Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early 2006 Highlight
*absolutepunk.net*

Whether or not you're a card-carrying member of the Saddle Creek fan club, you have to concede their knack for putting out records that stand apart from every Tuesday's heap of jewel cased, 12-song, compact discs. The latest grassroots indie exhibitionists to join the glorified Saddle ranks are Adam Stephens and Tyson Vogel of Two Gallants,...
Published on April 15, 2006 by Garett Press

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In the style of My Morning Jacket
If you like My Morning Jacket, you'll love Two Gallants. This CD is well-done, it's just not my style of music.
Published on April 22, 2006 by greyhound1954


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early 2006 Highlight, April 15, 2006
This review is from: What the Toll Tells (Audio CD)
*absolutepunk.net*

Whether or not you're a card-carrying member of the Saddle Creek fan club, you have to concede their knack for putting out records that stand apart from every Tuesday's heap of jewel cased, 12-song, compact discs. The latest grassroots indie exhibitionists to join the glorified Saddle ranks are Adam Stephens and Tyson Vogel of Two Gallants, wielding only their guitars, their drums, a harmonica, and well... their throats.

With the basic elements intact, the Gallants perambulate a spectrum of punk-country that could only spawn from the mating of a harmonica and Stephens' harsh rasping (you can practically hear the poor guy's throat tearing up). Sometimes gushing with sweet and other times burning sour, Two Gallants attempt the Decemberean task of telling old-time tales but with a half cup less romance and a quart more grit. In the place of The Decemberists' quixotic swashbucklers we find the type of desperate, weathered figures who report from a run-down prison, resent their lazy white slave-master, or make statements like "You might have seen me 'neath the pool hall lights/Well baby I go back each night/If you got a throat I got a knife/Steady rollin', I keep goin'."

When band becomes bard we know to expect long-winded and often lengthy tracks. This is no exception, with three songs spanning the 9 minute mark, and those in between at least edging 5. However, there are only nine songs in sum, keeping the record just under one hour. "Las Cruces Jail" welcomes you into this jagged little world where you can virtually envision the tumbleweeds rollin' by and feel the rattlesnakes slithering past your ankles. Offering a sampler of both sugar and spice, track one offers a good approximation of where this record attempts to take you. The bouncing verses sound akin to older folk in the realm of Johnny Cash, and when they slow down - well... you choose the alt-country comparison. On those aforementioned long-runners a single picking pattern dominates most of the song, which is soothing and easy on the ears but runs the risk of redundancy at some point or another. However, those songs do a good job of augmenting in weight and potency as they play out, eventually reaching an electifying paramount ... so if you've got the time, it should be more of a listening pleasure than a chore. Plus, production is in a word: ideal... a perfect merge of raw and polish.

Other publications have come down pretty hard on the lyrics, which contain allusions and direct dialogue concerning racial prejudice and such. While the need for the "n" word in any rock song is certainly questionable, Two Gallants ramble through the record pretty elegantly and there is a rather clear notion of where historical foundation ends and mere storytelling begins. It's simply an attempt to paint a picture of another time and place and For Whom the Toll Tells succeeds in doing just that. Perhaps not a showstopper - yet - Two Gallants are an early alternative highlight for the year, and hey... how many other punk/country duos can you name?

-AbsolutePunk.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usually I don't bother with the review thing..., July 2, 2006
By 
JD (chicago, il) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What the Toll Tells (Audio CD)
Where to start? Gritty and rough for sure. Sounds like it could be the soundtrack for a Steinbeck novel the story telling in the songs is that vivid. I too was a little suprised at the use of the "N" word but who uses it and how it is used is much much more important (not that this is the difinitive forum for such a topic).

More than anything the tight/sloppy playing speaks to me and pretty much defines the vast majority of the music I listen to (Eno, Big Star, Mats, etc). If you took Mark Arm from Mudhoney and put him in front of No Depression Uncle Tupelo then you would have Two Gallants.

As for the 4 star rating lets be realistic everyone thinks the cd's they buy are five stars or they wouldn't buy them and 5 stars is overused on amazon anyway. This is a fine effort and certainly worth owning but it falls into the "nice to have" vs "essential" category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Album Is An Instant Classic, April 17, 2006
This review is from: What the Toll Tells (Audio CD)
Without sounding too cliche, or too much like a band trying too hard Two Gallants have created an album and sound quite their own. This album I can not stop listening too. The lyrics are intense, the vocals unreal, and the music so well done it seems as if they are musical geniuses. Do yourself a favor and buy this album now. This has to be one of the most original and intense albums I have ever heard. And I am a huge music snob. I'll say it again - buy this album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow-up Album, March 12, 2006
This review is from: What the Toll Tells (Audio CD)
If you have the first Two Gallants cd, this is an obvious buy. If not, you can pick up The Throes or this and not go wrong either way. Great mix of folk and indie rock. If you still like MTV then this music is probably out of your league, but for people that have developed their music taste and are looking for something new, pick this up, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's O.K. I'll say it. This album is delicious., April 3, 2006
By 
This review is from: What the Toll Tells (Audio CD)
Wow dude. What an awesome release. I don't even know where to begin. My buddy Ryan was all like,"dude, check out this band they're called Two Gallants." And I'm all thinking he said Two Gallons so of course I'm all stupid going all over the internet not findin peanuts. But anyway yeah this is great. They've obviously got quite a variety of influences so they please a pretty diverse crowd. A personal favorite of mine is Waves of Grain. That song gets me so chill. Yeah, so pick it up. Great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, April 6, 2006
This review is from: What the Toll Tells (Audio CD)
Wow. I walked into the record shop and this music was playing. It set a mournful, tragic, dramatic mood over everybody inside and i was caught too inescapably to do anything but buy the CD. I am glad i'm not feeling too suicidal while listening to them, because the Two Gallants might make me feel like i had good company while falling over the edge.

I like the rollicking loud music, which reminds me of the Rubberneckers and even somewhat of old Clash; but it's the quieter, mournful stuff that really gets me. "Threnody" (word for an elegy or mournful death lamentation) is powerful, but so are several other parts, such as the lonesome whistling that sets the initial tone. If you want to be carried away in a tide of somehow inexpressible but well-communicated emotion, check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Follow Up, March 8, 2006
By 
This review is from: What the Toll Tells (Audio CD)
A solid album - a band to watch! Check out both this and their first release, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What the Toll Tells (Audio CD)
Love this album, everything I expected and then some. I will definitely be checking out more of their work after hearing this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album., December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What the Toll Tells is a fabulous album. Just go ahead and do yourself a favor, get it. You are welcome, friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album on a great medium, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Music like that from Two Gallants is made for the vinyl medium. I am very picky about what is worthy enough to purchase on wax and this band is definitely worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What the Toll Tells
What the Toll Tells by Two Gallants (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.