Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics
How is it possible that the very heart of the Christian faith is so misunderstood? Even by professing Christians?

Greg Gilbert's book "What is the Gospel?" does an excellent job in explaining the Good News of Jesus Christ. Gilbert helpfully lays out four facets to clarify this foundational truth. First, we are created beings who owe God honor and...
Published on March 27, 2010 by J. Taylor

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunate Methodology
In Gilbert's book, What Is the Gospel?, his hope is to "offer a clear answer to that question, one that is based on what the Bible itself teaches about the gospel (20)." The author offers five other hopes from the book. First, he hopes the book "will cause your heart to swell with joy and praise toward Jesus Christ...(20)." Second, he desires the book "will give you a...
Published 15 months ago by Garrett Craig


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics, March 27, 2010
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
How is it possible that the very heart of the Christian faith is so misunderstood? Even by professing Christians?

Greg Gilbert's book "What is the Gospel?" does an excellent job in explaining the Good News of Jesus Christ. Gilbert helpfully lays out four facets to clarify this foundational truth. First, we are created beings who owe God honor and obedience.

Second, we have rebelled against God. Others have phrased this "Cosmic Treason." The consequence of our rebellion or sin is eternal death (damnation). That's the bad news. Very bad news.

But Gilbert's third point is the Good News: God sent his only son, Jesus Christ - who is fully God and fully man, to do what no one else could do: live a perfect life and so deserve life. But then Christ chose to die. To take the wrath of God on behalf of sinners.

Finally, Gilbert says that this Good News is good news to us - not someone else. We take part in Christ's work by God reckoning Christ's perfect life as ours. How? Through our faith (also a gift of God), believing in the finished work of Christ's death on the cross and trusting only in Christ's work - not our so called good works.

The Gospel is God's work to save us from our sins and also the power for us to live a life honoring to the God of all creation. Good News, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Gospel, April 17, 2010
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
"What is the gospel?" The 9Marks blog asked the question and found that Christians who took the time to leave a response had very different answers. A quick survey of a dozen "What We Believe" pages on church websites will yield a dozen different explanations of the gospel. According to Greg Gilbert, an associate pastor for Capitol Hill Baptist Church, many of those explanations are not biblical. In his book, What Is the Gospel?, Gilbert turns to the Bible, specifically the sermons and writings of the apostles, as the ultimate authority for understanding the gospel. He writes, "We approach the task of defining the main contours of the Christian gospel by looking at what the earliest Christians said about Jesus and the significance of his life, death, and resurrection." Many in this generation are confused about the Gospel, for our traditions, reasoning abilities, and personal experiences have lead us astray. Gilbert encourages us to do our duty to preserve the gospel in our generation.

He first visits Romans 1-4. In Romans, Gilbert explains the purpose of Paul's writing and the main points he makes regarding the gospel in those opening chapters. Gilbert found that Paul asks and answers four key questions:

1)Who made us, and to whom are we accountable?
2) What is our problem? In other words, are we in trouble and why?
3) What is God's solution to that problem? How has he acted to save us from it?
4) How do I - myself, right here, right now - how do I come to be included in that salvation? What makes this good news for me and not just for someone else?

These four questions provide the frame for the rest of this book. Gilbert devotes one chapter to answering each question. In doing so, he explains the natures of God, man, and Jesus; he provides a detailed account of all that Christ accomplished for us on the cross; he explains why Christ's sacrifice is sufficient and satisfactory to a holy God; he teaches what saving faith is and is not; and, finally, he discusses why Christianity stands alone among the world's religions.

After answering the four questions, Gilbert continues by addressing what it means to be a part of God's kingdom. He answers the questions, What does Scripture teach about the kingdom of God? He offers a brief explanation of what the Bible teaches regarding the kingdom of God, living in the now and not-yet, and how Christians are to love one another and long for the return of our King.

In What Is the Gospel?, Gilbert hopes for four things: that, as Christians read, they will swell with praise and joy when they consider all that Christ has accomplished for them; that they will become more confident to share the gospel with lost people; that they will serve their churches by making certain the full gospel is preached, sung, prayed, taught, proclaimed, and heard in every aspect of their church's life; that the sharp contours of the gospel will be preserved, rather than sacrificed on the alter of making the gospel more palatable; and that unbelievers may read this book and be challenged to seriously consider the good news of Jesus Christ. Gilbert accomplishes all.

