Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I finished the book in less than a day...
I'm a Wendy listener so my review maybe somewhat biased, but I really connected to Wendy's story. Listening to her daily (well as much as I can) I feel she's an associate of mine. While reading the book, if you know Wendy's voice, you can picture her telling the story to you, like 2 girlfriends catching up over dinner. I admire her ability to be so honest and forthright...
Published on July 21, 2005 by S. Walker

versus
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm, not feeling it!
I love Wendy but I'm not feeling her book. She hyped it up to be sooo drama filled, that it's a bit disappointing to read. She doesn't gossip at all and that's what she's known for...dishing the dirt. She does none. She does talk about her trials and tribulations and at times the book will bring out your "pinkness" but for the most part, it's rather...
Published on August 5, 2003 by Tiffany


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm, not feeling it!, August 5, 2003
By 
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
I love Wendy but I'm not feeling her book. She hyped it up to be sooo drama filled, that it's a bit disappointing to read. She doesn't gossip at all and that's what she's known for...dishing the dirt. She does none. She does talk about her trials and tribulations and at times the book will bring out your "pinkness" but for the most part, it's rather disappointing and boring. If you are interested in how to get into the radio business, this book is full of suggestions and ideas. If you never heard her show, her advice, although not uncommon can be helpful. If you listen to her show and the advice she gives, you'd be surprised at how she handles certain situations in her life. And although I respect her for admitting to the world that she had a drug problem and I know now that it consummed her life for a long time, it didn't deserve the four chapters she gave it. I just expected a little more. But all in all, I love Wendy and I still listen to her everyday, I'm just glad I didn't pay for that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it, September 20, 2003
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
As a person who listened to Wendy during her inital hey days, used her now defuct 1st and 2nd website (there is a 3rd) in all honest I must say this book was HORRIBLE.
I was expecting her to get down and dirty in her books like she has done to so many guests on her show. This was pure floss and was just an extension of her current show. I cannot believe how she disrespected everyone by using racial slurs in the introduction. As a avid reader I can say this is a waste of anyone's time. If your interested in a radio career read the introduction and your covered.
We all know she's a former addict, and we now know she's delusional to believe her own hype. Cheating husband and she accepted that and want women to think she was strong in doing so to keep her family together. Sorry but she's looks like a women with self esteem issues who was lucky enough to land on her feet.
Get it from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat entertaining but shallow, September 5, 2003
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
I saw this book in my library and picked it up. Count this as a guilty pleasure read. I've listened to Wendy hype this book up so much on her show that my curiousity got the best of me. I wasn't expecting much so I wasn't disappointed.
Wendy Williams has always struck me as a study of contradictions... smart and driven but extremely shallow. She's practical but there's not much depth. She's a guilty pleasure representing the worst of our entertainment fixated culture and it's subsequent mean spiritedness. Her book does nothing to change that opinion. Williams recounts her career trajectory as she moves from Boston radio intern to queen of New York radio. In the process, she meets up with some bad romantic mates. She also makes enemies of powerful people in the entertainment industry and is "banished" to Philly. Eventually, she is welcomed back to New York with open arms.
I have to give it to Williams. She's not shy about putting her business out there as she does the entertainment people she covers. Williams gives off the essence of a nice middle class girl trying to be "hard" with a ruffneck husband. Still, one gets the feeling there are still issues that need to be resolved especially pertaining to Williams' self-esteem and marriage. Her story about her struggle to have a baby is touching but I lost count on how many times she writes about her physical beauty...methinks the lady doth protest too much.
Williams has not been shy about wanting to have her own television show. It will be interesting to see how far this ambition will carry her. Read this book to satisfy your curiousity but don't expect anything deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, September 12, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
I wouldn't waste my money on this book if I was you, you're better off borrowing it from someone else. This book was wack, she mainly talked about her coke habit. She kept repeating things that was already discussed. It was a boring read, the only reason I kept going is because I had to pay for it, matter of fact I want a refund. Wendy if you see this, please stick to radio. I think people bought this book out of curiosity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lotta hype ....a little disappointed., August 19, 2003
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
I am a Wendy Williams fan. Have been Since since she was at KISS then HOT now at WBLS. At 2pm I turn to 107.5 on blast just to hear "her song". At 3pm I tune in for advice hour. I tend to listen to her when I'm in my car because I feel like she's speaking right in my ear. I listen to her in my house when I know she's got a juicy bit of information she's telling. When Wendy first announced that she was first writing a book I couldn't wait. Then it was pushed back to August 5th. Folks were mad but that's my birthday so I thought it was sort of a gift.
