Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: What So Proudly We Hailed: Francis Scott Key, A Life
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
5 star
83%
4 star
17%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$20.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 17, 2015
This book gives the history of FSK including some lineage, which I was looking for. Checked one out from the library but wanted one for my own library. Recommend this book for accurate and up to date information.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
Marc Leepson buries a gold nugget in this highly evolved biography of Francis Scott Key. He opens chambers long sealed and invites us to peruse the early years of America's 19th Century. Within these chapters we experience the dissonance of mind that allowed the highest human ideals of the Revolution to be partnered with slavery of African peoples: the necessary machinery of America's empire building period.

The youthful Key's soaring anthem takes root in in soil tended by people who are wholly owned; soil recently vacated of native peoples by presidential decree; soil that is rapidly giving its wealth to homesteads and businessmen.

In his maturity, the golden moment of truth, that we could change direction towards our ideal of human dignity is sacrificed in the turmoil that Key assails as a lawyer. He personally supports colonization of freed Northern slaves back to Africa while also battling abolitionists who seek to free all slaves.

His contention: That society, once freed of its patronizing ownership of slave labor, will be writhing with the misery of ignorant, dispossessed and angry people.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
This biography is quite revelatory and should be read by everyone who sings the National Anthem. According to this biography the author of the anthem knew nothing about music and never wrote a song, yet the melody and words mesh perfectly and it was published almost immediately in Baltimore. A mystery.

The book reveals that Francis Scott Key was raised in a slave household and he bought, sold, and owned slaves his entire life. At death he didn't free them but bequeathed them to his wife and she didn't free them either. She was raised on her family's huge Wye Plantation in Maryland where Frederick Douglass was born into slavery.

As a lawyer Key fought to return slaves to their masters. As a Washington prosecutor and member of Andrew Jackson's inner circle he tried to have a black man executed for threatening a white woman. The woman did not want the man executed and President Jackson stopped it at the last moment. Key also prosecuted a white abolitionist for distributing abolitionist literature. He hated the abolitionists and they obviously disliked him. He was a lifelong colonizationist and one of the founders and enthusiastic promoters of that movement, which means he wanted freed slaves deported to Africa. Author Leepson notes that American blacks colonized to Africa slaughtered the natives, who weren't enamored about losing their land. Key feared the mixing of the races. He believed blacks were inferior to whites.

Key began his law practice under the tutelage of his uncle who fought on the side of the British during the American Revolution, was branded a traitor, but eventually returned to the U. S. and became a leading Washington attorney and politician. Though Key embraced his traitorous uncle, in one verse of "The Star Spangled Banner" he excoriates blacks who fought on the side of the British in the Revolution in return for a promise of freedom.

Key believed the War of 1812 was an immoral war, the purpose of which was to annex Canada to the United States. The author notes that the United States initiated the war's violence by attacking York (now Toronto) and Montreal. The British retaliated by burning the government buildings in Washington. American history texts taught that the war was caused by British impressment of American sailors. This book reveals that Baltimore Clipper ships sank or captured over 500 British commercial vessels and that the British so hated Baltimore that they planned to burn the entire city, not just government buildings. Impressment of sailors it seems was retaliation for the Baltimore Clipper ships' damage.

Key did a lot of good in his life. He was a complex individual as are all individuals and all countries. My review singles out the negative and filters out the good just as my school history texts did in reverse. Leepson's biography presents a balanced account of a fascinating life.

The book unfortunately does not mention that all of Key's descendants fought for the Confederacy and that the New England states were in the process of seceding from the Union unless Madison ended the War because they were being economically damaged by the loss of trade with England. Read the book and remember all of this the next time you sing Francis Scott Key's anthem. I've read the book three times on my Kindle and loved it. I am a native Baltimorean but now prefer "America the Beautiful" for our anthem. The Monster Lincoln: The Lies My Schools Taught Me
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
Leepson has written another brilliant book bringing alive history with his research and his clear prose style and his talent for telling a story, You learn everything you ever wanted to know about Frank Key and his song. There will be no need for another book on this subject as this is the one that will stand the test of time. This is the book I wish I had had available to me during the thirty years I was a reference librarian, to answer the million questions I got about what the story of America's national anthem was. Now we know. Thanks to Mr. Leepson.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
Marc Leepson’s new book, What So Proudly We Hailed, is the first full-length biography of Francis Scott Key (1779-1843) to be written in over seventy years. Key’s claim to fame is that he wrote the national anthem of the United States, “The Star-Spangled Banner” – a fact taught early in American elementary schools and embedded for a lifetime in the minds of the citizenry. Beyond that detail, knowledge of Key’s life, times, and works is not widespread among the population. Mr. Leepson’s new biography – whose title comes from the second line of the anthem – is a serious attempt to remedy that deficiency.

Leepson’s extremely well-researched book chronicles a man born during the American Revolution, who grew to manhood in the early decades of his independent country, contributed to the public life of the new republic, and died almost two decades before the American Civil War began. What is particularly interesting about the book is the author’s feeling – his attitude towards his subject – which comes across as quite a conflicted one.

Leepson clearly admires Key as a patriot and, all things considered, a decent, respectable human being. On the other hand, Leepson is definitely appalled that Key was a slave-owner. In many ways, the biography is less an account of Key’s life and more a detailed description of the slave-owning milieu of early 19th century America, particularly the intellectual milieu of a sincere, conscientious Christian such as Francis Scott Key. Leepson is particularly good at describing the American colonization movement, the repatriation of slaves to Africa, in which Key was a leading member.

Leepson works hard to maintain an objective, non-judgmental approach, trying – and generally succeeding – in simply looking at the facts and describing things as they were. It is impossible, however, not to notice an underlying skepticism, a sense that Key was a rationalizing hypocrite. Leepson mentions early on that Key’s brother-in-law was Roger B. Taney and he talks about “guilt by association”.

Taney – whose statue still stands outside the statehouse in Annapolis, Maryland – a statue that many believe should be forcibly removed from its place of honor and exhibited only in a museum – was the Chief Justice of the United States who wrote what Leepson calls “the infamous majority opinion in the 1857 Dred Scott case”. Key’s biographer is too kind in simply calling the decision “infamous” and not elaborating on that epithet. It is hard to tell what his subject is guilty of “by association” without consulting other reference material or drawing upon the failing memories of a high school course in U.S. history taken many years ago. An additional sentence or two that described the Dred Scott decision would have made it clear that Taney was a dyed-in-the-wool racist, and, by association, Key was one too.

Reading What So Proudly We Hailed, one would never know that Key’s brother-in-law, some fourteen years after Key’s death, would declare that blacks, free or slave, were not and could not be citizens of the United States; that the 1820 Missouri Compromise was unconstitutional and thus slavery was permitted in all U.S. territories; that the framers of the Constitution believed that blacks had no rights that the white man was bound to respect; that the Declaration of Independence words that “all men are created equal” did not apply to the enslaved African race. One would never know that the author of the words “the land of the free and the home of the brave” was a close relative and friend of a man who was an immediate catalyst for the deaths of 750,000 Americans in the Civil War.

Leepson accurately describes both Key’s opposition to the abolitionist movement as well as his opposition to slave trafficking, and he records his many actions as a lawyer in defending black plaintiffs without charge. The biographer cannot quite bring himself to say that Key was a racist. The overall impression left by the book is that Key was a man of his time who was in some degree of intellectual struggle between the reality of slavery and the Christian religion to which he devoutly adhered. Key certainly did not have the clear-headed racism of his brother-in-law Taney. Leepson makes the case – though he does not use the words – that Key was a mitigated racist. It is damnation by faint praise. The reader comes away less than satisfied that Key was a totally worthwhile human being.

As he stood on a boat in Baltimore Harbor and watched the defense of Fort McHenry, Francis Scott Key was moved to admire the emblem of his nation, enduring the battle, undefeated. Several years ago, Leepson wrote Flag, a biography of that emblem. He has written a number of excellent books about the history of the country over which the emblem still waves: Saving Monticello, Desperate Engagement, Lafayette. It is very clear that he so proudly hails his country and his flag. It is also clear that he does not so proudly hail Francis Scott Key. Leepson has done the very hard work of digging out the facts and done a fine job of portraying his subject, warts and all – and there are plenty of warts.

It is a book very well worth reading for an insight into the early years of the American nation, particularly the many peculiarities of thought about the peculiar institution, American slavery. Even more admirable is the author’s dedication to telling the life story of an interesting individual of the time as fully as possible, always fair and reasonable, yet always remaining aware of America’s original sin whose ill effects linger, even as his fingers go across the keyboard, completing the biography.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2015
I think a good label for this would be that it is a "workmanlike" biography. It provides the basics in an informative way that can appeal to both the general reader and those with special concern regarding the subject matter. It is a good straightforward biography of Francis Scott Key, best known for penning what later became the national anthem (though few know past the first stanza; no great loss), but has some other pretty interesting stories. A some bit dull at times, it is to praised for its workmanlike effort, including touching upon some of his less praiseworthy times such as hounding a botanist with abolitionist leanings.

Quick reading but still nutritious. I am a bit torn in such cases since it is basically a 3.5 star affair but I'll round up in part since I asked the author a question (check out his website) and he helpfully responded!

http://www.marcleepson.com/
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
Excellent book. We grow up knowing one or two great things a person did in their lifetime and really nothing else about them. This book made me feel as though I really know the man better and his thoughts and feelings the night he wrote the Star Spangled Banner. Good history lesson.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2014
A smooth and engaging read all the way through. Mr. Leepson does a masterful job of blending personal detail and
historical context. By showing yet again, as in his study of Lafayette, that an author can convey a great deal of compelling information without producing a doorstop, he has become one of our best biographers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
What a wonderful informative book that gave me details that I had never heard of. Once in awhile I read a book that's worthy of purchase to keep for my grandchildren and this is certainly ONE! It along with the book about Monticello will be a permanent fixture here! Thanks Marc!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2014
Marc Leepson has written a very interesting biography of the man who wrote "The Star Spangled Banner." In Marc's book we learn that although the song became popular during Key's lifetime he only referred to it once in public during his life. And that life was about much more than writing what became the National Anthem. Like so many in the south at the time, Key was a slave holder, but as a lawyer, he also defended slaves in court. And he was a confidant of President Andrew Jackson, serving in his so-called Kitchern Cabinet. Definitely worth a read if you are interested in the history of the early republic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse