Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Weird Tales: 101 Weird, Strange, and Supernatural Stories (Civitas Library Classics)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon May 26, 2012
This is an amazing and GIGANTIC ebook collection of old-time horror, fantasy and weird tales, many of them classics, others pulps and quite a few short novels (such as "The Lost Stradivarius" and the wonderful "Treasure of Atlantis" which alone sells for a dollar in the Kindle store). The variety is impressive, and though you probably already have many of these scattered in previously purchased ebook collections, there will still be a great many more here, altogether in one place, for you to read and enjoy. In fact, even if only HALF of them were new to you, it would still be worth it. I encourage you to download a sample and examine the titles listed in the TOC. More than a few are sure to immediately grab your attention. This is priced right and will truly provide many hours of entertainment. Moreover, this is a collection you will wish to frequently revisit, reread and enjoy anew. I cannot praise this set highly enough both for its content and, at only $1.99, its great value.

ADDENDUM: Since I wrote the above, additional volumes have appeared in this expanding series--as well as 3 related series: "Weird Science Fiction Tales," "Weird Mystery Tales" and "Weird Tales Novels." Sadly, more than a few stories included in this first series are repeated in the others. This in-house duplication, combined with the high degree of duplication with OTHER ebook collections you may already own (Megapacks, Golden Age of SF series, complete or collected works of favorite horror and SF authors, such as Lovecraft, Robert E. Howard, Machen etc.), may dampen your enthusiasm to acquire all (or at least some) of these new volumes as they appear. Yes, the price is very low and the stories are quite good, but YOU must decide (based on what other sets you already possess) how much duplication you are willing to tolerate and how few "new-to-you" stories constitute "too few" even for that low price.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
This is a terrific and enormous collection of weird fiction, with no discernable theme (not every piece ran in Weird Tales magazine). Tumbled together are literary classics from the likes of Poe and Algernon Blackwood, full-on slices of pulp madness like the energetically gory and sadistic adventure tale "Satan's Incubator," humorous supernatural shorts, and full-length novels. Needless to say, if you love this sort of stuff, you will find plenty to enjoy -- even if you skipped half the pieces included because they weren't to your taste, you'd get more than your money's worth.

The formatting is decent -- there's an active table of contents, which is always a plus in a Kindle cheapie! I've found a few typo/scan issues, but not a great many, and certainly not enough to ruin the reading experience. And yes, I believe all the contents are public domain, but there's quite a bit here I've never seen offered on Kindle at any price and in my opinion it's well worth paying here.

If you want a ready-made pulp/horror/adventure library, placing gems like "The Most Dangerous Game" cheek by jowl with stories about transplanting a human brain into the body of an extinct reptile, you NEED this book. If I ever make it through the entire collection (I'm only up to the authors who start with "D," so it will be a while), I will certainly spring for the second and third volumes.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2012
I have to agree with the other two reviewers I read before buying this. (Thank you both by the way.) This is freaking huge (over 2200 pp.) Yes it contains many public domain and much-anthologized stories that serious horror freaks know almost by heart.

But there are many, many gems by the famous and the overlooked. If I were a novice to the genre, this would be the first book I would buy. Hell, I've been reading horror for longer than I care to admit, and I couldn't resist it.

If you don't jump on this, you're nuts. But most of us horror fans are anyway. Never mind.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
I'm having great fun reading through this collection. There are some wonderful stories here. And there are some real stinkers too. That's how Weird Tales was. They would publish authors that no one else would touch. They paid the authors very little. Sometimes they bought stories that should never have left the typewriter. Sometimes they published works that should have been heavily edited. And sometimes they published stories that should have been in a much better magazine than Weird Tales!! If you find yourself trudging through something that wouldn't survive a high school writing class, just skip it. You only paid two bucks for the whole pile. Maybe the next story will be that diamond hidden in the rock pile!

