Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


421 of 426 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the ultimate!
This DVD represents everything the format can offer in a music video. It has all of Al's videos, with stereo surround and 5.1 tracks, plus some extra clips from Al's Saturday morning cartoon show and his 1981 TV debut on Tom Snyder's Tomorrow Show. The videos are presented in random order; you can really see that Al's 80's videos hold up quite well in comparison to his...
Published on February 17, 2004 by Honky Dreadlocks

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Misprints
Sorry Al, but your production company screwed up. The box and insert and disc labels all say "Ultimate Video Collection", but twice now what I got was actually the concert video "Weird Al Live". Disappointed because I really wanted to get this collection. Posting this a warning to other Weird Al fans.
Published on May 28, 2011 by Heinrich Koenig


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

421 of 426 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the ultimate!, February 17, 2004
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
This DVD represents everything the format can offer in a music video. It has all of Al's videos, with stereo surround and 5.1 tracks, plus some extra clips from Al's Saturday morning cartoon show and his 1981 TV debut on Tom Snyder's Tomorrow Show. The videos are presented in random order; you can really see that Al's 80's videos hold up quite well in comparison to his 90's videos. Here's the track listing:
1. Fat
2. Amish Paradise
3. It's All About the Pentiums
4. Smells Like Nirvana
5. You Don't Love Me Anymore
6. Bedrock Anthem
7. Gump
8. Jurassic Park
9. Headline News
10. Dare to Be Stupid *my favorite*
11. Eat It
12. Like a Surgeon
13. UHF
14. Money For Nothing / Beverly Hillbillies
15. One More Minute
16. I Lost On Jeopardy
17. This Is the Life
18. Living With a Hernia
19. Spy Hard
20. Ricky
21. Christmas at Ground Zero
22. I Love Rocky Road
23. Bob
24. The Saga Begins
As you can see, no Weird Al fan should be without this DVD. I'd rate it 6 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird Al Yankovic...The Ultimate Video Collection, July 1, 2006
By 
Amy Lynn (Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
Great DVD. from the King of Parodies, Contains almost every video he's ever made.

List and Description of The Videos-

1.Fat- Parody of ''Bad'' By Michael Jackson, Shot on 3/12/88
This grammy award winning Video was shot on a culver city soundstage on a subway set donated by Michael Jackson himself. For this video Al's make-up nearly took 3 hours to apply.
2.Amish Paradise- Parody of ''Gangstas Paradise'' by Coolio shot in Febuary of 96 with appearances by Florence Henderson who plays the Michelle Pfeiffer role in this tale of life on the mean streets of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. One shot in this required Al to phonetically sing the lyrics backwards while walking in reverse through a busy barnyard.
3.It's All About The Pentiums, Parody of ''It's all about the Benjamins'' By Puffy Daddy Video shot in July of 99, this video features cameos by two of the funniest people in the world-, Emo Phillips and Drew Carey.
4.Smells like Nirvana- 1992- Parody of ''Smells like Teen Spirit'' By Nirava, Rolling Stone put this on their list of the top 100 Videos of All Time & Al was nominated for best male performance at the MTV Video Music Awards. This video also used the same janitor as in the video Smells like Teen spirit. Dick Van Patten also turns in a stellar performance.
5.You Dont Love me Anymore- 1992, This song is an Al Original although the video was closely modeled after ''More than Words'' by Extreme.
6.Bedrock Anthem- Parody of Under the Bridge and Give it Away by the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Shot in 93- This video was shot on the same exact patch of dessert as the original. The Bee Girl from the Blind Melon video makes an appearance, as does Al's Aunt Dot.
7.Gump- Parody of ''Lump'' by The Presidents Of The United States Of America shot in April Of 1996, Al tells the complete story of Forrest Gump In under 2 minutes. Pat Boone appears in a bench cameo.
8.Jurassic Park, Airing October 93, Parody of ''MacArthur Park'' by Richard Harris-This video went on to be nominated for a Grammy and is still a big favorite in animation festivals around the world.
9.Headline News- parody of ''Mmmm,Mmmm,Mmmm,Mmmm'' by the Crash Test Dummies aired in Oct of 94 and set the legends of John Wayne Bobbitt, Tonya Harding and Singapore Caning victim Michael Fay to the tune of 1994's most hummable hit.
10.Dare To Be Stupid- Although an original composition, 1985's ''Dare to be Stupid'' is a homage to the group Devo, as well as, of course, Al's Motto in Life. I have to say this video is brilliant. This is one of my favorite Weird Al Videos. It incorporates Devo style with Weird Als Genius.
11.Eat It- Febuary of 1984, Parody of '' Beat It'' by Michael Jackson. Al's Grammy Award Winning Parody ''Eat It'' was an immediate international success.
12.Like A Surgeon, Parody of Madonna's '' Like A Virgin'' filmed in March of 85, this video was filmed in an actual hospital that had gone out of business. This, along with the videos ''Dare to be Stupid'' & One More Minute were done as part of a home-video release and television special called '' The Compleat Al''.

