Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 out of 3 is Pretty Good
ROCKY MOUNTAIN BRIDE - JILLIAN HART
I did not enjoy the first story. It involved a woman who arrives expecting to get married to a man whom she has been courting by mail for the past year. It turns out it was the man's parents writing to this woman and he has no intention of marrying anyone. I just did not believe the emotions between them to be realistic...
Published on September 9, 2009 by J. Liniger

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars O.K. for burning time.
The three books are O.K. for wasting a couple of hours, but you don't really feel for these people, which I think is a shame.
Published on November 30, 2011 by S. Moore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 out of 3 is Pretty Good, September 9, 2009
This review is from: Western Weddings: Rocky Mountain Bride\Shotgun Vows\Springville Wife (Mass Market Paperback)
ROCKY MOUNTAIN BRIDE - JILLIAN HART
I did not enjoy the first story. It involved a woman who arrives expecting to get married to a man whom she has been courting by mail for the past year. It turns out it was the man's parents writing to this woman and he has no intention of marrying anyone. I just did not believe the emotions between them to be realistic.
SPOILER - The man is livid with his parents (and rightfully so) but the woman (who spent her last money to get there) doesn't seem to be mad. She acknowledges that his parents wrote to her out of love for their son. After a storm that traps them together (they sleep together) he feels obligated to marry her. She only wants to marry for love so is leaving when he reads the letters that she had been writing "him" and falls in love.

SHOTGUN VOWS - KATE BRIDGES
This was probably my favorite one because it really had a very interesting story (besides boy meets girl, etc.) The girl Milly and boy Weston have a history that was developed in a previous book, however I had not read that book and was satisfied with the quick summary given. After her parents witness a very passionate kiss (where her breast pop out of her corset, funny moment) her dad assumes that more had been going on and takes them at gun point to the chapel for a midnight wedding. These embarrassed strangers (they had not seen each other for about a year) are now husband and wife and have to adjust to their new living arrangements and a surprised town (not to mention the other men that she had been courting).

SPRINGVILLE WIFE - CHARLENE SANDS
It was a sweet story of a widowed woman who becomes the new school teacher and a man who has raised his niece from a baby. The man and woman used to attend the same school as children and he used to pester her, so there is a playful back history to develop their love story from.
- For those interested there are a few heated make out "scenes" but no "on screen" sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springville Wife, June 5, 2008
This review is from: Western Weddings: Rocky Mountain Bride\Shotgun Vows\Springville Wife (Mass Market Paperback)
Grace, Caleb and little Opal sprang to life on the pages of Charlene Sands's delightful story. What could be more heart-touching than a widow and a motherless child or sexier than the devilish boy from the schoolyard? Toss them all together with good-natured matchmaking, and my only regret was that the story wasn't longer. This reader thoroughly enjoyed Springville Wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, February 14, 2013
This review is from: Western Weddings (Kindle Edition)
These were entertaining. Enjoyable reads. Light and lovely. Good books for a quiet rainy day in front of a fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great reading, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Western Weddings: Rocky Mountain Bride\Shotgun Vows\Springville Wife (Mass Market Paperback)
I really like westerns and this book was excellent
about weddings that one can just imagine actually happening back in those days
I found this book to be riveting with love ,romance,and all the Happily ever afters :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Western Weddings, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Western Weddings (Kindle Edition)
Rocky Mountain Bride; Shotgun Vows; Springville Wife are short stories one about a mail-order bride and another about a Mountie and a woman named Millie. The last story was about Grace, a widowed schoolmarm and Caleb, a handsome rancher raising his niece and how their lives become entwined and well-kept secrets. Each story is well written and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love these books, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Western Weddings (Kindle Edition)
I can only read books that really hold my attention. Absolutely didn't want to put this down. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Western Weddings (Kindle Edition)
This book had three wonderful stories. I enjoyed reading them so much that I have already read them twice. I ordered this book on my kindle and it was sent with in 60 seconds and I had it read before the next day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars O.K. for burning time., November 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Western Weddings: Rocky Mountain Bride\Shotgun Vows\Springville Wife (Mass Market Paperback)
The three books are O.K. for wasting a couple of hours, but you don't really feel for these people, which I think is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth The Money Or Time, March 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Western Weddings (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book due to the reviews I read and wish I hadn't. I didn't like even one of the three stories. I found myself trying to hurry through one to get to the other thinking the next one would be better. I felt they were all slow starting, predictable and boring. It's ashame since I like mail order stories etc...Oh well maybe next time I'll wait for more reviews before ordering a book. Enjoy if you choose to order this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Western Weddings (Kindle Edition)
Could not put it done until book was read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Western Weddings: Rocky Mountain Bride\Shotgun Vows\Springville Wife
Western Weddings: Rocky Mountain Bride\Shotgun Vows\Springville Wife by Kate Bridges (Mass Market Paperback - May 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.