Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read
A terrific book by one of the founders of the field of behavioral finance! I have read many of Meir's research articles, and I thought that "What Investors Really Want" (WIRW) would be a presentation for the masses of the ideas and history of behavioral finance. But it is much more. There is a perspective here that transcends the academic research in the area, and...
Published on November 13, 2010 by Sanjiv Das

versus
7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For Amateurs!
If you are already a seasoned investor or have good/basic understanding of investments, this book is not the right one for you, save your money.
Published on December 26, 2010 by AM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read, November 13, 2010
By 
Sanjiv Das (Moraga, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
A terrific book by one of the founders of the field of behavioral finance! I have read many of Meir's research articles, and I thought that "What Investors Really Want" (WIRW) would be a presentation for the masses of the ideas and history of behavioral finance. But it is much more. There is a perspective here that transcends the academic research in the area, and provides a fresh, humorous, and engaging view of how our portfolios are more than just utilitarian objects, but that they have vast expressive and emotional roles in our lives. So this book is not just about investing and behavior, but about how the biases we portray in investing also pervade many other aspects of our lives. We may be better at managing biases in other areas of life, and may be worse at it with our portfolios. Or vice-versa, and Meir's research-driven portrayal of how our portfolios satisfy our many needs is a splendid primer on life! Far from being only a book for the masses, WIRW is thoroughly referenced, and I am sure that PhD students looking for a comprehensive reading on Behavioral Finance will get a deeply informed perspective. I found the bibliography in the book to be the most detailed one for the field---it is an added bonus. Most of all, I could not stop smiling as Meir poked fun at me (and all of us of the homo-miseconomicus tribe) as he explains what we really want as opposed to what we think we want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book and Fantastic Investment, December 31, 2010
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
Prof. Statman's book seamlessly combines investing, finance, behavioral and real life lessons, and the book is both educational and entertaining to read. It reminds us that investing is more than money and we should expect the benefits to be more than financial (utilitarian). It dispels some old illusions such as "we should use reason, not emotions, when we make investment decisions." He indicates that even though emotions complement reason more often than they interfere with it, the interaction between emotions and reason is mostly beneficial.

It is also sobering to know that being a retail trader is like playing tennis against an unknown professional player who holds both superior knowledge and better equipment/techniques.

Prof. Statman's research on the key role of financial advisors is very enlightening. Financial advisors main job is to manage investors financial well-being rather than manage just their investments.

Prof. Statman's research also shows why so many retail and institutional investors share the same cognitive errors that cause them to make poor investment decisions. His research strongly encourages investors to invest in well diversified portfolios and keep emotions at bay by not hanging onto losers due to emotional attachment. He says that wanting to get even (get our money back) has probably caused more destruction on investment portfolios than anything else. Reluctance to realize losses is also great news for managers of terrible mutual funds.

And he tells us about cognitive impairments among older people and the problems associated with such mental decline. This is very important to be aware of and be prepared for regardless of your age.

In summary, this book is multi-dimensional and extremely well researched and well written. Investing your money and your time in this book should pay handsome dividends in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dont invest in stocks before reading this book, November 27, 2010
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
I could not stop until I had finished this book cover to cover.
This is a must read for any newbie planning to invest some hard earned cash into stocks. In fact, I would go so far as to say that a lay person should NOT play in stocks without understanding some of the `behavioral' aspects of investing that the author talks about.
My only regret..why didn't I come across this book in 2007, before the markets tanked!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Heart to the Head, December 4, 2010
By 
Cheree Ray Clark (LAKE CHARLES, LA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
I love Meir's work in the area of Behavioral Finance.
As an advisor of over 25 years, I cringe when I hear the question, "do you have any hot tips about where to put my money?" His title "What Investors Really Want" says it all. It is my job to help them explore what it is they really want, and Meir's book will greatly add to the strong foundation that has already been laid by his teaching.
As Meir shows, there is academic proof that there is a better way, and that it is our emotional investing that gets us in trouble.
As Meir states often, "investors are not rational, they are normal."
For a deeper understanding of the behavior and the science and how they can work together for successful investing, read Meir's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irrational Investors, November 26, 2010
By 
Allan S. Roth "dare_to_be_dull" (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
Meir Statman's book, What Investors Really Want, does a great job of describing what motivates us in investing. Sure we are motivated by financial gain but, because we want more, we act in ways that reduce these gains.

Investors want to feel good and safe to maximize their emotional well being. Our desire for that feel good feeling drives us to buy stocks in up markets, only to panic in down markets and sell in an effort to feel safe. We also feel good thinking we are smarter than the person on the other side of any trade.

Beyond emotional well being, investors want to express their values, tastes and status. Hedge funds, for example, signify that one is a sophisticated investor and member of an exclusive club.

This is truly one of the great books on behavioral finance. If you want to learn more about your behavioral traits, this is a must read. It had me thinking the whole way through, and I could identify in many of the irrational ways I want to react. It was also a very entertaining read and one of the few books I just couldn't put down.

