Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ethical vision for a successful future.
There's an unmistakable sense of energy that quickly becomes evident in all well-run companies. We all see it when we interact with them, and, more importantly, we all know when it's missing. "What Happy Companies Know" describes how senior management with strong core values and an honest interest in their employees' welfare build happy companies that retain their best...
Published on June 13, 2006 by James M. Palmer

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All Five stars, come on....
This book sucks! Read Business at the Speed of Thought...at least Bill Gates has a successful business and why would we go to a therapist that deals with stress management for answers to our business problems? Most of his clients are wealthy housewives and movie stars anyway, and we all know how shallow they can be...
Published on July 20, 2007 by S. Kiec


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ethical vision for a successful future., June 13, 2006
By 
James M. Palmer (Bend, Oregon, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Happy Companies Know: How the New Science of Happiness Can Change Your Company for the Better (Hardcover)
There's an unmistakable sense of energy that quickly becomes evident in all well-run companies. We all see it when we interact with them, and, more importantly, we all know when it's missing. "What Happy Companies Know" describes how senior management with strong core values and an honest interest in their employees' welfare build happy companies that retain their best employees. Humble, ethical managers with a sense of vision can build a strong team dynamic in their companies, as employees enthusiastically take ownership of their goals.

This book is well researched and clearly written. It's peppered with interesting real-life drama, as we see how some companies have failed miserably in understanding and implementing these important concepts. Companies of all sizes will be well advised to make sure that all of their managers understand and accept the principles so well explained in this book. It's a recipe for success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Happy Companies Know:, August 23, 2006
By 
Joe Phelps (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Happy Companies Know: How the New Science of Happiness Can Change Your Company for the Better (Hardcover)
There is a new and better way to work nowadays that allows more freedom and flexiblity in people's lives. This newfound freedom

and flexibility is a counterbalance to the faster paced, more complicated lives we live. The success stories in this book shed light on how various companies are investing more trust in their employees -- and their investment is enjoying a great ROI in individual and group productivity.

Joe Phelps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Happy Companies Know, June 8, 2006
This review is from: What Happy Companies Know: How the New Science of Happiness Can Change Your Company for the Better (Hardcover)
"What Happy Companies Know" expands on the idea that organizational happiness is crucial to success. This book gives examples on how to achieve this happiness in your company and how to implement these plans. This book is designed to give company executives and owners ways to have a positive focus and highly motivated approach on the future. The authors demonstrate how high quality values and ethics of businessmen and women can help to unlock the talents and creativity of their employees thus making a company happier and more successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, June 2, 2006
This review is from: What Happy Companies Know: How the New Science of Happiness Can Change Your Company for the Better (Hardcover)
"What Happy Companies Know" book grabbed my attention by the first chapter with a riveting (true) boardroom story made me understand how something like Enron could have happened. Readers will learn not only how to improve companies, but why this is essential and profitable. The authors show how companies who play the game by the rules can actually win. This book is an outstanding roadmap to building a happy company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheerful scientific take on employee contentment, August 31, 2007
This review is from: What Happy Companies Know: How the New Science of Happiness Can Change Your Company for the Better (Hardcover)
The concept of ''happiness'' only recently entered mainstream business thought, although wise executives have long understood the importance of having happy employees. Creating a happier workplace makes everyone's job easier and dramatically increases the bottom line. In this blueprint for corporate health, authors Dan Baker, Cathy Greenberg and Collins Hemingway explain why organizations with empowered and motivated workforces can expect to exceed growth expectations. We strongly recommend this sensible and indispensable guide that's jam-packed with illustrative examples of the best - and worst - business practices in America. Come on - get happy, for fun and profit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All Five stars, come on...., July 20, 2007
This review is from: What Happy Companies Know: How the New Science of Happiness Can Change Your Company for the Better (Hardcover)
This book sucks! Read Business at the Speed of Thought...at least Bill Gates has a successful business and why would we go to a therapist that deals with stress management for answers to our business problems? Most of his clients are wealthy housewives and movie stars anyway, and we all know how shallow they can be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.