Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


142 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye-Opener Sans The Wool
Back-to-back, I've read this book and the other one by Dr. John Lee, "What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Pre Menopause: Balance Your Hormones And Your Life From Thirty To Fifty." Although the one just mentioned is more pertinent to my age group, and both books cover much of the same ground, I chose to review this book because it seems to be more in-depth. Both...
Published on July 23, 2006 by Rachel Elaine

versus
23 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some information is good, some is dubious, some is flat-out wrong
The sales of this book are a testament to women's eagerness to find a substitute for synthetic estrogens, which many now know are harmful according to numerous medical studies reported in the popular press. They are not a testament to the quality of the book, which is excessively long, dry, repetitive, and which contains a fair amount of highly dubious information and...
Published 23 months ago by CostumeDesigner


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

142 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye-Opener Sans The Wool, July 23, 2006
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
Back-to-back, I've read this book and the other one by Dr. John Lee, "What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Pre Menopause: Balance Your Hormones And Your Life From Thirty To Fifty." Although the one just mentioned is more pertinent to my age group, and both books cover much of the same ground, I chose to review this book because it seems to be more in-depth. Both books, however, are laden with valuable information for women of any age.

The late Dr. Lee had done his homework even after medical school ended and it showed within both of his books. Everything is explained simply, concisely, thoroughly and in easily understandable terms.

Topics include: biochemistry of the body and synthetic drugs and hormones, mechanisms of the body, glands and functions, the estrogen myth and results of HRT study, female cancers and causes, autoimmune disorders, pros of natural progesterone and details of all relevant hormones, the pharmaceutical community and conventional medicine practices, illness and natural prevention, nutrition and exercise, osteoporosis and bone re-building, vitamins, herbs and minerals, heart disease and strokes, insulin and glucose, thyroid problems, liver health and many, many more that tie everything together so sensibly.

Without the specific label of a holistic doctor, Dr. Lee obviously believed and practiced a more natural way for his patients to live with optimal health and well-being. His books attest to the facts that natural is always best; synthetic drugs will always have side effects because they are foreign substances to our bodies; radical surgery is not always the best answer and menopause is not a to-be-feared disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make sense of Menopause and get info about osteoporosis!, January 23, 2006
By 
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
As one who had a 15-year-long battle with all the "joys" of menopause -- insomnia, hot-flashes, night sweats, brain fog, etc -- I can tell you this book is a Godsend. I finally found someone who could really talk knowledgeably about my problems and give some firm recommendations that were tried and tested in a medical setting and had benefitted hundreds of women in Dr. Lee's own clinical practice. I also found a wonderful treasure trove of information about osteoporosis, often not discussed in connection with menopause, and a condition that is usually treated with estrogen. Dr. Lee gives the reader a full load of good information about the benefits of natural progesterone for bone health. I am profoundly grateful! Get the book! You'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Best Book on Natural HRT, February 20, 2011
By 
Camperkat (Long Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
This little $8.00 paperback book changed the way I look at the medications I was taking, and now I am approaching menopause with a new, true understanding. I have a natural, over-the-counter bio-identical HRT plan that has quickly worked to make me feel better.

Dr. John Lee's book is much more than your typical clinical info about "what to expect when you feel like a fading old bag slogging through menopause", but it does have a great deal of clinical info. But it's really about ALL of the female-related medical conditions that exist. It's for women of all ages, from those in their 20s to those super-seniors in their 80s and 90s. And it's about how all of us of all ages will benefit from bio-identical progesterone cream. The book talks about natural progesterone's history, clinical studies, usage, and how the medical community continues to prescribe fake chemical/synthesized meds because they can't make money from a natural product than can't be patented. Dr. Lee talks about the soaring rates of osteoporosis, breast cancer, etc., and how these are generally man-made diseases in industrialized countries.

