Customer Reviews


601 Reviews
5 star:
 (293)
4 star:
 (135)
3 star:
 (77)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Movie of the Summer, if not year.
There were other funny movies this year and this summer. Both "Batman Begins" and "Serenity" were extremely funny and well written in their own witty manners. "Wedding Crashers," however, was written to be a comedy, and I have to say that it takes funny to an entirely new level. Both Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson have been hilarious before, but the roles they nab in...
Published on November 12, 2005 by N8

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First 70 minutes are hilarious, then.................
This movie was about 30-45 minutes too long. It's like I saw two different movies shoved together so they could succeed in getting a two hour comedy movie released. I am a firm believer in the fact that I don't mind if a comedy is short in the 70-85 minute range as long as it's funny, and this one was that movie, but it just kept going and going. So, let's talk about the...
Published on January 20, 2006 by Jason W. Kaiser


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Movie of the Summer, if not year., November 12, 2005
There were other funny movies this year and this summer. Both "Batman Begins" and "Serenity" were extremely funny and well written in their own witty manners. "Wedding Crashers," however, was written to be a comedy, and I have to say that it takes funny to an entirely new level. Both Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson have been hilarious before, but the roles they nab in this flick seem to say they were born to star in this movie.

"Wedding Crashers" is that rare movie that combines the comedic excellence of the cast with a very strong, intelligent, hilarious script, and directing that executes the necessary direction flawlessly. Too often lately, I feel as though movie studios have shyed away from "R" rated comedies for many reasons. The "R" rating of course threatens who will actually see a movie, so I understand why studios often create "R" rated movies with caution. What I do not understand, however, is why, until "Wedding Crashers," intelligent, witty, adult-oriented "R" rated comedies seemed to have fallen completely off the radar. For the past 5 years or so, any comedy with an "R" rating (or often a PG-13 rating for that matter) had the rating because of disgusting, gross-out gags that forced laughs because of awkwardness and shock value. "Wedding Crashers" was a sigh of relief because it forced nothing. There were no unnecessary bodily function gags, there were no horribly moronically stupid characters. The movie worked because for the most part, everything seems believable. The characters come off as very real people in an improbable, but still possible situation, and interwined with a "cooky" love story, the comedy works really really well.

I cannot say enough about this film. I was laughing so hard the first 3 times I saw it that tears were streaming down my face. Time #4 I had to restrain myself so I could actually hear the punchlines to the jokes so I couldn't tear-up too much. This movie is great. The characters are great. They are funny, they are sweet, but somehow, they are real. And that is why this movie was so successful. We all have either been, or could see ourselves being Owen and Vince, and they were great. So were Isla and Rachel and Christopher and everyone really. This movie is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 123 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent buddy flick...., August 8, 2005
By 
Boggman! (Laguna Hills, CA) - See all my reviews
John (Owen Wilson) & Jeremy (Vince Vaughn) are best buds. They've known each other for 17 years, work together, and in there spare time crash wedding parties; where they drink like sailors, mingle with unsuspecting relatives, and hit on single and willing brides maids every chance they get. They have a whole science to their crashing ( rules and all), and have become quite adept at the sport.

That all changes when they attend a wedding held by Secretary Cleary (Christopher Walken), whose daughter is getting hitched. During the lavish formal affair, Jeremy makes headway with Cleary's physcopath daughter Gloria ( a hilarious Isla Fisher), while John slowly maneuvers his way into the life of the Secretary's other daughter Claire (Rachel McAdams), who just happens to have a steady bo' of her own.

Eventually, after all the formalities-- the two are privately invited back to the Secretary's estate, where they play touch football with the family, have formal dinners, sail out on the boat, & get hit on by the Secretary's sex starved wife (Jane Seymour) & his homosexual son Todd (Keir O'Donnell).

Its all very funny and silly- but the great chemistry by Wilson and Vaughn helps the film move at a steady pace. The supporting roles of McAdams and Fishler are nicely fleshed out as well. While no means a great movie, "The Wedding Crashers" is quite funny at times, and overall enjoyable.

Some people have called this a raunchy, gross-out comedy; although I noticed nothing of the sort. Besides the dialogue and a few breast shots, theres really nothing raunchy or gross-out about "Wedding Crashers" at all. It certainly wouldnt fall into the category of "Something About Mary" or the "American Pie" movies.

Vaughn and Wilson definitley shine throughout and appear to be having the time of their lives here....

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Raucous Good Time, August 5, 2005
By 
Cinephiliac (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wedding Crashers is the story of John (Owen Wilson) and Jeremy (Vince Vaughn), who work as arbitrators, mediating in difficult divorce cases. Each year these two lifelong best friends take the month of June off to infiltrate weddings of every description.

John and Jeremy are natural born shape-shifters, adapting to any circumstance. Armed only with vast quantities of bravado and an ethnically appropriate back-story, these guys are in search of an endless party and beautiful women. As a woman, I felt I should probably be offended on behalf of my sex at their "let's get in, seduce a lot of women and get out" mentality. However, they are so likeable and their tactics are so over-the-top and so shamelessly manipulative, you just can't help laughing. They are also the life of any party. Dancing with the flower girls, tying balloon animals for the kids and schmoozing with the elderly guests, they are also the first ones up for a vigorous hora or polka, pulling the more reticent guests up with them as they go.

As the wedding season closes out, John starts to lose some of his enthusiasm for the enterprise. These "one afternoon stands" are a bit like only eating dessert - it might sound really good on paper but it will leave you feeling pretty lousy after a while. He's also beginning to feel that they are a little too old to be doing this sort of thing. Jeremy soon convinces John to crash just one more wedding - the wedding of the daughter of U.S. Treasury Secretary, William Cleary (Christopher Walken).

Posing as venture capital high-rollers, John and Jeremy sneak past the Secret Service. John is immediately attracted to Claire (Rachel McAdams), one of the bride's sisters. Saving her from an embarrassingly dismal wedding toast, the two immediately click, but bad timing in the arrival of Sack (Bradley Cooper), Claire's ivy league, horse's rump of a boyfriend, prevent them from getting better acquainted.

Jeremy meanwhile more than meets his match in the form of the bride's other sister, Gloria (the delightfully demented Isla Fisher). After closing the deal (ahem) with Gloria, Jeremy finds himself unable to shake her off. Jeremy describes her to John as "completely off the reservation" and he's not wrong. She is the poster child for clingy and inappropriate behavior. It is interesting to see the 6'5" Vaughn equally attracted to and afraid of this tiny woman.

Jeremy is able to wangle a weekend invitation to the Cleary estate for John to spend more time with the woman of his dreams. The Cleary Clan are one strange bunch: a racist elderly matriarch, Grandma Mary Cleary (Ellen Albertini Dow), Secretary Cleary's sexually inappropriate wife, Kathleen (Jane Seymour), and his wound-way-too-tight artistic son, Todd (Keir O'Donnell).

John and Jeremy survive a game of homicidal touch football and one of the more wildly loony dinner parties ever put on film. You have to admire Jeremy. He is ready to leave almost immediately and endures the brunt of the Cleary Clan's unwholesome attention, but he hangs in there for his friend. After suffering a series of late night, unwelcome and increasingly abusive visits from the various deranged Cleary family members, Vaughn's hyper-verbal panic attacks are some of the funniest scenes in the movie.

Others have covered in great detail the lowbrow nature of the comedy. It is very politically incorrect. It may have you rolling your eyes or even groaning at times. (I suppose I am not that easily offended.) I didn't expect too much going in and was very pleasantly surprised. I found it to be a good natured, high octane romp. If you are willing to adjust your expectations accordingly, you may as well. Vaughn and Owens have a great chemistry. Vaughn's manic energy is a perfect counter to Owens' more laidback, wry style.

Will John be able to woo Claire away from Sack? Has Jeremy found the perfect woman in Gloria? Will they be exposed as the totally lying horndogs they are? (I don't want to spoil the movie for you.) I give it a solid 4-1/2 stars. It loses half a point for a slightly weak and tacked on feeling to the ending. I've never had this much fun at a wedding, and I didn't even have to buy a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First 70 minutes are hilarious, then................., January 20, 2006
By 
Jason W. Kaiser (Beaverton, Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie was about 30-45 minutes too long. It's like I saw two different movies shoved together so they could succeed in getting a two hour comedy movie released. I am a firm believer in the fact that I don't mind if a comedy is short in the 70-85 minute range as long as it's funny, and this one was that movie, but it just kept going and going. So, let's talk about the first half of the movie, or the 4-star part....Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn are professional wedding crashers, and they are extremely talented at it, they are sure to get every slightest detail down so no mistake can be made, and for a while everything is going fine, they are eating, drinking and freakin' everything in sight. All the while making us laugh....alot. The lies and the facial expressions these two come up with are just plain priceless. The chemistry between Vaughn and Wilson is perfect, as expected, what is this the 4th or 5th movie they've been in together?

Eventually, Wilson falls in love, breaking 1 of the some thousand wedding crashing rules, and to top it off, the woman Wilson fell in love with (the lovely Rachel McAdams) is the daughter of Christopher Walken, who just happens to be running for office. To add more crazyness to the plot, Vaughn's character nails another one of the daughters, who in turn falls in love with him. Got all that? Good, moving on....The dialogue between Wilson and Vaughn is very funny, most of the jokes work, and while a bit raunchy here and there, it fits well. Now here's where things start to fall apart, both with the movie and our heroe's.

The second part of the movie, or the 2-star part, goes all out on Hollywood cliches' We get the family bickering, the big 'fight' between Wilson and Vaughn, the speech during the wedding , it just seemed forced and that they just ran out of good jokes, so they recycled some old, lamer ones. I saw the ending coming a mile away and the edge and character the movie had is all but gone now.

So, I gave 4-stars and 2-stars, another bit of the 4-star part I rather enjoyed are the minor roles played by Jane Seymour, she plays Christopher Walken's drunk wife with new breasts, and Will Ferrell (surprised? nah, me either, I think there is an agreement with these 3 men along with Ben Stiller to appear in everyone of each other's movies. just a thought) as Chaz, the legendary wedding crasher Vaughn and Wilson are always quoting. He plays a man in his late 30's, still leaving with his mother, now crashing funerals cuz' it's so easy to get laid by a depressed chick, or so Ferrell says.

There are many subplots, most I didn't care for, but be sure and check out Vaughn's confession to a preist at the breakfeast table........priceless!!! and Jane Seymour's half-ass attempt at seducing Owen Wilson with her new ta-ta's, very funny!!

acting......4 stars, You know you can't go wrong with these two

directing....3 stars, 30-54 minutes too long

special effects...N/A, comedy here, not thrills and chills

comedy rating .....4 stars first 70 minutes, 2 stars after that

quality........3.5 stars, Decent picture quality, little grain, but great soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously Funny Incredibly Erotic Sex Romp, March 8, 2006
This review is from: Wedding Crashers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie had me laughing till my stomach was aching and I still couldn't stop. I thought this was just going to be one of your ordinary production line comedies they turn out these days from Hollywood. The situations that Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn get into are pretty outrageous. Ultimately the film takes a curious twist toward the bizarre. As the film establishes these two guys, they crash weddings with their incredibly witty and irresistible charm and have women literally falling into to bead with them. The film begins to enter the realm of the surreal once our two protagonists end up with Christopher Walken and his family and entourage who are just very strange people and that is where the film goes wild. You never know what is going to happen next and that's what makes this film so hilarious and also very witty. I found this movie very amusing and downright funny. I haven't laughed like this in years. To give too much of the plot away would ruin this film's impact. I think the general public has overlooked this film to an extent. The trailer for this film was totally misleading. I went in to see this movie reluctantly but came out laughing all the way home.

This video is outstanding. The numerous scenes of these two womanizers with women in various stages of nudity are incredibly erotic. However, this just sets you up for more unexpected and flat out outrageous scenes. The film gets your natural instincts up to fever pitch and then the floor drops out from under you. The entire cast is perfect and you still never really know what's around the bend in this well scripted romp. Particularly, Vince Vaughn shows an incredible depth of talent I never knew he had. He just about steals this film away in a very subtle way that you just have to see. If you like outrageous humor and want unexpected laughs I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You Are Cordially Invited To..., January 14, 2006
I have to say that this movie surprised in two ways. I was surprised with what the movie was like, and just as surprised that it wasn't what I thought it would be. What do I mean?. I was expecting the movie to be pretty raunchy and over the top along the lines of more recent comedy fare. It wasn't. Don't get me wrong, it does get a little nutty with some R rated material, but it wasn't like it is in other raunchier comedies. I was also surprised that it was a nicer film with more heart than I was expecting. It's still an R rated film all the way though. It took me a while to laugh because the movie doesn't really get funny until 45 minutes into the film. Once they crash the big wedding and hook up with the girls and their family, then it starts becoming funny. Just wait. It'll come. I was also never a real fan of either Owen Wilson or Vince Vaughn, but I liked them a great deal here and will keep an open mind about them from now on. The two star as a couple of friends who, come wedding season, crash the festivities to have a good time, eat good food, drink good wine, and possibly bed some women. They get into more than they can handle when they attend the wedding of the daughter of the Secretary of Treasury(Christopher Walken). John(Owen) meets Claire(Rachel McAdams), the middle daughter, and Jeremy(Vince) meets Gloria, the youngest daughter, who's a few sandwiches short of a picnic. In what becomes very predictable, John actually falls for Claire, who is with a rich creep(also very predictable), and Jeremy tries to flee from the crazy Gloria. The movie is basically very routine. You know what will happen the second it starts, and you know how it will all play out in the end. The movie offers no real surprises, but it makes up for it in plenty to laugh at, fun performances, and a slick direction. Christopher Walken is a god, but he has nothing to really do here. He just seems to be there to be the "dad" looming over the happenings and keep everyone together. Plus, it seems kinda strange to me to see Walken being the "dad". Jane Seymour has a fun little role that plays against what we usually get from her. She also looks fantastic!. McAdams is as sweet as apple pie and looks even better. I can see why she is supposed to be the next big thing. You can't stop looking at her. Bradley Cooper from "Alias" is only there as a cliched and predictable plot tool. Our two stars?. Both carry the film very well. They work and play off of each other nicely. Vaughn has a knack for this kind of comedy and character, but Wilson doesn't match him quite as well. The big cameo towards the end is fun, and it would be a hoot to see a film about that character!. Dwight Yoakam and Rebecca DeMornay also appear in quick cameos at the very beginning. The ending can be seen a mile away, but it doesn't lessen how nice it is. Wedding Crashers is not perfect, nor is it as side splitting funny as other films, but it is fun, funny, and very enjoyable. Not bad at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and Erotically Woven Comedy, November 6, 2005
This unbelievable sex romp is one of the best comedies I have seen in years. This movie had me laughing till my stomach was aching and I still couldn't stop. I thought this was just going to be one of your ordinary production line comedies they turn out these days from Hollywood. The situations that Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn get into are pretty outrageous. As the film establishes these two guys, they crash weddings with their incredible wit and irresistible charm and have women literally falling into to bed with them (in a very sensual montage). Ultimately the film takes a curious twist toward the bizarre and your attention starts to rise. The film truly begins to enter the realm of the surreal once our two protagonists end up with Christopher Walken and his family and entourage who are just very strange people and that is where the film goes wild. You never know what is going to happen next and that's what makes this film so hilarious. To give too much of the plot away would ruin this film's impact. I found this film very amusing to say the least and downright funny. I haven't laughed like this in years. I think the general public grossly overlooked this film. The trailer for this film was ridiculously misleading. I went in to see this movie reluctantly but came out laughing all the way home. This DVD is outstanding. The numerous scenes of these two womanizers with women in various stages of nudity are incredibly erotic. However, this just sets you up for more unexpected and flat out outrageous scenes. The film gets your natural instincts up to fever pitch and then the floor drops out from under you. The entire cast is perfect and you still never really know what's around the bend in this well scripted romp. Particularly, Vince Vaughn shows an incredible depth of talent I never knew he had. He just about steals this film away in a very subtle yet flamboyant way that you just have to see. To its credit this film does finally address true and meaningful love and there is a moral and definite message about what humanity and our existence is truly all about. If you like outrageous humor and want unexpected laughs I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Funniest Comedies Of The Last 10 Years, July 19, 2005
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Along with films like "Grumpier Old Men", "It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World", "The Great Race", "Old School", "Fast Times At Ridgemont High" and the "American Pie" series (I know those first three seem really out of place), "Wedding Crashers" is among the funniest movies I have ever seen. What you get from this film is nonstop laughs. I have never heard a theater roar with laughter as much as I did when I saw this last night. And I was roaring right along with them.