13.UHF, shot in June 1989- The video shot for the Original Themesong from Al's Movie was perhaps his most ambitious to date. Al and his band parody in order: Guns n Roses, George Michael, Robert Palmer, Prince, Talking Heads, Peter Gabriel, ZZ Top, Billy Idol, The Beatles, INXS & Randy Newman. Also features guest appearances like Michael Richards & more.
14.Money For Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies- Parody of Money For Nothin' by Dire Straits shot in January of 1989 and was also the centerpiece of Al's Movie UHF, This video features the computer animation of Rick Morris.
15.One More Minute, 1985- This original sick and twisted Elvis like Doo-Wop love ballad has become a perenial favorite among the relationship impaired. Al's long time band members Jim West, Steve Jay and Jon ''Bermuda'' Schwartz supply the cheesy choreography. Also watch for Al ripping up a picture of the woman who inspired the song.
16.I Lost On Jeopardy, Parody of Jeopardy by Greg Kihn, shot in 1984, is a nostalgic tribute to the old Jeopardy game show. Cameos by original host Art Fleming & original show announcer Don Pardo. Al's mentor Dr. Demento, Al's real parents and Greg Kihn himself.
17.This is the Life- filmed in 84 its a 1930's flavored original and was the theme song for the 1930s gangster spoof ''Johnny Dangerously'' with Micheal Keaton and Danny Devito.
18.Living With A Hernia, Parody of ''Living In America'' by James Brown. Filmd in 86 this parody was shot on the same stage where the Godfather Of Soul shot his scenes for Rocky IV.
19.Spy Hard- Al's third movie theme was the title song from Hollywood Pictures action Spoof Spy Hard starring Leslie Nielson. Shot in 96.
20.Ricky- Parody of ''Mickey'' by Toni Basil, Filmed in April of 83, this one was Al's Music Video Debut. This was arguably the first comedy video ever shown on MTV.
21.Christmas At Ground Zero- This cheery Phil Spector inspired original tune about death, destruction and the end of the world was largely banned by broadcasters, that somehow decided it was a tad morbid to play a song about nuclear annihiliation during the Holidays. A compilation of cold war era scare tactic footage is capped by a live-action shot filmed in the Bronx. Airdate. November 21, 1986.
22.I Love Rocky Road, June of 1983, A Parody of Joan Jett's ''I Love Rock-n-Roll is a tribute to Al's favorite Ice Cream Flavor.
23.Bob- Shot in June of 2003, This is a homage to Bob Dylan's ''Subterranean Homesick Blues'' video Which was part of the Documentary Dont Look Back. Filmed in an alley in downtown L.A. It was shot as part of an ''AL-TV'' special that aired on VH1 10 Days Later.
24.The Saga Begins- Aired June 1999, A Parody of Don Mclean's ''American Pie'' is an MTV Unplugged take-off on Star Wars- Episode 1, The Phantom Menace. Shot in a blistering Hot Mojave Desert & a comfy air conditioned soundstage in North Hollywood California.

Special Features- Extras Include clips from the Weird Al Show, a rare 1981 performance clip from NBC's The Tomorrow Show, a photo gallery and on-screen lyrics option!!!

I also hear theres a hidden Easter Egg on the Special Features Section, Highlight ''Weird Al'', then press up and youll be treated to the video ''My Bologna''.

