Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars42
5 star
90%
4 star
10%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 23, 2013
This song has such a powerful and strong opening, thanks to John Bonham's heavy-hitting drums. Jimmy Page picks you up and carries you through the song on a roller coaster ride of hot guitar licks. And of course, Robert Plant's vocals and harmonica playing evokes the passion that makes you close your eyes and not just listen to the song, but experience it, "become" it......down to the bottom of your soul, you feel the intensity that makes this one an unforgettable cruise.... a sweet wicked tune that I've always loved for 40+ years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
I must say that Amazon has the best selection for Classic Rock, which will be here for all times. No music will ever compare to the music of that era. I have so far purchased 688 songs from Amazon over the years. Not all Classic Rock, for I do like Christian Hymns very much. But they always have a great selection no matter what genre you are looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2015
What can you say about on of the best rock groups of the 70's, When The Levee Breaks is another hit from 4. The reason why I like this song is due because of the classic beat. There is hardly any lyrics in this song, the title says it all. So basically the background music really it it for me, this is a must for any Zeppelin fan and rock fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
I'd never heard this song until a few years ago, in the middle of the night, when I was driving through Augusta, Georgia to visit some old friends in Aiken. Suddenly, this song came on and immediately I was hooked. This is probably my favorite Zeppelin song over even Kashmir.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
The members of Led Zeppelin were intense about the roots of their music and the Classic American Blues era was one of their main influences. When the Levee Breaks is a classic Blues song from 1929 written by Blues legends Kansas Joe McCoy and Memphis Minnie. It is about the most destructive flood in American history--the overflowing Mississippi River disaster in 1927 which had a huge impact on the people in the Delta, particularly many black people whose life as sharecroppers came to an end. This cover version of the song is a hard driving, rock version of the classic which gave the song huge new life. It's impossible to forget once you've heard it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
I know Led IV has some of the best music in the history of classic rock, but Levee has grown to my favorite Zep song. I know lots of other songs in the Zeppelin catalog get much more airplay and attention, but this track is hypnotic. The rhythmic drumming from Bonham, the eerie harmonica and masterful lyrics from Plant along with the virtuoso guitar from Page and Jones bass and Hammond organ blend well and provide a classic that doesn't get much attention when Stairway is on the same album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
This is one of the greatest songs by the greatest rock band that ever existed. If you only buy one Led Zeppelin song, it should be this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
A good old Zeppelin song.
Brings back old memories & emotions.
Day's when you could relate to the music.
Rock & Roll never dies.
I have this on a album, now it is in the cloud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
The greatest rock 'n' roll song ever recorded. bar none!!!! When the dust settles, this song will stand tall as the greatest rock recording ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
Really now, would I have bought this thing if I didn't think it was a five star number? It's all a matter of taste, anyway, isn't it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$1.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.