Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Gift for Those about to Retire!
Many humorous books are funny because they make up things that cause us to laugh at others. The best humor is that which causes us to laugh at ourselves. This book falls into the latter category.
For a humor book, it has an unusual format: a series of about one hundred questions and answers concerning aspects of retirement. Each q and a is a page, and there...
Published on June 25, 2000 by Donald Mitchell

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cute but not that great
The book is a lot smaller than I thought it would be, and the jokes/questions really weren't that funny. I ordered it as a gift, and when I got it, I realized I needed to go get something else. It's a cute idea to have it accompany a bigger gift.
Published on April 10, 2009 by Kimberly J. Marsh


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Gift for Those about to Retire!, June 25, 2000
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
Many humorous books are funny because they make up things that cause us to laugh at others. The best humor is that which causes us to laugh at ourselves. This book falls into the latter category.
For a humor book, it has an unusual format: a series of about one hundred questions and answers concerning aspects of retirement. Each q and a is a page, and there are some humorous illustrations to go with some of the q and a's.
What I liked was that the better q and a's mirrored things that my retired friends have said to me.
"Q: What amazes most new retirees?
A: They're so busy now, they don't know how they ever had time for work."
This seems to be true because retirees find so many interesting things to do, and more time to do them.
Here is one to think about:
"Q: What are the greatest perks of retirement?
A: Running errands in the middle of the day and never standing in line."
You can organize your day to be much more efficient by picking the times to do things when everyone else is at work.
As you can imagine, there are the inevitable jokes about how many retirees it takes to change a light bulb, and other familiar gags.
I felt that the message of the book transcended the humor to actually make me think more realistically about retirement.
People who are retired might see this book as poking fun at them. People who are about to retire would see it as an object lesson. I recommend it for the latter.
Most potential retirees would probably not buy this book for themselves, so you should give it to them as a gift. Then, a nice thing to do would be to have a friendly conversation about retirement plans with the person you gave the book to. That would allow for a greater chance that the book's message will sink in: Retirement can be the best time of your life, but you have to get organized to take advantage of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Do You Know about Retirement, August 2, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
This is a light hearted look at some of the great and some of the less fortunate aspects of retirement. I read the book shortly after retiring and bought a couple more copies to have on hand to share with friends. It is a fun excuse to laugh at one's self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cute but not that great, April 10, 2009
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
The book is a lot smaller than I thought it would be, and the jokes/questions really weren't that funny. I ordered it as a gift, and when I got it, I realized I needed to go get something else. It's a cute idea to have it accompany a bigger gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little sad, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
I got this for my dad thinking all the jokes would be funny, but some made retirement look a little pathetic. Obviously you expect a joke book to have a little of each but the example jokes were more positive than the jokes on average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Plain Fun, July 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
This short book of questions and answers is a great gift for a new retiree. It has a number of laugh out loud pages I enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
Although I am giving this as a gift I found it to be very entertaining and appropriate for a retirement gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Bought These To Give To My Friends Who Are Retiring, August 15, 2013
By 
Margaret M Bamber (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
I love the Q and A format in this little book. Here's a sample: Q: What most amazes new retirees? A: They're so busy now, they don't know how they ever had time for work. I say this to my friends all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book. For anyone retiring it makes fun out ..., November 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
Fun book. For anyone retiring it makes fun out of the next life changes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
Very cute and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What You Don't Know About Retirement (Paperback)
I liked the book. Only bad thing was it is very small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What You Don't Know About Retirement
What You Don't Know About Retirement by Bill Dodds (Paperback - May 1, 2000)
$7.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.