Overall, great collection of episodes and highly recommended to any Weird Al Fan or anyone who just likes to laugh and enjoys good comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Collection Truly is Ultimate!!, November 6, 2003
By 
Kevin (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
This DVD is awesome! It includes all 24 of Al's music videos, and they all look and sound great. The DVD is slightly different from "Weird Al Yankovic: The Videos" because the videos on this collection are not in order. They mix them up, and it makes it even more fun to watch them. The DVD also has some great special features. These include a rare 1981 performance from the old NBC Tomorrow Show. It's a performance of "Another One Rides the Bus", and Al didn't even have a band yet. It was just John "Bermuda" Schwartz banging on Al's accordian case. It's really cool to see such an old performance! The DVD also includes a couple of clips from the old "Weird Al Show". These are "Lousy Haircut" which was also played on Al's recent concert tour, "Lasagna", and "Livin' in the Fridge". It also includes a photo gallery and onscreen lyrics. Overall, this DVD is jam packed with entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, November 10, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
finally it's here all 23 of Al's videos including
Bob this is worth every penny you spend on. If
your a true Weird Al fan this is for you. There
not much to say about it because everythings
perfect. there is nothing wrong with it
Fat 5/5
Amish Paradise 5/5
It's all about the Pentiums 4/5
Smells like Nirvana 5/5
You don't love Me Anymore 4/5
Bedrock Anthem 4/5
Gump 5/5
Jurassic Park 5/5
Headline News 4/5
Dare to be Stupid 5/5
Eat It 5/5
Like a Surgeon 5/5
Uhf 4/5
Money For Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies 4/5
One More Minute 4/5
I Lost on Jeopardy 5/5
This Is The Life 5/5
Living With a Hernia 4/5
Spy Hard 4/5
Ricky 5/5
Christmas At Ground Zero 5/5
I Love Rocky Road
Bob 4/5
The Saga Begins 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, but flawed, July 31, 2004
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
"Weird Al" Yankovic has been in the song parody buisness for years now and has delivered many classics, the best of them going on to music videos. Now all of those videos (24) are available in crystal clear quality with On-Screen Lyrics and a Photo Gallery, yours to own forever, to watch again and again, anytime you please, as much as you want to. And they're great videos too! Each have a different creative sense in them, some in claymation, some in computer animation, some in black and white and some just simply hilarious. I've never seen an artist have such a range of creative videos each so different and great to watch.

1. Fat (4/5)
2. Amish Paradise (5/5)
3. It's All About The Pentiums (4/5)
4. Smells Like Nirvana (5/5)
5. You Don't Love Me Anymore (5/5)
6. Bedrock Anthem (3.5/5)
7. Gump (3.6/5)
8. Jurassic Park (5/5)
9. Headline News (3/5)
10. Dare To Be Stupid (3/5)
11. Eat It (5/5)
12. Like A Surgeon (4/5)
13. UHF (5/5)
14. Beverly Hillbillies/Money For Nothing (2/5)
15. One More Minute (4/5)
16. I Lost On Jeopardy (3/5)
17. This Is The Life (3/5)
18. Livin' With A Hernia (3/5)
19. Spy Hard (4/5)
20. Ricky (4/5)
21. Christmas At Ground Zero (4/5)
22. I Love Rocky Road (5/5)
23. Bob (3/5)
24. The Saga Begins (3.5/5)

So what brings this down from perfect, I hear you ask? Well, first of all, I'm not really fond of some of the videos as can be seen, but the thing that really annoys me the most is when you watch the videos, there's always this flickering going on at the top of the picture that's really irritating. I think that's "grain", but whatever it is it really lets the quality down. Also there's not to much special features apart from the great photo gallery and the lyrics, but I guess I can't complain, they chopped the special features off for the Region 4 version (which is what I have). Either way if you're an Al fan and are debating whether to buy this or not, do buy it, because it shows how Al was able to maintain quality through these three wonderful decades and if you like Al, you won't find a better product.

(I Love Rocky Road!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THESE MUSIC VIDEOS ROCK!, September 25, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
This is a great DVD. I hadn't heard of weird al before I got this, but you will become a fan. Here's a lineup of the songs.

Fat-A parody of Michael Jackson's "Bad", this song has all the jokes that kids tell on the playground about obesity. 3 stars

Amish Paradise-A parody of Coolio's "Gangsta Paradise", this song is wildly funny. It's about life as an Amish, and features great lines such as,"A local boy kicked me in the butt last week. I just smiled at him and I turned the other cheek. I really don't care in fact I wish him well, cause I'll be laughin' my head off when he's burnin' in hell." 5 stars

It's All About the Pentiums-Aparody of "It's All About the Benjamins" by P.Diddy. This is funny, and the Music Video features Drew Carey. 4 stars

Smells Like Nirvana-A parody of "Smells Like Teen Spirit" by Nirvana. This is an absolutely hilarious song about the imposible to understand lyrics of Nirvana. I have this song memorized. 5 stars ( I still love Nirvana)

You Don't Love Me Anymore-An Al original, this song talks about the pranks Al's ex-girlfriend does to him. 5 stars

Bedrock Anthem-A parody of two of the Red Hot Chili Peppers songs, this talks about the life of Fred Flinstone. 4 stars

Gump-Paroky of "Lump", this tells the story of Forest Gump in just more than two minutes. 4 stars

Jurrasic Park-I don't know what this is a spoof of but it's funny. 4 stars

Headline News-Parody of "MMM MMM MMM MMM" this is simply put...funny. 3 stars

Dare to be Stupid-Another Al original, this is based on the band "Devo". 3 stars

Eat It-Parody of "Beat It" by Michael Jackson. This is a song of what parents say to there kids when they're not eating their food. 5 stars

Like a Surgeon-Parody of "Like a Virgin" by Madonna. this is funny, and shows Al trying to dance, the beat is also set by the heart beat monitor. 3 stars

UHF-this is what appears to be some sort of commercial for a TV station, but it's funny nonetheless. 4 stars

Money for Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies-this is a parody of "Money for Nothing". This song is the Beverly Hillbillies theme song but in a different tune, easily the worst song on the album. 2 stars

One More Minute-Another Al original where he state's the things he'd rather do than spend one more minute with his ex-girlfriend. 5 stars

I Lost on Jeopardy-a parody of "Jeopardy", this song is when Al blew it on Jeopardy. It has the original set, host, and anouncer. 4 stars

This is the Life-This was the theme song for a 30's gangster spoof starring Danny Devito. The music video shows Al as the richest man ever (exaguratingly) and talks about his life. 4 stars

Living with a Hernia-A James Brown spoof, this song is funny but stupid. 3 stars

Spy Hard-This was the theme for the movie Spy Hard with Leslie Nielsen, It's amusing, strange, and better without the credits as it's shown on this DVD.

Ricky-Parody of Mickey, this is basically an argument between spouses where the end up dancing, but it's funny. 4 stars

Christmas at Ground Zero-this is the third funniest song on the DVD. It talks about the end of the world at Christmas time, it is absolutely awesome. 5 stars

I Love Rocky Road-A paroky of "I love Rock n' Roll" by Joan Jet, this is a tribute to Al's favorite ice cream. It basically explains the life of an ice cream addict. 4 stars

Bob-parody of Bob Dylan's "Subterranean Homesick Blues", this is the second funniest song on the album, and it's entirely composed of palindromes such as "God a red nugget a fat egg under a dog" this is truely a masterpiece. 5 stars

The Saga Begins-A parody of "American Pie" this tells the story of Star Wars:The Phantom Menace in five minutes. I have all of it memorized and you will too if you buy this DVD. This is the funniest song on the DVD. 5 stars

Buy this DVD. It is Awesome and I wish I could give it more than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last the Long Wait is Over!, October 17, 2003
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
The long wait is well worth it! All 23 of the greatest music artist in the world's film clips along with the AL TV clip for Bob are on the one sensational DVD. Getting hold of a copy of the previous The Videos DVD was impossible and in the long run I guess a good thing because now you get all the songs on one DVD. It is still worth buying the Live DVD and UHF for the film clips on them as, UHF, The Saga Begins and It's All About the Pentiums film clips do not have the behind the scenes commentary on this DVD. Plus those are two great DVDs in their own right anyway.
It is great to be able to watch the Fat film clip and others which previously you could only see in your memory. Some songs did not stick around in the charts to actually see the film clips, so if you missed them you can see them for the first time here. There are subtitles for all the songs if you want to sing along, but as previously mentioned unfortunately no behind the scenes documentary style commentary, which is a bit of shame as they are extremely funny. Would have also liked to have had some AL TV interviews included, like were shown at his concert but alas, you can not have everything.
It is interesting to see the difference in budget and style from the early film clips like Ricky and I Love Rocky Road compared to the polished expensive gems of later album clips like Jurassic Park, Gump, Amish Paradise and The Saga Begins.
Nostalgic value as well as entertainment is all in the one great package. There is also a photo gallery on here although it is not as expansive as on the other two DVDs. This is a must buy for fans of comedy, buy this DVD but buy UHF and the Live DVD as well. For once, we here in Australia actually have something by an American artist released before those in the USA do, but believe me it is worth the wait and your anticipation will not be disappointed.
Of course there are heaps of great songs which were never made into film clips so buy the music albums as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Planned, Well Executed, Brilliant DVD, March 2, 2004
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
I'm basing my review on the region 4 version of Al's DVD, which has no extra features, just the 24 videos. And what videos they are. I have been a big fan of Al for 2 years now. Before buyibg the DVD I only saw the Eat It video.
All of the Videos are well set out, well presented, and fit in well with the lyrics. The sound of the video is equal to that of the various CD's. The songs are identical to the various CD's. The only difference is that UHF Video is cut a little compared to the CD version. I prefer the DVD version.
Another way of telling how good the videos are is comparing his 80's videos to his 90's & 00's videos. Both sets are of high quality.
In conclusion You should buy this DVD. For Al fans, this is the only way to get all of Al's songs on one disc. For people who are undecided if Al is for them, These some of Al's best songs, and the videos have been put together briliantly, and the video quality is very good.
I give 5 stars due to the quality of the videos. Good work Alfred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this DVD for 6 people this past Christmas, January 3, 2006
By 
Rykre "The Rogue Scholar" (of the vast Western Dystopian Wasteland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
Usually, when you think of Weird Al Yankovic, you think of a bunch of silly childish humor with the songs that you might have heard over the years.

Yes, you probably heard "My Bologna", "Eat It", "Another One Rides the Bus", etc, etc. Yes, all that silly Dr. Demento oriented humor.

It's one thing to hear some of those songs. But, it's fabulous to watch these really cool videos. Weird Al is alot more talented than you give him credit for. I play this DVD almost every day.

If you just watch the videos of "Smells Like Nirvana", "It's All About the Pentiums", "The Saga Begins", and the other videos totaling 24 videos plus some unique extras, you will love this DVD. It's definitely something to play at a party.

Watch it with the subtitles on your first few times. Yes, Weird Al sings quite clearly, but you won't want to miss a single lyric as you watch these videos. You'll be on the floor laughing!

Even his song "Bob" is quite clever. It's a Bob Dylan-esque style passage of lyrics, all done in palindromes. (Sentences that read backwards the same as forwards.) For example: "Rise to vote, Sir", "Do geese see God", "Oozy rat in a sanitary zoo", "Go hang a salami, I'm a lasagna hog", "Race fast, safe car", "Do nine men interpret, nine men I nod", "Rats live on no evil star", "God a red nugget, a fat egg under a dog", plus so many more. Even "Bob" is a palindrome. But, I'm sure he hasn't created all these palindromes. But, he did arrange to have many of them follow each other so that they will rhyme. I mean, that's a challenge. I see these palindromes and others on a website called palindromelist.com Check that out. It's kinda fun.

"Jurassic Park" is a claymation video to the theme of Richard Harris' "MacArthur Park", "Beverly Hillbillies" is done to the video of "Money for Nothing". "The Saga Begins" to the song structure of "American Pie" (Don McLean). Plus there's "Amish Paradise", "Fat" done to Michael Jackson's "Bad", "Living with a Hernia", etc. etc. etc.

Even his own songs "One More Minute", and "You Don't Love Me Anymore", are side-splitting hilarious!

One hilarious video after another. Great drinkin', partyin' entertainment.

Not recommended for misery-seeking, generally happy-just-being-depressed surly people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the eyes and ears, March 2, 2004
By 
Steve Stowers (Springfield, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection (DVD)
For someone who's known primarily as a song parodist, Weird Al Yankovic is surprisingly good at visual humor. This DVD might just have more sight gags than any other DVD you can buy. There are 24 videos here, all of them fun to watch, and some of them worth watching repeatedly just to be sure you catch everything. And the music's good too.
Unfortunately, there's no commentary track on the DVD, but there ARE short written comments on all the videos in the included insert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Weird Al Yankovic: The Ultimate Video Collection
$13.98 $13.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.