Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now May4th

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 6, 2014
Most of the reviews of the quality of a DVD (and even a VHS tape!) are not relevant to this Blu-ray release of What's New Pussycat from Kino Lorber.

The quality of this Blu-ray is excellent. The colors are bright and gorgeous.

The film itself stars Peter O'Toole, Peter Sellers, Romy Schneider, Capucine, Paula Prentiss and Ursula Andress. The film also stars Woody Allen, in his first film. Woody also wrote the screenplay. The film is an anarchic 1960s comedy with many funny scenes, including one with Woody and Peter Sellers filmed on a bank of the Seine (the film is set in Paris).

The plot, such as it is, concerns Peter O'Toole's problem that he wants to marry Romy Schneider, but is distracted by Capucine, Paula Prentiss and Ursula Andress. As Woody Allen's character might say, this is a problem?

Finally, the trailer for the film (included on the Blu-ray) cautions that the film is for adults only. Which only goes to show how things have changed in the last 49 years. The sexual content in the film would not seem out of place today on the Disney channel. There is no violence, drug use or bad language. If rated today, the film would be PG-13--because of cigarette smoking!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2001
"What's New Pussycat" was Woody Allen's first major film release. Filmed in the city of love, Paris, the story centers around the very complicated love life of the character Michael James (Peter O'Toole), who is trying to stop seeing other women so that he can focus on the one woman he really loves, Carol (Romy Schneider). To help him overcome his sexual addictions, he seeks professional help from the pschotherapist Dr. Fritz Fassbender (Peter Sellers). Unfortuneately for Michael, Dr. Fassbander is in greater need of psychotherapy since his sexual addictions are even more complicated. In the opening scene of the movie, Dr. Fassbender and his wife Anna (Eddra Gale) are fighting about one of his love affairs that she has discovered. She asks him, "Is she prettier than me?" He responds, "Is she prettier than you? I am prettier than you!".
Can Dr. Fassbender help Michael overcome his addiction to love affairs to gain Carol's trust? You will probably enjoy discovering this answer by watching this very funny movie.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2004
One has to enter into the spirit of the thing: this is a B-movie and doesn't aspire to be anything else. I love the ambiance, the actors, and many of the quirky lines. One of the reviewers said that beautiful women were throwing themselves at Allen, Sellers, and O'Toole, but it's really only O'Toole (it may be the only film where Allen is rejected as much as he would be in real life were he not rich and famous). I admit that as a feminist I have to suspend certain principles, but it's too fun not to love it regardless. My favorite line is the stupidly charming "You are a monster and a monster in that order" by the long-haired psychoanalyst played by Sellers. This is the only movie where Sellers doesn't annoy me to death and is more and more the only one in which I can watch Woody Allen without wanting to strangle him. Not Romy Schneider's best work but always fascinating to look at.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 1999
I watched this movie while I was studying for my psychiatry exam. The characters of this movie exhibit the text-book features of all classic psychiatric illnesses. Result: I scored 100% on my exam (note: I have chosen NOT to become a psychiatrist, but sometimes I wonder what I am missing...). My advise to MDs and other citizens of this planet alike: DO NOT MISS THIS ONE!!! Woody Allen KNOWS what he is talking about here!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2000
I have been a Peter Sellers fan since the age of 10. This movie is just plain hilarious. From the first scene to the last you will be rolling on the floor. You must listen to the dialogue carefully to catch the subtle parts! Every character plays their part with perfection. The overall atmosphere is very european, taking you back to a simpler and happier time. This is one movie you can watch hundreds of times and never become bored. Purchase this treasure and keep it in your video collection for years to come.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 4, 2005
I love reading reviews by my God and Goddess-like contemporaries. It's so easy to pass judgement on distant bits of culture from our high and holy PC Olympus! I imagine if the Puritans had had the opportunity to write movie reviews they'd have had about the same tone.

Back in the Sixties (which, oddly, had a history other than that involving Viet Nam, Civil Rights, and Feminism) folks were shaking themselves loose of the straightjacket that had been on them since, at least, the Great Depression, at most, the 13th Century. People wanted fun, color, and wackiness, and they enjoyed getting it. Why else would big no-nonsense film companies interested in profits sink dough into plotless wonders like this film and, say, Casino Royale?

This is kind of a fascist age. Folks of all political stripes are into no-compromise black and white ethics. Everyone's got an opinion. Everyone knows what's right for you. A movie like this is just great for those of us who find all this SERIOUSNESS tiresome, just as it was great for our kindred sisters and brothers back in the Sixties who were sick of their parents lecturing them (Nowadays it's our kids that sound like our dopey tight-[censored] parents--how did we let that happen?). There's no relevancy here, no addressing of pressing social issues--it's just mindless incorrect stupid fun. Buy it and hide it before the young'uns get around to burning it. Watch it while half-listening for the sound of jack boots on the front porch.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
What's not to love? A mod-madness time capsule with peak cast
and perky Bacharach score. Warren Beatty passes on lead, but O'Toole
rides in from Arabia to keep the messy brilliance hopping. Woody debuts.
Ursula scorches. Critics pounce. Audiences flock. Sellers, Allen, Andress
and Bacharach reunite the following year for the equally manic Casino Royale.
Would any man today dare approach a woman with that cocky icebreaker?
What's New Pussycat?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
This was Woody Allen's first movie that I have not seen in decades. Decided, for nostalgia sake, to watch it. I often forget how good Peter Sellers was in just about every role he played. He had to be the original John Belushi and Robin Williams ... brilliant and nuts! Think my favorite remains Dr. Strangelove. Obviously, Woody Allen has come a very long way since making What's New Pussycat and has made some remarkable movies over the past several decades. But, if you'd care to see where he began, What's New Pussycat will explain a lot! Plus, just seeing that great cast when they were all young is worth the price of admission!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Rented this movie because that was the only option on Instant Prime Video. This was an old movie and it's hilarious. Peter Sellers, Capucine, Romy Schneider, etc. what a great cast and what a crazy movie. I really recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
This is one of the "grooviest" movies ever made and deserves 5 stars for comedy. Unfortunately Amazon (or who ever supplied Amazon this disastrous version) has made a complete mess of the audio. It's a shame because Tom Jones has some platinum pipes and this soundtrack does him no justice. Don't waste your money trying to stream this from Amazon, but do try to watch it from another quality source. It's hysterical and the fashions are a must see and Peter Sellers, Woody Allen and cohorts are all so young and mod!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.