Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Henkes Never Disappoints!
Poor Wemberly, she worries about everything...big, little and in between. And what she's worried about most, is her first day of nursery school. Never fear, her teacher, Miss Peachum, knows just how she feel and introduces her to Jewel. Jewel worries about everything too. No one understands and expresses a child's feelings better than Kevin Henkes. His writing is...
Published on August 3, 2000 by Roz Levine

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful
This is an OK story. However, it does not offer any real help for kids to deal with their anxieties, so I did not find it to be a satisfiying purchase.
Published on January 3, 2011 by Music Mama


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Henkes Never Disappoints!, August 3, 2000
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
Poor Wemberly, she worries about everything...big, little and in between. And what she's worried about most, is her first day of nursery school. Never fear, her teacher, Miss Peachum, knows just how she feel and introduces her to Jewel. Jewel worries about everything too. No one understands and expresses a child's feelings better than Kevin Henkes. His writing is true to life with a simple, gentle message. His illustrations, detailed and very expressive and best of all, he lets your pre-schooler know...You're not alone out there. This is a terrific new story you youngster(s) will want to hear again and again and a great addition to all home libraries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Kevin Henkes, July 26, 2000
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
Poor little Wemberley worries about everything! And her first day in kindergarten is quickly approaching. This, of course, is very worrisome for Wemberley, but she soon finds that school isn't so intimidating. This is the newest book from Henkes, who also wrote Julius, Baby of the World, which I love. If you have a small child who worries frequently, or if you have a child who is frightened by the prospect of entering school, this would be a great book for you. The illustrations are vivid and typical of all of Henkes books; I especially love the bright yellow cover! I would recommend it for ages 3 and up- it's not too wordy to read to the tiny ones. A great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasure to read for both parent and child, September 1, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
Kevin Henkes is one of my daughters favorite authors, and I have to say, for the under 5 reading I have to do, he's one of mine too, especially after reading this book. I bought it especially because my daughter, like Wemberly, is very worried about starting her new school. When she heard Wemberly was worried about that, she said "I'm worried about that too, Mommy." Right then, I knew I had bought a great book. We read it over and over and it gives her great comfort to know that she is not the only child who worries. The best thing is Wemberly gets to school and makes a new friend. The experience is positive and all the things that she worried about did not happen. This is a great message for all kids (I think it's rare that a four year old child would not worry about certain things). Aside from a great message, the story has good humor and Henkes wonderful illustrations. I am so glad I got this book for my daughter, we read it at least 4 times before bed each night. Happy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kudos to Kevin Henkes, he's done it again!, July 26, 2000
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
Add Wemberly to the long list of Kevin Henkes' loveable characters. She worries about lots of things, but finds in the end, that her biggest worry (SCHOOL!) is nothing to worry about. Children of all ages will identify with Wemberly's knack for concern, but will enjoy experiencing the lovely way the adults in her life help her cope. Thank you Kevin Henkes, for another book about real feelings disguised in adorable entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally delightful picturebook tale!, August 16, 2000
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
In Kevin Hanks thoroughly charming picturebook Wimberly Worried, Wemberly the mouse worries about everything, all the time, everywhere. Even though her parents and her friends try to reassure her and tell her not to worry. Kevin Henkes deftly writes and colorfully illustrates a delightful little picturebook tale will thoroughly entertain young readers even as it assures them that they, too, need never worry about everything, all the time. Other highly recommended "mouse" books by Kevin Henkes for young readers include Lily's Purple Plastic Purse; Owen; Chrysanthemum; Julius, The Baby Of The World; Chester's Way; Sheila Rae, The Brave; and A Weekend With Wendell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Props to Henkes, March 27, 2002
By 
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
The book Wemberly Worried by Kevin Henkes is a good book for the early developing reader or for story-telling to your young child with anxiety about school. The book focuses on a little mouse girl who, as the title states,
worries about everything. She worries about the jungle gym at the park, her rabbit doll, and many other everyday occurrences. Henkes uses very colorful and descriptive pictures so as to help out young readers make a correlation between the words and their meanings. Henkes also uses repetition to hold the young readers attention and to emphasize the fact that Wemberly worries about
everything. The book gives children a good view of school and makes them excited to attend school, have fun, and make new friends. This book is good for the parents who may be worried that their kids will not like school or for kids
who have already expressed their fears of leaving their parents for school. However, the book is not suited for kids that have already experienced school and have realized that it is not very scary and that they like it. All in all, Wemberly Worried is an excellent book to buy to ease your child's anxiety about school or other things they may worry about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable little worry wart, April 6, 2004
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
Wemberly (a little girl mouse, despite the masculine sounding name) is a worrier. My oh my how she worries. It's amazing the girl can even get out of bed in the morning, she's so wracked with worries morning, noon, and night. She doesn't take the advice of her grandmother half as much as she should. Her grandmother (a sweatshirt wearing, roller-blade enjoying, high-tops sports shoe figure) is constantly advising Wemberly that she is carrying, "Too much worry". And on top of everything Wemberly is about to go to school for the first time. Rest assured that by the end of the tale, Wemberly's worries have at last been put to rest.

I've always liked Kevin Henkes's portrayal of fathers in his picture books. I like his other characters as well, of course, but Henkes just has dad's down pat. Take a gander at the dad in "Wemberly Worried" for example. Here's a nice pot-bellied father mouse (usually seen in close conjunction with the mother mouse) wearing different colored vests and striped shirts. Be sure to spot the special Halloween bat vest he sports as well! He's great. And so is the book.

Fans of Henkes's other mouse based picture books won't be disappointed with this one. The clever child might even locate a disguised Lily and little brother Julius (two of Henkes's best creations) hidden in one the pages. This book is a good choice for the child that shows a little reluctance towards that first day of school. Though Lily finds her solution through a similar friend, there are other ways of dealing with scary times in school. Be sure to pair this book with other first-day-of-school stories for a well-rounded view of that undoubtedly worrying time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS DIFFICULT TO FIND ANYTHING NOT TO LIKE IN THIS WORK., September 29, 2006
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
This is one of those real surprises. What seems simple at first is really rather profound. All little kids worry (as do most adults) and they worry about the strangest little things. But we have to remember that what is little to us, is rather large to a first grader. This little book is perfect to read to the young child and a perfect lead-in to a great discussion of why not to worry and to put everthing into prespective. The text is quite simple and to the point. The art work is great and goes well with the text. The book is funny and the book is true and it has a great ending that actually teaches a lesson. What more could you want? I read this one to my classes all the time and have yet to find a child who could not relate. Recommend this one highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for preschool children, August 14, 2001
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
As a librarian in training I have come across many books dealing with this subject of going to school. When I came across this book, I knew it would be perfect for children getting ready to make that big step into a classroom. Children may be excited about going to school, but they will worry about what everyone else is doing and whether or not they are going to fit in. Wemberly looks like a normal little (mouse) girl and we can see she will fit in fine at school. But she worries about everything -- until she gets there. Children will see that there is nothing to worry about and that as bad as they think things will be, everyone's a little nervous on the first day of school.
Kevin Kenkes has done a wonderful job with this book -- as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a child entering pre-school, August 28, 2003
By 
Kelly M. Erickson (New Port Richey, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wemberly Worried (Hardcover)
Wemberly's grandma may be my favorite character in this book. Her flower child attitude is cute. Wemberly and her skepticism about the world around her is sweet and I think all little kids have some amount of caution about doing something new. As it turns out, Wemberly decides pre-school is great and it shows little ones that trying new things usually turns out wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wemberly Worried
Wemberly Worried by Kevin Henkes (Hardcover - July 25, 2000)
$17.99 $13.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.