Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-read
This book, believe it or not, is a page-turner! As someone who works with children, I read with fascination Dr. Boaler's description of exactly what I have seen among my students, my own children, and even my friends: how math in school has alienated so many of us from its true nature and its usefulness in the real world. The first half of the book identifies problems...
Published on July 26, 2008 by Elizabeth B.

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Interesting Points, Puzzling Questions -
Author Boaler is to be commended for her focus on outcomes, including degree of pupil interest in further mathematics work. On the other hand, I don't understand why teachers are dictated to so much - let them choose the approach most comfortable for them, as long as pupil outcomes and interest are acceptable. Doing otherwise undermines staff motivation and precludes...
Published on April 2, 2010 by Loyd E. Eskildson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-read, July 26, 2008
This book, believe it or not, is a page-turner! As someone who works with children, I read with fascination Dr. Boaler's description of exactly what I have seen among my students, my own children, and even my friends: how math in school has alienated so many of us from its true nature and its usefulness in the real world. The first half of the book identifies problems and why they are urgent, and the last half shows some things we we can do about it. It also has a lot of references so that when I talk to parents I have some back-up. I am so glad I read it and think it is a must-read for parents and teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book any Math Teacher or Parent can EVER read, March 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's Math Got to Do with It?: How Parents and Teachers Can Help Children Learn to Love Their Least Favorite Subject (Paperback)
I just wish those in charge of testing would read this book--then we could potentially teach kids challenging math instead of rote math, and turn out problem-solvers instead of human calculators.

Honestly, as a Math Teacher and as a mother, this is the best book I have ever encountered on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very insightful, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
a highly recommended read if you want to understand US math education and get a good perspective on it. I would recommend it to any parent of a school aged child, particularly with all changes in US education system taking place nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's Math Got to Do with It?: How Parents and Teachers Can Help Children Learn to Love Their Least Favorite Subject (Paperback)
Every math teacher should read this book, since it provides an interesting and fun way to teach the common core standards. The main theme of the book is how to engage students in math through problem solving, including math puzzles. The author contributes to the "math wars", as Jo Boaler refers to, by being biased against direct teaching. I don't predict too many non-math educators enjoying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every parent and teacher should read this book!, February 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's Math Got to Do with It?: How Parents and Teachers Can Help Children Learn to Love Their Least Favorite Subject (Paperback)
This book is written for parents and teachers and provides a realistic view of what is happening in today's schools regarding mathematics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Math has everything to do with it!, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great way to think about education in general and math in particular. I recommend reading chapters 6, 7, and 8 about math thinking first and then going back to the more politically provacative chapters. That way you have a picture of the teaching and learning that the author advocates. The author is offering a free on-line course for teachers and parents In July-August 2013 and a course for math students in the fall of 2013, through Stanford. I am trying the adult course, inspired by the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's Math Got to Do with It?: How Parents and Teachers Can Help Children Learn to Love Their Least Favorite Subject (Paperback)
This book describes math the way t ought to be taught, and offers many examples of success. I wish it outlined more of the how to, but still AWESOME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's Math Got to Do with It?: How Parents and Teachers Can Help Children Learn to Love Their Least Favorite Subject (Paperback)
There is a lot to like about this book. The author gives good information on how math is taught or not taught. She portrays a good method of engaging kids to understand what they are doing through active participation and communication. I can't help but think that the "old style" of teaching math is depicted as more stagnant than it is in many classrooms though. Of course, the teacher's skills are mentioned as important, but not emphasized as the major role studies suggest (Boaler is somewhat lacking in providing supportive research). There are studies that show that the teachers' relationships with kids are probably the biggest factor of positive outcomes (along with a competent method), which is not mentioned.

Good information of how kids can think of numbers through number flexibility for example, but she does not provide a convincing argument regarding tracking.

Worthwhile to read, but a bit 'windy' at times getting across fairly simple ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Miss This Book, March 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A book review in the January 2011 edition of The American Mathematical Monthly highly recommended What's Math Got To Do With It? Having read the book, I recommend it without reservation to any teacher of mathematics from elementary school through college and to parents of children in math classes at any level. Jo Boaler is an internationally known expert in mathematics education and a scholarly advocate of the mathematics reform movement. In addition to all the interesting studies that Dr. Boaler presents in support of her positions, the book has the benefit of being a very easy read. So much of what she said rang true to me based upon my experiences as a student and a teacher in math classes and upon my work in industry as a mathematical modeler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Interesting Points, Puzzling Questions -, April 2, 2010
This review is from: What's Math Got to Do with It?: How Parents and Teachers Can Help Children Learn to Love Their Least Favorite Subject (Paperback)
Author Boaler is to be commended for her focus on outcomes, including degree of pupil interest in further mathematics work. On the other hand, I don't understand why teachers are dictated to so much - let them choose the approach most comfortable for them, as long as pupil outcomes and interest are acceptable. Doing otherwise undermines staff motivation and precludes accountability. I did like the idea of making the subject more interesting with real world examples, though wonder why the teachers had to create these examples themselves - what are the book publishers being paid to do? On the other hand, I was disappointed that Boaler didn't examine math classes in Asia - where the pupils do really well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaab20e88)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.