Customer Reviews


400 Reviews
5 star:
 (288)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


174 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "FINALLY! "The Bionic Woman" Comes To DVD!!!"
Ever since the advent of digital video discs consumers and fans of classic television shows have been hoping and demanding to see "The Bionic Woman" on DVD. The series that starred Lindsay Wagner and made her into a household name was released in Europe on Region 2 dics, but the North American marketplace was virtually ignored due to ownership issues. Now, this wonderful...
Published on July 21, 2010 by Terrance Richard

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Bionic' Babe busts both heads and hearts!
Perhaps it simply boils down to having been a boy growing-up in the late 70's that has brought on various nostalgic moments for me upon first hearing that The Bionic Woman: Season One was being released on DVD.

Ah, the seventies: a time filled with afro perms, polyester bell bottom pants large enough to park a Ford Gran Torino (no offense Starsky & Hutch!) in,...
Published on February 28, 2011 by Shane M. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

174 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "FINALLY! "The Bionic Woman" Comes To DVD!!!", July 21, 2010
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 1 (DVD)
Ever since the advent of digital video discs consumers and fans of classic television shows have been hoping and demanding to see "The Bionic Woman" on DVD. The series that starred Lindsay Wagner and made her into a household name was released in Europe on Region 2 dics, but the North American marketplace was virtually ignored due to ownership issues. Now, this wonderful and innovative series about a woman who possesses bionics and works undercover for the OSI while being a school teacher by day, comes to DVD on October 19, 2010. I for one am a very happy boy! I grew up watching Lindsay Wagner fight the bad guys and would watch with anxiety week after week to see what adventures the bionic woman would get herself embroiled in.

"The Bionic Woman" got her start on a two-part "Six Million Dollar Man". At the end of the second episode Jamie Sommers actually died. Overnight ABC was inundated with letters demanding Jamie live and be given her own series. Fred Silverman, president of the network and keen on seeing potential Nielsen ratings, especially those of a young demographic, caved in and Jamie Sommers was brought back to life and given her own weekly show, sometimes garnering higher ratings than that of Lee Major's series ("The Bionic Woman" finished at #5 in the 1975-1976 Nielsen Ratings).

"The Bionic Woman" was pure comic book fluff with a strong, intelligent woman as the lead, but the series would have been a bomb if not for the excellent acting chomps of Lindsay Wagner. Wagner was very likeable in her portrayal which explains why any girl watching "The Bionic Woman" during its original run wanted to be her and the boys wanted to marry her. Lindsay Wagner even won an Emmy for Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actress in a Drama Series in 1977. This was no small feat as Lindsay's competition that year was Angie Dickinson for "Police Woman", Kate Jackson ("Charlie's Angels"), Sada Thompson ("Family"), and Michael Learned for "The Waltons".

This oustanding four disc DVD box set will feature all 13 season one episodes that began airing in January, 1976 (the show was a midseason replacement) along with a slew of bonus features. The bonuses include a brand new featurette with Lindsay Wagner being interviewed called "Bionic Beginnings", audio commentary from Kenneth Johnson who created and directed the series, a gag reel (this is not to be missed as the bloopers are hilarious and Lindsay proves she has a tongue like a sailor!), and photo gallery. To make things even more appealing this set will feature two crossover episodes from "The Six Million Dollar Man" that showed how Jamie Sommers came to be. These episodes are entitled "The Bionic Woman-Part 1" (aired March 16, 1975) and "Part 2" (March 23, 1975), "The Return of The Bionic Woman-Part 1" (September 14, 1975) and "Part 2" (September 21, 1975)".

Important to note too is that it has been long thought by fans and critics of "The Bionic Woman" that the episode entitled "Welcome Home Jamie Part 1" was first aired on ABC as a "Six Million Dollar Man" episode. The truth is that is not the case. Recently in October, 2010 research consultants from Timelife who are bringing the entire "Six Million Dollar Man" series to DVD have discovered that "Welcome Home Jamie Part 1" was indeed the first ever "Bionic Woman" episode to be telecast on network television. It was long thought that particular episode was telecast as a "Six Million Dollar Man".

UPDATE: "THE BIONIC WOMAN-SEASON 2" COMES TO DVD ON MAY 17, 2011!!!
UPDATE: "THE BIONIC WOMAN-SEASON 3" COMES TO DVD ON OCTOBER 4, 2011!!!

Here is a list of "The Bionic Woman-Season 1" episodes along with their airdates:

1. "Welcome Home Jamie-Part 1", January 11, 1976
2. "Welcome Home Jamie-Part 2", January 21, 1976
3. "Angel of Mercy", January 28, 1976
4. "A Thing of the Past", February 18, 1976
5. "Claws", February 25, 1976
6. "The Deadly Missiles", March 3, 1976
7. "Bionic Beauty", March 17, 1976
8. "Jamie's Mother, March 24, 1976
9. "Winning Is Everything", April 7, 1976
10. "Canyon of Death, April 14, 1976
11. "Fly Jamie", May 5, 1976
12. "The Jailing of Jamie", May 12, 1976
13. "Mirror Image", May 19, 1976
14. "The Ghosthunter", May 26, 1976
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please, Put the Bionic Woman on DVD, June 14, 2004
By 
M. B Evans "Fusionman" (Madison, Mississippi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember being 8 or 9 years old, and loving the Six Million Dollar Man which came on Sunday nights. I could not miss an episode. Then I remember the Bionic Woman which came on Wednesday nights, and I could not get enough of it either. I dont know why the UK and other parts of Europe has all these classic episodes of SMDM and the Bionic Woman on dvd and the US does not. So I beg Universal to relaese the Bionic Woman on dvd, all seasons, and also the SMDM. These shows are just to good. Some people may call them cheezy or whatever, but thats assuming that everything today is the only things that really matter in tv and fashion and whatever. Sure these shows were in the 70's, thats when I watched them originally. I love them today as I did yesterday. They still have the charm and magic they had back in the day. Im waiting for all the seasons to come out. These shows are just great. Classic stuff....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Region 1 Box Release--finally in 2010!, November 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 1 (DVD)
I noticed a lot of these reviews are actually for the old region 2 box sets, or even just talking about the series in general, not the new 2010 North American release, so I hope this is helpful for people actually looking to buy, you know, the actual product on the page:

This is an excellently packaged DVD box set which not ONLY includes the full first season of "The Bionic Woman" starring Lindsay Wagner, it ALSO includes the five episodes of the "Six Million Dollar Man" which introduce the character. I hope I don't need to tell you how wonderful the series itself is--sure, some of the premises are a little cheesy, but Jaime Sommers is a relatable, likeable character as fun to watch in dialogue as she is in action scenes, and stories run the gamut from more series espionage tales (rescuing trapped ambassadors in a guerrilla-filled South American jungle) to lighter hearted adventures (Jaime's undercover operations at a beauty pageant), all of which are entertaining. An example of some of the best action TV of the 70s. The special effects are corny compared to now but certainly good use of the SFX technology of the time (and much of the commentary reveals some of the neat tricks they used to pull off bionic stunts in the days before CGI).

There is commentary by head writer and producer Kenneth Johnson on several episodes, all of which is extremely informative on both the action on the episodes as well as providing information on actors and other fascinating "behind the scenes" footage. A few others writers provide commentary as well. The extras also include a roughly half-hour interview documentary featuring Lindsay Wagner, Richard Anderson, and other stars and creators of the series, that is well edited and very informative.

Video and sound quality are as good as you can hope to get on remastered versions of stuff that was originally recorded on cheap film in the 70s. While there are occasional blips or fuzziness, that's only to be expected--I go away from watching this certain that the restorers did absolutely the best job they could to make the video as clean as possible under the circumstances.

It's a fun, heart-lifting series, ideal for people ages 7 to 107, put together in an excellent DVD presentation. I can't wait for Seasons 2 and 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bionic Woman Season 1, July 24, 2004
By 
Jeff Carter (Perry, Ga United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally Universal is releasing the bionic woman on dvd it should be out by Christmas keep checking tvshowsondvd.com anyway there was only 3 seasons of the bionic woman so hopefully all will be released by the end of next year.Here is the season 1 episodes that will be on the dvd.

1)Welcome Home Jamie Part 1

2)Welcome Home Jamie Part 2

3)Angel Of Mercy

4)A Thing Of The Past

5)Claws

6)The Deadly Missles

7)Bionic Beauty

8)Jamie's Mother

9)Winning Is Everything

10)Canyon Of Death

11)Fly Jamie

12)The Jailing Of Jamie

13)Mirror Image

14)The Ghosthunter

I don't know if the pilot will be included as the bonus but I hope it will.I hope there will be bonuses on this set.I'm hoping Universal will now release other favorites of mine such as Emergency,The Six Million Dollar Man and the Incredible Hulk.I will deafinly pick up the bionic woman when it streets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Superhro Of All Time, May 8, 2007
By 
William B. Bangs (Irvine, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In 1976 I was eight years old and living in a small New Hampshire town. A group of us kids played street hockey, kick the can and everything else after school. I was as enthusiastic (if not nearly as athletically gifted) a player as any, but I always took off in time for my favorite TV shows. I loved three female-driven crime shows: Charlie's Angels, Wonder Woman and The Bionic Woman, and I took a lot of ribbing about running away from my games with the guys to drool over a bunch of girls on TV. I didn't care, and I didn't miss a single episode if I could possibly help it.

As they've slowly been released on DVD, I've been gobbling up these classic dramas. Somehow, though, two out of three don't look the same anymore. Charlie's Angels is campy, while Wonder Woman no longer seems nearly as sweet as she once did, now that I'm old enough to understand how emotionally limited and unavailable she really was. The sad fact is that most female superheroes simply conformed to the male model, even when (as Lynda Carter has claimed in a book about all things Wonder Woman) they were trying to be real. All these shows fulfilled the goal of showing young boys that girls could be cool, too. But only one stands the test of time. Just one warms the heart even a quarter century later: THE BIONIC WOMAN.

Originally a simple spin-off of The Six Million Dollar Man - a show about a man brought back to life after a horrible accident and endowed with artificial body parts to replace those he lost courtesy of the shadowy OSI (Office of Scientific Intelligence), then recruited by them as a spy - The Bionic Woman would seem a lame example of TV producers sticking with what they know works if it premiered today. But in the Seventies I wasn't that cynical yet; I had a crush on Lindsay Wagner before I was physically capable because she was sweet, even to the bad guys! Though the OSI only sent her after the very worst evildoers, this former tennis pro-turned superspy kept both feet on the ground even when jumping thirty feet in the air, handling her assignments with grace, humor and a level of understanding for EVERYBODY'S feelings that only having once been an ordinary mortal could have engendered. When a mad scientist threatens the very world with destruction ("Doomsday Is Tomorrow" from Season Two) she speaks to him softly and sits him down gently as his heart gives out. Another monster holds the world hostage to his ability to control the weather; Jamie risks her life entering his doomed complex to talk him out of killing himself by staying in there, threatening only to carry him out if he refuses. Another whole episode of Season Two ("Once A Thief") is about how Jamie bucks the OSI and the cops to keep a lifelong (petty) thief out of prison, even though he discovers her bionic secret, carjacks her and blackmails her into helping him rob a bank.

I can't remember a single episode where Jamie failed to put others' personal needs and feelings above her own, nor was there ever one in which she just totally went off on somebody for all they'd put her through. Unlike the case with so many crime shows today, which try to add emotional complexity by simply ratcheting up the anger factor, you always come away from Bionic Woman remembering what's REALLY important, having had lots of fun and being willing to let go of stereotypes of all kinds -- often not even consciously knowing why. The reason is simple: Jamie Sommers used her brains more than her brawn, stayed on task until the end, remained one hundred percent loyal to her friends and colleagues and still managed to balance their needs against those of the very enemies she was sent out to vanquish. Though she holds the fate of the world in her hands most of the time, the bionic woman never overdoes anything, and never gets burned out or pushed over to the Dark Side. Viewing her super powers as simple tools available to make her life and those of her friends and loved ones better, The Bionic Woman gets my hands-down vote for the greatest superhero of all time. When deadly supercomputer ALEX 7000 ("Doomsday Is Tomorrow") asks what her unusual prostheses are made of, Jamie replies simply: "Sugar and spice." That's as good a description of this entire series as any. Make sure to go out and grab all three seasons of this fantastic program the very MINUTE Universal releases them over here. You'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bionic Woman, August 2, 2010
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 1 (DVD)
Universal Studios really kicked themselves in the behind (HARD ) and I will tell all of you how. I have all three seasons of " The Bionic Woman ", starring Lindsay Wagner, as of last year. The error that Universal Studios did to themselves is that they decided to release " The Bionic Woman ", only to the United Kingdom , Australia, and Germany. I fortunately purchased a multi-region DVD player years before I came to realize Universal Studios ever released " TBW " on DVD in other parts of the world. I discovered all this when I traveled to New York and I met someone there and they mentioned they purchased all thier DVD's from other countries, also they are much cheaper. I decided to be curious and it payed off, Universal Studios released all of the original ABC, Bionic Woman, starring Lindsay Wagner on DVD in the United Kingdom, Australia and finally Germany. I purchased all three DVD's, but the beauty of my purchases each of the DVD's, season 1 at the cost of only $ 10.00 plus S/H only $5.00, season 2 $10.00 S/H the same and season 3 $10.00, S/H the same, from R&B records....inner London...the total cost of all three including S/H charges $45.00, now Universal Studios have decided to release " TBW ", here in the United States for much more than they cost in other parts of the country...if I may be allowed to say I am extremely happy all you fans will have the opportunity to finally purchase this DVD, as I am very happy to have themalthough Universal Studios were infact very foolish (for the lack of a better word ) so my message to all you fans who may have a multi-region DVD player, look at United Kingdom, Aust, and Germ, you may find it much cheaper as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super human intervention needed!, February 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What exactly is the hold up with the release of this series on DVD? Who is in charge of researching a market for its successful release? If a foreign market can have access to such an American icon as The Bionic Woman, why can't the market from which it originated and which made it the phenomonon it is have equal access??? It really is an entertaining show for a very good reason. It was the first time a superhero was portrayed with any depth of character and the evidence of this is supported by the fact that Lyndsay Wagner won a Emmy for her portrayal during the second season. I don't think this has happened since. I am a well educated individual and I can't see how a show left setting in some underground vault somewhere is doing any good for anyone, especially people who see this show as an important element in American television history. Could we have some legitimate answers please, not silence?

FINALLY! It is here......and it is a winner! I had it delivered the day of release. Without a doubt it is one of the best shows ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bionic Woman DVD Release?, July 27, 2004
Hello again, all you "bionic" fans and Amazon surfers :)

I received this e-mail from a guy who's a member of one of the Yahoo "Bionic" forums. He has worked with author Herbie Pilato on a book about the making of the 2 bionic series, Lee Majors and Lindsay Wagner, and the impact of the 2 series during the 70's pop-culture era. The book hasn't been published but it's been completed.

Anyway, he has contact with Richard Anderson on occasion and they talked recently. Here's what Richard A. and Lindsay W. had to say about the bionic series DVD's and the 6M$M movie remake:

******************************************************

I talked to Richard Anderson this afternoon, and he confirmed that Jim Carrey is definitely OFF the project. And since a second script was recently rejected, the film won't be made anytime soon. Also, while lunching with Lindsay just last week, she informed him that the BW DVDs were being delayed due to "legal issues."

******************************************************

I can't personally confirm this info, but I do know of the guy that sent this e-mail to me and he's a reliable source regarding the bionic series and it's history. Take it with a guarded grain of salt for now, but it might explain why we're waiting for these two series' DVD releases. I wonder if that's the reason ("legal" reasons) for the delay in Uni's release announcements, assuming that the movie remake is a dead issue. It makes me wonder, though, that if there were any legal issues, why would Uni have included the Bionic Woman clip in their "Coming to DVD 2004" chapter on the Uni/NBC Promo DVD last fall? This may be a case of "the left hand not knowing what the right hand was doing" at a large Co such as Universal. This "bionic" DVD story seems to have more twists than the Beatle's "Long and Winding Road".

I bet almost all of us check Gord's TV/DVD site daily (tvshowsondvd.com). I can tell you that we're not alone waiting for those Bionic DVD's. Dave Lambert (News Director for Gord's TV/DVD site) is a bionic fan as well and can't wait for them either. Gord said that they get a lot of e-mail's inquiring about the bionic DVD's. Unfortunately for us, Universal's not the most "open" of the studios out there and it's very difficult to get info from them. The good news for us is that the TV/DVD consumer market remains strong and these studios, for the most part, are wanting to put as many TV/DVD sets out there as possible. The down side to the TV/DVD issue is that occasionally, the studios are running into legal/clearance issues with some of their TV series that delays (and in more infrequent cases, prevents) their DVD releases. Let's hope that Uni will resolve the issues and get our DVD's released. One thing's certain: the minute that Gord and Dave get any info about the bionic DVD's they'll post it on their site with "bionic speed". I think that the only "snag" regarding the bionic series releases might be: TV/DVD is a business and as such, the product owner has to have a reasonable assurance that they'll get a decent return on
their investment. The only thing that concerns me is that, if
these "legal" issues are in fact true, which at present seems to be the case, we have to hope that the cost to Universal of securing rights and clearing these issues will not prohibit them from producing the DVD's for release. I'm thinking that it won't be a problem since Uni, as well as most of the other studios, look at TSoD and see that our bionic series are ranked highly for "most-wanted" TV/DVD sets so they know there's a fairly large market out there for these series. So, while it may seem that Uni's in need of a bionic ear "tuneup" at Dr Well's lab, I think it's safe to say that they know we're out here waiting for their product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do lets bring back one of the best 1970�s TV Series of all t, May 31, 2004
By A Customer
Being a devout sci-fi fan and after the Six Million Man TV series ended, I remember coming home from school everyday and watching one hour episodes of the Bionic Woman, one of the really fun TV series with my favorite actresses of all time, Lindsay Wagner. I have seen a few episodes from E-Bay on VHS but these are not of the best quality, for a show that was full of Jaime's captivating wit and wisdom and immerse back to a time when TV was fun and one could forget the problems of the world for that hour. Other great TV shows of that era such as Charlie's Angels and Wonder Woman are becoming available, so it is time to bring back all the Bionic Woman and Six Million Dollar Man restored episodes on full screen DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Time Overdue, October 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 1 (DVD)
This set is AWESOME!!!! The bonus features are outstanding. The remastered prints are pristine. I can't wait for the remaining two seasons. Please Universal, don't make us wait too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Welcome Home, Jaime Pt 1
Welcome Home, Jaime Pt 1 by Alan Crosland Jr.
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.