Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea Shepards Rule!
This show is amazing! I wish that I could be a part of that crew sticking to the Japanese! If you are at all interested in whale conservation then this is the show for you!
Published 21 months ago by Aquarius1970

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incompetence at its finest!
EDIT: I was a little harsh on Sea Shepard. It's just after watching them commit mistake after mistake for eight episodes, I was just fed up. It starts with an alleged rudder problem on the Steve Irwin that appeared BEFORE their Viking Shores campaign but didn't impact ship performance. Why fix the rudder in the rough Southern Ocean instead of the calm waters off the...
Published 23 months ago by Gordon Ewasiuk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea Shepards Rule!, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whale Wars Season 5 (Amazon Instant Video)
This show is amazing! I wish that I could be a part of that crew sticking to the Japanese! If you are at all interested in whale conservation then this is the show for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whale Wars Season 5, Dead in the Water, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As with the rest of the series, the storyline is not predictable; twists and unexpected turns hold the viewer's attention. This is tamper-free realism. The crews of the three vessels under Watson's command become family to each other, and, frankly, to the loyal viewer. Sail on, Paul Watson, and save those defenseless, majestic whales!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whale Wars Season 5, Games of Chance, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Whale Wars is not fictional. The series details the harrowing adventures experienced by people who voluntarily risk their lives to save whales from illegal slaughter by the Japanese fishing industry.Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is more than just "Whale wars"..., July 2, 2012
By 
Japanese whale killers do not understand that whales and dolphins are some of the most intelligent creatures on this planet. It is only our lack of understanding that makes us look at them as "animals". Far from it, they actually show more wisdom than humans even (certainly more than Japanese whale killers).

Japan has a tricky relationship with the ocean; perhaps if they stopped treating it as their hunting ground, where most fascinating beings are slaughtered, the gods of oceans may smile on them and stop the next tsunami...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whale Wars Rocks, June 1, 2012
By 
J. Camara (Takoma Park, MD, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those who want to hate that is fine your entitled to your opinion but seriously this is a good show. With damaged oceans and extinction this will affect the human race directly. Animals are not resources they are beings like you and me. Humans obviously relate to humans but that does not mean we should not care for fellow beings. Animals are not expendable commodities. Seriously this is just ignorance and for people to keep feeling good about what they are doing. The show rocks! I will keep watching the seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Question, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't understand how they can become frightened from a breach in their hull when they should have expected and prepaired for the worst especially in a boat with a hull integrity such as theirs. I would never have put a fiberglass boat in hurricane swells. I don't understand how they cannot truly know Paul Watson is serious about "Give your life for a whale."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whale Wars Season 5 (Amazon Instant Video)
This show is amazing, as an animal lover it is nice to see people standing up for animal rights. Just an all around jaw dropping excellent show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sea Shepherd is to be admired!, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whale Wars Season 5 (Amazon Instant Video)
Whaling should be stopped. The laws are in place. At least Sea Shepherd is trying to enforce them.
All the governments should enforce them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PERHAPS THE MOST SUCCESSFUL AND ENTERTAINING SEASON SO FAR. . ., February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Synopsis:
1) The Japanese whaling fleet received 29 million dollars from the Japanese government to improve the security for the Japanese whaling operation.
2) The Shonan Maru #2 (the security vessel #2) had an overhaul and had "GOVERNMENT OF JAPAN" painted on its side, thus allowing the ship to legally enter Australian waters tailing the Steve Irwin ship
3) The Sea Sheppard fleet suffered through a lot of challenges this season and didn't actually catch up to the spent a considerable amount of time and had numerous encounters with the harpoon ships.
4) The whaling fleet upgraded their defenses to guard against prop fouling attempts, which was eventually overcome with a knife, and used violent means against the Sea Sheppard crew by throwing tethered grappling hooks at them and hitting when with long wooden sticks. A couple of crew members were injured by the defensive tactics of the Japanese Whalers. One of the radar systems was destroyed by a water cannon and a crew member was tossed off the jet ski from the water cannon.
5) The Gojira was renamed the Bridgette Bardo and ended up suffering catastrophic damage from a rogue wave to one of its pontoons. This changed the Sea Sheppard's priorities to a rescue mission for the Brigette Bardo's crew members along with the drama of one of the harpoon vessels might interfere with the rescue operation and cause more risk to their lives. The Shonon Maru (#3 or #1) had to be told 2 or 3 times to back off because they were engaging in a rescue operation.
6) The Steve Irwin vessel was continuously being followed by the Shonon Maru #2 throughout the campaign minus the brief respite given by successful prop fouling attempts. At one time the Bob Barker had to shut its engines down do to a leak in its engine with the Shonon Maru #2 close by at its doorstep. Peter Brown had to tell the Shonon Maru to back off a couple times. Luckily, the temp fix worked.

Three non-Sea Sheppard Australian citizens boarded one of the harpoon ships while it was in Australian waters, but the harpoon ship still kept trailing the Steve Irwin anyway.

The Bob Barker was faster than the factory ship, but the Japanese harpoon ships are all faster than the Bob Barker and the Steve Irwin. The Bob Barker was able to catch up to the factory ship and keep it on the run while two harpoon ships kept the Bob Barker at bay with their own 50-foot prop foulers they were dragging.

Sea Shepperd was successful this season because they had a lot of help from the horrible weather conditions which prevented whaling, the harpoon ships (at least two of the three of them) seamed to make it their full time job tailing the Bob Barker and the Steve Irwin, and just the fact that the Bob Barkers was on the factor ships tail and the harpoon ships made it their full time job to try to prop foul the Bob Barker caused the Japanese whaling fleet to go home with only 267 whales out of their 1000+ quota.

*Much more prop fouling attempts than previous seasons
*The prop fouling attempts were much more challenging than previous seasons due to the upgraded Japanese defenses which made for a lot more action and drama.
*The Australian government refused to intervene if an Australian Sea Sheppard crew member boarded one of the Japanese boats, so three non-Sea Sheppard Australian citizens successfully boarded despite having to deal with anti-boarding razor wire.

Paul Watson, Peter Hamarstedt, Shannon Mann, and the rest of the crew are dedicated to the cause and entertaining as always.

This was perhaps the most dramatic and captivating seasons to date. I was slightly discouraged from buying this season because of someone else's bogus one-star review which was completely inaccurate and untrue. Sea Sheppard had one of its ships get severely damaged, mechanical problems, then a fuel shortage for the Steve Irwin at the end, but the Bob Barker was able to continue, new challenges from the upgrades to the Japanese whaling ship's defenses, one or two new helicopter pilots due to Chris Aultman's absence, and then the weather.

Japan only succeeded with killing 267 whales which, I believe is the lowest total out of the five seasons this program has been on the air. Whales are needed to fertilize the ocean from their waste products. The earth's atmosphere gets most of it's oxygen from the ocean and whale feces help keep the ocean fertilized and contributes to the eco system. There are no whale farms producing whales like they do with cows (I'm not advocating the eating of beef, I'm just using that as an analogy). People who eat whale meat really should start eating other things.

Negatives: They didn't have Amber Paarman on camera nearly enough. They had her on camera for maybe a total of 15 seconds. Bummer for me. I love Amber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THE SEA SHEPHERDS, January 20, 2013
I LOVE WHALE WARS SEASON FIVE THE SEA SHEPHERDS ARE THE BEST AND EVERYTHING THEY DO IS FOR THE WHALES AND NO ONE ELSE I DON'T REALLY CARE WHAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THEM IN MY EYES THEIR THE BEST BECAUSE WHILE EVERYONE ELSE IS JUST TALK THEIR OUT THEIR FIGHTING FOR THE WHALES AND MAKING A DIFFERENT IF YOU WANT YOUR OWN COPY GO TO AMAZON. COM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.