Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 11, 2007
I bought this book with the intent of giving to my daughter, who is quickly approaching the age where college applications, essays and interviews fill the air. I decided to read it myself, as I have bought her several books about college that have turned out to be duds. I wanted to make sure she wouldn't waste valuable time reading a book that wouldn't be of any help to her.

I discovered the book is full of advice on how to write essays that many top colleges are seeking and how to avoid pitfalls that are common to applicants. In addition, I also discovered a wealth of information on how to interview and what traps to avoid during that process. The book is well written and the information timely and helpful if you are trying to get into a top school, or if you are a student with poor grades trying to get into an average school. It is written in plain language, and although there is some redundancy, it is a book that can easily be read by college bound high school students.

The one caution is that the book is geared for students who are seeking admission into liberal arts colleges. They are the primary colleges that are looking at essays and using interviews for admission purposes. More technical colleges, as my daughter has discovered, are looking more at course load and grades, and put little emphasis or importance on the essay/interview process. If you are looking to go to a technical college, this book might help a little, but it is very helpful for those seeking admission into top liberal arts colleges.
0Comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2010
This book isn't about the usual stuff you need to know to make your college application good. It makes you understand how the applicant as a person is viewed by the admissions committees. They already know by lists what you do in terms of grades and extracurricular activities. What admissions committees are most interested in is what kind of person are you; do you have good character; are you a person with real feelings about the outside world rather than just one who is focused on grades and a good resume. This book tells you how to do it right.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2010
The author focuses on how character plays into the admission process. Especially in schools where there is competition for limited seats, like top colleges. The book provides ideas on how to impress your interviewer. The book is informative, well written, and puts a very personal spin on the admissions process. I want to point out this is NOT a "how to" type book, if you are looking for a checklist type book ON THE ADMISSION PROCESS, a better choice is COLLEGE COUNTDOWN by VonGruben
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
Book good for those considering going to college. A lot of information in book , a lot to absorb. Gave to Grand daughter she read it cover to cover. Second Grand daughter who will not go to college for 5 years read it also and got a lot of hints on where to go and when to start applying to the college of choice.
Very good buy. Arrived exactly as described fast service also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
It makes the application process seem really scary. If you or your kid make even one of the errors listed your application to any top ranked school is doomed! Wow! how does anyone get in then? Oh right!! Hire this guy and his team to perfect the application! Gotcha! He never says that but I was certainly left with the impression that was the only way to be sure we were not committing fatal errors! I am now so paranoid since I am not hiring this guy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2010
This book does a great job covering, not just application problems, but mistakes to avoid on interviews as well as reference letters and essays. If you have your heart set on a specific college, help stack the deck in your favor by reading this book before you apply.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2009
Mr Dunbar's book is an invaluable tool in the process of choosing the right college and preparing your prospective student for putting thier best foot forward.My son has recently gone through 3 college interviews and Mr.Dunbar's book could not have been more correct on exactly how the interviews were conducted.This book is a must have for any college search.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
Short with a few quick ideas. Buy it used. We glanced at it when filling out apps but didn't depend on it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2009
I used this book for my Medical School application, and even though this book is mainly for Undergraduate College preparation, I could still learn a lot about what really the admission committee looking for in a candidate.
It helps you with your essay writing, all the way to the interview preparation.
For me it was useful for my interview preparation, I got accepted! :-)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
Great price, great service. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse