Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, February 10, 2011
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
This book consists of several hundred brief essays on various wine topics. It's literally chock full of fun and interesting tidbits of info and trivia about wine. It's organized by overall subject such as winemaking, how to read a label, or wine growing regions, so it's not a haphazard collection of brief essays. Some of the descriptions of wines are a little fanciful at times, but the author's enthusiasm for the subject is contagious and the book is just fun to read, plus you'll learn quite a bit about wine. I think this book would be most appropriate for the beginning to intermediate reader. I found the chapters on types of grape varietals and wine growing regions the most interesting. It's fascinating to learn the different characteristics of each grape and how that is reflected in the wine, some of which I'd never heard of before. I read this book after reading Kevin Zrally's Wine Course book and it was perfect for that. Also I liked the quality binding and better than average paper quality, which, although a bit more expensive, makes the book easier to use and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Try this then, December 5, 2010
By 
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
The title of this book is a question. The answer lies in the book. It is a 359-page book filled with very useful information that a wine lover will need. It is organised and to the point. The chapters cover a range of the most generally needed information: Buying wine; reading the label; grapes; wine regions; grapes to wine; how to taste; how to serve wine; storing and aging;wine travel and learning; and a glossary.

It tells us what a pinotage is; what chenin blanc tastes like; how to find Australian bargains; what goes with sushi; and many more. It has some amusing notes too. The author described two major styles of pinot noir (a grape variety) wine as likened to "Cate Blanchett" and "Angelina Jolie" - I suppose the rest of us will have to taste just the wine and imagine what it's like to to taste the stars.

Some of the information may be a little exaggerated, for example, when he teaches us how to pair nebbiolo (a grape variety) wine he says that the nebbiolo by itself is so tannic it might remind us of "sucking yesterday's tea-bag", but there are many nebbiolo wine that aren't as tannic as we are led to expect. The Australian "Two Hands" nebbiolo is tannic but not overpowering and can even be drunk easily by itself. His description of the different producer terms for Bordeaux and Burgaundy wine as "chateau" and "negociant" respectively will need clarification because they are more complicated than just a name, but the book was intended to provide specific information in brief terms for easy recollection. This was not meant to be a comprehensive book on wine, but that does not mean that it is a book meant only for the novice. It is a handy book that even the advanced wine drinker will be happy to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wine Lover's Reference, May 26, 2011
By 
Kechmocash "Susan" (Laguna Park, at Lake whitney Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
This is a great little guide with a lot of useful information, especially for the wine novice. It has a nice cardboard cover, and sturdy pages so will withstand a lot of wear and tear. It would be a cute hostess gift to go along with a bottle of wine. There is information about wine regions, how to pronounce the different types of grapes and wine types, how to pair wines with different foods, and many other tidbits of information. It is also an easy read. I leave it on the coffee table, and friends often pick it up and read several pages. It's a very good reference book that won't overwhelm you with TMI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide!, November 22, 2010
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
I'm really enjoying this book. It's a well-organized, well-thought out guide to buying wine. I've stayed away from buying other wine guides because of their resemblance to encyclopedias. I'm not interested in becoming a connoiseur, just want to be able to navigate a wine shop and be able to purchase delicious wines. This book gives in depth look at wine, but not in an overwhelming way. It's exactly what I was looking for. Thank you very much Wes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAQ Deluxe, November 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
A wonderful wine book, and a great gift for the novice consumer, as well as the avid wine lover. Terrific layout, and loaded with information and facts covering the wonderful world of wine! Bravo, Wes Marshall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's a Wine Lover To Do, October 23, 2010
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
This is a great book to get you more comfortable with the world of wine. It covers basic questions such as "What wines are best for sipping without food" and questions that you never thought to ask such as "Why are there roosters on Chianti labels?" I like to read a couple pages every night but it can also be used as a reference guide with sections such as How to Taste and Serving Wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!, September 17, 2010
By 
Corky (Wichita, KS) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
So much information presented in an easy-to-read, well-organized manner. Of all the wines books I've read, this one is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book That Answers Everything Question You Might Have About Wine, August 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
If you like wine and want to know more it, this book offers answers to every question imaginable. In fact, as it says on the cover, over 334 different wine-related pointers and tips are offered. It's a nicely produced book, with color photography, maps, charts, wine labels, and of course grapes. I'm a wine drinker, and I became more interested in wine after trips to France and to the Sonoma Valley. I even started a small collection of my favorites. Wine appreciation and collecting turns out to be very interesting. It's fun to learn about what makes a good wine and then use your knowledge and detective skills to find great wines at affordable prices. "What's a Wine Lover to Do?" is a great guidebook to take along on the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome wine book, December 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What's a Wine Lover to Do? (Paperback)
Love this book-it's for the newbie or the experienced wine drinker. Very informative-well-designed book-my husband who is not a wine drinker actually read this book and enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

What's a Wine Lover to Do?
What's a Wine Lover to Do? by Wes Marshall (Paperback - June 7, 2010)
$17.95 $14.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.