Each generation is faced with the task of preserving the Gospel, and, right now, too much of our generation is confused. This book will assist church leaders and laypeople in evaluating, on a corporate level and an individual level, their faithfulness to the Gospel. I can't improve upon C.J. Mahaney's blurb: "How I wish I could place this book in the hands of every pastor and church member."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is the Gospel?, May 4, 2010
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
Book Review

By Jason Scott

What is the Gospel?
By Greg Gilbert

This short book (121 pages) is a must read for both Christians and non-
Christians. Greg Gilbert masterfully explains the gospel in a balanced and crystal clear manner. Gilbert uses this book to answer four important questions: 1) Who made us, and to whom are we accountable to? 2) What is our problem? 3) What is God's solution to this problem? 4) and how do I became a part of this solution? Pg. 31

Gilbert explains that before we can talk about the good news (the gospel) first we must have an understanding of what the bad news is. Gilbert takes us on a journey through the creation of man, the fall of man, the redemption of man through the atoning work of Jesus Christ on the cross, and ultimately our restoration with our Creator in His Kingdom.

Gilbert rightly emphasizes that the only way we can have restoration is through faith in Jesus Christ, and repentance for our sin that separates us from God. He also rightly emphasizes that the Cross of Christ must be the center of the Gospel. This is refreshing as there are many out there who are offended by stark cruelty of the cross and attempt to reach God in their own way. The cross is offensive, why should someone have to suffer in such a horrible way for us? Only when we understand how offensive our sin is to God, and realize that man had to suffer for their sin, will we humbly bow before Jesus and thank Him for what He did on the cross.

Gilbert concludes this book by encouraging Christians to share the Gospel with others:
"If you are a Christian, realize that you
hold in your hands the only true message
of salvation the world will ever hear.
There will never be another gospel, and there is
no other way for people to be saved from
their sins. If your friends, family, and
coworkers are ever to be saved from their
sins, it will be because someone
speaks the gospel of Jesus Christ
to them." Pg. 120

And finally Gilbert admonishes believers to long for Christ's return "not so much for the kingdom as for the King." Pg 121
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want this in the hands of every church member!, May 14, 2010
By 
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
What is the Gospel? That's a tough question especially for someone to attempt to answer in their first attempt at a book. Greg Gilbert has had some training for sure, however, in his work with Mark Dever, so I was pretty confident that he could do it.

Actually, this is not my first experience with Gilbert answering this question. I have recently read his addendum to Proclaiming a Cross-Centered Gospel where he takes this question on and I've had the privilege to hear Gilbert speak recently on this very topic. In his addendum to the written version of the T4G2006 conference, he addressed the debate as to whether the Gospel was the announcement of the Kingdom or the message of how to enter the Kingdom. In a nutshell, he answered that it is both and that either side by itself is tragically in error. When I heard Gilbert speak, he used to book of Romans to outlines his "four crucial questions."

The questions are brought out early in this book:

1) Who made us and to whom are we accountable
2) What is our problem?
3) What is God's solution to that problem?
4) How do I come to be included in that salvation?

In this book, he does a good job showing how many passages throughout Scripture outline the gospel in the form of answering those questions. He devotes a chapter to each. First he discusses God as the Righteous Creator. With some clever satire, he shows how many Christians have reduced God to a "kind, affable, slightly dazed and needy but very loving grandfather who has wishes but no demands." Gilbert argues that in order to understand salvation, we must understand "that this loving and compassionate God is also holy and righteous, and that his is determined never to overlook, ignore, or tolerate sin."

Next, the book moves to sin. Gilbert explains the severity of sin, far beyond even the consequences of various sins one might commit. Sin is a condition; a rotting of creation, and a righteous God must judge sin.

Having covered the "bad news" Gilbert moves on to the good news: Jesus Christ the Savior. He explains the person and nature of Jesus and the significance of the doctrine of substitutionary atonement.

Next is the response of faith and repentance. Gilbert does a very good job explaining these concepts as two sides of the same coin; that to have faith is to repent. He carefully explains that true salvation will result in fruit, but that the fruit is never the cause of salvation.

Having presented the Gospel, Gilbert then goes on to discuss the Kingdom of God. He explains it in three ways: "that it is the redemptive rule of God over his people," that it has come, and that it will not be complete until Jesus returns. Ultimately he points to the church as the intended display of life of the Kingdom.

This book also contains a plea to keep the cross at the center of the message of the church. He discusses three "substitute" gospels. This is the one area of weakness that I found in this book. Its not really weak, but I would have preferred more concrete examples of where Christians have been tempted to substitute the Gospel.

Finally, Gilbert includes a challenge for his readers. First, to the non-Christian, he asks to repent and believe. To the Christian, he asks to rest and rejoice, fully believing in what Christ has done. Finally, to the church, he exhorts to speak the Gospel to the world.

As a pastor, I wish everyone in my church would read this book. It is a wonderfully simple book and pretty quick to read. However, it very precisely explains the very core of the Christian faith: the Gospel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, Concise, Christ-Centered Gospel, April 12, 2010
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
"What is the gospel?" The answer to this question might seem obvious to some, although they might have a hard time really explaining it clearly. Others, influenced by post-modern thought or new-age spirituality, might define the gospel (if they think it can be defined at all) with vague terms about the Kingdom of God or the redemption of the world that leave the hearer wondering what exactly they are really espousing. There are a plethora of "versions" of the gospel out there, and it's vital that we understand and can explain the true one, because, as Greg Gilbert points out in his new book What Is The Gospel, "An emaciated gospel leads to emaciated worship" (p. 20).

This superb little book is probably the clearest, most concise, yet thorough explanation of the gospel I've seen. Gilbert takes on many of the false versions of the gospel, but he only does so via clear articulation of the biblical truth. After establishing the bible as our authority when it comes to defining the gospel, the chapters simply walk through the biblical narrative:

* God the Righteous Creator
* Man the Sinner
* Jesus Christ the Savior
* Response - Faith and Repentance
* The Kingdom

He also takes on those who would want to diminish Christ's cross and has a final chapter on the power of the gospel and our response to it as believers.

As Gilbert walks through these issues, clearly showing the bible's teaching, he also tackles some of the subtle ways that people have subverted and distorted (intentionally or otherwise) the true gospel. For example, did Christ die to save us from our sins or from the effects of sin? Is sin simply a broken relationship with God or is it "traitorous rebellion" against our King that required Christ's death to fix it? How do we gain access to the "Kingdom of God?" There are subtle differences in how we answer these questions that can have a giant impact on how we view and worship God, and ultimately whether or not we're even Christians. Gilbert tackles the tough questions head on, providing gentle, yet firm corrections where needed.

This book has great potential as an evangelistic tool as one cannot read it and fail to hear the true gospel. For believers, it can serve as a great means to learn how to articulate the truths of the gospel better. It's a simple message, really, but one that we need to make sure we have right. After all, if we don't get the gospel right, everything else is ultimately pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Much Needed Resource for the Church, May 11, 2010
By 
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
What is the gospel? One would expect this question to have a short, simple answer, considering that Christians everywhere devote themselves to proclaiming "the gospel" (the word means "good news"). We proclaim the gospel because Jesus did it (Mark 1:14-15). We proclaim the gospel because Jesus told us to do it (Mark 16:15). We proclaim the gospel because Paul told us it is the power of salvation for all who believe (Romans 1:16). We proclaim the gospel because Peter told us it is the means by which the spiritually dead may live holy lives by the power of the Holy Spirit (1 Peter 4:6). So... what is the gospel?

As Gilbert quickly shows us, the answer to this question may not be as simple as we might expect. He tells us: "Ask any hundred self-professed evangelical Christians what the good news of Jesus is, and you're likely to get about sixty different answers." He then shares just twelve examples (many of which are mutually exclusive) of definitions of "the gospel" taken from various evangelical websites, books, and ministry publications. The fact that these definitions are mutually exclusive means that they can't all be right... which means that at least some (if not many) self-professed evangelical Christians are wrong about the "evangel" -- the gospel.

Because of this fact, a book like this one has been desperately needed. Gilbert moves quickly but clearly through what the Bible tells us about the greatest news anyone could ever hear. To do this, though, he backs up to provide the context for our understanding of the gospel.

He begins by defending the authority of the Bible. Without the Bible, there is no gospel. But the Bible has no authority unless it is entirely and inerrantly true. Thus, we must believe everything the Bible tells us about the gospel, or nothing at all. We can't pick and choose.