Warning. A few of the stories contain some pretty heavy racism. They were written at a time when this was acceptable in entertainment. Please don't let this put you off the whole collection.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2012
Rather bizarre collection of public domain (pd) supernatural stories. The editor has a few lesser anthologized authors. While there are some of the usual fare here, the editor also avoids some common traps by including a fair number of hardly ever anthologized stories by well known and the lesser known authors. While this is refreshing in a way, these are NOT ALWAYS the authors' best stories, but fun for those of us that have read all the usual fare. There are still many great stories here and even though most (all?) are in the public domain this is a good solid deal at $1.99! It's also huge length-wise. There is one Kuttner story here which must be pd because Kuttner's estate never lets anyone publish e-books of his work.
44 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
Table of Contents -
THE NIGHT WIRE, H.F. Arnold
THE BUS-CONDUCTOR, E.F. Benson
THE ROOM IN THE TOWER, E.F. Benson
MY FAVORITE MURDER, Ambrose Bierce
THE DAMNED THING, Ambrose Bierce
MEDUSA’S COIL, H.P. Lovecraft and Zealia Bishop
THE MOUND, H.P. Lovecraft and Zealia Bishop
THE CENTAUR, Algernon Blackwood
THE MAN WHOM THE TREES LOVED, Algernon Blackwood
A PROFESSOR OF EGYPTOLOGY, Guy Boothby
THE COLD EMBRACE, Mary E. Braddon
THE KING OF YPRES, John Buchan
THE FAR ISLANDS, John Buchan
RATS IN THE BELFRY, John York Cabot
THE LAME PRIEST, Susan Carleton Jones
FISHHEAD, Irvin S. Cobb
THE DEAD ALIVE, Wilkie Collins
THE DIARY OF PHILIP WESTERLY, Paul Compton
THE MOST DANGEROUS GAME, Richard Connell
DEATH MAKES A MISTAKE, P.F. Costello
SATAN'S INCUBATOR, Randolph Craig
THE MONSTER OF LAKE LAMETRIE, Wardon Allan Curtis
THE RETURN, Walter de la Mare
McILVAINE'S STAR, August Derleth
THE RING OF THOTH, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
KI-GOR, LORD OF THE JUNGLE, John Peter Drummond
THE TREASURE OF ATLANTIS, J. Allan Dunn
MASK OF DEATH, Paul Ernst
ISLE OF THE UNDEAD, Lloyd Arthur Eshbach
THE LOST STRADIVARIUS, J. Meade Falkner
THE HEADS OF APEX, Francis Flagg
PHANTOM OF THE FOREST, Lee Francis
THE GREY WOMAN, Elizabeth Gaskell
THE HALF-BROTHERS, Elizabeth Gaskell
THE MUMMY'S FOOT, Théophile Gautier
COLD GHOST, Chester S. Geier
THE YELLOW WALLPAPER, Charlotte Perkins Gilman
EACH MAN KILLS, Victoria Glad
HERE LIES, H.W. Guernsey
THE LONG ARM, Franz Habl
ETHAN BRAND, Nathaniel Hawthorne
THE DWELLER ON THE THRESHOLD, Robert Hichens
THE CASE OF THE CURIO DEALER, William Hope Hodgson
THE VOICE IN THE NIGHT, William Hope Hodgson
THE DESERTED HOUSE, E.T.A. Hoffmann
IMPRISONED WITH THE PHARAOHS, Harry Houdini
THE WERE-WOLF, Clemence Housman
A WITCH SHALL BE BORN, Robert E. Howard
BEYOND THE BLACK RIVER, Robert E. Howard
BLACK CANAAN, Robert E. Howard
THE HAUNTED HOUSE, Walter Hubbell
TRAIN FOR FLUSHING, Malcolm Jameson
IN THE DARK, Ronal Kayser
TIGER CAT, David H. Keller
THE SECRET OF KRALITZ, Henry Kuttner
OLD MR. WILEY, Greye La Spina
THE WATER SPECTRE, Francis Lathom
A DEBT OF HONOR, J.S. Le Fanu
AN AUTHENTIC NARRATIVE OF A HAUNTED HOUSE, J.S. Le Fanu
CARMILLA, J.S. Le Fanu
PICHON & SONS, OF THE CROIX ROUSSE, J.S. Le Fanu
BELA KISS, William LeQueux
MISTRESS OF THE UNDEAD, Lazar Levi
CASTLE OF TERROR, E. J. Liston
MEX, William Logan
THE CALM MAN, Frank Belknap Long
THE MAN FROM TIME, Frank Belknap Long
THE MAN THE MARTIANS MADE, Frank Belknap Long
NAKED LADY, Mindret Lord
AT THE MOUNTAINS OF MADNESS, H.P. Lovecraft
AZATHOTH, H.P. Lovecraft
BEYOND THE WALL OF SLEEP, H.P. Lovecraft
COOL AIR, H.P. Lovecraft
THE MUSIC OF ERICH ZANN, H.P. Lovecraft
A FRAGMENT OF LIFE, Arthur Machen
DR. DUTHOIT'S VISION, Arthur Machen
OUT OF THE EARTH, Arthur Machen
THE DISAPPEARANCE OF MRS. MACRECHAM, Richard Marsh
THE MUSIC FROM INFINITY, Thorp McClusky
THE SORCERESS OF THE STRAND, L.T. Meade and Robert Eustace
THROUGH THE DRAGON GLASS, Abraham Merritt
THE CHALLENGE FROM BEYOND, C.L. Moore, Abraham Merritt, H.P. Lovecraft, Robert E. Howard, and Frank Belknap Long
BIMINI, Bassett Morgan
THE THING IN THE UPPER ROOM, Arthur Morrison
SPIRIT ISLAND, Henry Toke Munn
VAMPIRE, Jan Neruda
THE POWER OF DARKNESS, Elizabeth Nesbit
CROTCHET CASTLE, Thomas Love Peacock
DOOM OF THE HOUSE OF DURYEA, Earl Peirce, Jr.
WEREWOLF OF THE SAHARA, G. G. Pendarves
THE WHITE FEATHER HEX, Don Peterson
THE FALL OF THE HOUSE OF USHER, Edgar Allan Poe
THE PREMATURE BURIAL, Edgar Allan Poe
DANGER, Fletcher Pratt and Irvin Lester
THE LOST GODS, Dorothy Quick
PLEDGED TO THE DEAD, Seabury Quinn
FOUR WOODEN STAKES, Victor Rowan
THE CHAIN OF AFORGOMON, Clark Ashton Smith
THE JUDGE'S HOUSE, Bram Stoker
VAMPIRES OF THE DESERT, A. Hyatt Verrill
LUKUNDOO, Edward Lucas White
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2012
This is an excellent value with good stories and some novels included in the collection. The only thing I would like to see here is if these are stories that had actually appeared in the magazine, or if they are just a collection of weird stories from various sources. Also I would like to see what the original publication dates were.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
If the title has not already caused you to compulsively buy this book, I cannot imagine that anything I can say would persuade you.

I bought it for Kindle to add to my evening reading collection.
I have not finished it, but I'm enjoying it.

If you are interested in classic oddness and dark creativity altogether different from the committee-generated sputum pumped into your house through the collective mass-entertainment machine, this is a good place to get started.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2016
Some stories are what HP Lovecraft fans would term "weird stories." Others are just random pulp fiction from the pre-infinite copyright era. You're not going to get ripped off buying this massive bulk of interesting and obscure stories for the price; but you're also not going to get a huge and un-diluted volume of actual weird fiction, either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
With 101 stories they're not all going to be great, and there's defiantly a few boners in here, but overall it's a good selection. If you like Gothic ghost stories in the style of Robert E. Howard and other authors of this ilk, you can't go wrong for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse