Customer Reviews


806 Reviews
5 star:
 (649)
4 star:
 (97)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You should meet Harry and Sally
Something has always bothered me about romantic comedies, i.e. you rarely actually get to see the couple fall in love, you know, actually witness the growth of the bond between them. They just fall in love, but you don't really get to be there. Except when you're watching 'When Harry Met Sally'. Rob Riener made a better film from a Nora Ephron script than she ever...
Published on December 23, 1999 by serpico1000

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible repackaging of an already released product. Skip It!
This is nothing more than the original release of the DVD of the classic film repackaged to include a compilation of music from the decade in which it was released. The worst thing is that none of the music on the CD has anything to do with the movie itself. I'm not even sure that any of the songs were released around the time that the movie was in theaters. Had it been...
Published on January 15, 2008 by Count Vertigo


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You should meet Harry and Sally, December 23, 1999
Something has always bothered me about romantic comedies, i.e. you rarely actually get to see the couple fall in love, you know, actually witness the growth of the bond between them. They just fall in love, but you don't really get to be there. Except when you're watching 'When Harry Met Sally'. Rob Riener made a better film from a Nora Ephron script than she ever could. No offence to her, she's just a better writer than she is director. And Meg Ryan is so much better with Billy Crystal than Tom Hanks, although I have nothing but respect for Mr.Hanks. The thing is that its not just a genuinely and consistently funny movie, it's also terribly romantic. It spans about twleve years in the lives of both Harry and Sally, from their first meeting at college. They grow and change, they like and dislike each other, they become romantically involved and then they don't. The whole thing is very engrossing and witty but never seems far fetched or fantastical. I rate this movie as a contender for cinema's best romantic comedy. Enjoy the dialogue, the charm, the music, the drama and melodrama and give praise to Rob Riener and his magnificant team who made a wonderful film. The stars have not reunited since and it is possibly for the best as it would be an extremely difficult task to repeat this kind of quality. Chemistry and genuine emtion are hard to come by in this genre, enjoy it while you can. Its available on video and DVD and is rarely edited for T.V.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming, Insightful Valentine....., November 10, 2001
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally - Special Edition (DVD)
As a rule I generally do not review films...if only because after attempting this before I find I'm totally inadequate! I know nothing of camera angles, dialogue or for that matter what to even look for in any given movie! I suspect I would have flunked out of Film 101! Obviously music reviews are my "forte" but since this film ranks as one of my absolute favorites than it's worthy of another attempt. Wish me luck!
Rob Reiner's "When Harry Met Sally" is for me,after Woody Allen's "Hanna and Her Sisters" and Bogart's "Casablanca" one of the films that I simply need to watch over and over.These three films have, for me,such an absolute "presence" about them that is difficult to explain. As for this film it is simply is the "standard" for which other romantic comedies should be judged! Meg Ryan and Billy Crystal have such real, honest chemistry between them (which is obviously imperative in a film such as this) that when on screen together they literally jump out at you. Plus, the supporting characters, especially Carrie Fisher, playing Sally's best friend,is a joy to watch...but than again, they all are! Including Bruno Kirby,as Harry's best friend. In fact the dialogue between Billy Crystal and Bruno Kirby at the Giant's football game ranks as one of the strongest scene's in the film....if not one of the most honest!
Also, kudo's should go to the cinematography which, showing New York, in all four seasons,especially fall, is visually stunning. An absolutely beautiful film to watch! The dialogue is extremely funny, not too clever(thank-you), and above all,at times, insightful in what it has to say about relationships and how we go about this sometimes horrible ritual called dating.I know of no other movie that can make me laugh so hard at one moment and shake my head with wonder as one of the characters state something so honest,real and emotionally true that I almost cry. I may be overstating my case here but if so, than oh so slightly!
In the end, a film that I care for deeply because I care so much for the characters and one that I never tire of watching. Adding to the mix a wonderful soundtrack by Harry Connick and you have the perfect valentine.One of those few films where everything simply feels right.Ummm....now if only my dates would go so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Romantic Comedy Classic, December 14, 1999
This is one of the few movies I can watch over and over and never tire of seeing it. It is so true to life about relaionships betwen men and women. Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan are the perfect actors to play Harry Burns and Sally Albright, the completely opposite and mismatched couple who are actually the perfect match for each other. Billy Crystal's unique humor shines through, and Meg Ryan is the only actress who could play Sally. Bruno Kirby and Carrie Fisher are great as Harry and Sally's best friends. The dialauge between Harry and Sally is wonderfull throughout the fillm. And the diner scene is one of the funniest I've ever seen in a movie. It all but steals the entire picture. This is ,hands-down, a modern romantic comedy classic that everyone should see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible repackaging of an already released product. Skip It!, January 15, 2008
This is nothing more than the original release of the DVD of the classic film repackaged to include a compilation of music from the decade in which it was released. The worst thing is that none of the music on the CD has anything to do with the movie itself. I'm not even sure that any of the songs were released around the time that the movie was in theaters. Had it been the actual soundtrack of the film included we might've had something to get mildly excited over. There's also a 'time capsule' booklet with events that happened during the 80's. There are much better ways of learning 80's history than with a 16 page leaflet.