Next is the reasoning for God's authority. As our Creator, He has the divine right to make up the rules, and to hold us accountable to them. Again, we don't get to pick and choose what we believe about God. We must believe what the Bible says about Him. So while He is indeed a God of love and mercy (no one has a problem with these attributes) He is also a God of holiness and judgment. Contrary to the teaching of many popular preachers, judgment of sin and sinners is not incompatible with love and mercy. If fact, it is precisely because God loves righteousness that he must judge and condemn sin.

The next step in this systematic examination of the gospel message is the Fall of Man. God created man in a state of righteousness and relationship with Himself, but Adam screwed up. He chose to disobey God's will, condemning the entire human race to lives of sin and separation from God. Furthermore, each and every human who has ever lived -- save One! -- has compounded this guilt by continuously sinning against a holy God. For this, each and every man, woman, and child deserves death and eternal separation from our Creator.

So far, all we've got is bad news...

But praise God! He has offered us a Way to be reconciled in our relationship with Him! He has offered a Way for us to be judged for our sin and found Not Guilty! Knowing what we know about God's holiness and man's sin, the pursuit of this Way and its proclamation to the world ought to be our singular pursuit in this life, should it not?

Gilbert shows us in Scripture why it was necessary for Christ to die for our sins. Why He was the only possible Way for a holy God to overlook our sins and declare us innocent. Why Jesus had to be both fully God and fully man. Why we cannot contribute anything at all to our own salvation. Why His death would have meant nothing for us if He had not risen from the grave and ascended to Heaven. This is the very "heart of the gospel", yet each of these Truths are denied by many professing Christians! To profess the true gospel, however, we must profess the entire gospel. Leaving out any part of it leaves us with only bad news.

Following this description of Christ's work and the redemption it accomplished, Gilbert shows us the Christian's appropriate (and inevitable) response: faith & repentance. These are "two sides of the same coin"; we cannot have one without the other. Our works do not save us, but they are the evidence of the regenerating work of the Holy Spirit. A saved person WILL bear fruit. This fruit is the renunciation and hatred of our sin, and a total commitment to relying on God's power to live as we are called, even in the face of suffering and persecution.

But what benefit is it to the Christian to endure this suffering and persecution? We endure because we look forward to the promise of the kingdom of God and the blessings that come with it. Gilbert shows us that this kingdom is really more of a kingship; it is "God's redemptive rule, reign, and authority over those redeemed by Jesus." This is a kingdom that is both already and not yet here. That is, it is partially fulfilled right now, and we share in some of its blessings in this life. We already have fellowship with the Holy Spirit and the Church. Satan is already bound (but not yet destroyed; Matthew 12:29). We are already adopted into God's family (Romans 8:15). We are already raised and seated on high with Christ Jesus (Ephesians 2:6). But the ultimate fulfillment of the kingdom is yet future. Christ is coming again, and when He does, sin, death, and Satan will be finally destroyed. We will spend eternity in perfect fellowship with God and all the saints (Revelation 22:4-5). There will be no more suffering or sorrow (Revelation 21:4). This is our great hope (Titus 2:13)!

The last two chapters deal with ways in which many professing believers substitute something that is less than the gospel in place of the true gospel. Three examples (though there are more) are (1) "Jesus is Lord" -- the teaching that God is supreme ruler and judge, with no mention of the redeeming work of the cross; (2) "Creation-Fall-Redemption-Consummation" -- the teaching that God created the world "good", that the relationship of man with God is broken, and that God is coming again to repair that relationship and restore the goodness of creation, with the exclusion of how this is accomplished and how man can be included in that restoration; and (3) "Cultural Transformation" -- the teaching that our ultimate purpose is to change the world by following Jesus' example, as opposed to finding our ultimate fulfillment in the transforming work of Christ. The common thread in each of these particular examples is that they are all partially true. Jesus is Lord. The Creation-Fall-Redemption-Consummation narrative is a good outline of the Bible's main story line. We are called to live holy lives as modeled by Jesus Christ, resisting evil and promoting good in our culture. However, when the stumbling block of the cross is removed, we remove the only possible bridge between God and Man.

This is contrasted in the final chapter with a display of the power of the true gospel. The gospel message can, does, and will change the world! It begins in the heart of every believer, causing us to repent of our sins, believe in Christ, rest in the assurance of our salvation, love Christ's people, love the lost, long for the Lord's return, and proclaim the gospel until He does!

