Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Come For Us All!!
After nearly five years, Anthrax are FINALLY back with their latest studio album, and to be perfectly honest, it couldn't have come sooner. This is without a doubt the BEST metal album I've heard this year, bar none. Almost every beat, every riff, and every lick on this album is perfect, which definitely goes to show that the guys of Anthrax certainly didn't sit on...
Published on May 7, 2003 by SpacemanHardy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere close to "White Noise" or "Stomp 442"; very average
Since the addition of John Bush, I have looked forward to every release with fervor and confidence; confident that the product will be better than average. So I ask myself, after spending weeks with "We've Come For You All", is this the usual better-than-average outing for the Anthrax boys? Well, .......not really.

"We've Come For You All" has the usual gifts...
Published on August 9, 2004 by Scott "Dr. Music" Itter


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Come For Us All!!, May 7, 2003
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
After nearly five years, Anthrax are FINALLY back with their latest studio album, and to be perfectly honest, it couldn't have come sooner. This is without a doubt the BEST metal album I've heard this year, bar none. Almost every beat, every riff, and every lick on this album is perfect, which definitely goes to show that the guys of Anthrax certainly didn't sit on their laurels during their long absense. Here are the track ratings, as far as my personal opinion goes:
1.) Contact (3/5) This isn't really a song, but an intro into the rest of the album. At least, unlike other bands, Anthrax makes there intro sound like a song, albeit a very short one. It's still good and serves it's purpose.
2.) What Doesn't Die (5/5) This was the first track that I ever heard before this album's release, and it's still one of my favorites. Charlie boggles the mind yet again with his impossibly fast double-bass drums.
3.) Superhero (5/5) Another really good song. This one is basically your standard Anthrax song, which is in no way a bad thing.
4.) Refuse To Be Denied (4/5) Eh, this song is okay. Not as hard as some of the others, but not the fastest either. Kinda has an almost patriotic feel to it, unlike most metal songs.
5.) Safe Home (5/5) The first single. Sure, it's radio friendly. Sure, it's the softest song on the album. But I'll guarantee that it'll get stuck in your head after a few listens.
6.) Any Place But Here (5/5) What, another ballad? No! That intro is just there to confuse you. This song is actually quite fast, and has a killer chorus to boot. Still, it's no possible match for...
7.) Nobody Knows Anything (10/5) My personal favorite song on the CD. Just about everything about this song is great. I have no idea how Charlie pulled off the drums in this song without his legs falling off. The only thing bad about this song is it's too short, but that can be overlooked.
8.) Strap It On (3/5) I guess this song is okay, but the lyrics don't make too much sense to me. I suppose this one is made more for their older "Belladonna-generation" fans.
9.) Black Dahlia (2/5) My least favorite song on the album. The rapid drums and guitars sound cool, but they're way too off-beat and awkward. That, and again, the lyrics confuse me.
10.)Cadillac Rock Box (4/5) Ah good, another decent song. This one has sort of a southern rock guitar riff to it to please all you Skynyrd freaks.
11.) Taking the Music Back (5/5) Roger Dahltrey of The Who fame guess stars on this track, although he's really not used that much. It's still a most excellent song though, with yet another amazing chorus.
12.) Crash (1/5) Yet another skit, although this seems to be nothing more than Frank Bello mumbling semi-incoherently for about 50 seconds. Thankfully it's short, so you don't have to skip it everytime.
13.) Think About An End (5/5) Just another typical Anthrax song. Just as good as all the others, with an above-average chorus.
14.) W.C.F.Y.A. (We've Come For You All) (5/5) And now we finally have the title track of the album, and it certainly does not disappoint. Needless to say, you'll be shouting out "We've come for you all" along with John after a few listens.
My final verdict is this: If you are a Anthrax fan, a metal fan, or even a rock music fan in general, you NEED this album. It's been a long time coming, but Anthrax have finally come for us all. Let's all join them in heavy-metal nirvana, shall we?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing but praise, May 25, 2003
By 
Bill Allison "Bill Allison" (Southwest Missouri, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
Say what you will about Anthrax, but these guys know how to make a metal album. It's true that there are many die-hard Belladonna fans out there who are still mourning his absence but that's been more than a decade ago, and with the addition of John Bush, the band has put forth some of their strongest material ever. "Sound Of White Noise" is a classic in my book, and "Stomp 442" runs closely behind but with "We've Come For You All", the guys have really out-done themselves.
Every track here is a winner in it's own right and no, you won't find any nu-metal riffs nor will you find any rapping or whining. What you do get is REAL metal the way that it was meant to be played: Loud and fast, with CONVICTION. There is something about their music that never sounds dated and you could take any song from "White Noise", put it on the radio, and people would never know that it came out ten years ago. Did you ever hear "Only"? In case you haven't, it's probably one of the best metal songs ever recorded and it has NEVER managed to get stale.
On, "We've Come For You All", you can tell that these guys have really come a long way. Their (to use a corny cliche) ten years older and ten years wiser. The lyrics are smart and the band has never sounded better. The only thing this album needs is a little airplay.
If you haven't heard this yet, then you're missing something. Put down that new Disturbed album, go over to the "A" section, and get this instead. Once you hear "Safe Home", there will be no looking back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthrax's best in quite a while, January 7, 2006
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
In 2003, five years after their last studio album and eight years since their last good album, Anthrax mounted a comeback. "We've Come For You All" is a very strong and solid album (when not compared to anything else), and it's a great album, when you consider the band's last two discs ("Stomp 442" and "Volume 8: The Threat is Real") were both utter failures. "WCFYA," which is doubtlessly Anthrax's best record with singer John Bush, is also completely listenable and is brimming with potential, because there isn't one bad song on here and several of the tracks are even great. Like most prime `Thrax records, the vocals add a melodic edge to these songs, and guitarists Dan and Scott both sound top-notch. The album begins on a strong note: "What Doesn't Die" might be my personal favorite song on here. It's backed by surprisingly heavy, blowtorch guitars, which are complimented perfectly by Charlie`s pounding, rapid fire double bass drumming. But the rest of the album isn't without its charm, either. The famous, cleanly sung hit single "Safe Home," which has lurching guitars, is ultra-catchy; "Nobody Knows Anything" is a crunchy, churning song with great drum work; "Black Dahlia" features several speed changes and more pounding drums; and the door closing title track is seven minutes long, but it never drags. Also, "Strap It On" has a great, several parted guitar solo, and "Cadillac Rock Box" has a catchy, grooving rhythm which sounds like it could have come from a C.D. released in the 1970's. Both of these songs are made possible because of a cameo by Pantera guitarist "Dimebag" Darrell. The last highlight on here is "Taking The Music Back," which has vocals that come courtesy of The Who singer Roger Daltrey. "Among The Living" is still probably my favorite disc in Anthrax's discography, but this is about as great as thrash comes nowadays. "We've Come For You All" is more than a welcome inclusion in your collection, and it proves that Anthrax are more than deserving of being one of thrash's all-time, most popular bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second Best Anthrax album with Bush - 4.5 Stars, actually, December 31, 2005
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
Anthrax returns with their first new album in quite some time. After the last several disappointing Anthrax albums, I didn't hold out a lot of hope for this one. I got this one for free from a record label, but after listening to it for some time now I have to say that I would have bought it just the same. It's the best thing since Sound of White Noise by far, and while not as good as White Noise, there's plenty of good tracks here. What Doesn't Die, Superhero (my favorite), Safe Home, Taking the Music Back... This is a good one, and I'm glad to see they have some good stuff in them. However, Scott Ian really needs to shave that goofy beard of his. :)

Hopefully they get past this "reunion" stuff and get back to making good records. This reminds me of what Kiss did with Psycho Circus. They had a great album and lineup after several "eh" or "fair" albums, and then tossed it aside in the name of a reunion. I hope Anthrax puts it back together with Bush, he's my favorite Anthrax singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album! ANTHRAX ROCKS!, June 14, 2003
By 
"Zack" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
Anthrax is the band that the general public (and HELLO, Rock radio?) should be paying attention to - not their old counterparts from the old school of thrash metal, whose name (which starts with an M) does not deserve to be mentioned.
This is the album that the "M" people should've made - every bit as angry, with very few exceptions, every bit as powerful ... the differences are that the recording is actually listenable, and, the songs are ACTUALLY SONGS!
We've Come For You All is perhaps one of the best Anthrax albums of the "John Bush Era." And everyone is in top form here ... especially Charlie Benate, and his feet. I know a few drummers (coughlarscough) who could learn a thing or two from listening to someone who didn't let his double bass drum chops go to hell playing ballads. Now, It's not all "speed" metal - Anthrax has prided themselves on not limiting themselves musically over their career - but it certainly all rocks, even the "radio friendly" Safe Home. I can't pick a weak song here... completely worth your time and money ... unlike some people's discs.
Kudos to the band - God bless Anthrax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And then there was Anthrax, March 23, 2004
By 
Dave Kitchen (Ottawa, Ont CAN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
I've always liked Anthrax, all of their work, but this album really slapped me in the face. "We've come for you all" is unbelievable.
I have the Euro import, which is essentially useless in terms of the extra songs. The two extra tracks are "safe home (acoustic)" which you don't need and "we're a happy family" which you also don't need.
Other than the bonus tracks, there is absolutely no filler. Every song rocks and hard. Charlie Benante has busted out the double kick drums again and it's not just for show. The drumming, for the most part, is back on par with what Anthrax fans know it is capable of being. The drumming is one area that has been noticeably improved since precious efforts.
With the addition of Rob Caggiano on lead guitar the guitar work is once again a featured part of the songs. Rob is by far the best lead player that Anthrax has had. Scott Ian and Rob did a good job at combining a heavy music with enough groove, precision, and timing to bust a Swiss made watch. Rob is also said to be the one who inspired Charlie (Anthrax's pricinple song writer) to put the horns back on his head and write some serious metal. Well Rob, mission accomplished.
John Bush has also stepped up his efforts in the vocal department as well. The melodies on this album are the best Anthrax has had and they suit the songs perfectly. John exudes confidence, conviction and emotion like Anthrax has never been able to do before.
The song writing has also been raised to a whole other level. The melodies and guitars are meaner yet more apatising to the ear than ever. The improved song writing, greater attention to detail, superior musicianship, and added effort and emotion have made this a classic album of 2003. There is an obvious increased focus to the production as well. It seems that they were just more focussed in all aspects of this recording.
Regardless of how many copies this album sells, it is a classic in my mind. It ranks up there with Among the Living and Persistence of Time and this album is so far my favorite album this year. It has been on repeat since I bought it and it just keeps getting better. Don't expect Joe Belladonna vocals from John Bush but expect some classic metal from a classic yet refreshingly aggressive metal band.
Stand outs - "What doesn't die", "Superhero", "Safe Home", "Refuse to be denied"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're back and (almost) as good as ever, June 9, 2003
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
It's pretty easy to forget about Anthrax (as it seems most people have), but for those still willing to listen the guys are putting out some of the best music of their career. Despite a few lineup changes and some tweaking of their sound, Anthrax's flair and musicianship have obviously made it into the new century intact. "We've Come For You All," their latest release, isn't quite a classic on the level of "Among The Living" or "Persistence Of Time." What it IS is a smart, eclectic album that should have no trouble appealing to both old-school fans and relative newbies like myself. There are a few nods to the band's British-metal-meets-New-York-hardcore days of the '80's here: "What Doesn't Die" and "Nobody Knows Anything" thrash as hard and fast as anything Anxthrax have ever done, driven by Scott Ian's infectious riffs and Charlie Benante's manical drumming. However, Anthrax also manage to include some diverse and "modern" touches without ever sounding trendy or commercial. Dark, groove-oriented tracks like "Superhero" and "Refuse To Be Denied" slow things down a bit for more of a grungy feel, but they still rock hard enough to have you banging your head like a moron. Anthrax work in a semi-ballad as well in the form of "Safe Home," but the crunchy metal riffing and the unmistakable conviction in Bush's voice elevates the song way ahead of the sentimental tripe crowding the radio airwaves these days. And in perhaps the coolest move of all, the uber-heavy "Black Dahlia" even works some grindcore-esque blastbeat drumming into the mix. Brilliant stuff, I say. This album isn't quite perfect, but every track is at the very least listenable. I, for one, will still take Anthrax over the vast majority of what's out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthrax gives metal a well-deserved punch in the mouth, May 26, 2003
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
Since _Sound Of White Noise_, i've been fascinated by the transformed John Bush-era Anthrax, admiring the power-metal melodcism he brought to the band. At the same time I wondered if they were going to put out a disc that fully realized the band's potential. No more. This is a rip-roaring, snarling disc that is certainly the definitive JB-era album, and may just be the best full-length of their career. Taking the more aggressive drumming of Charlie Benante (who, like on _Volume 8_, simply puts on a CLINIC on this album) spicing up the brew with some inspired soloing by new member Rob Caggiano, guest appearances by Dimebag Darrell and Roger Daltrey (!!) and topping it off with John Bush's most melodic and inspired singing ever, and you get something which manages to both be totally relevant to the metal scene today while touching back to some of the most primal of the band's recordings. Its something that Anthrax fans of any era should rally behind, and if their radio-friendly masterpiece "Safe Home" - with its arena-ready chorus and stunning closing guitar solo - is any indication, should win them plenty of new ones. The lyrics, such as on "We've Come For You All" and the pummeling album opener "What Doesn't Die", contain clear, swaggering portents to pretenders in the current metal climate. Speed metal freaks get well-deserved release with the jaw-dropping "Nobody Knows Anything" and "Black Dahlia" while the band shows some surprising dynamicism with the touches of acoustic guitar on "Anyplace but Here" and the shifting tempos and challenging arrangements behind "Think About an End". By the time you reach yet another superb fist-pumping anthem in "Taking the Music Back", you'll probably be thinking like me - What the hell took you guys so long? Take note, Metallica - the "comeback" bar just got kicked through the roof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Masterpiece, December 17, 2005
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
Before this album, I had merely heard of Anthrax and seen their guitarist Scott Ian on television once or twice with his trademark shaved head and thick goatee. One day I was browsing around Coconuts and saw a couple Anthrax albums, picked one up, and began listening. Some good stuff, but nothing that really struck me. Alright, I'll try a couple different albums. What's this? "We've Come For You All"...?!!!Despite the fact they were only 30 second previews, I knew this album was nothing ordinary and that I had to hear the rest.

After hearing all of it, I was astounded. Everything on this album is worthwhile; no filler. In a world of modern metal, with all kinds of mediocre and cookie-cutter breeds, this stays true to the roots of metal. Starting in slowly and lightly with an acoustic guitar, alluring you into the album is the intro track, which becomes heavy by the end. It breaks into the album with the a full power song, "What Doesn't Die." From there it only gets better, with songs of varying power, from "Safe Home" to "Black Dhalia," varying themes "Superhero" to "Anyplace But Here."

This is definitely one of the best modern metal albums you can get your hands on. It's an album you can listen to time and time again without getting bored or disinterested, and makes you wish you didn't have to get out of your car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthrax is alive and well, April 8, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: We've Come for You All (Audio CD)
This album is the version any true anthrax fan would want. It has the Japanese bonus track cover song "We're A Happy Family" as well as an acoustic version of "Safe Home", not on the Japanese Version. This also comes in a very excellent fold out slip case digi-pac in a style (4-half gate fold flower open style package is the best I can describe it) that I have seen on very few other albums. This is a monster album, with heavy guitar licks and riffs, and the speed that we all have come to expect from Anthrax. The new five man line up featured on the album also places back the depth that was lost after the sound of white noise album. With songs like "Think about an End" and "Any Place but Here", modern hard rock/metal bands get a display of why guitar solos will always have a place in metal. So go ahead, splurge and buy this version of the album, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

We've Come for You All
We've Come for You All by Anthrax (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.