Customer Reviews


569 Reviews
5 star:
 (252)
4 star:
 (138)
3 star:
 (81)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classics
With added illustrations, this book bring's Aesop's fables to life. A great read for a classroom teacher! I love sharing these stories with my students!
Published on November 23, 2011 by teacherlady

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete, poorly formatted
The download does not contain the entire book. Formatting does not come out right on the Kindle Fire. I realize many of the these ebooks are very inexpensive or free, but if the creators are not going to put in the effort to do something right, they shouldn't even publish it at all. It's just a waste of everyone's time.
Published 19 months ago by J. Stokes


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classics, November 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
With added illustrations, this book bring's Aesop's fables to life. A great read for a classroom teacher! I love sharing these stories with my students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved as a child and Now, March 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
I found this for free for my kindle, I has these stories when I was young and loved them. And they were just as great today for my 2 and 4 yr old sons. These are like Aesops fables where the fox is in each story and learns a lesson in each short story. The crow and the cheese, the fox and the grapes etc... there were even some new ones I had not read before. They held my sons attention while waiting for his Dr appt, and even made him laugh out loud. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete, poorly formatted, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
The download does not contain the entire book. Formatting does not come out right on the Kindle Fire. I realize many of the these ebooks are very inexpensive or free, but if the creators are not going to put in the effort to do something right, they shouldn't even publish it at all. It's just a waste of everyone's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aesops for everyone!, December 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
Aesops Fables are absolutely meant for children and I would be horrified to find out that someone would dumb them down. The morals are excellent and are worth the time to explain to a young child. We start teaching Aesops to our children at the ripe old age of 6 and they have understood them when they were done. Completely worth the time spent reading and explaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, April 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
These stories are for older children; younger children will not understand the morals. These stories were also not very entertaining and my child was left wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
Informative...I read it with my 8 year old, and my 4 year old, easy to understand, we like it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for young kids, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
The simple stories made good points as these fables often do, but the phrasing is awkward and the ending of the final story is much more graphic than the other lighthearted tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars waste of time, August 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
The audience here is extremely narrow: an older kid who can understand the advanced vocabulary, is mature enough not to freak out at the tragedies/deceit, and who will be satisfied with 1-page stories with character development you might find in books written for four-year olds. Free but feels like an incomplete first draft. My four-year-old was non-plussed, even when I changed all the vocabulary on the fly to words he would understand, and added explanations of the general morals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four important stories that teach children how to grow well, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
This free kindle book contains four important Aesop fables that children should know because they teach children how to behave and how to be successful. The stories are decorated with pictures. One tale teaches children to avoid flattery, a behavior children frequently adopt because it makes them feel good. Another warns them not to trust someone who is looking out for their own interest. The third shows them the psychological truth that people despise what they cannot get - an attitude they should not develop because they should learn to persevere. The fourth teaches the lesson of quality being more important than quantity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so fun fox sends this book to a rating of... Four Lessons Learnt!!, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four Fables from Aesop) (Kindle Edition)
What the Fox Learnt is a good example of modern day fables.

In each of the four short story's the fox is confronted by a situation he attempts to over come using one of his many tricks. Taking advantage of, and dispensing advice to, otherwise trusting animals.

Following cute pictures of the different animals will be fun for the kids and should keep their attention through each of the short story's. The lessons may be a bit complicated for young readers to understand but are the kind that leave a lasting impression to be thought of later on.

What the Fox Learnt is brought about by Four Fables from Aesop with illustrations from Ripple Digital Publishing Corp.

Not so fun fox sends this book to a rating of... Four Lessons Learnt!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.