Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Hot Wheels R/C Terrain Twister Vehicle (Green) with Battery Pack System
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lori Mckenna Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$124.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 2, 2012
Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
On the scale of "neat ideas", this toy, the "Hot Wheels RC Terrain Twister Vehicle" ranks pretty highly, in my opinion. The packaging claims that the toy will go on land, water, and snow. But does it? And is it a great toy? Below are my pros and cons on this vehicle.

Pros:
- It does go over a variety of terrain ... grass, pavement (although the hard surface will scuff the surface of the plastic corkscrew threads, and the smoother the pavement the slower it goes forward/backwards), and in water. Not surprisingly, the one surface that it doesn't go well on is hardwood flooring, as the plastic on the treads can't grip a smooth surface effectively. It does go on carpets if you want to play inside, though. I haven't had a chance to test this yet on snow.
- It comes with two AA batteries for the remote, and a rechargeable battery pack for the vehicle itself. Including the rechargeable battery pack is a great idea, as I think this vehicle would just devour batteries.
- Although the recommended ages are from 8 to 13, my three children (ages 7, 5, and 3) all were able to enjoy playing with the toy
- It's reasonably sturdy, and can be "hosed off" when you're done playing with it

Cons:
- The toy goes faster "side to side" than forward and is a little hard to steer, neither of which is surprising, though, given how it propels itself
- You can get up to about half an hour of play time before you need to recharge the vehicle, and it takes about 4 hours per recharge (after you break in the battery). So basically figure that you'll need to recharge the battery after every time your kids play with this.

Overall ... this IS a neat toy. If your kids are playing with this at a park, they will draw a lot of interested observers. It's not perfect ... a longer battery life would be nice, it's slow moving forward, and is a little hard to steer, but it's fun, and it's something different. One note ... if you're going to give this as a present, you may want to open the present and pre-charge the battery so that it can be played when opened. (It takes 5 ½ hours to charge the first two times and then around 4 hours after that.) I like it. Four stars.
11 comment| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
I bought two of these cars for my sons years ago for Christmas, and they still work great! They've lasted all this time with a fair amount of abuse and don't work any differently than they did when they were new.

The cars really do work well in water. The kids love driving them straight into ponds and lakes and steering them around like boats. Pretty cool stuff. They also do work pretty well in snow.

My kids don't love the way the cars run out of those "extreme" conditions. They want the car to drive forward, but on land they don't do that very well. They can go forward, but slowly. You pretty much have to go sideways if you want any decent speed. If that doesn't bother you, then great! So if you are looking for a regular RC car this might not be your pick, because it is hard to steer it where you want it to go on land. If you want something different than the average use - this is an awesome choice.

Overall: cool toy, good quality, normal battery life in comparison to other RC cars - I'd buy them again.
22 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 26, 2012
Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is one of the best RC toys out there. Lots of fun. This is an actual all terrain vehicle. It works great on grass, dirt, pavement, and even works great going on water. I havent had a chance to try out on snow but it says it will work on that and it seems like it would. The battery does run out pretty fast and does take awhile to charge like most RC toys do. MY boys who are 6, 6, and 5 really loved this vehicle and had lots of fun playing with it. The controls are very easy to figure out and they had no problem doing this. This is one of the best RC toys I have played with as it does go pretty much anywhere. Again if you are looking for a RC toy for ages 5+ this is a great one to get.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
It was fun while it lasted but it didn't last past the first day. First thing I noticed is that there is no light on the charger to let you know when the battery is charged. Next, a screwdriver is required each time you need to put the rechargeable battery in to the vehicle or when you need to take it out to charge. It is definitely not waterproof even though it is advertised to go into water. My son drove it into a lake and it worked well for about 15 minutes and then it stopped working. When we pulled it out of the water it was leaking water out of the body of the vehicle. I opened the battery door and the battery compartment was damp as well. We did your best to try to dry it out but it never worked again after that. Me and my son are very disappointed :(
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
Don't waste your money on this item. I purchased for Christmas. Missing the plug to recharge the battery pack, Mattel will not replace parts. Spend $100 on a toy and the toy company has no parts for it. I will not purchase Mattel products that can not stand behind their product. Shame on Mattel!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2013
I ordered this for my Grandson. The first time he played with it, it worked for 15 minutes and it was done. Changed the batteries, but it did not work anymore. I would like a replacement. Please advise.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
i think this is a pretty great toy other than it is quite difficult to figure out the controls like the others reviews stated, i dont understand why they couldnt adjust the controller and make it so that when u push it forwards that the toy does as one would assume it to do and so forth...It is not as agile as the videos might have you believe, but fairly powerful. would have been nice to have removeable rubber treads to put on or off maybe to better go on pavement (?) and am waiting till the summer yet to see how well it will work on water...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
We bought it quite a while ago and now the boys just got it for Easter. They woke up happy and did not even bother with the candy. They have playing with it all day. So far the only issue is that it does not go straight on smooth floors. We have hardwood floors and it will not go straight. On the small parts of carpet, it goes straight. We took it out on the grass and it struggles a bit but it does work. So we tried it in the dirt field behind the house and the Twister worked just like it did in the video. Not bad, great concept. Next we need to find a pool to try it in...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
I bought this for my 10 year old son for Christmas and immediately took it outside to try it in the snow on Christmas day. It went like it was born to go in the snow! It seems to be built very durable, not like many $25 disposable rc toys. My boys have a propensity for destroying their toys but I fully expect this will survive even them. it has ample power, but doesn't care so much for carpet which slows it down a little. Haven't had a chance to play with it in the water yet, but am really looking forward to it. Even though this is kinda spendy, don't worry, it is built sturdy and I don't think you'll be disappointed with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
Kids played with this in the pool as advertised. Lasted one flip in the pool and then it turned into a useless brick. Completely dried it out to no avail. If you plan on playing with this near water, save your money. Even on dry land this thing won't move straight unless on grass. On any solid surface, it slides sideways.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.