There was so much hype around this book and I bought into it also which is something that I normally do not do. Her radio show is pretty intriguing but this book wasn't. I enjoy reading about a sistah's struggle and 1/3 of the book was about hers. I liked reading how she found her way from Ocean Township to Boston. I loved how she took the reigns and followed her heart to the Virgin Islands to start her career in radio. I loved her "futuristic vision".
After that I lost interest.
1/3 was about her coke addiction (really didn't need that much time)and 1/3 of the book was about her and Kevin.
Due to her gag order she was unable to discuss what happened with her and HOT 97 and of course readers were looking for that.
I finished the book with much disappointment. She spoke in "yucky" tones sometimes sounding ignorant which surprised me.
Anyway I love to hate Wendy as most urban New Yorkers do but I will continue to listen to her because I can distinguish between the the message and the messenger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is That All There Is? I prefer Robin Quivers, August 4, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
I have not purchased the book but thumbed through it in a store.
Thoughts?:
1. the book is short considering all of the issues discussed
2. why is there no index?
3. the prose seems sloppy and at times there are embarrassing typos (for example, it is Celine Dion, not Dionne)
4. the cover photo is more suited to a porn mag not to a book
5. even though she claims not to look down on Robin Quivers, I think there is some animosity. Robin has class.
Wait for it in the bargain bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written, October 21, 2003
By 
Chantal (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
Wendy hyped this book up on the radio so much that I just couldn't wait to read it. After reading the first paragraph I thought, "what the hell is this?" but I kept reading. She mentioned nothing that she had not already talked about on the radio. She did give further details in regards to her addiction and a deeper insight into her personal life but nothing really juicy!! In addition to content, the story was not put together well AT ALL!! It was a waste of money. I do not recommend buying this one. If you must read it, borrow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I finished the book in less than a day..., July 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
I'm a Wendy listener so my review maybe somewhat biased, but I really connected to Wendy's story. Listening to her daily (well as much as I can) I feel she's an associate of mine. While reading the book, if you know Wendy's voice, you can picture her telling the story to you, like 2 girlfriends catching up over dinner. I admire her ability to be so honest and forthright with her drug addiction and the infidelity of her husband -- something that many women go through but are too ashamed to admit. It boils down to the fact that you have to be in the situation to truly understand why the person chose to stay with their mate after infidelity. My favorite part? The whole thing, but especially the end, when she offers advice -- for relationships and life in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars words cannot describe..., September 5, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
what an utter piece of useless garbage this book is. If you like Wendy's brand of "Look I know about a star's dirty laundry" gossip, that's your entitlement. Taste comes in good and bad. But this book revealed Wendy to be exactly what she is: a pathetic, parasitic, completely false wannabe who honestly (and delusionally) believes she's a show-biz diva.If there's any real humor in this book, that's it. Save your money and your time. This is one of those books that had no reason to be published. The writing is atrocious, the language obviously planned, and the point nonexistent. If, as one reader said, this was "the best book you ever read," please RUN to the nearest bookstore with all the cash you can spare and head for the literature section!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Girl, Please, September 10, 2003
By 
This review is from: Wendy's Got the Heat (Hardcover)
First off, the cover art is horrendous. If that is in fact, Wendy, she looks better as a DRAG QUEEN. The cover is the first mistake. The second mistake was even writing the book. She is a wannabe celebrity, nobody outside of New York really even cares about her diva-less self. The third mistake was mine for even reading this error-filled pack of garbage.
Wendy, do us all a favor and don't ever think about a sequel!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wendy's Got the Heat
Wendy's Got the Heat by Karen Hunter (Paperback - August 3, 2004)
$15.00 $10.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.