Skip this product entirely, and instead try the 'Collector's Edition.' It is far superior with remastered 5.1 audio sound, exceptional audio commentary and a number of featurettes on the making of the film. The only thing better would be to see a remastered version on Blu-Ray (hint, hint Sony!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Harry Met Sally: Very funny. I love it., July 23, 2001
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally - Special Edition (DVD)
This is the romantic comedy by which all other romantic comedies are now judged. Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan have undeniable chemistry and top notch timing. And surprisingly so do Bruno Kirby and Carrie Fisher who really have great moments that add fun to the film. This movie knows no one knows how to present Manhattan better than Woody Allen and heavily borrows from his traditions. Including the choice of pop romantic standards. As in Annie Hall, "It Had to be You" is the musical centerpiece for an inevitable coupling. The dialog is snappy and rhythmic with an ear for New York sensibility. And also knows how to show off New Yorks favorite trendy hangouts at their very best. Even Billy Crystal is a little nebbish. Still this film is an original and its style has been mimicked countless times by other films in hopes of capturing a little of its magic. Still none quite tops this. The cherry on the cake was the wonderful choice to interupt passing seasons of Harry and Sally's relationship with old couple telling stories of their first meeting. The way they talk over and take over each others stories is charming and authentic and forces smiles of recognition. When Harry Met Sally is a lighthearted and very very funny film that never gets tiresome no matter how many times it is viewed. It is a classic.
The DVD contains some 7 minutes of additional deleted footage. In this case it is pretty apparent why it was deleted. Watch at your own risk. Rob Reiner's audio commentary seems to have been delivered at gunpoint. Don't look for a lot of joyful anecdotes or insights into where he came up with all these great ideas. The commentary track is pretty slow paced and dry. The "Making of" documentary is quite a bit more fun and insightful so the extras are not a total wash. The sound and image quality are both bright and lush so the most important part of the disc, the film, is as enjoyable as it can possibly be. When Harry Met Sally has a lot of fun with men and women trying to figure each other out and makes us laugh a lot and even cry just a little in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They've ruined this movie, August 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie has been among my favorites since I first watched it as a kid. The dialogue, pacing, humor, and music has made it a complete package for me. Unfortunately, the remastered version now has new music playing during familiar and popular scenes, causing the tone and mood to be thrown off balance with the rest of the movie. I wish I had known about the new soundtrack before I purchased this edition. While it might work for those just discovering this movie, it falls flat for this fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the brightest and best, February 11, 2003
By 
Susan Fong (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally - Special Edition (DVD)
"When Harry Met Sally" is one of the brightest and best romantic comedies ever made. The story of the friendship between Harry and Sally crackles with wit and insight into the differences between men and women and the way those differences affect relationships, sex, and commitment.
It is a tribute to the quality and realism of Nora Ephron's fine, funny script that we come to identify with and care so much about Harry (played by Billy Crystal), Sally (played by Meg Ryan), Marie (Sally's best friend played by Carrie Fisher), and Jess (Harry's best pal portrayed by Bruno Kirby). These are four urban upwardly mobile young people who excel in their professions but who are tentative in their relationships with the opposite sex. We follow these four characters over a decade as they grow as people and mature in their relationships.
