thought these were worth a try. WOW! I used these for the first time today since it was quite windy outside. One cube underneath the Chimney Starter filled with coals was all it took! These work exactly as I wanted and intended. On calmer days, I will stick to newspaper. However, these are a definite must if you often find yourself watching unwanted flying burnt newspaper getting all over the place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, October 19, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
This absolutely the only way to start a charcoal fire - only one is needed to start a whole chimney - instructions indicate to use more but definitely not needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weber Fire Starters, September 8, 2009
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
Use only one starter and it works every time. This combined with a Weber charcoal chimney makes for an easy way to get your charcoal grill up and going for those perfect burgers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for BBQ, September 12, 2009
By 
D. Spier (Newton, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
Very easy tool to get old fashioned charcoal going. Simple and clean. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy, no aftertastes, no odor, September 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count (Lawn & Patio)
The Firestarter Lighter Cubes are fantastic! No more paper, no more re-lights. Just put one on the coal grate, light with a match, lighter, or whatever, and put the chimney starter, loaded with the charcoal, over the starter cube. Lights the coals much faster than paper. Excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Weber 7417 FireStarters Lighter Cubes, 24 Count
$4.29 $3.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.