Dr. Lee discusses the following: osteoporosis (see the clinical trials in the book that prove progesterone cream prevents and CURES osteoporosis for women of all ages, even seniors) fibroids, cystic breasts, hair loss related to PCOS/androgenic alopecia and hair loss from "The Change", PMS symptoms, and the incredibly uncomfortable changes peri- and menopausal and post-menopausal women suffer through. Progesterone cream is great for breast cancer patients, those who have had hysterectomies, heart disease, polycystic ovaries (PCOS), endometriosis, vaginitis, migraines, cholesterol issues, and those trying to switch from conventional HRT to a natural regimen. Progesterone cream is not a cure-all, but it definitely helps--significantly--with a huge variety of hormonally-related "female trouble" for women of all ages. Bio-identical progesterone cream is inexpensive, does not require a prescription or a doctor's office visit, it's safe, and it works. So that's why your doctor doesn't tell you about it.

Be aware that the low-dose 40mg progesterone cream per day that Dr. Lee recommends is not the recommended dosage these days...he passed in 2003, and since then, there has been a lot of new thinking about his approach. Many menopausal women have suffered through years of estrogen dominance and therefore need what is called a "loading dose" to initially compensate for this. This approach means taking 100mg+ progesterone cream per day without a break for 3-4 months, then trying to take a break of 1-2 days per month and slowly work for a 5-7 day break per month. During the months you start trying to take a break, you might try to slowly (by 10mg per day)lower your progesterone cream dose to the physiological doses originally recommended by Dr. Lee...down to 20-60mg per day is what some women strive for. But some women may need more--listen to your body--there are plenty of women who take 100mg or more per day without ever taking a break--and have been doing so for years without receptor site problems. Please check out Wray White's website for her product NatPro and how to manage your menopause and other hormone issues.

BIG NEWSFLASH...Dr. John Lee's family (he passed suddenly in 2003) now makes their own progesterone cream...it's called ProgesterAll, and you can buy it at his family website, which can be found by Googling his name or the ProgesterAll name...don't know if I'm allowed to post it here, but here it is anyway:[...]

I wish good fortune to all my beautiful Rosehip Sisters, and hope Dr. John Lee's book and its program helps you embrace Your Change with wisdom and light.

POSTSCRIPTS: *If you have interest in Dr. Christiane Northrup, check out my review of the revised 2006 paperback edition of "The Wisdom of Menopause"...Northrup continues to urge women to eat soy products as a phytoestrogenic assist to their menopausal symptoms, but the phytic acid blocks magnesium and therefore creates a huge nutritional and endocrine depletion problems.

**The Remifemin brand with black cohosh has been used in Europe and the States for over 50 years and it has clinical trials backing up its efficacy. It does NOT cause liver problems, contrary to recent concerns [refer to the Reuters Health article called "Study Finds No Evidence Black Cohosh Damages Liver" written by Amy Norton, and published on Fri Jan 28, 2011].

Emerita Pro-Gest Natural Progesterone Cream, Paraben-Free, 4-Ounce TubeEmerita Phytoestrogen Body Cream with Black Cohosh, 2-Ounce TubeRemifemin Menopause Herbal Supplement, Estrogen Free, 120 TabletsEnzymatic Therapy Remifemin Good Night, 21 Tablets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is hope for the future!, June 22, 2005
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
When I came across this book, I was totally intimidated by the subject of menopause and hormone replacement therapy; this is no longer the case! Although a little on the technical side, I found this book to be extremely thorough in helping me understand that I do not need to go the route of traditional HRT. I've used the bioidentical progesterone cream since 2002, and at 52 I've only had two (2) incidents of night sweats and hot flashes because I'd slacked off on using the cream. After each incident, I started back using the natural progesterone cream and have had no reoccuring symptoms. In fact, I feel great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for All Women, September 19, 2007
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
Women at every stage of life should read "What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause", "What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Pre-Menopause" and "What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Breast Cancer".

In an era before the latest studies, Dr. Lee was advising against artificial estrogen and the combination tablets that are made of Premarin with artificial progesterone for relief of menopause symptoms. These are not bio-identical and now they have once and for all been proven dangerous in the highly publicized studies.