How a Second Grader Beats Wall Street: Golden Rules Any Investor Can Learn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understand and Optimize Your Financial Decision-Making, March 5, 2011
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
Those deconstructing the Great Recession from the standpoint of "how did we get here?" in service of the aim of avoiding a repeat have astutely honed in on the role of flawed decision-making on the part of consumers in at least partially causing the crisis.

From buying too much house, too soon, with too little down and on screwy loan terms, to floating an unaffordable household lifestyle on credit cards, poor decision-making can -- and indeed has -- made and broken our household finances and our national economy.

As with weight loss, I've found that with personal finances, people tend to know what they should be doing, but often find their decisions and actions to be in opposition with these shoulds.

In an effort to both illuminate why people do the financial things they do -- especially the "bad" things -- and help us all make better financial decisions going forward, behavioral economist and finance professor Meir Statman has written "What Investors Really Want: Discover What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions."

In doing so, Statman has crafted an intelligent, nuanced, educational and possibly life-changing book for those who considers themselves a student of personal finance or, well, themselves and why they do the things they do.

These insights are particularly tailored in this book to understanding our behavior in the realm of money matters, but they certainly hold promise for human behavior in the financially tangential areas of our lives, ranging from how we interact with our families to how we care for ourselves (or fail to do so, as the case may be).

The book is organized from very basic premises, each chapter explicating one foundational statement of what investors (for which you could accurately substitute consumers, or human beings, for that matter) want, need, think or feel, in terms of motivations for their financial decisions and behavior.

These chapter subjects/premises are so basic as to seem borderline obvious, but Statman uses each one as a springboard to a detailed, interesting, data-backed, yet not overly academic exploration of each topic.

Each of these chapters masterfully interweaves narrative stories (about everyone from the former owners of the $100 million lost to Nigerian e-mail scams every year, to Bernie Madoff, Leona Helmsley, Bill Gates and Meg Whitman) with the results of scientific studies into the fallacies, feelings and flawed approaches that threaten to foul up even the smartest investors' finances.

Statman reviews our basest human desires with a financial slant. He declares, then documents, that "we want profits higher than risks," which causes us to fall for too-good-to-be-true investments and/or scams.

Our thoughts and emotions also drive our investment decision-making, but because they are often erroneous and misleading, can also drive us down the path to investment perdition. The desire to play and win the game (i.e., by scoring investments that are much more profitable than they are risky) makes us feel alive, but also sets us up for failure.

Statman explains that our hard-earned money is spent less easily than our windfalls, but that we still struggle with finding the self-control that gives rise to the appropriate balance between spending and saving.

Most of us, according to Statman, crave to be rich, to have high status and respect, to live in alignment with our values and to live in a world that is basically fair. We want better lives for our kids, and we seek out "information, protection, and advice from financial advisers, the Internet, the government, and other investors."

On the other hand, we will do almost anything to avoid poverty, losses and taxes. Statman also explores the roles our "personalities, life experiences, and cultures" play in locating us each individually on the spectrum between hope and fear.

This book is delightful. Read it, and you will learn many, many things you didn't know before about how your thoughts, feelings, and basic wants and needs may be waylaying you on your pursuit of prosperity. And you will be entertained the entire way through in a smart-funny, and occasionally ha-ha funny, way.

Once you're done, forever after, you won't be able to think fallacious financial thoughts or make avoidable money mistakes without thinking back to the anecdotes, examples and studies cited by Statman throughout "What Investors Really Want."

If everyone reads this book, we might avoid another decision-precipitated recession. Everyone won't, but you should; that way you can at least optimize the financial decisions that get made in your own household.

(C)Tara-Nicholle Nelson, 2011
First published/syndicated via Inman News
Reprinted with permission
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read for Investors and Advisors!, November 14, 2010
By 
Michael F. Kay (Livingston, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
Meir Statman's brilliant work is like a tornado of knowledge blowing away the smoke of nonsensical investment advice that litters the book shelves with misinformation. I tore through this incredible work with voracious gulps, anxious to recommend it to other advisors and clients. Meir has laid out a crystal clear explanation of "why" we think the way we do and how our penchant for being "normal" gets us into trouble. His book is foundational in its scope of readability and common sense. There is hope for successful results if we question our rationality and examine our thinking and the rules we've managed to carry with us. Do your friends and family a favor-spread the word!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Investors Really Want, January 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
Professor Statman leaves no "Bad Investor Behavior" untouched! A masterful, well footnoted treatise, that is fun to read. And just may make you money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Human View on Investing, January 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
Finally a book that analyzes the stock market as it really is, a group of human beings bidding for a scarce resource. Meir does a great job of pointing this out in his book and helps readers to understand that we are human beings and that we have certain emotions, biases, and mental errors that influence our investment decisions. This is a must read for anyone investing money in the stock market and should be the foundation for anyone getting into investing for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful, December 26, 2010
By 
Abel Cuskelly (Santa Clara, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions (Hardcover)
Very insightful thoughts on understanding how markets move and the emotions behind those movements. Well written and I would recommend to any serious investor. I bought extra copies to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What Investors Really Want: Know What Drives Investor Behavior and Make Smarter Financial Decisions
$30.00 $21.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.