As it turns out, the gospel really is quite simple. However, simple does not equal easy. The radical message of redemption requires a cost that we don't want to pay, so we seek ways to make the gospel "comfortable" or "relevant" for our lives and our culture. This is no gospel at all. Thank the Lord for His infinite wisdom and mercy in providing the true gospel, and revealing it in its simplicity in the Scripture! May He anoint each of us with power from the Holy Spirit to live our lives in the shadow of the cross, and to proclaim the gospel to our neighbors and all nations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, March 30, 2010
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
This is a great book.

Praise the Lord who has given Greg grace and wisdom to write this refreshing, encouraging, convicting and nurturing book. Each chapter was worthy of a book on its own, but he made this small book, a big one.

Greg Gilbert accomplished one of the most difficult tasks for a writer to achieve: to write something clear, enjoyable and easy to read.

It is a good book for a gift to both Christians and non-Christians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good introduction to the "edges" of the gospel, January 16, 2011
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
Published last year, Greg Gilbert's book, _What Is The Gospel?_, is a short read (under 100 pages in epub format). As the reader might expect, the author seeks to provide an answer in rather broad strokes to the question posed in the book's title.

But why does a question about the essence of the Christian gospel even need to be raised? Isn't the answer straightforward enough? Well, you'd be surprised. Says D.A. Carson in the foreword to the book:

"More than thirty years of teaching theological students have shown me that the most controverted questions they ask vary from generation to generation--and the same is true of the broader Christian public. At one time you could guarantee a heated debate by throwing out the question, What do you think of the charismatic movement? or Is inerrancy worth defending? or What do you think about seeker-sensitive churches? It is easy enough to find people willing to discuss these questions today, but there is usually little heat left in them and not much more light. Today the question most likely to light a fuse is--as the author of this volume points out--What is the gospel?" (p. 13)

It seems today that even Christians are hazy in their minds as to the essence of the gospel.

To fill this vacuum, Gilbert takes the reader on a brief tour through the Bible and concludes that the core features of the gospel are: God, man, Christ, and response (p. 26). To whom are we accountable? God. How has that been going? Well, man has rebelled against God and now there's a problem of sin and wrath and judgment. What's the solution? Christ. His substitutionary atonement removes the punishment owing to rebel sinners and reconciles them to their Creator. How do sinners come into the solution? Salvation is through repentance and faith. Repentance referring to a turning from sin. Faith referring to a turning to Christ.

Very simply, then, there's a God-man-Christ-response structure (p. 28) to the gospel, argues Gilbert.

Along the way, Gilbert takes a few swipes at presentations of the gospel which, he believes, fall short of including all four core elements of the gospel. For example, those who frame the gospel in terms of deliverance from the purposelessness and emptiness of life confuse the effects of sin with sin itself, contends Gilbert. The latter (sin) being, of course, being more fundamental than the former (sin's effects) (p. 41).

Presentations of the gospel which frame the problem as essentially one of a lover's quarrel where sinners need simply to apologize to God and accept his forgiveness are also woefully inadequate says Gilbert. Such framings of the gospel almost assume an equality of status in the relationship between God and man. According to the Bible, however, the relationship between God and man involves concepts of kingship, covenant, law, judgment, etc. The lover's quarrel, then, is not an adequate framing of the gospel (p. 42).

Overall, a very good introduction to the "edges" of the gospel. This book would be ideal, in my opinion, for younger Christians or non-Christians.

***

I don't want to end on a negative note. So regard this as the appendix that no one ever reads. :)

I have several issues with Gilbert's understanding of the Kingdom of God. For starters, he says that while the Kingdom of God is not of this world, it's not to say that it will "never be of this world." (p. 50) He goes on to imply that when Jesus reigns over the new heavens and the new earth, the Kingdom of God will then of this world.

This is an incorrect reading of John 18.36 in my opinion. When Jesus says that his Kingdom is not of this world, he's referring to its nature and origin, not its extension in time and space. The Kingdom of God will never be of this world in terms of its nature and origin. On the other hand, the Kingdom of God extends even now in time and space.

Another issue I have with Gilbert's understanding of the Kingdom of God is that he prefers to look at it as less of a kingdom and more of a kingship (cf. pp. 66-67). This seems like little more than a distinction without a corresponding difference. And he makes no attempt to clarify. But further, he says the Kingdom of God usually refers to "God's rule over his own people, over those who have been saved through Christ." (p. 67) Yet two pages later he quotes Matthew 13.41-43 where we read of angels weeding people OUT OF the Kingdom who do evil. Well, how did they get into the Kingdom if it's more of a kingship than a kingdom and if it usually has to do with God's people who have been saved?

A third issue has to do with the scope of the Kingdom. While Gilbert doesn't view the Church and Kingdom as coterminous, it's unclear what the Kingdom looks like outside the Church (cf. p. 74).

Granted, this is a small book and not intended to deal extensively with concepts like the Kingdom of God. Still, the sharp reader will feel like he's been left with several loose ends as it relates to the Kingdom of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Treatment of The Most Important Subject, May 6, 2010
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
Gilbert's book has a significance that far exceeds its physical dimensions. I don't say that because Gilbert covers any radically new ground. As a matter of fact one of the strongest aspects of the book is that the author stays so tightly focused on a Biblically-established course. In remarkably concise fashion Gilbert moves from categories familiar to most Christians: What Does the Bible Say to God the Creator to Fall of Man to Jesus the Savior to The Appropriate Response (you can see the Creation > Fall > Redemption categories clearly here, a fact Gilbert acknowledges).

What I find remarkable is that Gilbert can cover fairly well-worn grown in a way that doesn't seem derivative or copy-cat yet still communicate grand truths in a very conversational way. (As I have always admired Mark Dever's ability to do this very thing I was not surprised to read at the end of the book that Gilbert considers Dever his mentor. I'm more than a little jealous, by the way.) I would be very comfortable putting this book in the hand of unbelievers, young Christians, and mature believers - as a matter of fact I plan to do that very thing. Again, the text is very accessible and direct yet covers all the ground that I would hope would be contained in a book bearing the title What is the Gospel?

After walking us through the categories mentioned above Gilbert takes a minute to touch on what it means to live as a Christian (the Kingdom), why it is important to say Cross-centered in our thinking and speaking about the Gospel, and finally a closing word about the power of the Gospel. These elements too are not novel but do present some of the fundamental implications of the gospel in a fresh way.

So who do I recommend this book to? Honestly, anyone who speaks English. I read an unfavorable review on Amazon (note: the only one) that accused Gilbert of taking too long to get to the gospel and assuming a church context that is not readily understandable. I wonder if this reviewer read the same book I did. From beginning to end there is rich, gospel-centered truth that is as accessible (actually, more so) than the local newspaper. Yes, there is a discussion of the church (what do you expect from a 9 Marks book, particularly one about the Gospel) but nothing that is foreign or strange to a reader even remotely familiar with Western culture.

For the Pastor please take a minute to read this. It will remind and confirm and refresh you in the truths of the Gospel, a renewal we all need. Then, pastor, go buy a bunch to give out to your church. The Bible clearly indicates that the gospel isn't the introductory course in discipleship, one to be learned then set aside to go to deeper topics. We need to hear the gospel regularly and repeatedly. We need to think about the gospel and its implications. We need to talk about the gospel with believer and unbeliever alike. This book will contribute to all those things. Furthermore, putting it in the hands of your congregation will not only encourage thought and conversation on the gospel but I dare say that if your membership roll isn't as regenerate as it should be you will see fruit in conversion as well. What I just wrote is entirely applicable to the lay Christian as well. As for me I find myself sometimes the object of curiosity when someone, whether family or new acquaintance, asks about my job as a minister. From now on when someone asks me what it is that I believe as a minister guess which book I'll put in their hands first?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear & Faithful with the Gospel, September 21, 2010
This review is from: What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) (Hardcover)
There are many things I liked about this book. But let me just highlight a few:
1. It is God-Centered. The gospel is anchored in the character of God. You wind up better understanding and loving God for his marvelous grace.

2. Emphasis upon Repentance. The response to the gospel is to repent and believe. Unlike Jesus (Mark 1.15) many fail to emphasize this today.

3. Sanctification. The gospel is not just for unbelievers in this book but rather for believers. Gilbert works hard to remind us that the gospel is the foundation for everything!
4. Simplicity. I gave this book to my 11 year old son as he made a profession of faith. We used it to prepare for baptism. He was able to understand and digest it.

Many people look for a book to go through with an unbeliever or new believer; this one would serve you well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What Is the Gospel? (9Marks)
What Is the Gospel? (9Marks) by D. A. Carson (Hardcover - March 9, 2010)
$12.99 $11.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.