Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 13, 2013
This is another classic Chopra volume and it has many facets integrated into its diverse insights.
Deepak is returning to the issues of health and happiness and now food as a complex and yet basic system
requiring mindful living and practice.

Nothing can be more basic than "food and nutrition and taste" and the many elements associated with food including emotions and relations.
I bought this book the day it was released and have listened to the audio version two times already ( by the 2nd day it was out)

In this brilliant book Dr. Chopra uses his medical background as well as his studies in Ayurveda and nutrition sciences and also current research about GMO's and organic vs non-organic in a non-dogmatic , yet precise manner to inform and enlighten the reader in some of the new intricacies of food politics and advertising.

He then offers solutions for the SAD diet and the processed sugar and fat laden lifeless food of the market while listing a colorful array of alternatives which draw much from the seeming less endless array of raw and fresh fruits and vegetables (and their rich content of phyto-nutrients) and other plant material and other wise choices for those seeking a real food alternative to "diets" that don't work. Dr Chopra uses the Phrase "Awareness eating to Awareness living"

Yet just when this seems to be a book about diet and fresh foods and choices it starts a rich pattern of integrating all aspects of "nourishment" in the broadest sense and continues to integrate the many aspects of living that and lifestyle as well as habits that can affect our well-being. I have been a 100% raw living foods vegan for 40 years now so i was especially pleased to hear much devoted to "phyto nutrients and fresh foods"

The book then investigates all of the aspects of consciousness and living which can have effects on the quality of life and ultimately on one's happiness and balance.

Included in this book is much contemporary research on biochemical as well as psychological factors involved n the many levels of "nourishment" As always with Deepak Chopra's work the key is mind-body-and spirit, the Trinity. And true to his roots in Indian culture. Deepak brings back the insights of the science of Ayurveda to broaden the definitions of and insights into holistic nutrition as well as
lightening and enlightening the mind and body in a "full spectrum" approach.

The review of emotional well-being and Self-regulation reviews many delightful and informative views on maintaining inner perspective and mindfulness . Throughout the book Deepak uses a lovely phrase "lightness of Soul' which aptly describes the freedom from emotional-psychological and physical burdens and toxins.

The last section of the book has many recipes and suggestions for meals and food preparations from the Chopra kitchen and center.

Make no mistake, this is no mere food-diet-menu book. It truly draws upon the wisdom of many philosophies and sciences and modern science as well.

I highly recommend this book from Deepak because it weaves together the practicalities of diet and food as well as the issues behind eating and the practices we can integrate to produce optimum health and nutrition as well as the practices needed for balance and insight..

Definitely 5 stars
33 comments| 148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
Its disguised as a diet book, but in reality its a book about self "fufillment". Like I'm sure so many people in the world do, when they get stressed, they turn to food.

This book opened my eyes to the habits that probably 90% of people do. Instead of eating to fufill a need, because we're bored, angry, tired, or depressed, Deepak tells you to take a step back, take a deep breath and do some soul searching "what do I really want with my life?" .

Don't get me wrong there's plenty of diet advice.... Deepak gets you to be aware of what you eat, and that you're allowed to eat crappy food every once in a while. Cold turkey NEVER works when dieting, it only leads to crash and burn.

Overall amazing book and made me buy some of his other work.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
A book that isn't like the myriad of diet books & workout videos out there! Instantly, you loose the guilt and complexity of diet failures! There's lots of love in this book that's easily transferred to the reader to achieve greater understanding & love for our own spirit/soul & bodies. There is no favorite chapter in this book because each one opens a door of ah-ha moments that fit perfectly with everyday scenarios. I read the book in 2 days....couldn't put it down....didn't WANT to put it down! Permission to EMBRACE who I am...where I am AT THIS MOMENT! The ENLIGHTENMENT & PURITY introduced with simple explanations & visualizations take away the need for exhausting medical & soul searches about "what's happening to my body?" I GOT THE MESSAGE THIS TIME & it's a message that easy to apply with a DAILY awareness that I enjoy. Here's to a new healthy life that makes me happier than I could ever imagine....ps: When I made CONSCIOUS decisions about what no longer works with my new lifestyle, I had even more enjoyment by packing brown bag lunches and finding those that were homeless to distribute the much wanted food that no longer worked with my own awarenesses. Thank you Deepak Chopra!!!
11 comment| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
I really enjoy reading Chopra's books, they are easy to read but always thought provoking. Chopra advocates mindful eating and explains the physical and psychological effects of fast foods and eating on the go. He's empathetic to the woes and hardships of a chronic dieter (me!) and gives you great tips on how to stay motivated and on track. I am on day 25 of the Fast Metabolism Diet (which is great by the way) and What are you Hungry for? is really in sync with Haylie Pomroy's approach to wholesome eating. Chopra also delves into the Ayurvedic diet and teaches you how to incorporate the practices into your daily life. He states through and through that what you think is hunger for food is usually a hunger for something much larger, like the cafe you've always wanted to open, the dream job you were too scared to interview for or the fun and exciting relationship you never thought you'd have. The main focus of the book is mindfulness, when you're aware and present in each moment you can slowly but surely shift out of your comfort zone and start asking the questions that matter.

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://wms-na.amazon-adsystem.com/20070822/US/js/link-enhancer-common.js?tag=dfon08-20">
</script>
<noscript>
<img src="http://wms-na.amazon-adsystem.com/20070822/US/img/noscript.gif?tag=dfon08-20" alt="" >
</noscript>
0Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
What do sleep, happiness and mindful eating have in common? Dr. Copra's Solution to Permanent Weight Loss ties the mind, body and soul together as a solution to hormonal imbalances which cause weight gain. Willing to jump in, take a deep breath, get some rest and rate my level of hunger as I eat.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
I found about a half of this book interesting with suggestions on emotions and thought process, positive thinking techniques that were not the usual run of the mill ideas or exercises. The book crosses into areas that I know I won’t follow. One area is regarding pure foods, combinations, and maybe a weekly cleansing. I don’t have the money or patience to shop or grow organic food, health food, protein powder supplements, special spices and taste combinations, to throw out leftovers and what is considered quickly aged “bad for you” food. So the recipes provided did not hold much use or interest to me. Another path I am not ready for is mantra chanting meditation.

The book is well written, though I did find the author to get a bit over zealous by the mantra chanting end. I am sure it is all great advice but too overwhelming and over the top for simple me and the stage I am at. I’ll stick to looking to practice a few of the mind and habit changing concepts with a bit of light meditation, continuing to pursue more natural and less processed foods in general. I sincerely wish everyone else well on practicing the rest of it --whatever path gets you there. Also of note, I have not watched the associated PBS program.

Format: Borrowed eBook
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
I followed his advice and changed my eating habit accordingly. I have lost 8 pounds in 2 weeks and also cut out all unnecessary junks.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
Every year I try to find a book that will be my primary resource and inspiration. This book is my 2014 inspiration. I strongly believe that Spirit brings us just what we need, at the moment we need it. Namaste!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
I've known for years that feel-fulment is the key to being healthy in all areas of my life.
I am glad Dr. Chopra wrote about this necessary element in living a life of wholeness.
It is a simple and pleasurable read to put anyone on the path of fulfillment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2015
A very very helpful guide. This book offers knowledge that can restore or create a healthy relationship with food. I did not realize how many guilt feeling can be attached to eating until I read this book. Free your mind and just enjoy the gift and beauty of food! I LOVE DEEPAK!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse