What's French for "Ew!"? (Emily Books Book 3) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

What's French For "Ew"? Mass Market Paperback – May 31, 2004


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$4.46 $0.01
--This text refers to the Kindle Edition edition.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 196 pages
  • Publisher: Smooch (May 31, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0843952970
  • ISBN-13: 978-0843952971
  • Product Dimensions: 6.8 x 4.3 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,510,043 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 12 customer reviews
The use of Paris as the setting was really fun, especially Emily's massacring of the French language.
K. Kraus
I will definitely order more of her books that come in series (or any more that come in this series of course).
Sherry O'Neal
If you love the Princess Diaries, this series is equally fun, no matter if you are a teen or once were one.
Huntress Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Huntress Reviews on May 7, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Wouldn't any young girl give her eyeteeth to spend her seventeenth birthday in Paris with the man of her dreams? Probably, unless she happened to have her very own baby as an obligatory guest on the excursion. Before your eyebrows hit the ceiling, it's a fake baby, as Emily has to explain a few dozen times over the course of the novel.
She was supposed to only have Baby Annoy for a few days, as a school project to learn how serious a parenting career is, but life threw her a curve, forcing Emily to have to take it with her to Paris for Spring Break or risk killing her GPA. So, "Jack", her "child" gets to go along to her survival French lessons, gets a nice, unexpected swin in the canal, locked in at Notre Dame, and a few other adventures. Emily realizes that she is going to have to be able to afford a nanny when she has a real baby. Then comes the big night of her birthday, one she's been planning for ages. It is supposed to be a once in a lifetime night shared with Devon, but will it be?
**** Katie Maxwell deftly and hilariously delivers a potent message about the most important decisions. Emily is a breath of fresh air, wholly realistic, and utterly charming. If you love the Princess Diaries, this series is equally fun, no matter if you are a teen or once were one. ****
Amanda Killgore
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By K. Kraus VINE VOICE on May 9, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm another adult fan of Katie's "Emily" series, and I thought this was a great book. The use of Paris as the setting was really fun, especially Emily's massacring of the French language. My favorite part of the book was Emily's "son" Jack, the pregnancy-prevention doll she was forced to lug around Paris. I missed Emily's interaction with her family, especially her father Brother. I can't wait for her to get back to England. I didn't like this book quite as much as the first two in the series, but Katie's worst book is better than most other authors' best. Maybe I just liked it less because I know Emily was meant to be with Fang, and he wasn't in this book at all. But I can be patient until the next book where I'm sure Katie will wrap things up nicely.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Erika Sorocco on May 18, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Everyone's favorite Englander, Emily, is back and better than ever. However, this time she's not in England, or even Scotland, but rather Paris, France, the city of love. Where she is spending her Spring Break learning to speak the language of love, and she's not going it alone. Emily's best friend, Holly, is there with her, as well as her super hot new boyfriend, Devon, and...a baby? That's right, Emily is stuck with a whining, wetting, little baby for a whole month. No, not a REAL baby, but rather one of those dolls that teach you what being a young Mother is really like, known as the LuvMyBaby v4.75. It seems easy to raise a doll for a month, however, Emily is unprepared for the true responsibility, and the fact that the doll is truly cramping her style. I mean, how is a girl supposed to enjoy not only her seventeenth birthday, but her very long-awaited trip to Paris, as well as spend time with her super cute new boyfriend with a baby in tow?
As WHAT'S FRENCH FOR "EW!"? is the third book in the favorite-to-many Emily series, it is a harsh fact that Emily will soon be leaving us for good, as there is only one more title planned in the series. Until that last title comes, we must savor the enjoyment, and cherish the time we get to spend with her. It is a known fact that readers can become attached to fictional characters whom they read often. But with Emily it's more. Reading an Emily book is like reading a letter from your best friend. Her ridiculously witty personality keep the reader on the edge of their seat, always hoping for the best for our dear little Emily. Fans of THE YEAR MY LIFE WENT DOWN THE LOO and THEY WEAR WHAT UNDER THEIR KILTS? will not be disappointed in this latest installment to the Emily series. A must have.
Erika Sorocco
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Jennifer Smith on May 7, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
First of all, I'm an adult who has thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in Ms. Maxwell's 'Emily' series - and so I was very excited to get my hands on WHAT'S FRENCH FOR 'EW?'. And I was NOT disappointed! Poor, hapless Emily is going to France for a two-week intensive language course - and her BF, Devon, is to meet her there for her 17th birthday, too. Unfortunately, Emily's problems begin even before she gets on the plane to Paris - the 'baby' she's been taking care of as part of a class project, has to go with her! And considering that Jack (the baby) looks and sounds like a REAL baby - well, can you see where Emily's going to have some problems? :)
I laughed so many times while reading this book! I highly recommend this book for any teen girls (I'd say from 13 and up - maybe younger if they're mature for their age) and for any adults who remember (even vaguely!) what it was like to be 16 years old. The book reads quickly and easily (it's in the format, again, of e-mails - Maxwell does this REALLY well!), but I'd warn you not to eat or drink anything while reading this book! You might choke on something while you're laughing!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful A Kid's Review on January 2, 2005
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I was incredibly exicted to see a new Emily book out-I loved the other two. As soon as I picked it up, and started reading it, however, my good mood fell. This book is not nearly as entertaining as the other two, and it mainly focuses on one aspect of the trip-when her boyfriend comes to see her. This book is not recommended to children, and it is not really as recommended to anyone else. Check her other books out, though. They are really good. This just dissapointed me. Emily goes to France to study French for two weeks during spring break. She is stuck with a robotic baby issued in Health class. She must tote around this baby, as well as concentrate on when her boyfriend Devon comes to town, what they will do. It is acceptable, but below Mrs. Maxwell's usual standards.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?