Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my most favorite Louis L'Amour westerns!
Just one look at the beautiful and spirited Jacquine Coyle and Matt Bardoul knew that she was the woman for him. So when he finds out that she and her father and brother are planning to go on a wagon train, he decides to go along too. When he first learns about the wagon train heading for the rich pasture of the Big Horns and the gold which would be plentiful there, he...
Published on February 8, 2002 by Priscilla Stafford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I Enjoy L'Amour
Good L'Amour read, makes some very enlightening points about what was lost when the First Nation (native americans) peoples were taken from the land. Great story telling between good and bad without preachy-ness.
Published 20 months ago by R. James


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my most favorite Louis L'Amour westerns!, February 8, 2002
By 
Just one look at the beautiful and spirited Jacquine Coyle and Matt Bardoul knew that she was the woman for him. So when he finds out that she and her father and brother are planning to go on a wagon train, he decides to go along too. When he first learns about the wagon train heading for the rich pasture of the Big Horns and the gold which would be plentiful there, he finds nothing wrong. But soon he starts getting an uneasy feeling that something is definitely wrong. The wagon train would be made up of strong and innocent men and their families but they would be lead by a pack of the worst murderers, thieves, and gunslingers. Though Bardoul gets and urgently whispered message telling him not to go, he is still determined to go on the train because of Jacquine and the land at Big Horns. Bardoul doesn't realize that he is getting involved in a very deadly plot where the bad guys would stop at nothing to make sure everything goes according to their plans. Will Bardoul be able to figure out their plans before it's too late?
I just love Louis L'Amour's westerns and "Westward the Tide" has got to be one of his bests ever! With plenty of intrigue, suspense, action, and romance, for any L'Amour fan this is a must read. One of the best things I like about this book are the characters which are portrayed. Characters like Matt Bardoul, Jacquine Coyle, Brian Coyle, Clive Massey, Buffalo Murphy, Logan Deane, Ban Hardy, Portugee Philips, and more, L'Amour wonderfully displays the different types of people who made up the American frontier.
Other L'Amour books I highly recommend are: All of the Sackett books, including my most favorites, "Jubal Sackett" and "Galloway, "North to the Rails", "Broken Gun", "Crossfire Trail", and "Comstock Lode".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Westward The Tide, November 29, 1999
Westward The Tide is perhaps one of the best books written by L'Amour, while reading this book, I found it really hard to put it down. The gold, the girl, and the setting are perfect for alot of excitment and danger. If you are a Louis L'Amour fan and you haven't read this book I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut Novel?, July 23, 2010
This review is from: Westward the Tide (Kindle Edition)
I have been a Louis L'Amour fan since I was a kid. The Burning Hills hooked me on this author. While reading, Westward the Tide, I discovered that this was Mr. L'Amour's first novel published, in England, in 1950. This is one of the best books I've read topped only be Matt Reilly's Ice Station. Non-stop action and some of the most memorable quotes being several paragraphs long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story, June 3, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
L'Amour does it again. Not only a captivating, well-written story but he shares a bit of history from the physical location of the story. Much overlooked, L'Amour is a tremendous writer who can create character, plot and drama in an efficient and exciting way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Westward The Tide, November 29, 1999
Westward The Tide is perhaps one of the best books written by L'Amour, while reading this book, I found it really hard to put it down. The gold, the girl, and the setting are perfect for alot of excitment and danger. If you are a Louis L'Amour fan and you haven't read this book I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good reading, July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can one say, I have read every one of his books I can get from Amazon except the books with many stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue In the Gold Country, September 4, 2009
Matt Bourdoul joined a wagon train because the beautiful Jacquine Coyle and her family would be traveling on it. He knows there is something wrong because they are going to the gold country. Matt feels the danger and he must find out the plans of this wagon train before it is too late. Louis L'Amour is very descriptive of the setting and his characters. He paints a vivid story of danger, intrigue, and adventure. This is one of his best books. By Ruth Thompson author of "The Bluegrass Dream"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Listen, June 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Westward the Tide (Audio CD)
The set was received on time and as described.

This was the first full novel by Louis L'Amour that I had listened to in the audio format. The format is still enjoyable for long stories. In addition the use in the novel of the judgements and hopes and dreams of the protagonist made the store much better. Nothing has been hurt in the enjoyment by my move from Omaha/Arkansas to Nevada and my return to the type of climate I grew up in. For me the book was a preview of what is to come without the drama. (Although thru a realtor, I got my first warning about the criminal class and land ownership around here.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Louis L'amour at his best, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Westward the Tide (Kindle Edition)
One of my favorites. A great mix of western and intrigue! While there's no mistaking who the good and bad guys are, you'll be guessing just who the wildcard players are and how they will shift the tide. Great read with a surprising twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Louis LaMour, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Louis LaMour books are addictive. They always leave you wanting more stories. it seems as if you are part of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Westward the Tide
Westward the Tide by Louis L'Amour
$5.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.