Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronstadt & Riddle: How Can You Go Wrong?
I was never a fan of Linda Ronstadt until she recorded "What's New," "Lush Life" and "For Sentimental Reasons." Nelson Riddle did an excellent job in bringing out the very best of Linda Ronstadt with a new repertoire of ageless and romantic standards. She did very outstanding performances and I believe that she's worthy to be called a versatile singer.

Her...
Published on December 3, 2003 by Rebecca*rhapsodyinblue*

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Linda, what a voice!
Chose this less then enthusiastic rating only because I was disappointed with some of the songs selected. I was not however disappointed with the renditions performed by Linda. Her voice is always thrilling to listen to regardless of the songs on the disc.
Published 3 months ago by J. J. Dennis


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronstadt & Riddle: How Can You Go Wrong?, December 3, 2003
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
I was never a fan of Linda Ronstadt until she recorded "What's New," "Lush Life" and "For Sentimental Reasons." Nelson Riddle did an excellent job in bringing out the very best of Linda Ronstadt with a new repertoire of ageless and romantic standards. She did very outstanding performances and I believe that she's worthy to be called a versatile singer.

Her heartfelt renditions of George and Ira Gershwin's classics," I've Got A Crush On You" and "Someone To Watch Over Me," are my very favorites. I also like her superb interpretation of Irving Berlin's "What'll I Do?" She delivers these songs with intensity and full of emotions. Very impressive! Her voice is a perfect match for these romantic classics.

This CD is a keeper and you will enjoy listening to it now and forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, LR---for bringing old songs to young ears..., April 24, 2004
By 
William E. Adams (Midland, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
Back in 1983, the so-called "Great American Songbook" was largely left on the shelf. Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Tony Bennett and others who could really sing 'em and swing 'em were not as big as they used to be, and a generation of record buyers was growing up without much exposure to The Gershwins, Cole Porter, Irving Berlin and other great writers of the first half of the century. Then Linda, a country/folk/rock artist, hooked up with elder statesman bandleader and arranger Nelson Riddle for this album of standards. It sold well, leading to two more collaborations, each of them just about equal to "What's New". (In fact, I might like "Lush Life' just a hair better.) The product proved that Riddle still could deliver the quality he became famous for in the '50's during collaborations with the greatest singers of that era. And to me, already a Linda fan, it proved that she, in many ways, could wear the title "great singer." These nine tracks are mostly mellow, even melancholy, lyrics about lost love, longing for love, and the loneliness of unrequited love. Well done all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopelessly Biased, June 23, 2008
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
I was very proud to have worked on all three("What's New","Lush Life",and"For Sentimental Reason's"with my late father.The last album"For Sentimental Reasons"wasn't released until the year following his death(1986).My Father and Linda were very fond of each other.My father would say that she(Linda)has a wonderful instrument.He helped her to get the most out of her"Wonderful Instrument"!C.R.Riddle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking - Must Have, August 11, 2001
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
Unless you count Ringo Starr's SENTIMENTAL JOURNEY, 1983's WHAT'S NEW, the first of three albums Linda Ronstadt recorded with arranger Nelson Riddle, is perhaps the first major attempt by a bona fide rock artist to come to terms with the Great American Songbook of the Gershwins, Rodgers & Hart, Cole Porter and the other great songwriters who set the musical tone for American life and love before the advent of rock & roll. Possessed of considerable yet unpretentious vocal chops, Ronstadt is a good candidate for this formidable task. She clearly reveres this music and acquits herself winningly by turning in a well-chosen, well-performed set of familiar Sinatra and Billie Holiday-associated songs. Riddle's arrangements lightly support the singer and never upstage her. This late in the game, the master arranger's famous taste is fully in evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RONSTADT & RIDDLE'S SUPREME COLLABORATION, January 25, 2003
By 
Hugo (HOUSTON, TEXAS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
C'mon people! In it's initial run, WHAT'S NEW, peaked at #3 on the Billboard Album Charts and sold well over three million copies in vinyl alone here in the USA! Her videos from the album were played on MTV & VH-1 BOTH. A popular "IN CONCERT" HBO video was issued commercially, as well as a featurette on ABC's 20/20. To top all that off, LINDA RONSTADT & NELSON RIDDLE, more than any other artists in musical history, bridged the wide musical gap between Rock And Roll and the very wide ranging classic American Standards Songbook of the pre-rock era, with ONE ALBUM. Linda may have lost a few fans during this period, but she gained millions of new fans, both in her parents & grand parents age brackets as well as younger fans. Linda Ronstadt longed to explore the music before her birth, and she chose the finest orchestra leader-arranger-musician to guide her, NELSON RIDDLE. The phenomenal success of WHAT'S NEW led to a 2nd album, LUSH LIFE(another platinum seller)and to a third, FOR SENTIMENTAL REASONS, during whose recording sessions, Nelson Riddle passed away. All three albums are also included completely in the double cd pacakage: 'ROUND MIDNIGHT - LINDA RONSTADT & NELSON RIDDLE ORCHESTRA. The music chosen by Ronstadt & Riddle is timeless and appeals to every generation of music fans. Ronstadt's three Nelson Riddle collaborations are a tribute to his musical legacy and showcase the master arranger-musician in his prime, decades after his commercial peak and much celebrated recordings with Frank Sinatra, Ella Fizgerald, Dean Martin, Eddie Fisher,and many more singers of the post WWII era, as well as his own Nelson Riddle Orchestra best sellers. Thank you NELSON, for the great music you made with my favorite girl singer...she must be very proud. These were Nelson's final encores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standards updated, September 13, 2000
By 
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
By far my favorite version of Someone to Watch Over Me. Everyone else just pales in comparison. Great background, wonderful mood. Want a great definition of torch singer, give this a chance. Some very old standards with more modern arrangements and a terrific voice. We know she can sing anything, but this is what I love to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable album from Linda Ronstadt, May 19, 2004
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
This was an interesting change of pace in Linda Ronstadt's career. Instead of competing with everyone else, she decided to do an album of old standards with Nelson Riddle. She did three albums like this, and this is by far my favorite. She would have benefitted from not following this up with two others, which are not as cohesive or strong as WHAT'S NEW is. Nevertheless, I think vocally she sounds great on these tracks, and she makes them her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doen't get any better than this...., February 11, 2014
By 
Vangard "V. SQ" (BURLINGTON, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
...until the other two albums. But this was the first. i read how Linda had to fight to get this made, and then really fight to have Riddle. Shame on them. No one can do it better than the master, the man who worked with so many of the great singers who sang these songs in the first place. Riddle really brings out the best in Linda.
I always knew that Linda possessed one of the best vocal pipes in the business, and Riddle really brings out the best of her in a different way.
It was quite interesting (& ballsy), back in the 80's, for a rock/country singer to 'go back in time' and sing such old classics, in the old standard classic way. Updated but still done the way they were written. Thank you Linda and Riddle for reintroducing many of these classics to a 'youngster' back then.
I've Got A Crush On You in simply luchous, so breathy. The title track outstanding. The whole album is outstanding. It is one of those few albums that I listen to all the way through. The other two in this series are excellent, but with certain songs I'd rather listen to than others.
You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The real star of this album is Nelson Riddle, September 16, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
Linda Ronstadt took a fair amount of grief when she did this album in 1983. Keep in mind that for much of the late 70s, she was selling out huge concert venues as Britney Spears does today (the difference is that Linda can sing well). "What's New" was quite a departure for her. However, it holds up well as did the third album of standards with Riddle. This great conductor and arranger has handled most of Frank Sinatra's best work. He died in the mid-80s, but his legacy remains. The songs on this album are gorgeously orchestrated. Linda's voice is well suited for the songs, though having seen her in concert in the last five years, she does them better now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linda Ronstadt and some of the best songs ever written, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's New (Audio CD)
I don't think anyone could deny this is probably one of the most beautiful albums ever produced. Great American Songbook, Nelson Riddle Orchestra, and sung by one of the most beautiful voices ever recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What's New
What's New by Linda Ronstadt (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.