Rob Reiner's assured direction keeps the story moving along at a lively pace. There are no dull moments in this movie. And the gifted, urbane cast of Crystal, Ryan, Kirby, and Fisher are exceptionally good. These intriguing, facile actors bring exquisite charm, humor, pathos, and intelligence to their roles. It's an ideal cast.
So as surely as Harry realizes that he's in love with Sally, you'll fall head over heels for "When Harry Met Sally". It's a perfect, perceptive marvel of romantic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For All Harry & Sally Fanatics, February 14, 2001
By 
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally - Special Edition (DVD)
For years and years "When Harry Met Sally", was among one of my favorite romantic films.I have a tradition of annually viewing this film with my wife, just before New Years Eve.It tries to humourously answer the question, "Can men and women be friends?" After all this time, they have finally come out with a special DVD edition, which uses all the positive qualities of the format to full advantage.The wide screen picture is crisp with details and color (check out the autumn scenes in Central Park). The sound is remastered featuring popular standards, wonderfully sung by crooner, Harry Connick Jr. The best part is that this DVD is jam packed with extras that will satiate the most ardent fan of this movie. It includes, a trailer and music video along with some of the most humourus outtakes, I have ever seen. Also included is a well produced documentry and an audio track commentary featuring, director, Rob Reiner. My only quibble with this is, Reiner should have been joined with writer, Nora Ephron on the commentary audio track.It is obvious from the included documentry,that sparks would fly if these two were in the same room together.This DVD is a must buy if you are a "When Harry Met Sally", fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD was worth waiting for., January 10, 2001
By 
Joecool (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally - Special Edition (DVD)
When Harry Met Sally is the best romantic comedy ever. Meg Ryan is gorgeous and Billy Crystal is charming. It's about Harry, just a normal guy, who dates beautiful women, while developing a friendship with Sally. The chemistry between the two is what makes this movie. From a guy's viewpoint, you wonder if Harry can have his cake and eat it too- to sleep with many women while the one you truly love waits idly by. (Sally is much less promiscuous, and dates for different reasons) Unfortunately though, this rarely works in real life, but maybe it will in the movies... The music sounds great and the picture is up to the quality you'd expect from a DVD. The movie itself is in its original form with the deleted scenes included in a separate category with the extras. They are interesting, but Rob made the right choice to exclude them because the movie Is better without them. Other extras include trailers, interviews and a music video. All of which make it complete. This is a great movie to watch alone or with loved ones. It also has excellent replay value and therefore I recommend owning it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen? Yeah, right !, July 8, 2002
By 
Cruiser Boy (OKC, OK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally - Special Edition (DVD)
Okay. I'm gettin' real peeved. Yet another MGM release under false pretenses. First of all, let me say that this is a very good movie...that's why I bought the DVD. But then, as I have before with many other MGM DVDs, I was greatly disappointed. This is another full-screen version with the black bars added to give the illusion of widescreen...Why does the studio continue to do this? My thinking is that it's a whole lot cheaper to digitally impose black bars on the screen rather than dig up the original widescreen transfer. Just take the more common full-screen edition, add black bars, and sell it to the public as widescreen...[they] won't know the difference.
They're ripping you off, people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

When Harry Met Sally - Special Edition
When Harry Met Sally - Special Edition by Rob Reiner (DVD - 2001)
$14.98 $9.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.