Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Practical for Dial-up Users
I bought this product last January and it has been nine months of aggravation. It is effective at what it is designed for. It is certainly comparable in quality to the other big names which I also own or owned. But should you have a dial-up connection like me (56k), it is a bandwidth hog. I switch on/off updates for the anti-virus files to better manage my time...
Published on September 18, 2010 by Mark R. Jorgensen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Webroot 7.xx Interferes With Acronis True Image Backup
I am posting this to assist anyone who has encountered a conflict between Webroot Spysweeper With Anti Virus version 7.xxx (2011) and backup programs.
I recently updated Webroot Spysweeper and Antivirus from version 6.1.0.145 to version 7.0.4.127. The old version served me well for many years and never interfered with any of my applications. The new version began...
Published on October 20, 2010 by Michelle D'Avolio & Nick Baldo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Practical for Dial-up Users, September 18, 2010
By 
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
I bought this product last January and it has been nine months of aggravation. It is effective at what it is designed for. It is certainly comparable in quality to the other big names which I also own or owned. But should you have a dial-up connection like me (56k), it is a bandwidth hog. I switch on/off updates for the anti-virus files to better manage my time because they are large and slow, and it is impossible to do an online upgrade as I was constantly prompted to do to go from 6.0 to 7.0. This is the second time I have owned Webroot Spy Sweeper and the second time I am fed up with with its aggravating qualities. If you have a high-speed connection then this is definitely one of the best three or four products available. Otherwise, buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, December 7, 2010
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
I don't generally write reviews, but after having trouble with my computer being infected with trojans and about a million other things and mcafee basically being a waste of space I decided to try this out. There were a few bad reviews which made me skeptical but a lot of the pc sites recommended it so I figured it was worth a shot. First scan it pulled up a bunch of trojans, cookies and spyware and got rid of them. I haven't had anything since! My computer was back to normal, FINALLY! I thought for sure I'd have to take it in! I would recommend this to anyone for sure!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not HAPPY, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
Did not do anything but lockup my computer and told me that I needed to pay $200.00 to have it unlock due to some copright law that was violated I would rate this at a minus 5 Don't know if this was some type of scam or if the warning was legal. Not a happy camper since I have been without my laptop for 3 weeks

Is there anything you can do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Subscription is misleading. 1 year means 5 months, January 8, 2012
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
Purchased software in July, 2011. Notified by Weboot in December, 2011, that my one year subscription had expired. When Webroot worked, it worked great. No problems with anything. Extreamely difficult to get tech support or speak to company of subscription concerns. As of right now, still no feedback from Webroot to resolve subscription problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User, September 23, 2011
By 
Ms. Hoh (WALTON, KY, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
I had gotten a previous version of this software with my laptop. Very easy to use. However, every 7 days or so, it will prompt you to do a scan. Updates are automatic. Good product for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TAKES CARE OF ITSELF, May 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
RECEIVED THIS PRODUCT PROMPTLY. I SCAN WEEKLY, SO IT IS A LOAD OFF MY MIND KNOWING THAT THIS SOFTWARE TAKES CARE OF MONITORING AND GETS RID OF POTENTIAL HARMFUL SOFTWARE PROGRAMS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars sorry to say....., December 31, 2010
By 
glouise (Upstate New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
I have been using spy sweeper and window washer since they first came out and loved them both. When they added antivirus to spysweeper I had no problem or lack of confidence in switching to the new webroot product. I have been using this software for 8 years (not sure when the antivirus was added but it has been for a while) and have never had a problem and conducted my business on the web with full confidence. Loved the ease of use and how I could easily customize it for my needs and the software was never intrusive. It ran without slowing down my computer, freezing it up or letting in any unwanted visitors. I could even work on other things while it went about it's business. Now you wonder why the 2 stars. All these great things mean nothing if it doesn't do its basic job. I am sad to say that with the upgrade this year Webroot has failed me. My computer was taken over and trashed, whole files corrupted and system loss. I actually had to bring it to someone to fix for me and frankly what a