What's Going On (Remastered)

January 14, 2003 | Format: MP3

Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to Amazon.com (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: January 14, 2003
  • Release Date: January 14, 2003
  • Label: Motown
  • Copyright: (C) 2002 Motown Records, a Division of UMG Recordings, Inc.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 40:49
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B000V658EQ
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (493 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,212 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

212 of 222 people found the following review helpful By John P. Morgan VINE VOICE on October 23, 2006
Format: Audio CD
In 1971 I lived in a very well integrated neighborhood. We had the Romants who were Puerto Rican who lived a few doors down from us, the Sakai's, who were Japanesese, lived next door to the Jones and the Jones who were a black family lived next door to us. Mr. and Mrs. Jones were my mom and dad's best friends'. we did everything together. I'm sure we got stared at quite a bit because I guess there were still a few people who couldn't handle seeing black and white people being friendly with each other and even letting their children play with each other. I can assure you, none of us were hurt in the process. In fact, we learned a real "silly thing". We learned that all people are pretty much the same. That no matter what you may look on the outside, your soul still looks the same to God who made you out of "His" Colorless Self...because as my mother would say, Love has no color...

But anyway, flashing back to 1971, we were at a barbecue at the Jones' house, and Alicia, their oldest daughter, who was 15 at the time (and who I had a mad crush on)came out of the house wearing this pretty yellow sundress and holding this record. She carefully took it out of its cover and put it on. I just remember it getting very, very quiet. It was like each and every song took our breath away. I remember after the record played, Alicia wanted to play it again, and Mrs. Jones wiped a few tears from her eyes simply said, "Another time, dear...another time..."

This album is heavy. It's not party music. It really makes you think and feel about your place in the world. We have become such a plastic coated society. It is like we are numb to everything that is going on in the world. Oh, I see North Korea has a nuclear weapon that they want to test, ho-hum...pass the butter...WHAT?
Read more ›
22 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
113 of 119 people found the following review helpful By T. Henderson on August 12, 2000
Format: Audio CD
Marvin Gaye is without a doubt one of the greatest singing talents to ever grace the sound of music. His lyrics are poetic, philosophical, and quite simply, beautiful. I have no real way to describe this album other than to say in the four years I have owned it I make it a point to listen to it once a day. My day is not complete until I hear the sweet sounds of "Inner City Blues" or the painful lamenting of "What's Going On?" Marvin's message is loud and clear: "come on talk to me, so you can see, what's going on...." Those words from the highly emotional title track speak to generation after generation and screams that violence is NOT the way! Love, peace, and great soul music from my favorite singer of all time are the tools for a better future. Truly a concept album in every sense of the word, "What's Going On?" should be one of the albums that everyone on this earth should own, along with Johnny Coltrane's "Ballads", and Pink Floyd's "The Wall." An album like this only comes along once in a million years, and it's luster will never tarnish. Marvin Gaye was a beautiful human being, and he literally poured out every emotion onto this record. When listening to a concept album, one can usually see what is inside the artist's head. With this album, we see Marvin's mind, soul and emotions. We laugh with him, we cry when he sheds tears, and we get chills when he tells us of how simple and free peace is. Marvin Gaye is not just an artist, he is the single most important R&B singer of all time. Out of respect for him, and his evolution of soul music, you should own this record. Fans of hip-hop, soul, R&B, oldies, and pop will all love this masterpiece of finely crafted music.Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
77 of 80 people found the following review helpful By P Magnum HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICE on December 22, 2000
Format: Audio CD
By the time 1970 rolled around, Marvin Gaye had grown tired of his singing career. Although he was a major star, having huge hits, he felt disenfranchised from the business. The death of his close friend and singer partner Tammi Terrill had thrown him into serious state of depression and anger. He became serious about football and tried out with the Detroit Lions and he also had a hand at boxing. He, of course, never made the cut with these activities. His brother Frankie had recently come back from Vietnam and the stories that he related Marvin, helped spur him out of his funk and into the recording studio. He turned those feelings of detachment, melancholy and anger into one of the landmark albums in musical history. Gone were the days of Mr. Gaye singing about love and happiness, What's Going On explored the situation and status of the black man in society as well as the problems facing the world as a whole. The title track opens the album and he ponders the question of what is going on in the world today. It was not just about the brothers dying in and mothers crying about the Vietnam War, but about the wars of everyday life in Urban America. The next five songs flow in and out of one another forming a musical suite. In "What's Happening Brother" he questions why the inner city is decaying while "Flyin' High (In The Friendly Sky)" is about Mr. Gaye's drug use. "Save The Children" asks for us to get together and make the world a better places for our kids and he provides a possible solution by looking to higher powers in "God Is Love". "Mercy, Mercy Me (The Ecology)" is his take on the polluting of the world.Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category