Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend of Our Time
I never really listened to Tina Turner except on the radio but one day I decided to watch What's Love Got To Do With It and I was absolutly blown away. The power and feeling Angela Bassett put into her character as Tina Turner was so convincing I actually started to believe it was the true superstar, not just an actress. Laurence Fishburne is an incrediable actor and...
Published on July 9, 2000 by Rachel Gedeon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
It tells the story of Tina Turner. She is a fascinating person for sure. It is good for a one time thing.
Published 5 months ago by JanJan


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend of Our Time, July 9, 2000
By 
Rachel Gedeon (Broadview Hts., OH United States) - See all my reviews
I never really listened to Tina Turner except on the radio but one day I decided to watch What's Love Got To Do With It and I was absolutly blown away. The power and feeling Angela Bassett put into her character as Tina Turner was so convincing I actually started to believe it was the true superstar, not just an actress. Laurence Fishburne is an incrediable actor and he did a wonderful job portraying Ike Turner, to the point where I wanted to reach inside the television screen and hurt him as much as he was hurting Tina. He was so good being bad I can't believe he never won an Oscar for this incrediable role. I would recommend this movie to anyone who is a big Tina Turner fan or anyone who just want's to watch a very powerful and emotional film, full of extremly talented actors and actresses. May God always be with Tina Turner after the Hell on Earth she went through, thanks to Ike Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intense and Extremely Well Performed, June 4, 2002
Celebrity bio-pics are very hit or miss, but once in a great while a really good one comes along--and WHAT'S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT is one of them. Based on the autobiography of Tina Turner, the film offers a glossy but intense portrait of her rapid rise to stardom under the sponsorship of husband-manager Ike Turner--a relationship that quickly turned dark and became increasingly abusive as Tina's fame began to outstrip Ike's own.
Although the film is a bit on the obvious side, it is well-crafted and the two leads offer powerhouse performances. Angela Bassett is simply astonishing as Tina Turner; where most other actresses might have simply imitated, Bassett accomplishes the impossible: she makes you believe that she is Tina Turner, capturing both Tina's famous on-stage performing style (the concert scenes are really exciting) and giving a completely believable interpretation of her off-stage personality as well. The script offers Laurence Fishburne little more than a one-dimensional role, but he plays it brilliantly from start to finish, and both are well supported by the overall cast.
There is certainly a great deal more to the lives of both Ike and Tina Turner than this film conveys--but what it does show it presents with considerable power and conviction, and by the time Tina finally hits back at Ike you'll be roaring for her to hit him again--and again--and again--and eager to see her finally triumph entirely on her own. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRIUMPHANT STORY OF A REAL LIFE SURVIVOR...., September 9, 2001
This is an incredible, highly energized film about the life of rock and roll diva, Tina Turner, and her stormy relationship with her controlling and physically abusive husband, Ike Turner. Award calibre performances are turned in by Angela Bassett, as Tina, and Laurence Fishburne, as Ike. They are both absolutely riveting.
Ms. Bassett plays Tina with all the earthy charm and sexual magnetism of the real life Tina Turner. Laurence Fishburne gives an amazingly effective performance as Ike, at once both repellent and charismatic. The movie focuses on their relationship, one which sowed the seeds for the Tina Turner we know today.
What started out as a match made in heaven, quickly soured as Tina naturally took the lead musically in their Ike and Tina Turner Revue. When it became clear that Tina was the one for which the fans were clamoring, Ike did not take lightly to being second banana, and their relationship became one of domestic discord and abuse, with Ike easing into the role of abusive husband with relative ease.
When Tina finally had had enough, she divorced Ike, taking nothing from the marriage except her children and her show business name, the name she earned. From there, she went on to rebuild her life and career, becoming the world reknowned rock and roll diva she is today. Ike, a substance abuser, ended up in prison for narcotics possession and fell into relative obscurity, little more than a footnote in rock and roll history.
