Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This it it!
When it comes to helping make great weddings a reality, Peter Merry is one of the best there is and this book clearely illustrates why.

My wife and I do scores of weddings each year. She is the event manager for a popular wedding venue and I a wedding entertainment expert, host or DJ, if you prefer. For us, this book is it!

It will not help you pick...
Published on November 26, 2010 by LN Drake

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The best wedding reception ever!
This book has great side listings of music options for each venue: Cake cutting, walking down the isle, leaving the isle,...
Published 1 month ago by Elf


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This it it!, November 26, 2010
By 
LN Drake (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
When it comes to helping make great weddings a reality, Peter Merry is one of the best there is and this book clearely illustrates why.

My wife and I do scores of weddings each year. She is the event manager for a popular wedding venue and I a wedding entertainment expert, host or DJ, if you prefer. For us, this book is it!

It will not help you pick a dress style, flowers, or centerpieces but it will give you the tools to help you do that and so much more.
It will help you select your vendors and your venue and then show you how to plan with those vendors to create the best wedding day you could have ever imagined.

Peters book covers just about every facet of the day but moreover it provides you with so many unique ideas. Ideas you can elaborate upon with your vendors to create a wedding that is unique, personal and fun.

The Best Wedding Reception Ever is a virtual epiphany that will open your eyes to possibilities you never imagined. Really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Do You Make Your Wedding Fun? Buy This!, February 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
Finally, here is a book filled with creative ideas to make your wedding personal and FUN!

You may already have magazines to help you find your beautiful wedding dress and to give you ideas on your linens, flowers and decor. You've chosen your bridesmaids and, of course, your future spouse. LOL

Now, how can you make your wedding day unforgettable?

With author Peter Merry's book "The Best Wedding Reception Ever!" You will learn how to make your wedding day reflect your distinct personalities, families and heritage. Instead of the "same old, same old," you will find creative twists for your grand entrance, your cake cutting, your first dance. Plus lots of stories and color photos from REAL weddings where you'll see the joy and happiness you can create. As a bonus, you'll also get advice on how to interview and choose the right wedding vendors to help make yours "The Best Wedding Reception Ever!"

You will LOVE this book and your friends getting married will want their own copy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want a unique, personal and memorable wedding? Look no further., February 25, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
I have been reading 'The Best Wedding Reception Ever!' for the past few weeks and I highly recommend it to anyone in the industry and most importantly to anyone planning their own wedding ceremony and reception. Where Peter's book really shines is in its descriptions of how to make your wedding unique, fun and memorable through personalization. There are myriad ways to do this and Peter gives many examples. These examples are great but it's the thought behind them that's most important...develop your own ideas to really put a personal stamp on your reception. Do you want your guests to be present and involved at the end of the night, wishing the party wasn't ending? Do you want people to be talking about your wedding ceremony and reception for years to come? If so, read this book! I HIGHLY recommend it.

I had the privilege of attending a workshop with Peter Merry at this year's Mobile Beat convention in Las Vegas. During this workshop, Peter was discussing the Wedding Entertainment Director (WED) Guild and the role a WED plays in the direction of a wedding. I am currently assembling my application to this fantastic organization as it is positively changing how people view our industry. Peter and the other WED's in attendance are an inspiration and really embody what I have always felt our role is at a wedding reception.
Thank you Peter and the WED Guild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Ideas to make your wedding great!, August 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
At the recommendation of a friend, I purchased this book a few years ago. I am a Wedding Planner and my husband is a Disc Jockey. We both loved the book so much that we are now sending it to our clients so they will have some great ideas to make their wedding both fun and memorable.

The book is easy to read and has a myriad of suggestions to help you make your wedding a day that everyone will remember! Peter Merry adds some humor to the book to keep your attention. His ideas are practical and most don't cost anything to do but really add a personal touch to your wedding day that can't be duplicated. We have had the opportunity to meet Peter Merry in person and listen to him speak twice. He is a down to earth guy who really knows the wedding industry.

We highly recommend this book!

Lisa Manning (Southern Weddings.com)
Stephen Manning (ASoundCelebration.net)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just astonishing!, March 7, 2011
By 
Richard Mills (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
Peter KNOWS wedding entertainment. It is his love, it is his passion, it is his livelihood. His ideas, suggestions and recommendations in this book make it an absolute bible for those planning a wedding reception that is fun, distinctly different and still elegant. This really is a great book and an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Wedding Planning Book Ever, March 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
If planning your wedding, this book will be informative, fun and motivational.

If you are a wedding vendor, this book will open your eyes to some great new ideas and it will help you work better with other vendors.

If you are a wedding planner, this book will be different than any you have read before and it will give you a new perspective on your craft.

If you are a wedding entertainer, this book will make you raise your performance to a new level.

Peter Merry is one of the most sought after wedding entertainment directors in the US and this book will illustrate why.
Creative, unique, thought provoking, positive, energetic, inspiring and well organized, are a few more words that describe this book.
Just read it and you will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to Be Creative in Planning Your Unique Wedding, January 12, 2011
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
As a full-time mobile DJ / MC, I feel that Peter Merry's book provides brides and grooms with a chance to focus their vision in terms of planning their wedding event. It is possible to be both realistic and creatively unique; to spend wisely without cutting corners. However, planning and research are essential in order to create an outstanding, memorable experience for your friends and family on your wedding day.

Peter Merry's example weddings and lists of pros and cons provide brides and grooms with a number of realistic examples of how their planning might turn out given different choices you might make. His years of experience as a "Wedding Entertainment Director" allow him to address a variety of options, such as the daytime wedding vs. the evening wedding, scheduling a wedding at different times throughout the year, when and how to schedule photos, and what type of entertainment to hire.

With weddings costing tens of thousands of dollars and taking one to two years to plan, reading a few books and articles on how to invest your time and money only makes sense. I highly recommend _The Best Wedding Reception Ever!_ by Peter Merry as one of these pieces of research. It's certainly the kind of book that will get a bride and groom (and their family and friends) talking about their ideas for their wedding day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one wedding planning book you NEED!, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
If there is one book you buy when planning your wedding, this is the one. It has everything you need to know for planning the ceremony and reception! I used this book for my wedding last year and people are still talking about how that was the best wedding they ever attended! (We did book Peter Merry as our WED... that had something to do with it too, I'm sure.)

TBWRE is my go-to engagement gift for friends now. I've purchased and given three copies so far. One of those brides has since had her wedding, and it was the best reception that I had ever attended. The guests (me included) were engaged and entertained the entire evening. This book is perfect for every wedding budget - you don't need to spend an extravagant sum to have a great celebration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DJs and Brides need to read more books like this., December 2, 2013
By 
Paul Hoke (Greenville, SC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
Full of ideas for making receptions unique, fun and interesting with out the cheese factor.
I'll be sharing a copy with brides who book me this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want a memorable, fun wedding? This is a MUST READ!, October 25, 2013
This review is from: The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration (Hardcover)
The Best Wedding Reception Ever is an invaluable resource for couples planning a wedding looking for ways to personalize their event, hire the best professionals, and ENJOY the process! I really cannot recommend this book highly enough!

My husband (Justin) and I (Anna-Jeannine) are wedding entertainers, and I can't tell you how many times I've "gifted" a copy of this book to clients. It really helps them sort through all the many, many possibilities available to them to find which ones are a great fit for them and to start brainstorming NEW ideas that no one has thought of, yet!

If you're a bride or groom, this book can help you do more than just organize a binder (which is really where so many wedding-planning books end!). This book deals with the hard questions, like how to create a memorable event that's personal to your own style without absolutely driving yourself crazy in the process, how to find the right wedding vendors to help you execute your dream day, and how to ensure a fun time for yourself and your guests!

If you're a wedding pro, this book has so many great ideas inside to help you deliver higher-quality service to your clients, work more proactively with other pros, and create unique moments for clients, friends, and family to remember for years to come. I first read this book several years ago and then had the privilege of meeting and studying under the author, several times. If you get the opportunity to work with him or just pick his brain, he's a wealth of knowledge!

If you're a family member or friend of someone who's getting married, this book would really make a great gift, too! Talk about Brownie Points!!!

GREAT READ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best Wedding Reception Ever! Your Guide to Creating an Unforgettably Fun Celebration
$22.95 $17.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.