Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hard working over achiever
This Westinghouse is one surprising TV. It delivers great performance in a slender package and at a decent price point.

What works well?
###########

++ TV is ultra thin, and attractive, with a really unobtrusive bezel with a nice knurled finish.
++ Setup was a breeze. Fasten the base using 4 screws, connect your input devices, and power...
Published on August 23, 2012 by Ammy_Evaluator

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke after a month
Bought this last month at Costco. Great deal. Super light and thin. Seemed like a great TV for the price. And then tonight, for no discernible reason, the TV screen light fanned out and the left side of the screen became dimmer than the right side. Nothing seems to fix it. Like part of the picture tube or whatever LEDs use to project the image blew out. Thank...
Published on September 25, 2012 by Concerned reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hard working over achiever, August 23, 2012
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This Westinghouse is one surprising TV. It delivers great performance in a slender package and at a decent price point.

What works well?
###########

++ TV is ultra thin, and attractive, with a really unobtrusive bezel with a nice knurled finish.
++ Setup was a breeze. Fasten the base using 4 screws, connect your input devices, and power up!
++ Uses a faster refresh rate of 120Hz to reduce motion blur.
++ Default picture settings were more than adequate.
++ The control menus are very intuitive (except for a couple of picture controls found in the Power Settings menu).
++ Impressive array of connection options. You have a coax input, a VGA input, 2 HDMI inputs, and even a composite video input.
++ Excellent remote design. There are a ton of hard buttons for common uses - which means less hunting through menus. You can pick the input, turn on CC, change the aspect ratio, display the program guide, mute audio, and more, just using these hard buttons.

So what doesn't work well?
##################

-- Sound output is its Achilles heel. As with most other flat panel TVs, you really need an external amplifier.
-- Its controls provide only a limited range, which is a problem if you are really picky about your picture.
-- No component video input.

Conclusion
########

Overall, its picture impressed us - right out of the box. Colors were natural, black levels looked spot on, and even the color temperature looked just fine. We are using this in our fitness area, where it works great. Given what it delivers, this is definitely a 4-star product. Slightly better audio and more video control range would have made this a truly exceptional TV.

Notes
####

# I am using the Paper Thin Leaf Indoor HDTV Antenna to receive over-the-air HDTV channels.
# I was a bit upset by its distracting power light, but was overjoyed to discover that I could turn it off! Another example of great usability design by Westinghouse's engineers.
# Another nod to usability is when changing the setting of any control, such as brightness, contrast, etc. In addition to the usual bar that shows the current setting as you change it, the TV also displays the original value before you began making your changes - allowing you to easily undo changes.

Happy TV Viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, Nice Looking, LED TV, September 9, 2012
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Overall this Westinghouse LED TV seems like a pretty decent TV. The picture quality is quite nice. The sound is not quite where It should be. Wouldn't say it's bad but it sounds a bit tinny and voices can be low while other sounds are loud. The speakers are rated at 10watts each.

One odd thing has to do with the physical screen depth. It has a very thin profile on the upper half as most LED backlit TVs do, but the lower half ends up being quite fat because of the speaker housings. The top is about 3/4" thick, while the bottom balloons out to 2-3/4". This may not sound like much but if you planned to mount it to a wall and wanted a very flush look, this set is not for you. Not a problem if mounted to the table stand, however. The listing claims a 'super slim 1.5" edge profile, with a Maximum thickness of 1.5" for an easy fit in any space or on any wall'.

My son noted that it comes with a very primitive remote control. It has all the functions you might want, but it will only control the TV (not other devices as some do) and it is not an example of good ergonomic design. It also feels quite flimsy and may not hold up well to heavy use. It'll do the job, but not much more.

While on the subject of remotes, my son has used one of the well regarded Logitech Harmony universal remotes and has setup many different devices on it in the last 3 or 4 years with not a single bit of trouble. With this Westinghouse TV however he was unable to get the Power button to function at all with theHarmony 600 remote. All other functions from the original remote work just fine when programmed into the Harmony, but not power, which quite obviously is a very necessary feature. After some web research it became apparent this is a common problem with Westinghouse TVs and there does appear to be a work-around, though it requires the help of Logitech Support personnel, and he has not yet worked his way through their support backlog. If his web research is correct then he should get this working within a few days. Others would have given up in frustration.

The set has a decent, though not extravagant, selection of inputs. I needed HDMI and Component inputs for the devices I wanted to connect. HDMI was no problem as the TV has 2 of those, but even though the listing claims it there are no Component inputs. So I had to settle for Composite (of which it has 1). It also offers one each of VGA and RF inputs along with a single analog audio out.

The on-screen menu is graphically pretty but has just the basic set of options. You get the standard array of picture controls including Brightness, Contrast, Saturation, Sharpness, Color Temp and Hue, along with 4 presets. For audio you get Bass, Treble, Balance and the ability to turn the speaker or the SS3D feature off entirely as well as some presets. There are also general settings for Date, Display Timeout, Language, Power Light control, Dynamic Contrast control and Backlight settings.

Basic is probably the word I would use to describe this TV set in general. It covers all the basics and does them fairly well. If you are looking for a solid nice looking LED TV at a reasonable price then this set will likely fit the bill.

The pricing on this television seems to change. Before I received the set, the price was $499, then it went down to $399, and now it is $429. So, check before you purchase to get the best price.

Addendum related to the Logitech Harmony Universal Remote: It took a lot of back and forth with Logitech support and they had to fix the problem on their end, but they finally got it corrected. You will have to get Logitech to apply the same change to their account.

Recommended. prisrob 09-09-12

Westinghouse LD-4655VX 46" Edge-lit LED HDTV

Original Brand New Westinghouse LCD HDTV RMC-02 Remote Control (5041811800) for SK26H590 SK26H590D SK32H540S SK32H590 SK32H590D SK32H590DA SK40H590D VK40F580D VK40H580D Ships from and sold by WennoW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke after a month, September 25, 2012
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
Bought this last month at Costco. Great deal. Super light and thin. Seemed like a great TV for the price. And then tonight, for no discernible reason, the TV screen light fanned out and the left side of the screen became dimmer than the right side. Nothing seems to fix it. Like part of the picture tube or whatever LEDs use to project the image blew out. Thank heavens it's still within Costco's 90-day return window but too quick for a TV to act up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great TV, September 1, 2012
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
I've had this tv for about 6 months and it's great! No problems, no worries. One thing I would mention though is that Target also sells this TV, I got it on sale for $330, so there are better prices around (normally I think it's $370).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not Buy - turns itself on, raises volume on its own, resets, January 30, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "music mom" (Lone Tree, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
We bought this TV at Costco - actually we bought two, thinking the first one was just a lemon. If you read the review from 10/1/12, the reviewer nails it. It is as if there's a ghost living in the TV. It turns itself on randomly. It raises its own volume - all the way up - randomly. And when you try lowering it, the TV fights against you and the remote to keep the volume high. It also keeps defaulting to the cable menu, several times a day, so you have to keep resetting your cable choices. At first we thought it was a faulty remote, so we took the batteries out of it...and the TV continued doing all of these things without a remote.

I had Costco and Westinghouse on the phone one day. The Westinghouse rep said she had "never heard of these problems", which is ludicrous considering several reviewers here have complained about the same problems. After returning the second one we bought, Costco told us that many of these had been returned with the same complaints. Its a shame because it has a nice picture and decent sound. You're better off spending a little more, like we did, and getting a better TV. We ended up with a 42" Sony Bravia, 120 Hz like this one. Much better picture and sound - no problems whatsoever. Do not buy unless you don't mind being driven crazy by your TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value for the price, October 22, 2012
By 
Ali Hamedi (Southgate, KY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
I have it in my bedroom wall and its perfect size. Knowing its 120hz motion rate, the picture is great, even in action movies. Sounds is good for a thin LED tv. Don't waste your money on a name brand like Samsung and Sony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lasts just a smidge over a year, January 10, 2014
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
If you want to watch tv for more than a year Don't buy this one. Coincidentally it went out 1 day after my warranty expired. I'll never buy Westinghouse anything again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Faulty firmware is common with this model, but it is otherwise a good set, June 9, 2013
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
At first, I thought the Westinghouse UW40TC1W was a great value. It is crazy slim and is more pleasing to look at (in terms of set aesthetics, with the picture off) than a few Sony/Samsung TVs I have seen. The picture itself is good with surprisingly not-terrible black levels (a very common issue with no-name sets). There are some questionable design choices (a backlight that is largely not controllable, settings that are hard to calibrate because numbers are not provided, etc) and the input selection is lacking, but I otherwise like the features. The sound is surprisingly adequate. Westinghouse's TV warranties and customer service are said to be atrocious, but I have not needed to rely on either. Unfortunately, everything is somewhat ruined by the TV's firmware issues (and reading through the some of the negative reviews for this set, it appears that I am not alone). When using a remote to control the set, either the included one or the one that controls the cable box I have hooked up to it, the set sometimes misreads commands as number presses and switches to the "TV" input (the built-in tuner which one would use if they received their signal through an antenna or coaxial cable; I should note now that if you want to use the tuner, you need to receive an activation code from Westinghouse's website). In effect, pressing any button is a game of Russian roulette: Will you be randomly taken to the TV input, disrupting your viewing, or will your command actually work? In fairness, this does not happen 99% of the time, but when it does it is incredibly frustrating. Another problem that appears more often is that the face buttons on the front of the TV tend to not work correctly. Pressing the "input" button on the front, for example, is likely to cause the set to flip out and reset to the default set-up menu. Given these issues, I CANNOT recommend this set to anybody (unless you will be setting up the set and seldom touching it), which is a shame given the good picture/sound and budget price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Garbage, November 16, 2012
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
The picture quality and sound on this tv was decent for about the first year. After that, the tv stopped working. They have no customer service to help you. They simply put you on hold indefinitely, so there is no recourse other than to just buy a new tv from a company that stands behind it's products. Avoid all Westinghouse products at all costs. Just look at the other reviews for their other tv's. Everyone is saying the same thing. Cheap garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV for the money, September 17, 2012
This review is from: Westinghouse UW40TC1W 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV (Electronics)
I bought this tv two weeks ago on sale at Costco. It was easy to set up, looked great right out of the box. I must admit that I'm surprised by the quality given the price. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.