Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Okay, so it's not THE soundtrack....but it's good
Fans of Rob Reiner's 1989 romantic comedy "When Harry Met Sally..." will tell you that this Harry Connick, Jr. album that's sold in the Movie Soundtrack section of most music emporiums (including online stores such as this) is not, in fact, from the original motion picture soundtrack. Instead, Columbia Records released this non-soundtrack as When Harry Met...
Published on November 26, 2003 by Alex Diaz-Granados

versus
121 of 129 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The songs in the movie and their whereabout
"Music from the motion picture", what a misleading title. If you do not pay particular attention to this, you might think that the songs in this CD are those heard in the movie. In fact, none of them is, including those songs sung by Harry Connick, Jr., his versions here are different from those in the movie.
The followings are the songs featured in the movie and...
Published on June 7, 2003 by Long Distance Voyager


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 129 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The songs in the movie and their whereabout, June 7, 2003
By 
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
"Music from the motion picture", what a misleading title. If you do not pay particular attention to this, you might think that the songs in this CD are those heard in the movie. In fact, none of them is, including those songs sung by Harry Connick, Jr., his versions here are different from those in the movie.
The followings are the songs featured in the movie and their origin:
1. Our love is here to stay - Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong
2. Let's call the whole thing off - Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong (the above two comes from the Verve CD "Ella & Louis Again")
3. Don't pull your love - Hamilton, Joe Frank and Reynolds (From the MCA CD "Hamilton, Joe Frank & Reynolds - Greatest Hits)
4. Rambling man - Allman Brothers (From the Polygram CD "A Decade of Hits 1969-1979)
5. Right time of the night - Jennifer Warnes (From the Arista CD "The best of Jennifer Warnes)
6. Where or when - Ella Fitzgerald (From the Verve CD (1) "Sings the Rodgers and Hart Song Book [ORIGINAL RECORDING REMASTERED]" (2) "The very best of Rodgers and Hart Song Book" released in 2007. (Updated on 29 Feb 2008)
7. Winter Wonderland - Ray Charles (From the CBS CD "The spirit of Christmas")
8. Have yourself a Merry little Christmas - Bing Crosby (From the Capitol CD " Bing Crosby's Christmas Classics [ORIGINAL RECORDING REISSUED] [ORIGINAL RECORDING REMASTERED])
9. It had to be you - Frank Sinatra (From WEA International CD "Romance"[IMPORT] and Rhino/Wea UK CD "A Fine Romance - The Love Songs of Frank Sinatra [Import])

Two songs were sung by Billy Crystal in the movie:
1. The Surrey with the fringe on top (with Meg Ryan when singing thru the Karaoke machine)(originally a song featured in "Oklahoma! by Gordon MacRae/Shirley Jones/Charlotte Greenwood ", my choice is Frank Sinatra's version from "Sinatra Sings Rodgers & Hammerstein" which I think is the most appropriate version)
2. Call me (singing to the answering machine of Sally)(originally a hit by Petula Clark in the 60's)

The following are the songs/music heard in the movie, not available anywhere else:
(A) Songs sung by Harry Connick, Jr. featured in the movie included:
1. Don't get around much anymore
2. The Tables have turned (Composed by Marc Shaiman)
3. Medley : It had to be you/Let's call the whole thing off/But not for me (heard at the end credit sequence)

(B) Instrumental
1. "Adante of Mozart's String Quintet in E Flat, KV 614" is performed during the wedding ceremony of Carrie Fisher and Bruno Kirby.
2. "Autumn in New York","Isn't it romantic", "I could write a book", "Stomping at the Savoy", "But not for me", "Say it isn't so" and "Don't be that way" all featured in the movie as score and are beautifully played (as shown in the end credit, some of these songs are performed by Harry Connick, Jr Trio, Orchestrations by Marc Shaiman and Thom Sharp).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Okay, so it's not THE soundtrack....but it's good, November 26, 2003
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Fans of Rob Reiner's 1989 romantic comedy "When Harry Met Sally..." will tell you that this Harry Connick, Jr. album that's sold in the Movie Soundtrack section of most music emporiums (including online stores such as this) is not, in fact, from the original motion picture soundtrack. Instead, Columbia Records released this non-soundtrack as When Harry Met Sally...Music From the Motion Picture. Yes, the songs played and sung here by Connick were heard in the movie...but most of them were performed by other artists.
This doesn't mean the album is bad; it's not. It just isn't an "original soundtrack album."
That having been said, this 10-track set is an enjoyable collection of romantic standards, some of them now over six decades old yet sounding timeless. Some of them are cheerful and peppy ("It Had To Be You," which is heard in two versions here), some are riffs on loneliness and separation ("But Not For Me" and "Don't Get Around Much Anymore"),others still are odes to romance ("I Could Write a Book" and the gently reflective "Where or When"). There is even a little bit of the holiday spirit added in for good measure (a solo piano rendition of "Winter Wonderland").
Connick pulls double duty as vocalist and piano player in most of the tracks (with the exception of "But Not For Me," with Marc Shaiman doing the honors at the piano), ably reflecting each song's emotional context with his old-fashioned stylings and New Orleans accent. Listen carefully to the World War II-era "Don't Get Around Much Anymore" and there's a sense of longing there for an absent spouse or lover. In his rendition of "Where or When," Connick conveys the feeling of awe everyone feels when he or she has fallen in love with someone, yet can't figure out "where or when" the transition occurred.
I suppose I like this album because I am, as Louis Renault said of Rick Blaine in Casablanca, a "rank sentimentalist" -- a charge to which I cheerfully plead guilty. The fact that these songs were around 30 or more years before my birth over 40 years ago and can still touch people's hearts and minds is proof that some things are indeed timeless. Connick and Shaiman (who also produced the album) chose their material well, making When Harry Met Sally....Music From the Motion Picture a fine addition to anyone's library of jazz and easy listening CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 67 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware! It's not really the movie soundtrack!, February 11, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I was very disappointed to receive this CD only to find out that the movie's original artists were replaced with Harry Connick Jr.'s interpretations of their music. Although I like Connick's music, it was the soundtrack I was after. Be a better shopper than I was, and be sure you're getting what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How good this is depends on what you're looking for, November 3, 2005
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
If you're looking at this because you want the actual songs played in the movie WHEN HARRY MET SALLY, this ain't it. These are songs that were heard in the movie in renditions by New Orleans jazzer Harry Connick, Jr. (who was quite literally a 'young lion' at the time of this recording..just 21) rather than the cuts from Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong, Ray Charles, Bing Crosby, and Frank Sinatra that were in the flick. [Connick DID sing "Don't get around much anymore" in the movie along with a medley of "It had to be you/Let's call the whole thing off/But not for me" (over the ending credits) but those are different versions than the ones heard here.] Connick's band DID provide much of the score with instrumental renderings of "Autumn in New York","Isn't it romantic?", "I could write a book", "The tables have turned". "Stomping at the Savoy", "But not for me", "Say it isn't so" and "Don't be that way".

So if you are looking for an actual soundtrack to WHMS, sorry to tell you it doesn't exist. You'll need to buy several CDs and burn your own. If however you're open to hearing more of that voice from the movie, read on.

Connick could be one of the last of the crooners, utilizing creamy smooth vocals, however he keeps the delivery diverse thanks to his jazz chops. He's not afraid to do new things with arrangements of hoary old standards (like his take on "Winter Wonderland" that turns the familiar carol into Naw'lins boogie-woogie or making big band showcase "Stompin' at the Savoy" into a trio number).

Those who are looking for "big band" might find this recording disappointing: only "It Had to Be You", "But Not for Me", and "I Could Write a Book" actually fit THAT mold. Most of this reminds me more of a smoky nightclub: tasty small combo playing with an emphasis on subtlety more than brassy braggadocio. The focus is quite squarely on Connick's vocals and piano. For this reason, this is probably a love it or hate it proposition: If you don't like Connick's voice you'll loathe it, if you like it you'll adore the disc.

HIGHLIGHTS:
A bossa nova backbeat from the sticks of "Tain" Watts makes for a distinctive version of "Love is Here to Stay". Frank Wess contributes a breathy tenor sax to the proceedings, commenting on the phrases Connick sings before adding a relaxed solo. A trio of Connick, bassist Benjamin Jonah Wolfe, and drummer Watts conjures up plenty of sound on a swinging version of Benny Goodman stand-by "Stompin' at the Savoy". Harry's work on the ivories is shown to best advantage here. For "Don't Get Around Much Anymore" he plays it two ways: Is the character simply too LAZY to "get around"? The lackadaisical tone up until the bridge would suggest that, but then the band charges in up until the close to reveal the passion and fire lying underneath...he really CAN'T bear it without her after all. Connick adlibs "I need you baby" as he faces the prospect of yet another lonely night. The finger-snapping hipster opening of "Let's Call the Whole Thing Off" is delightful. By the end of the tune, Connick is a jovial store-front preacher testifying to his band as they shout out "Call it off!" in reply.

LOWS:
There's way too much melodrama in "But not for Me"..it sounds a bit too much like a Walt Disney song. The arrangement of "Autumn in New York" is simply too busy...too much is happening with the rhythm that distracts from the melody.

BOTTOM LINE:
It's not the soundtrack. It IS nice modern jazz interpretations of time-tested classics and it hangs together well. If you have a love for vocal jazz, you should give this a listen.

3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars False advertising, April 29, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
For anybody who thinks they're buying the soundtrack of "When Harry Met Sally," this CD is a disappointment. This is NOT the soundtrack of the movie, but rather a collection of remakes of the movie songs. Don't get me wrong, I love Harry Connick Jr, and this is a nice CD. But I love the original music of "When Harry Met Sally," and I wish I could buy the actual movie soundtrack, which is what this is advertised to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the soundtrack, December 19, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
If you liked the music to the movie, you won't like this album unless you love Harry Connick. He sings his renditions of the songs instead of the artists you heard in the movie. Personally, I don't like him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not the original soundtrack, September 15, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
This collection of music by Harry Connick, whom I normally like very much, is NOT the music we heard in the motion picture. (...) I was very disappointed by this product and would not recommend this CD to anyone. Note that I'm not a Harry basher. I saw him live this summer at the Hollywood Bowl and he was fabulous. It's just a shame that this CD is borderline (...) presenting itself as the movie music (just look at the jacket). I cannot recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite to say the least!, January 3, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I loved it! It's that simple! At first, I was a little apprehensive of the fact that only one artist was present. The majority of soundtracks, as we all know, feature a variety of artists which makes them appealing because we experience different musical genre on a single cd. I was, however, pleasantly surprised and think that Harry Connick Jr. did an excellent job on this soundtrack! I appreciated it most on one cold rainy day when I curled up with a hot mug of mocha latte to read a book (Actually, I enjoyed the music so much I ended up just sitting there listening to it and staring out of the window).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't say enough...!!!, October 30, 1999
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I can't say enough about this album! It has had the single most important infulence on my musical taste. My freshman year of high school(1993) a friend let me borrrow this tape and it has affected me ever since. The songs on this album first opened me up to the wonderful world of jazz. Harry's smooth, melodic voice allows you to feel the pain and despair behind songs such as,"But Not For Me", and "Where or When".It also allows you to feel the joy and jubilation on "It Had to Be You". Not only is his singing superb, his piano performance, band leading, and arranging put him in a league all his own. This album began my LOVE affair with Harry Connick Jr. and also with Frank Sinatra, for I never would have sought out his music had it not been for Harry's versions of these timeless songs. In my vast collection of cds I have to say this is one of my top three favorites. Anyone would be privledged to listen to this fine work of art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE most romantic CD Harry Connick has done!, August 29, 2000
By 
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Although it's not actually the soundtrack, it's fine by me. He's incredibly gifted and a joy to listen. Who doesn't want to dance around with the the one you love when you hear him croon, "It had to be you"? My mother's forty years older than me and the generation gap is bridged when we heard this stuff. It's great! Check out other great CD's from him such as "She" & "We Are In love" :) Note of interest: Harry actually wanted to use "Recipe of Love" for the movie, "When Harry Met Sally", but much to his dismay, it was turned down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture
When Harry Met Sally: Music From The Motion Picture by Harry Connick Jr. (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.