Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts for Her  Fine Art Deals Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$7.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
on June 5, 2007
Yes, it's a drama all right, despite the half-hour format. The tone of its second season reminds me more than anything of the venerable "Six Feet Under": it's extremely funny, and extremely smart, and it moves from ultra-dry sitcom territory into much darker places (and back) without warning or apology.

"Weeds" casts its satirical throwing stars in 360 degrees. While drug warriors get their well-justified comeuppance, we more libertarian types don't get off exactly scot-free. Just the right medicine when it comes to a debate that's been all but shut down in more mainstream circles.

Not that you need to have an opinion about pot politics to enjoy the razor-sharp dialogue or, failing that, Mary-Louise Parker's big brown eyes and diabolical deadpan delivery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on May 24, 2007
I love the television series WEEDS on Showtime.

It's great! Why? Well... it has a variety of factors that make it good, one being the casting. The entire cast of this show helps make what it is, a great drama.

The plot is obviously a bit risque but it draws you in and begs to be tollerated. After a while, you get intrigued in the storylines and get hooked on the suspense. Every now and then, you get a lil bit of sadness and or romance to trigger up some emotions. Otherwise, your rooting with either laughter or applauding the extreme efforts some of the cast members go to just make it.

The story does not just evolve around Mary Louise Parker but other charachters as well. Therefore you are not drowned down with one single plot but multiple storylines that play well within eachother.

If you are looking for a edgy new aged series to plop down one weekend and engulf yourself in, this show has got to be it.

You'll be rooting for more after the end of each episode. Only if they made the episodes longer. You don't want it to end. But, when it does... you come down from your high and await the next series.

This is certainly not a show for those under 18 but for adults, it brings you into a level of great television but with a cinematic view.

Buy it, rent it, watch it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 2, 2009
I haven't subscribed to Showtime in years, so I came to this party late. I bought the first season on a recommendation, and while I liked it a good bit, it seemed all a bit transparent. It was too self-consciously quirky for it to get a hook deep in. Characters are given droll dialogue that skims personalities, leaving out anything that couldn't be exploited for oddness. It's the standard juxtaposition of relaxed hipness against the staid pettiness of self-righteousness, an in-your-face mockery of mainstream values already gainsaid by the basic naughtier truth. Sometimes the stories went out of their way to find the most shocking scenario, skidding to a stop just short of offending anybody who might mount an effective complaint, even daring to show a nearly prepubescent girl locked in a lesbian puppy-love embrace. This could be mistaken by the easily titillated for avant-garde television. It doesn't seem so out-there to me, but is instead just plain fun to watch. So by season's end, I concluded that the series was likable and entertaining, but unremarkable. It finished with Nancy's business plan fully detailed, down to a division of labor. Without a cliffhanger finale it felt complete and I didn't hurry to find out what happened next. When I noticed this economically priced Complete Second Season on Blu-ray, there was no reason not to follow Nancy's further adventures as TVs most enterprising MILF.

The second season maintained the brisk pace of the first, the dialogue still distinguished by the skippy style. Like in the first season, the tension we're supposed to feel in Nancy's conflict over her familial obligations as a role model and her illegal role-busting activities is never a convincing source of drama or comedy for me, and my attention wanders until we get back to the good stuff. Other than that, the series has definitely improved, has become darker. A few hair-raising elements were added, events that make you a little nervous for Nancy. She's compromised in nearly every episode, in some situations that are dangerous, some which are resolved in humorous ways; in others, not so humorous. And the season finale has one humdinger of a cliffhanger. I'm happily hooked now, and I'm eagerly looking forward to the third season.

As for the Blu-ray itself, I'm got a few reservations about the picture quality. Oh, it's sharp enough alright. But some textures are lost during particular lighting conditions, especially during closeups under a bright light or in the slanted light of a setting sun. The skin tones became oversaturated in a garish yellowish hue. The picture would shift suddenly as the light reached a threshold, jumping to a hotter palette, the complexions bleached in a yellow-to-white glare. It's not unacceptable, but it was noticeable if you're overly sensitive to such things. I shrugged it off because pleasing saturation levels were the norm, with everything sharply outlined with window-clear clarity. However, beyond its slickness and its clean air, this series doesn't have a unique visual style, making hi-def inessential to the enjoyment of it. Maybe next time I'll settle for the SD edition.

Unless the Blu-ray edition is cheaper, as it was this time out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2009
Like Little Children, American Beauty, and Edward Scissorhands, Weeds portrays a planned community as a forgotten circle of Dante's Inferno. Suburban life really isn't the gated paradise the brochures from the housing committee promise; rather, it's a cesspool of petty people with too much money and nothing to do with their lives. We've see these kinds of shows and movies before. What's unique about Weeds is that there really aren't any sympathetic characters. Even the children in the show come off as selfish demons (who seem far too wise and ironic for their respective ages). The cast is superb. The things they do and say make you alternately cringe, laugh, and open your mouth wide to say, "He did not just do that!" And it's worth mentioning that the end credits to each episode generally feature a very funny and sometimes dirty folk or pop song that serves as an audio metaphor for the entire episode. I enjoy the show's attempt to tell a quirky and increasingly unrealistic tale that must be a tremendous challenge for the writers.

On the other hand, the show doesn't evolve much further than a writer's delight: So much of the dialogue is simply a stream of creative, new curse words and phrases. These start off as shocking and funny, but the veneer wears thin when you realize that it's just a device to divide your attention from the fact that very little is happening in the show, because all of the characters are made of the same selfish mold. It reminds me of how Family Guy uses the same device in nearly episode: Something happens and Peter will be reminded of the time when he [fill in the blank], and the show proceeds to randomize the plot with a barely relevant flashback. Again, funny for a while, but it gets old fast.

I should say that I'm not at all put off by Weed's liberal politics, with which I tend to sympathize, and which is probably the most consistent (biased?) part of the show. Yet something essential is missing from the discussions on race, immigration, drug trafficking, teen pregnancy, single motherhood, suburban life, religion, draft dodging, and so on. In the end, I have a sinking feeling that the show itself is selfish. The show, like the characters in it, wants to gate itself off from the views of dissenters like conservatives and the religious. But that's the way extremism works: Just as fundamentalism breeds no irony and imposes a black/white morality onto humanity, material secularism obfuscates personal responsibility and self-discipline. In short, the show preaches to the choir who thinks the world would be better if everyone was a little higher, and the show only rarely entertains the possibility that maybe that's not really true either.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon July 30, 2008
People who follow Weeds are probably addicts and don't need a description, but for those who don't know or don't have Showtime, Weeds Season 2 is awesome. The first part of the series resolves Season 1s cliffhanger ending in which Nancy ends up dating a DEA agent. The middle sets up a number of new complications, stemming from her connection to the DEA and from new business aquaintances. The end brings all of the many threads together in one giant mess and then fixes it with a deus ex machina that is actually believable. It also leaves us hanging once again and does it in style. As Nancy's complications increase, so does the drama, but the humor goes through the roof!

The writing is even better than the 1st season, with tons of memorable lines and hilarious visual moments. Season 2 is also a lot sexier. Nearly every character hooks up in some way, even Shane, in a kinda creepy way. Silas' and Andy's relationships are just freakin' hilarious. Lots of bad guys get what they deserve. Celia raises bitchiness to new heights (even some drug dealers are impressed). Doug pulls pranks on an epic scale and sings. Nancy gets naked and starts to play rough (socially and in business). I don't want to spoil it, but it's outstanding.

This DVD set is great, too. The extras are well done and interesting. You get 7 commentaries, a lot of "Little Boxes," some featurettes, and even Huskaroos! commercials. The music is critical since Season 3 ditches the much-loved theme song altogether. This one of the best shows on TV, in my opinion, and having the whole season at once is a brilliant way to watch it since many of these episodes will leave you demanding more, RIGHT NOW.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on May 31, 2007
This show is so great on so many levels. You love these characters and all their faults. I love this show because it shows that all things aren't as they seem. They are screwed up and they screw up and they all have their baggage to deal with. You feel their pain and the series is funny, serious, silly and heartfelt. The writing is excellent! The only think I don't like about it is the episodes are only 30 min. They need to be an hour!!!! I will buy this when it comes out and look foward to season 3 in aug!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 11, 2008
This is the best show I've seen in a while. Every episode keeps you sitting on the edge of your seat, which makes you not want to stop. Everything about it is great, the acting, the writing, the story, even the opening song, sung by different people all the time. 10x better than the 1st season, but you still have to watch the 1st season to get a really good feel of the characters, rent it at least. Then the ending... it's golden.

