Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars9
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 4, 2011
Mike Richardson has provided the senior executive an excellent guidebook for meeting the agility challenge. Mike successfully makes the case for Agility skills as "must have" capabilities. Mike's recipes are some of the first concrete prescriptions I've seen for meeting the ever-increasing "dynamic complexity" challenges. Mike's book is pioneering Agility best practices.

Mark Long
Founder, SuperLab
Author, Financing the New Venture (2000)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2011
Mike Richardson's book delighted me with both interesting stories and provocative new concepts. He provides fresh metaphors on what is in essence a systems thinking approach to strategic management. It's not a breezy read, you have to read actively and think deeply to appreciate and utilize his concepts. As Sir Francis Bacon once put it, "Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested: that is, some books are to be read only in parts, others to be read, but not curiously, and some few to be read wholly, and with diligence and attention." Mike`s book falls into the chew and digest category.

Terry Schmidt, author
Strategic Project Management Made Simple
founder, StrategicPlanningAcademy.com
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2011
Contemporary business success is not easily earned. Our markets are more fluid and fickle than most of today's executives have ever experienced. Mr. Richardson's Wheel$pin takes these realities and gives today's decision-makers practical tools to navigate in today's indecisive business world. He weaves the essence from previous business works with very recent, tough, decision-making examples like the BP Oil spill and Toyota's quality issues, to illustrate that agility is everything to today's growth-oriented companies. The author also applies the fighter pilot's term `OODA (Observe Orient Decide Act) loop' as a practical thought process to quickly navigate through today's rapidly changing environments.

The point is well made that business is more complex than ever. As a result, complex analysis is required to set a winning course, but that shouldn't translate to slow decision processing. Mr. Richardson states the `Devil is in the Dynamics', and forces the reader to think and adjust rapidly along multiple business criteria dimensions. To stay agile in market selection, organization and competitive proposition requires constant creative thought and realignment to outdistance competition. Infusing Quick Response codes that take the electronic reader to web links with even more rich business content adds to the book's own example of fluidity and dimension.

Mr. Richardson's book, or Manifesto as he labels it, transcends today's turbulent business environment. As executives we've long known we live in a world of perfect information for all who seek it. With Wheel$pin we are provided the tools to analyze our current situation and aggressively implement the agility required to win in tomorrow's environment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2011
Mike Richardson is a master at making the complex simple. He offers CEOs and business owners a sound model and methods for learning and mastering Organizational Agility. In today's warp speed world, only the agile will survive. A must read for those who want to succeed and achieve Breakthrough Results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2011
What a great read! Mike Richardson really understands the business world and is able to translate how to achieve success in his book. I wish I had read this book years ago when I first started my business!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
Mike Richardson has brought agility into the forefront, integrating the best of the last century of thought leaders. This book will not only show you the principles of gaining traction through horizontal alignment of process, platform, and organization, but more importantly give you the tools and insight you need to implement, and implement right away. Mike has a clear, no nonsense writing style that is fast paced and compels a bias for action to create positive outcomes for the readers and their organizations. The best business book I have read in 2011.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2011
I have the pleasure of knowing Mike Richardson personally. Having witnessed his ability to move strategic teams into OODA Loop action, this book is a must read for executives wanting to drive a more maneuverable ship. The ability to change directions quickly, stop ineffective habits and move to traction based activities is Mike's specialty in his own business and evidenced through the results of his business consultative services. Now you can tap into Mike's unique genius in this great resource for every executive.

Joy Campanaro
SVP Marketing
Total Gym
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
Very practical ideas to remain "on the ready" for any unforseen business situation. Learn to be quick to recoginize and first to act on opportunities and problems. Great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2011
Mike has tons of experience and his tools / program are meant to help entrepreneurs in real-life situations. Really a huge help!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.