Best friends John (Owen Wilson) and Jeremy (Vince Vaughn) are two D.C. divorce lawyers who seem mild mannered and sweet, but lead a secret double life of sorts. When they're not letigating in divorce cases, they are professional wedding crashers. Under assumed names, they attend weddings, pretend they're guests, and score with the bridesmaids. For three years, the plan goes off without a hitch, as John and Jeremy have sex with dozens of bridesmaids. However, things change when they crash the wedding of the daughter of the U.S. Treasury Secretary (Christopher Walken, great as always). When they crash the reception, John and Jeremy wind up with the secretary's other two daughters. John falls hard for the shy, conservative Claire (Rachel McAdams), while the slightly maniacal Gloria (Isla Fisher, who actually steals the show in every scene she's in) becomes obsessed with Jeremy. To make matters, worse, the secretary's wife Kathleen (Jane Seymour, who is aging wonderfully and actually has a (spoiler alert) nude scene) also has a thing for John. The secretary takes a liking to the boys, and invites them back to his shore house. There, everything goes wrong. Jeremy is injured in a football game several game by Claire's violent boyfriend and is forcefully seduced not only by Gloria but by the Clearys' homosexual artists son Tod (Kier O'Donnell). John is seduced by Mrs. Cleary and tries to woo Claire, angering her boyfriend. There's also the hilarious Grandma Cleary (Ellen Albertini Dow), whose un-PC comments had the theater in tears. Claire's boyfriend gets suspicious of their true identities (John and Jeremy supposedly own a maple syrup business), as does Mr. Cleary. From here on in, the film becomes somewhat predictable, as the boys are revealed and they stop talking etc., but it really doesn't matter since the film is still absolutely hilarious.

The film is absolutely perfect. Outstanding performances are given by all (especially Isla Fisher), the plot is believable and never formulaic, and the laughs are nonstop. Also, be on the lookout for cameos by Dwight Yokum, Rebecca DeMornay, John McCain, James Carville (yes, the politician), and one certain actor who will remain nameless in this review. Go see "Wedding Crashers" because you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest movie EVER!!!!!!!!!, August 5, 2005
First it was Office Space. Then Old School. But, Wedding Crashers should be in a new section. "The laugh so hard that you'll be aching everywhere and your throat will be sore" section. This movie was absolutely hilarious! There were a billion laughs and so many that you'll have to watch it again to catch and remember all of them. This movie is Vince Vaughn's movie. He delivers the most laughs and is perfect for his role. Owen Wilson is fantastic as is Christopher Walken. Oh and by the way, you're in for a real treat at the end of the movie when there is a cameo. Believe me, it's hilarious!!!!!!!!!! I don't want to give it away so that yo'll be in for for the funniest part of the movie!!!!

The movie is about two pals played by Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson that crash weddings every year, having one night stands with women thanks to thir skills. And then there is a huge wedding, the wedding of the son of a very popular and famous person. But, Owen Wilson falls in lov with a gil that is already takn so he tries to win her heart. And Vince Vaughn's girl is wacko and obsessed with him. What happens next are the funniest moments in movie history. This movie is absolutely hilarious!!!!!!! This is one of the many hilarious moments.

"She had to have a sweet sixteen on her thirteenth birthday!!!!"

Well, that's ll I've got to say and all of you should see this brilliant movie! Nonstop laughs!

This movie should be nominated for best picture! No seriously! I'm not kidding! It's absurd how only very serious movies win it! Laughing is part of life! Oh, and I've seen quite a few best picture winnersand Wedding Crashers is a MILLION TIMES BETTER THAN AMERICAN BEAUTY AND TITANIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining summer flick, July 20, 2005
Owen Wilson and Vinc Vaughn star in this slick, creamy and funny cake of a movie about two men who live to crash weddings.

The male leads are perfect in this film, they deliver their lines with the smoothness, jumping from one bed to another, with no thought to consequences. Until they go to the 'Kentucky Derby of Weddings', where they attend the wedding of the daughter of a powerful politician Secretary Cleary.

There, Owen falls for Claire (Rachel McAdams in a perfect role), and Vince falls for the youngest, overzealous Gloria, who seems set on tailing him.

There, with their usual ways of charming other, the two misfits get invited over to a weekend at their beach-coast mansion. A suprising turn of events take place, Vinci is seduced by Todd, the youngest, socially oppressed, unloved homosexual, in a perfect stereotyped performance by Keir O'Donell.

Owen gets beaten up by Claire's pompous fiance, and on top of that, the pair are discovered and are thrown out. Now, does Owen have a chance for Claire?

This film is funny, entertaining, slick, and creamy, a rare combination. A must for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wedding Crashers [Blu-ray]
Wedding Crashers [Blu-ray] by David Dobkin (Blu-ray - 2008)
Used & New from: $2.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.