Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars32
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 28, 2003
Of all the self-help books I found, this one struck me the most.
Bev Cobain doesn't treat us like we're five years old or treat us like we're idiots for being depressed. She gives us help, and advice in an organized handbook like format. She steps this into two phases - What's Wrong and Getting Help and Staying Well. I also like how she makes it personal - adding things about her cousin Kurt Cobain but also including other depressed teen stories - proving I'm not alone. I'm almost finished with the book and am into getting some help for my depression.
I'd recommend this book to any depressed teen, any school councelor, or any one interested in teen depression and want to be informed on it incase they stumble upon it sometime in their lives. Good Book -.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 1998
This book extends a compassionate, knowledgeable, hand to teens trying to understand the complex and frustrating dynamics of living with depression. Author Bev Cobain demystifies mental health terminology with staightforward explanations about the various kinds of depression and the difference between "the blues" and more serious kinds of depression that need attention.
This is an interactive book where teens are shown how to take an active role in doing things to help themselves stay healthy. Young readers will find themselves in one or more of the stories told by eleven teens from many walks of life as they describe their struggles with depression. The stories demonstrate that young people can do something about depression and have hope for the future.
Parnts, school counselors, mental health providers, physicians and others who work with depressed teens, will find useful, practical, information in this book. Any depressed teen luckly enough to receive this book from a caring, concerned adult will find comfort. Indeed, it may save a life.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2005
Nothing mattered anymore, my grades went down, i didn't care about life, i wanted to die. so i attempted suicide, my wrist is scarred and mutated, everyone said i was insane. then i heard from the family circle magazine about this book, and i swear this has helped me, and i'm so glad that not everyone thinks depressed teens are insane or stupid. and i'm glad there are people like lisa hurka covington that are talking to teens how valuable life is, and helping them sort out their problems.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2000
This book is a great resource for teens who are depressed. It explains all the biochemical stuff very clearly and understandably. It goes through depression symptoms and treatments, but it also offers practical advice on everything from how to start a conversation about your suicidal thoughts to explaining depression to your friends to "will anything good come of this?" There are personal anecdotes from other depressed teens so the reader doesn't feel all alone in her problems. I have found the survival tips to be invaluable in dealing with my depression. I reread part of this book whenever I'm having a bad day. This is a great book for people like me and I wish I could buy copies for all the depressed teens I know.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2005
This book combines compassion and empowerment with accurate information.

The author, a cousin of singer Curt Cobain, wrote this book to help make sense of her cousin's suicide. It is readable, knowledgeable and thorough. It helps adolescents understand what they might be feeling when they are depressed. It discusses how to interrupt the downward spiral and find a way out. The book covers both social and biological aspects of depression.

I felt that the author had a good intuitive grasp for how an adolescent might feel when he was in the depths of a depression. She reflects back the sense of isolation and hopelessness so that a depressed person feels understood. She provides information on how to get help when you don't feel that anyone out there is trustworthy.

She empowers teens by providing good information about the causes of depression and well as the treatments. For those who want more detailed information, she provides a resource list. I especially liked her section on how to stay healthy once you have recovered from the initial depression.

I have recommended this book to several teens. They felt that it made sense and was helpful
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2003
The day that i started reading this book i couldn't put it down because it was teaching me about my depresion. Now that i have completed it i feel that i know more about depression then i knew before.I shared it with my mom who is also depressed and she wants a copy of her own. iI think it is a very good book and i would defently would think that this book should be for depressed teens that want to learn more about depression. Even a teen without depression that wants to learn more about depression should read it. Thanks bev for writing this wondreful book.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2005
In When Nothing Matters Anymore, Bev Cobain offers a teen-friendly reference guide to adolescent depression, complete with self-help suggestions, counseling resources, and case studies of teens who sought help for their illness and now lead "normal" adolescent lives. Cobain is a credentialed author: a certified registered nurse, a mental health professional, and a recipient of the National Mental Health Association's Green Ribbon Award for efforts on behalf of teen depression awareness; however, the book reads like Cliff's Notes of a more comprehensive text - as if Cobain simply compiled the bullet-point lists, sidebars, and quick-reference statistics from an American Psychiatric Association web listing for teen depression. When Nothing Matters Anymore relies little on Cobain's personal observations and extensive experience, and too much on peppy, inspirational messages from its case study teens.

The book is structured in two parts: What's Wrong? and Getting Help and Staying Well. What's Wrong? is primarily diagnostic, providing a checklist for the reader to determine whether he or she is depressed, explaining the varieties and causes of depression, and outlining the correlations between depression and chronic illness, sexual abuse, sexual identity, drug use and addiction, eating disorders, and "perceived differences" from peers. Getting Help and Staying Well highlights treatment options, suggests ways to seek help from family or trusted adults, and lists self-help activities for readers undergoing treatment. Both sections include "Survival Tips" that a health professional might suggest to any teen: Get Exercise, Have Fun, Eat Good Food, etc. There are some practical suggestions, like journaling and creating mood charts, and there is a chapter dedicated to the important topic of teen suicide, but the book as a whole rarely digs below the surface of the illness and underestimates its audience's desire (and perhaps ability?) to understand depression more fully.

One aspect of the book that seems borderline inappropriate is Cobain's ad nauseam referencing of her cousin Kurt, the popular lead singer of grunge band Nirvana, whose suicide shocked the MTV youth culture in 1994. Perhaps this approach is an effective way of securing "street cred" amongst teen readers, but this hook feels opportunistic at times, particularly in "A Letter to Kurt Cobain," a three-page, sappy, metaphor-heavy eulogy in which Cobain rues that Kurt's handlers wouldn't give her the access that could have prevented his suicide. I understand the intent is to show the readers that she cared for someone they cared about and saw the beauty of his music and the tragedy of his death as they did, but to a non-teen reader, it rings hollow. Had Cobain been close with Kurt, a reader might not bawk at this inclusion, but she mentions that she did not know Kurt "personally," a fact that makes the multiple, casual mentions feel like name-dropping.
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2002
This book is worth the buy. if you are a depressed teen like i am i recommend this book for you. it has alot of survival tips,stories from teens who suffer and suffered from depression like me and you. reasons why we become depressed. different types of depression bipolor,major depression,dysthymia, and it also tells you ways to cope with your depression. this book is a survival guide indeed. it helps you understand your depression and it let's you know that your not the only one suffering from this illness. and there is help out there so if your a depressed teen please buy this book. it's worth the money and it will start you on the path to a better life.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2005
For the last year or so I had a few questions for myself. Why am I here? Whats my pourpose in life? Cant I just be dead? Dang do I wish I could give my life for some one else. This is really good book for any teen...

Not only is the author a good writer, it has a lot of good examples of other peoples life situations so you can auctly say "wow someone can really relate to my struggle".
Anyways, again its a good book and if you have any questions about it my hotmail address is [...]
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2001
Bev Cobain has written a concise and informative book on mental illness that most teens will find easy to understand. The book is mainly about depression, but also explains other mental illnesses that are often experienced with depression, such as bipolar disorder, addiction and eating disorders. She presents the basic facts about mental illnesses including their possible causes and effects, different types of treatments, excellent tips on how teens can help themselves and some important resources for additional support and information. Cobain also includes short autobiographical stories by young people who have successfully dealt with these problems. Teens may find these stories easy to relate to and, hopefully, inspirational.
Although the book is informative, I don't think that it lives up to its subtitle that indicates it is a "Survival Guide." When a teenager reaches the point where he or she truly believes that nothing else matters, this book doesn't hit hard enough to invalidate that opinion.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse