Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


What is Life? Songs, Arias and Sacred Pieces [Original recording remastered]

Kathleen Ferrier , Georg Frederic Handel , Giovanni Battista Pergolesi , Johann Sebastian Bach , Christoph Willibald Gluck , Felix Mendelssohn , Benjamin Britten Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Composer: Georg Frederic Handel, Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, Johann Sebastian Bach, Christoph Willibald Gluck, Felix Mendelssohn, et al.
  • Audio CD (August 29, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: Memoir Classics
  • ASIN: B0000044SD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #812,900 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Come Ye Sons Of Art: Sound The Trumpet
2. The Indian Queen: Let Us Wander
3. King Arthur: Shepherd, Leave Decoying
4. Ottone: Spring Is Coming
5. Ottone: Come To Me Soothng Sleep
6. Rodelinda: Art Thou Troubled?
7. Stabat Mater: Sancta Mater
8. Stabat Mater: Fac Ut Portem
9. St. Matthew Passion: Have Mercy, Lord, On Me
10. Greene: O Praise The Lord
11. Greene: I Will Lay Me Down In Peace
12. Orfeo Ed. Euridice: What Is Life? (Che Faro)
13. I Would That My Love, Op.63 No.1
14. Greeting, Op.63 No.3
15. Elijah: Woe Unto Them
16. Elijah: O Rest In The Lord
17. The Rape Of Lucretia: Hush, She Comes
18. The Rape Of Lucretia: Lucretia! Lucretia! O Never Again Must We Two Dare To Part

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unsurpassable exemplar July 27, 2000
It was many years ago that I first heard Kathleen Ferrier. I was staying with a friend not far from where she used to live. I can recall, because it remains very vivid in my mind, the evening when we were sitting before a window and peering out onto a Winter orchard, sparsely lit by a few gas lamps and an ancient flicker from places far away. My friend asked me to listen to what he described as, "A woman's voice," which would, he said, "Hold on to my heart-strings and then glide with me upon the promontory before emotional oblivion." Further, "That her very breathing was worth infinitely more than the singing careers of most divas." Well, I listened to Kathleen Ferrier sing JS. Bach, and my very first thought was that she was singing about herself that which could only have been written for her and I really did listen while holding back a tugging response and an entrancement which I hadn't ever felt before. In my opinion, all of her repertoire carries with it and makes in the listener this same extremity of feeling but like that ancient flicker which was apparent that evening upon the trees, there comes something else, I could call it a haunting, 'supernatural' vigor, but I won't, rather, I shall let the words of Handel's Rodelinda, (which appears on this CD), do it for me; "Art thou troubled?...Music will calm thee...Art thou weary?...Rest, child divine...Rest, child divine." I bear a consideration in my mind too, that for my having heard Kathleen Ferrier, I can't bear listening to anyone else sing the same as did she, because my friend was absolutely correct, that, save for Maria Callas, there might be 'other voices,' but that is all they are. 'Have Mercy Lord On Me,' from JS. Bach's St. Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category