The picture quality isn't too good on this blu-ray so if you're on a budget get the DVD instead. The sound on the other hand is excellent 7.1 channel PCM
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on June 8, 2007
It's been a while since a made for paid show has been this good. The Soprano's has been...well...a bit boring. Yea, yea, Six Feet Under. But this, this is off the hook. Mary Louise Parker plays just the right tune and at first has you wondering if she is convincing. Doesn't take long until you are sucked into her dilemas. The pushy neighbor, out of control kids and the DEA boyfriend really get the imagination going on how dysfunctional all our lives are - in some little way. Even the brother & housemaid you love-to-hate have pulled my interest into what would be boring on "normal" TV. But, this is not normal. This is awesome. I hope they're shooting a 3rd season. I'd love to see it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon February 5, 2010
Showtime's "Weeds" offers a stellar second season as a follow-up to its hilarious opening salvo. The second season of every good series is a treat as the actors get more comfortable with their characters and the writers get to explore some of the better ideas they couldn't squeeze into the first season (plus, by virtue of being picked up for another run, the writers feel a little more free to push the envelope). But nothing has gotten tired or stale, and the writers generally haven't written themselves into a corner.

That description holds true for most of Season Two of the Battle for Agrestic. On the one side we have our heroine, Nancy Botwin (Mary-Louise Parker), emerging marijuana entrepreneur. She's still trying to keep her dysfunctional family together while dealing with her beloved husband's early demise, but at the end of Season One she was pulling it together. She even found her rebound relationship with the sensitive, dryly funny Peter Scottson (Martin Donovan). But in the Season One cliffhanger par excellence, she learns the hard way that he's a DEA agent. Not only that, but in Season Two we learn that Peter's more than a little familiar with the drug heirarchy in Agrestic, although this clever guy is able to sidestep Nancy's chosen career rather neatly.

At least, for a while.

Season Two is essentially Season One again, only more so. Conrad (Romany Malco) continues to pine for both Nancy and the freedom to grow truly divine weeed. Celia (Elizabeth Perkins) remains the Queen Bee of Agrestic and takes on Doug (Kevin Nealon, still awesome) for his cherished city council seat. Nancy's kids and brother-in-law remain screwed up - comically so. And through it all Nancy soldiers on with the blithe knowledge that things have to work out for her, 'cause she's got nowhere else to go.

My only problem with Season Two is that one character does a dramatic u-turn during the season, and the change is not true to the character. I don't want to give anything away, but this change smacks of writers realizing a looming problem with where the show needed to go, and so this character is suddenly transformed . . . with dire consequences.

Still, this is a minor complaint for a season that builds to a Mexican stand-off in the finale that would have made Sergio Leone proud. Kudos to all for another fine season in Agrestic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on April 19, 2008
This was one of the first Blu Ray titles I purchased. Since then I have learned to read reviews on any Hi-Def titles before I purchase them. I love the show but unfortunately it looks horrible on Blu Ray. Everytime there is a dark scene, you see all of the compression in the blacks and darker tones. Its awful and I wonder if it looks better on regular DVD. It definitely looks better just watching it on TV.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Weeds: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Weeds: Season 1 [Blu-ray] by Mary-Louise Parker (Blu-ray - 2007)

Weeds: Season 3 [Blu-ray]
Weeds: Season 3 [Blu-ray] by Mary-Louise Parker (Blu-ray - 2008)

Weeds: Season 4 [Blu-ray]
Weeds: Season 4 [Blu-ray] by Mary-Louise Parker (Blu-ray - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.