Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Room for Katy...
...on your bookshelf! WHAT KATY DID is the lively story of Katherine Carr, the eldest of six children-the others are Clover, Elsie, Dorry (a boy), Johnnie (Joanna, a girl), and Phil. Her father, Dr. Carr, doesn't mind Katy being lively and adventurous, but she is also heedless, untidy, and sometimes unkind to her siblings and doesn't care about the work she causes her...
Published on May 12, 2005 by L. M Young

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What Katy Did Next (EasyRead Edition)
Rubbish!!

This was one of my favourite books when I was younger. This edition was a profound disappointment. There were typos on virtually every page and - it's acknowledged in the text - several pages were missing!

I will think twice about buying books from Amazon, and particular in EasyRead format, again.
Published on January 9, 2007 by Susan Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Room for Katy..., May 12, 2005
By 
L. M Young (Marietta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Katy Did (Hardcover)
...on your bookshelf! WHAT KATY DID is the lively story of Katherine Carr, the eldest of six children-the others are Clover, Elsie, Dorry (a boy), Johnnie (Joanna, a girl), and Phil. Her father, Dr. Carr, doesn't mind Katy being lively and adventurous, but she is also heedless, untidy, and sometimes unkind to her siblings and doesn't care about the work she causes her Aunt Izzie, who cares for the motherless brood. Katy's days are full of "scrapes" like playing "the game of the Rivers" at school and the hide-and-seek game in the dark, Kikeri, until she is involved in a terrible accident. From there she must learn to rebuild her life; she is helped by Cousin Helen, who has not let the paralysis of her legs affect her mind or her heart. While it is true that Katy is "tamed" by her accident, she eventually still remains the innovative, fun-loving girl she was before. The chapter about Katy's Christmas and Valentine's Day plans, especially the latter, make you wish we celebrated the holidays the way they did 100 years ago!

This is a great book-for a long time I liked it much better than LITTLE WOMEN-because Katy is even more lively and ingenious than Jo March. The sequels are also good, especially the first.

There are four sequels to KATY, only two of which are in print, sadly. WHAT KATY DID AT SCHOOL follows Katy's and Clover's adventures at Hillsover, a boarding school in the East. Here they meet one of the KATY books most memorable characters, the mischievous "Rose Red" who makes their year's stay lively, to say the least. The girls play wonderful games in their spare time, including something called "Word and Question" that sounds like great fun, and Katy even "tames" Miss Jane, the humorless hall monitor, and lives down an accusation. Here we meet the Carrs' cousins the Pages, Olivia and her husband and children, the selfish Lilly, who's at school with the girls, and Clarence, a teasing boy who takes a shine to Clover.

In WHAT KATY DID NEXT, Katy accompanies her neighbor Mrs. Ashe and her daughter Amy on "the Grand Tour" of Europe. This is a wonderful portrait of how people traveled to England, France, Italy, and other European countries 100 years ago. It also paints a not-so-pleasant picture of a time when many diseases were rife, and of all the troubles Katy has when Amy comes down with "Roman fever" (typhoid, I believe). But is also there Katy meets Ned Worthington, Mrs. Ashe's brother, and discovers something new to do next!

The out-of-print sequels-please, someone republish!--follow the adventures of Clover and the rest of the family. In CLOVER, she and Phil, who has been sick and has been prescribed "good mountain air" as the best cure, move to a little town high in the Colorado Rockies, where they discover new friends and some old ones-to the person who wondered what happened to Clarence, he is coincidentally living nearby on a ranch with his British partner Geoffrey. It is there Clover realizes Clarence would like their old friendship to be something more.

