Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hear me out... it's not that bad
I was a big fan of the Whatever radio show, mostly because I relate so much to Alexis and because Jennifer is such a perfect foil to Alexis's acerbic nature, it was a brilliant pairing for an aimless radio talk show. The book was obviously just a way capitalize on the show, as the book's content is really just a collection of snippets from both the radio show and...
Published 9 months ago by ACH

versus
117 of 130 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One soars, the other's just....sad
Well, I confess. I bit. I downloaded this bit 'o fluff onto my kindle and zipped through it in short order. While it was sporadically entertaining...and not in a good way...there is no helpful or even insightful information anywhere. This book is really just an oddly written, self indulgent profile of two modern women, very different, both clearly intelligent, both...
Published on October 13, 2011 by 70kicks


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 130 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One soars, the other's just....sad, October 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whateverland: Learning to Live Here (Hardcover)
Well, I confess. I bit. I downloaded this bit 'o fluff onto my kindle and zipped through it in short order. While it was sporadically entertaining...and not in a good way...there is no helpful or even insightful information anywhere. This book is really just an oddly written, self indulgent profile of two modern women, very different, both clearly intelligent, both mildly interesting. And both sailing in under the wire standing solidly on Martha Stewart's coat tails.

Jennifer comes across as a girl's girl, loving and needy, but clearly possessing a generous heart and nature. She is self-deprecating, once chubby and now svelte, and wears her heart on her sleeve. She might be a bit exhausting to know, but a trustworthy broad who seems to love her husband and family beyond measure. Unfortunately, her 'advice', commentary and tips are utterly unremarkable.

On the other hand, Alexis Stewart just screams 'damaged'. So much so that it's sad to read, really. From her immature obsession with having her own way, to her self-proclaimed rigid personalty, EVERYTHING bothers Alexis. She's bitchy, judgemental to the nth degree and sure doesn't seem very happy or like she'd be any fun, in any capacity. She admits to being unable or unwilling to do anything professionally that doesn't depend on her mother's backing or connections, blames her mother for ill-preparing her for life, and then hates herself for it as exemplified by the extreme lengths she goes to appear to reject everything her mother stands for all while taking everything she hands out. It's like reading the diary of an articulate, spoiled, entitled 13 year old, which, once one gets past the fact that she's Martha's daughter, really isn't very interesting after all.

I'll be interested to watch what becomes of Jennifer as she seems to have a bit more 'legs'. I won't hold my breath to see Alexis succeed at anything meaningful though; if she ever ventured out of the tri-state area the locals would beat her to death with her own bleached white bathmat.

Lasting impression? I dunno...I've forgotten it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More thought provoking than I expected., October 7, 2011
I have to admit, my initial reason for buying Whateverland (E-reader version) by Alexis Stewart and Jennifer Koppelman Hutt was for the fun of hearing what Alexis would have to say about her mother Martha. I happen to be a big fan of Martha Stewart, but it's still fun to hear what people are "really" like. She definitely delivers on that later in the book.

The book opens with a dictionary explanation of the word "whatever" and then goes on to give you an idea of the personality differences between Alexis and Jennifer. If you have ever watched their television and/or radio show, you will already know what those differences are.

They consider this a self-help book of sorts, and it is to some degree. The two authors explain that the reason they wrote this book was because "If we can thrive with our embarrassing, humiliating, shameful crap, then our readers can too." And so the book moves on. I will give you a very brief synopsis of what the chapters contain.

Life at home: The disdain of house guests, the love of privacy, bathroom issues, Martha's obsession with bed linens, advice on cleaning, and what not to have in your home.

Food and eating: Jennifer's upbringing on all the wrong foods and Alexis' upbringing on healthy "real" meals...including Plantagenet Palliser (read the book). Some well thought out advice on healthy eating. Jennifer's weight control issues...thoughtful and contemplative...honest and revealing. Alexis explains her choice of vegetarianism and discusses factory farms and the unhealthy animal raising practices. This is thought provoking and insightful.

Marriage and relationships: Alexis' need for space, alone time. She discusses her former husband and many trysts. Jennifer is married and faithful.

Cleaning and organizing: Some genuinely helpful ideas from two neat freaks.

Sex and dating: Jennifer and Alexis disagree on first date sex and go on to tell some stories of dates that went bad. You might be crying "TMI" on a few occasions, but you had to expect this, right? An interesting list of "deal breakers" that men might find interesting to read...what seriously turns Jennifer and Alexis off.

Growing up dysfunctional: An in-depth look at what Alexis and Jennifer feel made them be who they are, what their childhoods were like. In Jennifer's case, the overprotectiveness came with an abundance of love, and she shares her feelings about her mother's untimely death (also discussed in chapter 10). But in Alexis' life, this is where you will read about the Martha Stewart that you suspected existed...detached, cold, too busy. The TV Martha you watch decorating and baking for birthdays and holidays did not exist. You can't help but feel compassion for a neglected Alexis and understand why she seems to have become such a loner, a woman who doesn't seem to connect on a deep level with people, a long line of superficial relationships, bitter memories. This is a very revealing part of the book.

Cooking: Alexis and Jennifer share cooking experiences and some of their favorite recipes.

Weight loss and body issues: While Alexis shares her "just do it" philosophy regarding exercise and eating, Jennifer has the most to offer in this chapter. She offers great advice on loving and accepting one's body with all its imperfections and more importantly how to help your children have healthy attitudes about their own bodies.

Fashion: Stories of fashion faux pas and their likes and dislikes.

Secrets: All the extras...fears, phobias, sadnesses, joys.

I must say that this book was more thoughtfully written than I had expected. I assumed that it would be mostly humor with very little depth, and instead the authors were very open and honest about their lives. I do feel that some of the sex-related areas were more explicit than what we needed to hear, but I also feel that most readers who pick up this book will be expecting just that from such colorful authors. Alexis' hard shell will have you shaking your head at times. The formatting is a bit scattered with serious and not-so-serious topics bouncing back and forth somewhat, so you get a little superficial mixed into the sincere. Though not one of my favorite books, it is an interesting and entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of money, October 19, 2011
This review is from: Whateverland: Learning to Live Here (Hardcover)
I heard a review of this book. I was excited by the tantalizing tidbits. I was once a Martha devotee so to hear a bit of Martha bashing seemed fun.I was hoping to find out that Martha was not perfect.The person reviewing the book said that poor Alexis had to wrap her own Christmas gifts.Alexis also wrote that on Halloween her house was dark,without the special treats and decorations that Martha brags about in her magazine and on her show.
I wasted $20 on this silly book that basically defined the word "whatever".
The book also spent time on what could only be described as "Boy Potty Humor". Jenny and Alexis have bathroom issues.They can only use their potties,do not want anyone to use their potties including boyfriends,and explain how to unstop a toilet full of poop without a plunger.
I am trying to figure out who on my Christmas gift list might appreciate it. I think I will have to resort to using it as a white elephant gift at one of several parties requiring such a gift.
Please do not waste your money.In this economy you can better spend your $20 and not make these two very rich young women even richer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition came out early so here's the scoop, October 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though this book wasn't scheduled to come out till October 18, it was released early in the Kindle edition. So if you are wondering about why this review is appearing now, there's your answer. Now on to the book itself:

Some current media reports indicate that the portrayal of Martha Stewart in "Whateverland", a book written by her daughter, Alexis,(as well as her friend Jennifer), is unflattering. In the dedication section...or what appears to be that section on my Kindle... Alexis writes "Thanks in advance to my mother for not getting angry about anything written in this book."

But will Martha take this all in good humor or not? On her own show, she joked about it and many articles I've read thus far notes that she seems to be taking it in stride. From this reader's perspective, Alexis and Jennifer manage to spend a great deal of time focusing on Martha in ways that I perceived as less than complimentary. "Food was not love in my house," writes Alexis. "Not at all. Food was just food - assuming there was any in the house." Ouch.

Alexis and Jennifer also write that the book is meant to be a self-help book and not just an expose' of Martha. They add that "It's just two regular women...talking about how coming to terms with who you really are -and who you're never going to be -isn't nearly as scary as you think." I'm paraphrasing but (hopefully) you get the idea.

Even if intended as a self-help book, though, plenty of the information centers on Martha Stewart from the perspective of her daughter. .

Some samples:

Alexis writes that she doesn't allow her mother in her home "for any extended period of time." Nor does she allow workmen or boyfriends to spend lengthy periods of time in her home....or she tries not to. But workmen do tend to be around much of the time. She also calls Martha Stewart's Schedule for Home Maintenance "really geeky."

Invite her mother over for dinner? According to Alexis, her mother will "make a face" and then push away anything served. Hardly a flattering portrait. And, oh yes, if she eats baked beans out of a can her favorite part is "the cube of fat."

Still, readers who can put aside what seem like jabs at Martha (and, honestly, they do take up what seems like the lion's share of the book) will also get a sense of Alexis and Jennifer's habits. Alexis needs lots of privacy. Jennifer likes to sleep on the side of the bed farthest away from the door, also known as "the safe side of the bed."

Both consider artwork on walls to be overrated, suggest that readers don't get a piano because it won't stay in tune and is just another thing to dust, and make sure to cover all bare bulbs even if that means using a paper lantern.

The basic content of this book seems to consist of two things: poking fun at Martha (or attacking her, depending on your point of view) and two girlfriends comparing and contrasting their lifestyles and upbringing. For this reader, that pretty much sums it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't bother, October 24, 2011
This review is from: Whateverland: Learning to Live Here (Hardcover)
I saw Alexis Stewart on the Today show, this morning, October 24, 2011. She was rude and hostile to the interviewer. I don't see the point in going on a talk show in an attempt to market a book and then not being a gracious guest. I would not buy this book if you paid me. Someone should teach her some manners and humility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alexis the Pitiful, December 5, 2011
This review is from: Whateverland: Learning to Live Here (Hardcover)
This is not to rehash how depressed & unpleasant Alexis is. She obviously has some real psychiatric issues here & has admitted using medication to help her which it doesn't seem to have done. No doubt Martha was not a hands on mother & the sad thing is that while Alexis has all these hateful attitudes towards her, Martha, in her constant fashion, doesn't really care! Alexis visited Martha every weekend in Virginia when Martha was in jail. Martha would have sent her money for canteen use & gone on with her beloved company. Alexis has this desperate need to have a biological child of her own...Martha had a hysterectomy so she would never have any more children after Alexis was born because of her career goals. Alexis was learning to ice skate before her daughter was even born so she could do this activity with her....Martha ignored her as much as possible from the time Alexis was born. I just hope that baby Jude (what a name!) will help Alexis by giving her a purpose in her empty life & she will have a daughter who will love her & she will love back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste, October 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a waste of time and money to read this book. I'm not a Martha Stewart fan, but I could be after reading this book. Alexis Stewart is one of the most egocentric, narcissistic, self involved whiners that I have ever had the misfortune to read. For someone who had issues with the way that she was raised, she has turned into her mother times ten.
The book was boring, repetitive, childish, and not terribly well written. You couldn't wonder why she got a divorce, you wondered how a man could stand to be in the same room with her.
The only reason to give this book any stars is that it included some recipes, that alone kept it from being a total flop.
Alexis needs to grow up, stop trying to cash in on her mother's fame, and use the time that she spends bitching on taking some creative writing classes. Some serious psychotherapy that she actually attends wouldn't hurt either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please, you've got to be kidding me, October 24, 2011
This review is from: Whateverland: Learning to Live Here (Hardcover)
What a disaster of a book! Not insightful, not funny, not enlightening. Don't waste your money...

I'm sorry I wasted mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money and Time, October 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whateverland: Learning to Live Here (Hardcover)
This was a piece of garbage. I also bought it after Martha talked about it on her show. I was expecting some good humor off from making fun of Martha. They didn't make fun of her, they were down right mean. The story didn't make sense the way they rambled on. If "Stewart" wouldn't have been connected with the book, it wouldn't have made it into print. Shame on them for writing it, shame on me for buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alexis should be the Wicked Witch of the West this Halloween, October 11, 2011
By 
Patrick (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whateverland: Learning to Live Here (Hardcover)
I know Martha isn't the warmest person in the world but my god if her daughter isn't the spawn of Satan. Any time I have ever seen Alexis on TV she has come across as the most miserable person on the face of the planet. She's always dressed in high end designer clothes that probably cost more than most people's homes, and yet she acts like her life has just been so awful. Any time she smiles it looks like she's cracking a rib. I don't know how anybody can stand to be around her. She makes her living trashing her mother...who is also her only employer. In my opinion, if she wants to trash Martha then she should stop mooching off of her.

Alexis should spend a year in Africa and find out her life really wasn't so bad.

And that Jennifer person, she seems like a spoiled brat too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Whateverland: Learning to Live Here
Whateverland: Learning to Live Here by Alexis Stewart (Hardcover - October 1, 2011)
$24.95 $16.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.