This is a film well worth watching, with great performances and great music. Look for the live stage performance by the real life Tina Turner at the end of the film. That alone is worth the price of this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina should be proud., January 28, 2000
How could anyone not like this movie? Unless they were Ike Turner, that is. When we walked out of seeing the movie during its first run in the theater, my husband commented dryly, "Well, that movie didn't paint a very flattering portrait of Ike." and we both laughed at the understatement. If you've read the Tina's book, though, you'll know that the movie goes VERY easy on him-while merely a typical abusive bully in the film, Ike treated her much, much worse in real life. I think if they put even half the abuse and torture he put her through in real life, though, the movie would have been too much of a downer-you got the idea. Fishburne does a good job of making Ike so charming when Tina first meets him that you can see why she falls in love with him, until he turns into a monster. Angela Bassett is just fantastic, she has Tina down perfect, though her upper body is so pumped up in some scenes she looks almost masculine. Tina Turner was (hell, still is at 60) toned and buff, but not a female bodybuilder. Her performance is dynamic and heartbreaking, and I can't watch the scene where she finally gets sick of his abuse and starts fighting back without getting emotional. When she finally hits him back in the scene in the limo, I heard the loudest cheers and applause in the audience that I've heard since I saw Thelma and Louise. I've seen the movie dozens of times and her passion in that scene still gets me emotional every time.
But the real reason I watch the movie over and over (especially when I'm trying to get motivated to work out) are the musical numbers. They include among others "A Fool in Love", "Rock me Baby" a great montage to "Make me Over", but the centerpiece of the film has got to be the perfect recreation, right down to the choreography, of the Ike and Tina Turner Revue's "Proud Mary". It is full of so much energy and rocks so much that your jaw will just hang open in amazement when Tina and the Ikettes start going into their dance moves. I never get tired of watching that scene (almost as good as the real thing). I'm still trying to figure out how they kept their wigs on when they were whipping their upper bodies back and forth, they danced so hard. Oh, and the costumes (especially on the Ikettes and the "Proud Mary" fringe dress) and period detail are not only accurate but To Die For. I can't recommend this movie enough. She should have got the Academy Award, not just the Golden Globe, and the movie should have got the Oscar for best picture of 1993.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angela Bassett's Finest Performance, April 22, 2002
This review is from: What's Love Got To Do With It? (DVD)
I am thrilled that Halle Berry is the first black woman to win a Best Actress Academy Award. I will forever be disappointed, however, that Angela Bassett, though nominated, was passed over in 1993 for her extraordinary portrayal of Tina Turner.
What is remarkable is that even though she looks nothing like Tina and is not at all like Tina off-screen, on screen she IS Tina Turner. You immediately forget that this is a woman ACTING the role of Tina Turner and is not the legend herself. This film should be required viewing as a textbook example of how to carry off a dramatic interpretation of a well-known individual. All of us know Tina and are accustomed to her distinctive personality. Bassett faced the incredibly difficult task of making us forget the larger-than-life public image of Tina and accept the character as she interpreted her. An exceptionally intelligent and classically trained actress, understood that the key to success was not to mimic Tina but to capture her essence, and she is brilliant in doing so. She never overreaches or milks an easy melodramatic tear. She can communicate a world of emotions and ideas with a smile, a glance, or the slightest body movement.
It really is wonderful to watch her as she sinks her teeth into the role, one of the very finest roles Hollywood has ever offered a black actress. Unfortunately, though she has carved out a fairly successful film career in the years since, Bassett is, I think, the most underrated and underutilized actress of our time.
I hope that she is fortunate enough to land another role of this quality and that next time she receives the acclaim that she so richly deserves.