hassle and extra unwanted expense. Don't even ask me about customer service...frankly there is none unless your idea of service is unrelated e-mail answers and wait times over the phone into the 1000 minute catagory. Yes, I was told wait time was 1200 minutes...took me a second to realise that was 2 HOURS the expected someone to wait when I initally heard the recording. Never talked with an actually person and never received an actually e-mail response that actually seemed as though someone had read my question. The other nice thing is I keep getting e-mails about not letting my subscription expire...yeah, I renewed 2 months ago..also love they have the time to keep sending me offers to upgrade but frankly why would I want to?. Unfortunalty, in something like this I am not much for second chances and really don't need the extra pump to my blood preasure. I am looking into a new antivirus software to use when I finally get back online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Webroot Antivirus is Great!, November 8, 2010
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
I purchased a brand new Windows 7 laptop about two months ago and a family member recommended I try out Webroot rather than just using what came on the PC (McAfee). So I tried it out - and it's been working fine - no system slowdown or anything weird. About two months later, we had some strange pop-ups on a desktop PC (Windows Vista) at home- some fake antivirus software messages, and also other annoying pop-ups which made the Internet really slow... so thought I would try using Webroot again - when I scanned with Webroot, it found over 100 issues - including some rogue security software and Trojans...and after quarantining all it found, I am happy to say it worked! The computer is clean and working faster. What a relief! I highly recommend Webroot to anyone who is either starting off with a clean machine or needs to clean up an infected one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Webroot 7.xx Interferes With Acronis True Image Backup, October 20, 2010
By 
Michelle D'Avolio & Nick Baldo (Wakefield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
I am posting this to assist anyone who has encountered a conflict between Webroot Spysweeper With Anti Virus version 7.xxx (2011) and backup programs.
I recently updated Webroot Spysweeper and Antivirus from version 6.1.0.145 to version 7.0.4.127. The old version served me well for many years and never interfered with any of my applications. The new version began interfering with my Acronis True Image backup program, which I use to backup my hard drive partitions to an external drive. I was no longer able to perform new backups nor was I able to access previous backups. One of the main drawbacks of version 7.xxx is that you are not able to temporarily shut the program down (you can only close the system tray icon while the program continues to run). I was able to get my backup program working again by uninstalling Webroot Spysweeper with AntiVirus version 7.xxx. I installed Webroot Spysweeper with AntiVirus version 6.1.0.145 and *only updated my virus definitions* (and not the program) and I can now successfully use my backup program and access old backups for restoring. Webroot technical support assured me that I can renew my subscription without upgrading the program to version 7.xxxx. I hope that this helps anyone who has encountered a similar frustration.
Here is the procedure to install the 6.1.0145 version from Webroot tech support (I starred some steps for key emphasis):
For Windows XP, Vista and 7 users - Installing the 6.1.0145 version of the Webroot security software:
1.Download the 6.1.0.145 installer version here:
[...]
2. Save the installer from the link above to your Desktop.
3. Double-click the installer to begin the installation.
4. You will be prompted to enter your keycode. **Before entering it, click the line that says Change Install Options.**
5. This will open a page on which you'll see a checkbox labeled Check for updates during installation. **Uncheck this box,** then press OK at the bottom of the window.
6. You will then be prompted once more to enter your keycode. Enter it now, then click Agree & Install.
7. After pressing the Agree & Install button, you will see a message asking if you are sure you want to continue without installing virus definitions. **Click Yes, Continue Without Virus Definitions.**
8. Once the software is installed, reboot your computer when you are prompted to do so.
9. After restarting, check for updates on the main page of your program. This will download all the virus definitions that were not downloaded during the installation process. **If you are prompted to download a newer program version, decline the offer. **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Antivirus has failed me!, November 15, 2010
This review is from: Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User (DVD-ROM)
This is my third year using Webroot AntiVirus with Sweeper and I've always been satisfied with it but, this version has been a disappointment to me. Unlike those prior versions, the virus protection this time has failed me immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User
Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper 1-User by Webroot Software (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
$39.99 $25.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.