The late Dr. Lee had nothing whatever to sell except some very important information. You make the best decisions when you have the most competent information.

Dr. Lee's outstanding main contribution was in making known the uses and significant benefits of natural progesterone cream, information you probably will NOT hear from your doctor, since this extremely beneficial natural cream happens to be available over-the-counter without prescription. You can begin benefitting from this cream, available in most health food stores, as early as your 20's or as late as your 90's but as there are many imitation products, you need Dr. Lee's book(s) to guide you correctly.

Unlike the synthetic prescribed "progestins," (fake progesterone), this cream is bio-identical, having the same chemistry as progesterone made by the body. It is derived from plants and is applied on the skin, being well-absorbed.

It is a wonderful supplement with many benefits, the most important of which regards our skeletal structure. For women, bone is automatically and continually lost very rapidly starting around age 50, leading to osteoporosis. This causes many problems such as "dowager's hump", but worse, a fractured hip or spine can be an extremely serious injury.

The progesterone has been well-proven by Dr. Lee to actually REBUILD BONE in carefully documented studies over many years and in the premenopause and menopause books Dr. Lee supplies all of the details as to how this works and why there is nothing comparable available that works as well to prevent osteoporosis. Before you fall for any of the TV-advertised (one stars Sally Field) "bone building" medications, please invest a much smaller sum in Dr. Lee's pre-menopause and menopause books that discuss such harmful and ineffective products.

Dr. Lee's books are thorough and medically detailed, they are not simplistic reading. Please don't let that put you off. If you are a woman, you need this information.

(Also excellent are the books "Menopause Without Medicine" by Linda Ojeda and "Smart Medicine for Menopause" plus every book written by Sandra Cabot, M.D.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Every Woman (and their Significant Other!) Should Know, June 22, 2005
By 
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
I would give this book SIX stars if I could. It's written for today's woman who wants to be in charge of her life. A bit technical but that gives it weight. Cited are many studies done over a period of several years in other countries as well as the U.S., plus charts, graphs, and even letters from happy women who were patients of Dr. Lee. I had significant results after only one month of using natural progesterone cream. I'm on a mission to educate my female family members, friends and even acquaintances. It IS that important!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, April 1, 2006
By 
Janis L. Burden "JBABYJ" (Garland, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the most informative and easy to read book I've ever owned. I couldn't put it down. It should be mandatory reading for all doctors involved in women's issues. I recommend it to all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book every woman should read, January 15, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the most informative books I've ever read - this book can save lives and help families. This book will save your mom, sister, daughter, aunt, neigbor or friend - this should be shouted from the street corners - Amazing insight! Most ob/gyns have only 2 hours of hormone training thru their entire studies in school - this gives you amazing information that really makes sense! Just WOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies learn about your hormones, September 23, 2008
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
Could write volumns on how this book has helped me. I am an estrogen positive, stage IV, breast cancer survivor. My markers were up and 2/16 ratio for bad estrogen was off the charts it was so high. In coordination with my compounding pharmacist and OB/GYN, we used progesterone to lower the estrogen dominance and bring my markers back down. I learned about progesterone and it's many benefits from this book. The information lead to regimen that "saved my life".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My hair grew back!, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance (Mass Market Paperback)
I was losing my hair, which is thin to begin with, but I was starting to go bald! In reading this book I learned that I had too much testosterone in my system due to not enough progesterone and too much estrogen, which was causing me to lose my hair like a man does. I did what Dr. Lee said to do, supplemented with the natural progesterone cream from the health food store and within three months my head was itching as my hair was growing back. In five months my hair was totally back to normal! Additionally, I am now sleeping through the night again and no longer feel depressed. I started my 77 year old mother on it as she had the same balding pattern and her hair grew back in three months! She was amazed just like I was. If you are nearing menopause or in menopause you really need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause (TM): The Breakthrough Book on Natural Hormone Balance
$7.99
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.