IN THE HIGH VALLEY is the fifth and last title in the sequence. In this story, Geoffrey's brother Lionel and sister Imogen come to live at the ranch with him. Imogen is prepared to hate the West but gradually warms to the Colorado countryside and grows to love the Carr family, perhaps one more than the other. Note: in this book we finally find out what "Dorry" stands for: Theodore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely - just what books in this genre should be, August 21, 1998
By A Customer
The Carrs have always been my family friends, so to speak... I recently re-read this book, having loved it as a pre-teen, and I found out that it was still able to make me laugh and cry. The plot follows the growth of young Katy, focusing on her unfortunate accident and the consequences it has on her and her family.
Naturally, a part of my strongly positive reaction was nostalgia, but nevertheless this is a beautifully written story, both moving and humorous, full of imaginative magic and the cosy warmth of a loving home at the same time. The characters are lovable and memorable - is there a girl who couldn't identify herself with the clumsy, unfortunate Katy or admire the saint-like, yet fully human cousin Helen?
At the risk of sounding like a walking cliche, I must say that they just don't write books like this any longer: clean, wholesome and still totally satisfying and entertaining. But even if the whole world ran after the latest shock values, I would always be coming back to books like these - books for a girl who loves to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A childhood staple, November 22, 2001
By 
"cayjess" (Grand Cayman BWI) - See all my reviews
I can remember my mother reading this book aloud to me as a child; one chapter a night. It didn't take long for me to decide that I couldn't wait for her to get to the next installment. I credit this book (one of many) that led to my lifelong, love affair with reading. It's among the top five books I'm collecting now to read aloud to my own daughter. She may only be 2 months old; but, it's never too early to introduce little girls to Katy and family. This book will never go out of style...life lessons are always in vogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At first, I thought it was boring, but it was really FUN!, November 9, 2001
By 
This review is from: What Katy Did (Hardcover)
This story is about a completely UNladylike, and very unresponsible girl named Katy. She has 6 brother and sisters and they have fun together except that Katy is sometimes very bossy.. One day, she goes on a swing even when her Aunt Izzie (Katy's mother is dead so her Aunt Izzie is taking care of her family with Katy's father) tells her not to. Katy falls and gets a very serious sprain on her back so that she cannot get up for about 2 to 3 years.
Katy is very upset about this and she becomes grumpy and selfish but when her Cousin Helen (who is also very sick in like Katy but is pretty and is 'perfect' as Katy and her brothers and sisters say) comes and tells her that she cannot go on being like this, thinking only for herrself because she is hurt and that feeling self-piteous shows that she is not caring for others. Cousin Helen makes Katy into a new person after this conversation and Katy becomes pretty, ladylike, helpful, happy,very responsible, and patient. But one day, Aunt Izzie dies from a sudden fever and Katy almost goes back to her former being but remembers Cousin Helen's teaching and asks if she can become a housekeeper for Aunt Izzie. Her father is rather doubtful that she can do such a thing, but is very happy and proud when he sees that Katy has the patience and kindness to do it. From then on, Katy becomes the housekeeper.
After 2 or 3 years of pain and suffering is over, Katy suddenly feel as if she can walk. She jumps up but can only stand. She starts getting excited and every day, she tried standing without grabbing hold of her chair. Finally, after many long practices, she is able to walk all around the room. After some time after the triumph of being able to walk around the room, she thinks about gettting out of the room and go downstairs. She tells her family about this and when the day comes, her family prepares a suprise: Cousin Helen! Katy is delighted and becomes completely well after a few weeks.
This story is very fun to read. I especially liked the way Katy changes into a new woman. At first, as I said in the title, I thought this book was very boring, but it turned out to be very fun! I am now reading "What Katy Did at School" which is the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Katy Did., October 23, 2005
By 
Ozgal "aussiejan" (Greenville.SC. USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Katy Did (Hardcover)
I absolutely loved this book when I was a young girl in Australia. The story of how Katy changed from a selfish girl into a caring young woman under the influence of cousin Helen, and her trying circumstances, made me want to be more like Helen also. I would recommend this to all lovers of classic stories and times gone by.My 15 year old enjoyed it recently also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!, June 8, 2001
A Kid's Review
This book is the best in the WORLD! "What Katy Did" is a highly recommend book (according to me). The book is mainly about a girl named Katy. She finds out that her never seen before cousin, Helen, is coming. She gets in a terrible accident. You figure out what happens before, in between, and after those parts. This book draws you into it right away, I didn't want to put the book down. I think that this is a book for people with a caring heart. Especially girls, although boys may like it too.
If you don't read this book that's okay, but you don't know what your missing out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tomboy Katy Becomes a Lady!, February 3, 2001
By 
"kaia_espina" (Quezon City, Philippines) - See all my reviews
Those who remember Katy as a tomboy who always tore her frock and ran holes in her hose will be pleasantly surprised when they see how she turned out. Yes, she did mature greatly at the end of the first book, "What Katy Did", but the second book shows her as such a ladylike young woman that it will seem like she never ran around wildly as a child.
Katy and Clover go to boarding school where they make friends and have all sorts of adventures that only boarding school girls can have. (It is an episodic novel.) There are lots of funny stories about how school rules get broken and what it's like to live on the same floor as a strict teacher. A whole chapter is devoted to a wonderful game called "WORD AND QUESTION". It is my favorite chapter of the book, since it is full of funny poems and funny situations. (Word and Question is also one of my favorite games to play.) Another chapter is all about the S.S.U.C., a club of which Katy is president. The acrostic unbelievably stands for "Society for Suppression of Unladylike Conduct"--for Katy, Clover and all the members are determined to be as ladylike and proper as possible.
Some people despair that Katy, who was such a wonderful tomboy, finally lost herself. They say that the book influences little girls who are like Katy to be someone they are not. Personally, I think that "What Katy Did at School" is not about a girl being something she is not. In fact, Katy is extremely self-possessed. I believe that the books "What Katy Did" and "What Katy Did in School", when taken together, teach little girls that it is okay to be wild and free--but it is also okay to be ladylike. Anyone who says that Katy stopped having fun in this book has never read it, was never really a girl, or just has a personal bias against boarding schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, Old Fashioned Book, July 12, 2006
By 
Twelve year old Katy Carr and her five brothers and sisters have all kinds of fun adventures. A thicket becomes "Paradise", a hayloft a place for a "feast", and the entire house a playground for games invented by Katy. Katy means well, but is impulsive and irresponsible and is constantly getting into scrapes and trouble. After the Carr's Cousin Helen visits, Katy vows to be more like Cousin Helen, who is saint-like despite the fact that she had a bad accident and hasn't been able to walk for years. Unfortunately, Katy gets into the worst scrape of her life the very next day - disobeying her Aunt Izzie, she herself has a terrible accident. It will take Katy a long time to recover and in the course of her recovery she grows into a beautiful, responsible young woman.

I loved reading "What Katy Did" as a child and it's still fun to read as an adult. Written in the 1870's, it is definitely old-fashioned, but it makes me yearn for the days when life was so much simpler. Susan Coolidge writes as if she is sitting opposite the reader, verbally telling the story and uses words that children might use such as "honestest" which makes the book a pleasant read. Coolidge also includes humor that children won't get, but adults will, such as when Katy gives Aunt Izzie $7.25 and a long list of Christmas presents to buy with that small amount of money. Katy is a very realistic heroine; yes, she gets into mischief, but what child doesn't, and she means well. The rest of the children are equally engaging, for me Elsie stands out. Cousin Helen is indeed saintly, almost unbelievable in her goodness, but Coolidge makes her believable also.

"What Katy Did" is a nice, old-fashioned read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What Katy Did Next (EasyRead Edition), January 9, 2007
This review is from: What Katy Did Next (Paperback)
Rubbish!!

This was one of my favourite books when I was younger. This edition was a profound disappointment. There were typos on virtually every page and - it's acknowledged in the text - several pages were missing!

I will think twice about buying books from Amazon, and particular in EasyRead format, again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is Very...Good, August 1, 2002
By 
I really liked "What Katy Did Next." I am a big fan of all of the Katy books, and, although this book is not quite as good as the others in the trio, it is still wholesome, descriptive, and, well--it has a touch of romance mixed in.
In "What Katy Did Next," Katy is invited to go to Europe for a year with her friends Mrs. Ashe and Amy. Katy promptly decides to go, packs her bags, and departs on a vessel bound for England. She stays in Europe for six months, sees the places she has dreamed about, and, as aforesaid, has a romantic scene just at the end.
This is a sweet and satisfying read, especially for girls 10-14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What Katy Did
What Katy Did by Susan Coolidge
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.