P.S. Laurence Fishburne was extraordinary, as well. They BOTH deserved Oscars for their performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Success of Tina = the Crucifixion of Ike, March 20, 2007
By 
Matt Tawesson (Macomb, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's Love Got To Do With It? (DVD)
This is a really fabulous movie with Angela Bassett and Laurence Fishburne. Based on Tina Turner's life and her book I, Tina (which I have not read), the movie begins with her (formerly known as Anna Mae Bullock) as a little girl singing in a church choir, but out of sync from the rest of the group to where she gets evicted from the church. Years later, as a teen in the late 50s, she moves to St. Louis to live with her mother, who had walked out years before. Soon after that, she meets Ike Turner (played by Laurence Fishburne), the man who would give her his name. He gets her started as a singer and they get married shortly later on. At first, he is really sweet and kind to her, but after a while, the marriage starts going downhill. Ike becomes pressured and stressed out from his own career, abuses narcotics, and is jealous of Tina's success to where he gets very volatile and abusive to her. The scenes where Ike abuses Tina and bullies her are so disturbing. The scene where Ike and Tina are doing their own version of Creedence Clearwater Revival's Proud Mary is so wonderful, but when the crowd starts cheering after the performance, Tina receives all of the cheering, while Ike is pretty much ignored by the crowd. After a while, Tina is abused by Ike again, but it is the last straw for her as she quietly flees away from him to a hotel across the street while he is taking a nap at a hotel they had checked in to. She goes to court and divorces him, and leaving with nothing except for her name. From what is seen in this movie, Tina is very successful in her career, while the "crucifixion" of Ike is happening at the same time. He meets her sometime later on, gives her flowers and begs her to give him another chance and promises that he will do well and treat her better than the last time. She does not accept his promise (nobody would disagree with that), and gets out of his new car and slams the car door so hard the glass in the window shatters. What a way for Tina to tell Ike to get lost! She knew that she was determined to make it on her own without Ike. Good for Tina!! Bassett and Fishburne were great in their roles. This movie is worth watching. Jenifer Lewis does a great job playing Tina's mother. This is without any doubt one of the best true story movies ever to come out. I would definitely recommend it to friends. Get the CD soundtrack of this movie, too. You will enjoy that as well. Tina Turner is one of the greatest entertainers in the music industry!! Way to go, Tina!!
Additional note: Ike Turner passed away on December 12, 2007 at the age of 76. Even though he passed on, that DOES NOT mean that this movie should be trashed and/or not be liked anymore by the many people who have liked it since its release in 1993 (or anytime after). It's a movie like any other movie--you either like it or you don't like it. And, it will still continue to cultivate new fans while keeping the older ones who have liked or loved it since its original release. Even after his passing, Ike will still be regarded as a controversial person in music history, regardless of how he was portrayed in this film and/or in Tina's autobiography. Just because he's gone doesn't mean that anyone who hasn't liked him in general (or beyond), whether by seeing this movie and/or reading Tina's book, or listening to his music would soften their own opinion (or, if so, maybe just a little bit).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Example of OSCAR'S Bias, June 10, 2000
QUESTION: How many people have actually seen Holly Hunter's Oscar-winning performance in the critically-acclaimed "The Piano?"
ANSWER: Probably not as many who witnessed the star-turning explosive one by Angela Bassett as rock icon Tina Turner.
Bassett, although "pumped up" a little too much, IS Tina. She captures the singer's movements, attitude, and magnificent stage presence. She successfully pulls off the aging from teen to adult perfectly.
Her co-star, Laurence Fishburne, brings energy to the role of mentor and abuser Ike Turner.
The always captivating Jenifer Lewis is outstanding as Turner's mom. I wish that Hollywood would saddle Miss Lewis with more than "motherly" roles. She is sexier and more intriguing than women half her age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angela Bassett Deserved the Oscar, not Halle Berry, May 19, 2004
By 
This review is from: What's Love Got To Do With It? (DVD)
That is my sentiment. When Angela Bassett exploded on the silver screen as the irrepressible Tina Turner and was nominated for an Oscar....I was certain she would win. However, she didn't. Instead, Halle Berry earned the distinction of the being the first woman of African descent to win the Best Actress Award...and for a performance that doesn't come anywhere close to Bassett's. In fact, many Oscar winner's performances pale to Bassett's and people still remember Bassett's showstopper and didn't even remember whom she lost the award to.
Based on Tina Turner's autobiography, it "chronicled" Tina's rise to stardom as Ike Turner's partner. The relationship, already tumultous from the start, turned for the worst when Tina's fame pulled ahead of Ike's. Tina finally left the relationship and started from scratch, becoming the successful solo artist that she is today.
Ike is very much maligned in this movie, understandable since it is told from Tina's point of view. In any case, Laurence Fishburne delivered a tour-de-force performance that rivals Bassett's.
As for Bassett herself, I agree with reviewers that she did not imitated, or even looked much like Tina. To imitate someone only shows you are NOT that person. In any case, Bassett did an incredible job of endearing herself to the audience into believing that she IS Tina Turner. So successful was she that when the real Tina showed up in a concert clip at the end of the movie, it seems a bit of a comedown...because we have already attached to and identified with Angela; and invested a good portion of our emotions toward her.
Some reviewers seem to take umbrage with the fact that Tina's Black husband is the villain of the piece while benevolent White men "saved" Tina in the end.
Got news for you, despite what PC and feminism like to make you believe, heterosexual white men are not the only oppressors of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Tina Turner's Life Story On Film", June 8, 2009
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What's Love Got To Do With It? (DVD)
I first saw "What's Love Got To Do With It?" in theatres when it first came out in June, 1993. It has been the only movie that I have ever seen where I was very disturbed by the graphic violence and abuse that the film depicts. I knew Tina Turner experienced a very abusive relationship with her husband and mentor Ike Turner, but I had no idea she went through the hell that she did. The movie does contain it's share of violence, but the movie had to be honest in its portrayal of spousal abuse. It is not easy for most of us to watch a man beating his wife, but this is the truth of what Tina lived through. How Tina managed to survive is amazing in itself, as she left Ike Turner in July, 1976 with thirty six cents and a credit card to her name. The message in the film is clear: have faith in yourself and be strong and you will survive anything.
The movie is based on Tina's autobiography "I Tina" that was released in 1986 to critical and commercial success, and if you think what you see in the film is bad, reading the pages of "I Tina" is even more harrowing. There are many incidents that occurred between Tina and Ike that were never dramatized in the film but are in the book. There were times that Ike would beat Tina so bad he would break her ribs, her jaw, and force her to go on stage and sing. The most disturbing part of the book and film are the scene in which Ike would beat Tina, then rape her.
The movie is very hard to watch, but this is what the queen of rock and roll went through. She endured 18 years of hell with a monster who cared more about his drug addiction than his own wife. Tina is an example for all of us to look at. She survived to tell her own story.
The DVD comes in widescreen with the trailer, and unfortunately no bonuses are included.
Both Angela Bassett and Laurence Fishburn, who play Tina and Ike, were nominated for Best Actress and Best Actor Oscars. Whitney Houston was chosen for the part of Tina, but had to drop out because of her impending pregnancy. The producers then cast Angela.
The title of the film is derived from Tina Turner's #1 pop song "What's Love Got To Do With It?" that she released in 1984 in which she won multiple Grammy Awards for.
A remarkable story of courage and survival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still She Rises..., September 13, 2013
This review is from: What's Love Got To Do With It? (DVD)
I have loved this movie for as long as I can remember. First, it goes without saying that Tina is an icon...these young girls of today can't hold a candle to Ms. Turner! Angela Bassett shines in her portrayal of this iconic diva/songstress through the years. We see Anna Mae Bullock's childhood in Nutbush, Tennessee when she belts out hymns in church with her already powerful voice. We see her as a sweet, shy country girl traveling to the big city where her talent is discovered by the Svengali who becomes her husband/manager...Ike Turner. We feel the emotional and mental anguish she suffers at his hands with each brutal blow. We cheer for her success. And finally, we rejoice when she finds the strength to walk away from this toxic relationship and reclaim her life on her own terms. It remains as moving as it was nearly 20 years ago when it first came out. Nearly all of Tina's hits (my favorite songs) are featured in this film, especially the title soundtrack "What's Love Got to Do With It".

I agree with the other reviewers...this movie is definitely a must-see. It is especially important for anyone who has ever been trapped in an abusive situation, to show them that they too can find the strength within to walk away because they deserve better. I've always been an enormous fan of Tina Turner not only because of her talent, but because her story speaks to me on a human level. She starts out as a girl unsure of herself, her spirit broken, but in the end she emerges as a self-actualized woman. Some might view this as a story of feminist empowerment but it is really about love...learning to love yourself and severing ties with destructive people. It reminds me of Maya Angelou's two poems "Still I Rise" and "Phenomenal Woman". These poems remind me of Tina because despite the abuse, she found a way to keep going and she came out on top in the end.

Overall, five stars for a riveting performance by Angela Bassett!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What's Love Got To Do With It?
What's Love Got To Do With It? by Jamie Anderson (DVD - 1999)
$6.25 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.